Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Sexual Harassment.... eh, YEAH of course!

1234568»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭trebor28

Kimia wrote: »
    I don't know about this particular reporter, but the point I'm trying to make (and I think the other female posters were trying to make) is that in general, women should be able to wear whatever they like without men assuming that because of the way a woman's dressed, they can assume that she's easy/a slut/whore etc. Come on. Why do some guys assume that women are dressing for them?

Some guy earlier was going on and on about how you could nearly see the reporter's nipples and wasn't she an awful slut!, jaysus he must have had the fecking thing on pause, start, pause, pause, start. That's just taking the piss like.

doesnt everyone know that women dress a particular way to stand out from the crowd and to "be the best" of the women!
    some just go to extreme lengths of having it flaunting it.

:confused::confused: Yes but if I'm happy with how I look in the dress, that doesn't necessarily mean I am also happy to stay inside and watch tv. Perhaps I want to go out and about too? Wearing my nice dress and feeling happy with how I look?

And if I do go out and about, or whatever, why do some men think that because I'm out and about wearing a low cut dress, that I'm doing it for them?

i dunno... im not some men!

its just the pack mentality!

we are at the end of the day animals, we are not in control of our emontions half the time.

p.s. thats both sexes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Just to throw in my 2c. I am so sick of the way women are heckled and derided as feminists the minute someone tries to give a female point of view. I can't believe the attitudes of some men in this thread - in particular one poster who several times said that the reporter in question was 'asking' to be harrassed because how dare she wear those tight little tops for the sole reason of teasing men. I'm really shocked and appalled by the way some men think and their views on women.

Women should be allowed wear what they like without being harassed and catcalled and whistled at. Believe it or not, most women (I believe) dress to please their own sense of identity, not for the sole purpose of getting attention from men.

Why are some male posters trying to say that if a women dresses provocatively men can do away with manners and personal responsibility? I fail to see how me wearing a low cut dress gives you an invitation to leer and make suggestive remarks to me. What if I like how I look in the dress? When did it become about everyone else?

She was in a locker room, in an ideal world we could wear what we like and not get comments on it, she was in a locker room and I dont think that the shirt she was wearing in that interview was for her "own sense of identity". If you walk around with your tits hanging out, in a locker room you will be made to feel a little uncomfortable. Yes its not ideal, but that's life. Put more clothes on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

I don't know about this particular reporter, but the point I'm trying to make (and I think the other female posters were trying to make) is that in general, women should be able to wear whatever they like without men assuming that because of the way a woman's dressed, they can assume that she's easy/a slut/whore etc. Come on. Why do some guys assume that women are dressing for them?

Some guy earlier was going on and on about how you could nearly see the reporter's nipples and wasn't she an awful slut!, jaysus he must have had the fecking thing on pause, start, pause, pause, start. That's just taking the piss like.

Men and women can wear what they wont but be expect to be treated differently on what you wear. What you wear says a lot about you and how people view you.

If i, a guy, went into work on my first day wearing a suit, people's first impressions of me are a of a serious worker (no matter what kind of crappy job i do on the first day).
    If i went into work on my first day, wearing shorts and a t-shirt, people's first impressions are this guy is not taking the job seriously (no matter if i do an incredible days work).

Same goes for women. If a female reporter went to interview a NFL player dressed in a suit, no doubt the NFL player believes he's getting a professional interview from a proper news agency where he preceives the topics to be about football tactics.
    If the female reporter went to interview a NFL player dressed in a low cut top and jeans, the NFL player thinks hes getting interview for a fun section on MTV or something where he preceives the topics to be about his favourite food and music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

trebor28 wrote: »
    doesnt everyone know that women dress a particular way to stand out from the crowd and to "be the best" of the women!
    some just go to extreme lengths of having it flaunting it.

I don't know if you're joking when you made this comment, but it's not true of all women. It sounds like you don't have much experience or contact with women and that's why you have a strange, distant and removed idea of women's reasons for dressing a certain way. I don't mean to offend, you just sound like you don't know many women.

the was some jest in the first bit...

and then i went onto say"some women....."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

okay.........serously, even she has to know that the only reason she has that job is because of her looks.

because shes not exactly the most articulate speaker and doesnt seem all that interesting or incredibly smart.

how can a girl that only has a job becuase of her looks complain about something so minute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭about blank

Over 8,000 views

Justin Bieber better watch out!

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

TheRiddler wrote: »
    I do not see this ending well

WindSock and Abigayle have yet to see it though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

evil_seed wrote: »
    Reporters are allowed in the locker/changing rooms of NFL player pretty much directly after games and practice regardless of their gender. So no big deal here.
    There is a big deal, male reporters are not allowed into female locker-rooms. I wonder if any female reporters have protested about this bizarre sexist rule, and refused to enter a male locker room and respect their privacy, the privacy that is afforded to women. Its a disgusting double standard and I expect many men feel very hard done by, imagine if it was the exact opposite, no female reporters allowed in male locker rooms and male reporters allowed in female ones.

http://www.womenssportsfoundation.org/Content/Articles/Issues/Media-and-Publicity/W/Women-Reporters-in-the-Mens-Locker-Room.aspx
    a U.S. federal judge ruled that male and female reporters should have equal access to the locker room.

