Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

[Jackass] wrote: »
    He's a good prospect and has come on nicely this season. Don't expect the finished article overnight. Heaslip has been playing regular with Leinster since about 2005.

Are you talking about Coughlan here? Because he's 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Exactly danthefan; Caughlan is a workaday, one-dimensional 8 with reasonable ball-carrying abilites. He's spent most of his life playing AIL and at the age of 30 is not going to suddenly find himself an international-standard 8/6.

He's a good, honest big-hearted lad, and I wouldn't want to be too critical of the lad becase he has done well for Munster. But if we're being honest, if he was at Leinster he'd have been playing Cornish Pirates this weekend.

I think Coughlan is playing out of his skin at the moment.

Fair play to him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

danthefan wrote: »
    Are you talking about Coughlan here? Because he's 30.

:D Why does that always happen with Munster players?? I thought Buckley was a good prospect when I first stating noticing him a few seasons back too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Jeremy Manning has penned a new two year deal with Newcastle. Good to see he's been a success there.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/my_club/newcastle/9306133.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

There are complete double standards regarding the Munster team and ML standard players and it is held by pretty much everyone (me included :eek:). We all want the form players playing, but when one of these form players is MOD, Coughlan or whoever we accuse them of being Magners standard just because they don't have the pedigree of the players around them, its total BS tbh.

Coughlan should be the first backrow on the teamsheet in current form. If Leamy ran into space and not contact like Coughlan, Heaslip wouldn't be feeling too confident about being first choice. When POC comes back DOC should be dropped as MOD has earned his place in recent weeks. We need to get behind the team and the inform players, because I'd be far more inclined to call TOL, DOC and Wallace (before Saturday) Magners standard rather than picking on the less established players.

Munster have confirmed that Paul Warwick will be leaving at the end of the current season.

There had been widespread speculation in the media over the past weeks that he would be moving on at the end of this season and a statement issued today confirmed the news.

It's understood that the 29 year old, one of Munster's non eligible players, has attracted the interest of several European clubs who have offered terms that Munster are unable to match.

Commenting on the news Warwick said, "We felt the need to address the recent speculation about my future by confirming my intention to move. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time here with Munster and hope I can contribute in helping the squad achieve the goals we set for ourselves at the start of the season.”

Munster coach Tony McGahan said. "We are of course disappointed that Paul will be leaving us at the end of the season. He has been a quality player who significantly contributed at both fullback and fly half over the past four seasons. We understand the reasons for his decision and he leaves with our best wishes both professionally and personally

Warwick joined Munster at the start of the 2007/2008 season and since making his debut against the US Eagles in Chicago and won his 80th cap against Ospreys last Saturday

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/8431.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

A class act - sorry to see him go. :( Any word on Nonu or Richie McCaw? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

There are complete double standards regarding the Munster team and ML standard players and it is held by pretty much everyone (me included :eek:). We all want the form players playing, but when one of these form players is MOD, Coughlan or whoever we accuse them of being Magners standard just because they don't have the pedigree of the players around them, its total BS tbh.

Coughlan should be the first backrow on the teamsheet in current form. If Leamy ran into space and not contact like Coughlan, Heaslip wouldn't be feeling too confident about being first choice. When POC comes back DOC should be dropped as MOD has earned his place in recent weeks. We need to get behind the team and the inform players, because I'd be far more inclined to call TOL, DOC and Wallace (before Saturday) Magners standard rather than picking on the less established players.

Thats a good point about Couglan/Leamy. Personally I'd have taken Leamy off when Quinlan came on and given the captaincy to anyone who didn't think taking a scrum from a penalty against a vastly superior Ospreys scrum was a good idea.

Luckily for us Wyn Jones was equally as dull when it came to (not) using scrums from penalties.

I've another UL gym rumour mill update, Contepomi is on his way as player-coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Just watch the yellow cards come if you put a red jersey on him!

I'll miss Warwick, he was fantastic for Munster, glad he's being replaced by an Irish player in Keatley (if the rumors are true). I'd be keen on the Connacht tight head, Hagan, too when his contract is up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭spoon

SomeFool wrote: »

I'll miss Warwick, he was fantastic for Munster, glad he's being replaced by an Irish player in Keatley (if the rumors are true). I'd be keen on the Connacht tight head, Hagan, too when his contract is up.

