Uncontrollable Laughing

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Ah another memory. My granny took me to mass with her one sunday, I must have been about 10 or so. It was one of those important masses (maybe easter?) and we were given a candle on the way in. All the candles were lit along the pews - the person next to you lights yours and you light the next person etc.

Well you're holding these candles and the wax drips so there's this little cardboard skirt half way down the candle to catch the hot wax but for whatever reason there was none on my granny's candle. I noticed this when she kept switching the candle from hand to hand because the hot wax kept dripping onto her hands. She's super devout so she wouldn't blow it out and cause a scene and she wouldn't give it to me so there was nothing she would do. I know it's awful but I laughed so much that time, plus the added boldness because it was during mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Jaysus, sounds like most of ye had some laugh in Church, I just found it an intolerable bore!

Some craic eh, an elephant's fanny :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,450 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

When Bishop Desmond Tutu visited our local Church and proceed to "sing". Myself and my sister were in stitches coz he hasn't a note in his head. Thought my Dad was going to lamp me in the seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Louisayankee2

Quandry,
    That is such a cute story, and that is exactly the style of talk kids display....... it really makes me laugh very much!! I try not to let the children see me laughing about what they said, because I know their world is so tiny,yet, they need a bit of respect in growing up in OURS............ heh,heh.

There will be plenty days ahead for them to be serious, why not talk of the "possibilities" , it makes life so enjoyable :)

Kimia,
    That has to be so funny.... quite the mix religiosity and trying to stay reverent upon a quite serious situation.
    How can you cancel the proper protocols, ........... oh, by saying," Everyone , please hold up! I have a burning hand here!! Someone run to get something to stop the hot wax from burning the flesh off my hand here!"
    It makes me laugh , even imagining doing something like that . It would be a scene from a movie, I believe :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

have you heard about the new mint flavoured pill?

its called the .. Predica-mint.

Where do they sell them, I may need a few should I marry again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

hold yer horse's horses so. work at the manufacturing plant is.. due to commence