Players howled in protest "We're not a nudist colony putting on an exhibition," insisted NBA rookie Toby Knight, "and the locker room did not change overnight.
    Nonetheless, several of these women learned that, while they were allowed into the locker room, they were not welcomed there. "Changing the rules doesn't necessarily alter attitudes," Ludtke observed.

No one learned that lesson better than Lisa Olson, a reporter for the Boston Herald. While conducting interviews in the New England Patriots' locker room following an NFL game in 1990, a group of Patriots surrounded the reporter and made aggressive, vulgar comments. The players were later fined and the team's general manager was fired for trying to cover up the incident.

When the incident sparked a national debate, Olson began receiving death threats. Vandals burglarized her apartment and painted an ominous message on a wall in her home: "Leave Boston or die." She received another note when the tires of her car were slashed: "Next time it will be your throat." Olson later recalled that she received mail that "would make you physically ill - depictions of rape scenes and horrible, horrible things."
    In a 1999 Wall Street Journal article, retired NFL defensive end Reggie White wrote that he couldn't see a legitimate reason "for forcing male athletes to walk around naked in front of women who aren't their wives." White claimed to have seen female reporters "ogling guys in the locker room," and encouraged players to fight against equal access for female reporters.

Within a few days, New York Knicks guard Charlie Ward was distributing copies of the article to his teammates. The basketball player claimed having women in the locker room violated the sanctity of marriage.

Of course you will get the same macho bullshit when stories come up of stautory rape of boys by attractive females "oh he's lucky":rolleyes:

I can't understand why reporters are let into private locker-rooms anyway, regardless of gender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Dudess wrote: »
    You just want your hole! :mad:

PM's sent

:pac::P

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

If one wanted to research this story more were could I find more pics of this miss treated reporter..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

And if I do go out and about, or whatever, why do some men think that because I'm out and about wearing a low cut dress, that I'm doing it for them?

Because for a lot of men (and i include myself in this), what women think of them forms 90%+ of their motivation to look good (obviously i'm not including basic hygeine in this).

It just seems like common sense that by being more attractive a woman will bag herself a better mate, and this is why she puts in the effort.

This concept of putting a lot of effort into your appearance for reasons other than to look appealing to the opposite sex (especially when it involves sexually-provocative clothing) just seems alien to many guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭about blank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 uwala

Dudess wrote: »
    Picking little bits to focus on and ignoring a whole load of other stuff that doesn't suit your poorly made disingenuous point really doesn't make for very effective discussion. Any "feminazism" by me is all in your head, as you demonstrated so well in your first attack. I didn't "rant about men behaving like ****ing apes" or indeed call men (implying all men) apes - I said a woman can be made to feel uncomfortable if certain men behave like ****ing apes towards her. Anyone can be made to feel uncomfortable if anyone behaves like a ****ing ape towards them ("ape" in the colloquial sense, as in boorish - not the literal sense, don't know whether semantics and pedantry are necessary).
    Yes I agree wholeheartedly there is rampant male-bashing in the media, and have made that point here several times. I don't see any men defending themselves here from male-bashing though, just sticking the boot into women for imagined male-bashing - and definitely enjoying it too, despite pretending it upsets them.
    I also think if a man wants to express the view that men get treated like sh1t in a lot of situations, it's possible for him to do so without nasty digs at women... yet the latter has been done here numerous times and it just takes from what could be some very good arguments/points.

Your debating skills are mediocre at best. Perhaps if you learned the appropriate use of the word "disingenous" for starters.

You have no problem describing some men as "****ing apes", well then you should have no problem if I describe some women as "*****ing chimpanzees" (I mean chimpanzee in the colloquial sense, not the literal, but I assumed (wrongly) that was understood- perhaps I overestimated the language abilities of some)

If a man defends himself from male-bashing you say its "imagined" when its blatantly not. Once again classic feminazi reversal, "we women have done nothing wrong, its all the men, why cant they take our criticism, we are entitled to call them "****ing apes" and say whatever we like about them, even call them disingenous. If a man criticizes women in any way, it's "nasty digs at women", yet we women never get digs in at men."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

uwala wrote: »
    Your debating skills are mediocre at best. Perhaps if you learned the appropriate use of the word "disingenous" for starters.

You have no problem describing some men as "****ing apes", well then you should have no problem if I describe some women as "*****ing chimpanzees" (I mean chimpanzee in the colloquial sense, not the literal, but I assumed (wrongly) that was understood- perhaps I overestimated the language abilities of some)

If a man defends himself from male-bashing you say its "imagined" when its blatantly not. Once again classic feminazi reversal, "we women have done nothing wrong, its all the men, why cant they take our criticism, we are entitled to call them "****ing apes" and say whatever we like about them, even call them disingenous. If a man criticizes women in any way, it's "nasty digs at women", yet we women never get digs in at men."

I'm just gonna point out that it was Stovelid that first used the chimpanzee phrase to describe the behaviour of these men. waaaaayyy back on page 2. So your feminazi rant against Dudess is null and void. Ifso, factso.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I wouldn't mind being sexually harassed. A bit of a bum pinch and a wink and I'm grand.

Nothing like a woman in power to get you going. rarr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Evidence of me being a feminazi plz - actual quotes, thx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Closed for review.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

uwala banned

about blank banned

fedor.2 banned

Multiple others infracted.