I've it under good authority that the rumours are true, in that they're talking, but nothing set in stone yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

McCaw pretty much confirmed in a recent interview that he doesn't want to head north.

jolley123 wrote: »
    McCaw pretty much confirmed in a recent interview that he doesn't want to head north.

The Planet Rugby article that you refer to - I think. It could be all part of the negotiating in public process that goes on these days - I hope so. The highlighted piece sends out a message that he is available - if the price is right - at least it does to me. :D

http://www.planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,3551_6603327,00.html

McCaw not interested in moving North
    20th December 2010 06:55

While many top southern hemisphere players are ready to pack their bags and head North after the 2011 World Cup, All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw has suggested his future is in New Zealand.

The attraction of a end-of-career payday in France or England has become a trend for All Blacks, Springboks and Wallabies and the rumour mill is already clogged with stories of big names on the move after next year's global showpiece.

But the IRB's Player of the Year has indicated that his is looking to prolonging his international career as long as possible rather than make an early move North.

"I'm having a really good think about it and I've always said enjoyment is the key," McCaw told the Sunday Star Times.

"Rugby is a passion for me but enjoying it is the key. I loved it this year, I loved running out for an international and playing for the All Blacks, there's nothing better.

"So I want to keep going. I'm talking to the union about what they want from me and what I want. If we can come to an agreement I'd love to carry on because I'm enjoying this.

"But I do have a bit to think about over the next wee while. I said I was going to do that on the tour but it didn't pan out like that and I think now that this is the right time. I'm having a break, I'm getting refreshed about rugby and I'll start talking about it.

McCaw insists that the bright lights of Europe's big cities have never been able to compare to running out for the All Blacks.

"I've made no secret of it that I love playing in New Zealand and my desires to play overseas have never been that great," he said.

"Those desires change as you move on in your career, but you can't beat running out in front of 80,000 people at the Millennium Stadium or somewhere else and you'd be a mug to not want to do it for as long as you can.

Beyond the World Cup, McCaw explained that he is eager to be part of making sure the legacy created during his tenure as captain is continued.

"You never know what the coaches are going to do, there could be a new coach, who knows?" he added.

"I want to see the All Blacks keep performing after the World Cup. It's not just about one game or one year. It's about doing it right and I want to make sure that when I move on, whenever that is, that it's at the right time."

Whew, pressure is really on.

I think a MFs thread title put it well: "Munster's funeral will be in Toulon". It could be the management's funeral if we don't qualify for the first time in 12/13 seasons.

I think Munster have run out of lives and won't get out of jail again. Christ I hope I'm wrong but in the years when we needed results in places like Clermont we were actually in good form.

This season has last season written all over it and everyone is one year older. We need a serious clearout of the oldtimers at the end of the year, cut the ****ing sentimental vote, if they are over the hill let them go. This is a pro game, it's survival of the fittest. Even if some players can give another year, let them go for future's sake.

On thing I will say in McGahan's favour is he seems to have sorted out the academy. We now have a conveyor belt of talent coming through, this was not present even in the late stages of Kidney's reign at Munster. We used to bemoan the lack of young quality backs and now we have Deasy, Barnes, Zebo, Dineen etc. Having said that, these players are not getting gametime but I've already said I feel the provinces are hamstrung in that regard. So many players (I speak of Dave Ryan, Sherry, Nagle, POM, Murray etc) get the odd game and prove themselves and then are jettisoned out of the team and aren't seen for 3 months. How do they expect them to develop if they are playing AIL all year? The B&I Cup is a step in the right direction but there has to be more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I think Munster have run out of lives and won't get out of jail again. Christ I hope I'm wrong but in the years when we needed results in places like Clermont we were actually in good form.

That's a contradiction, imo. We needed miracle matches and get-out-of-jail wins because we usually played crap in the earlier pool games. Remember the losses to Sale and Gloucester?

On thing I will say in McGahan's favour is he seems to have sorted out the academy. We now have a conveyor belt of talent coming through, this was not present even in the late stages of Kidney's reign at Munster. We used to bemoan the lack of young quality backs and now we have Deasy, Barnes, Zebo, Dineen etc. Having said that, these players are not getting gametime but I've already said I feel the provinces are hamstrung in that regard. So many players (I speak of Dave Ryan, Sherry, Nagle, POM, Murray etc) get the odd game and prove themselves and then are jettisoned out of the team and aren't seen for 3 months. How do they expect them to develop if they are playing AIL all year? The B&I Cup is a step in the right direction but there has to be more.

Agree with this. People have ridiculously high expectations for youngsters making the step up, be if from AIL to ML or HEC to international. It takes a few games to adjust to a new level of rugby.

That's a contradiction, imo. We needed miracle matches and get-out-of-jail wins because we usually played crap in the earlier pool games. Remember the losses to Sale and Gloucester?

Couldn't agree more. When do we ever canter through the group stages? It's called timing and I'd much rather be hitting form in the spring then to have done your dash by Christmas.

Really dissapointed about the amount of negativity regarding Munster this season. We've lost two games in the league and two in the HC and we're still well positioned in both. We've about 5 future Irish internationals breaking through this season and some of the older lags like Howlet/Stringer/MOD/ROG are bang on form. All this and POC?Flannery to come back.

Munster fans need to cop tfo at times. This 3 month memory is getting old.

Oh yeah and we beat Australia with a bunch of kids and ML players but that was ages ago so that doesn't matter.

Couldn't agree more. When do we ever canter through the group stages? It's called timing and I'd much rather be hitting form in the spring then to have done your dash by Christmas.

Really dissapointed about the amount of negativity regarding Munster this season. We've lost two games in the league and two in the HC and we're still well positioned in both. We've about 5 future Irish internationals breaking through this season and some of the older lags like Howlet/Stringer/MOD/ROG are bang on form. All this and POC?Flannery to come back.

Munster fans need to cop tfo at times. This 3 month memory is getting old.

Oh yeah and we beat Australia with a bunch of kids and ML players but that was ages ago so that doesn't matter.

Needing a win in Toulon to survive in the HEC is really not "well positioned" at all.

In 07/08 we didn't canter through but we were in better form.

We were lucky to get through last season. The win in Perpignan was nothing short of bloody sensational but the rest of our performances were pretty poor.

Of course you and amazo make good points there.

Really I'm just downplaying Munster so the players can read this and become more bitter. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭davidpfitz

Needing a win in Toulon to survive in the HEC is really not "well positioned" at all.
    Or, for Toulon to slip up.

davidpfitz wrote: »
    Or, for Toulon to slip up.

Has a team ever qualified with 3 wins from 6?

I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭davidpfitz

Yes, but not in a long time - when there were fewer games per pool, or when the top 2 teams went through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

Leinster had a draw with LI and lost at home and some how managed to top the pool. That is probably the closest to doing that.

There is a huge amount of negativity here ... apart from anything else, clubs like Toulouse and Leicester haven't made the knock-out fairly in recent times and the sky didn't fall in. Having a run in the Amlin might not be the worst thing either. A good run in that might be Connacht's best chance of Heineken Cup rugby. Then everyone would want to go west!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Leinster had a draw with LI and lost at home and some how managed to top the pool. That is probably the closest to doing that.

They had 4 wins though, not 3. Nice try though.:rolleyes:

http://www.ercrugby.com/eng/heinekencup/pools/index.php?includeref=413&season=2009-2010

Like Thomond I have a bad feeling about the Toulon game (and not because of the presence of JW) but despite the win over Australia and some good individual performances the team frequently looks leaderless - and don't mention the scrum! That said, the lads always seem to be able to pull something out of the hat when a miracle is required. Onwards and upwards. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

SomeFool wrote: »

Hands off!! He's ours!!

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Hands off!! He's ours!!

Doubt it seen as he's pretty much said he rather not play then play for Leinster

Five point banker at home to LI and an away game against over hyped team of mercenaries. I'll take that thanks.