Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

thurs night entertainment in town, anyone interested at all?

• 04-07-2010 7:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

this thread is for all fellow galwegians into good quality electronic music and who like myself are unemployed and get the dole during the week

I am currently about to launch a weekly thurs night dance with a guest resident lined up to bring the latest, club friendly anthems, minimal, tech house, leftfield type sounds to Galway City. Music policy will always be happy smiley tunes to make ya dance and forget the mid week blues. We hope to build up a regular following and for the vibe on the night to be a gathering of sound heads out to have a good night of socialising and of course lose yourself on the dance floor while our top resident delivers a blinding set of upfront tunes each and every thurs night.

We are thinking of giving this a lash on a trial basis over a few weeks to test the water and if it takes off with just over 100 clubbers we can keep this going and provide you all with the best latest dance tunes across the genres

thinking of a €5 door cover before 11 and €7 after, who's in?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

It sounds good, where would you be thinking of putting it on? It'd be nice to have a few good club nights during the week, I work most weekends so although now I can afford to go out I miss all the good stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

moonflower wrote: »
    It sounds good, where would you be thinking of putting it on? It'd be nice to have a few good club nights during the week, I work most weekends so although now I can afford to go out I miss all the good stuff.

will be either just off eyre sq or towards the west direction, to be honest we have the choice of a few places and are weighing up our options and will probably make a decision during the week.

we got lots of ideas to transform the venue each week and provide clubbing at a budget but offering much more than any weekend event

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭telepylus

hey, I would probably be up for this alright, sounds class. I love electronic music.. would there be any drum n bass or breakbeats? was at dubstep night at the weekend, was very good

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

Sounds interesting.. what kinda of electronic music? Any chance of some dirty dubstep and house? ;)

spread the word, the best night of upfront brand spanking new tunes along with lots of classic anthems right thru all the genres is coming,

thurs are about to become the new fri

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭telepylus

hehe elevator, so what exactly is going to be played at this and where is it going to be on? It's just old and new music from all genres is a bit general?

music policy shall be quality dancing tunes only and there are no restrictions to genres as such, a journey thru sounds and a real experience each week. We want to bring peeps together that like a good dance and a laugh and know their tunes,

we will try gauge the different crowds we'll be getting in and try look after everyone,

thinking open decks from 8 til 9.30 for a couple of djs to warm up

so any further thoughts from anyone about this?

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

Not sure if you'll get a crowd, hope i'm wrong though. i've seen the cellar bring over a big name and ended up paying him out of their own pocket.

you won't like this suggestion but I think you should aim to get some students in.

I don't think you can afford to be fussy.

have you talked to the groups who run nights in the cellar, de Burgos etc?

you'd be wise to do so. they're friendly lads and well connected, they'd help.

there's a core following already, you won't invent a new core imo

• Registered Users Posts: 27 version1

Sounds good.we need something like this in galway:D
    best of luck

mr Cawley I hear what you're sayin and you are pointing in the right direction as regards contacts so thank you, ya I know Tiddlers and the disconots lol and they're all sound lads, djs, promoters and messers, they do their own thing and do it well, wouldn't be interested in doing anything in the cellar tho, have had friends use it on many occasions for different types of events but it just doesn't really float my boat,

was thinking de burgos as it finishes at 1.30 and would help seal the deal with our guest resident as he works on the other side of the country on a fri. also I hear what you're saying about students but they're gone now and totally unreliable when it comes to specialist nights so don't be bothered with them myself. I am after the students of life (fellow dole heads) and weekend workers who want to have a dance on a thurs night cos we will be playin the tunes ya won't even hear over the weekend in town. I defy anyone to come to one of these gigs and go home disappointed. we got our own sound/lights and the network to pull at least 100 people if not more so maybe de Burgos is the place to go. that's good for 150 and we want to keep it intimate to begin with, something fresh and special each week with no bad vibes in sight.

watch this space

version1

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

Elevator wrote: »
    mr Cawley I hear what you're sayin and you are pointing in the right direction as regards contacts so thank you, ya I know Tiddlers and the disconots lol and they're all sound lads, djs, promoters and messers, they do their own thing and do it well, wouldn't be interested in doing anything in the cellar tho, have had friends use it on many occasions for different types of events but it just doesn't really float my boat,

was thinking de burgos as it finishes at 1.30 and would help seal the deal with our guest resident as he works on the other side of the country on a fri. also I hear what you're saying about students but they're gone now and totally unreliable when it comes to specialist nights so don't be bothered with them myself. I am after the students of life (fellow dole heads) and weekend workers who want to have a dance on a thurs night cos we will be playin the tunes ya won't even hear over the weekend in town. I defy anyone to come to one of these gigs and go home disappointed. we got our own sound/lights and the network to pull at least 100 people if not more so maybe de Burgos is the place to go. that's good for 150 and we want to keep it intimate to begin with, something fresh and special each week with no bad vibes in sight.

watch this space

version1

If the tunes are decent.. you'll get the heads! Students of life.. love it! :pac:
    Spread word on Facebook.. make a funky ass looking event.. promise them filthy tunes and they will come!

Flojo wrote: »
    If the tunes are decent.. you'll get the heads! Students of life.. love it! :pac:
    Spread word on Facebook.. make a funky ass looking event.. promise them filthy tunes and they will come!

cheers flojo, will be dotting the t's and crossing the i's on this asap

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dec25532

So will there be some Depeche Mode? If so, i'm in.

dec25532 wrote: »
    So will there be some Depeche Mode? If so, i'm in.

as far as original d mode goes you probably won't hear it at my nigt to begin with as it will be dance music orientated but I do have some quality remixes from them

if and when I get 2 rooms I would be delighted to have an alternative room

Put it in Deburgos and it's be class.. Play some Leftfield and it would be unreal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Columc

Put it in Deburgos and it's be class.. Play some Leftfield and it would be unreal.

didnt gigantic get removed from deburgos due to the the fire marsel deeming it having to much people in the place. and also that tenat above giving out about the noise?

Yep.. Gigantic moved to Kellys which was actually really good but I think they're gone now.

A few weeks before the fire marshall, a lot of stuff got hurled at the apartments opposite the smoking area.. So fair enough for them to complain.
    Altho I just read that part on a thread on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Columc

A few weeks before the fire marshall, a lot of stuff got hurled at the apartments opposite the smoking area.. So fair enough for them to complain.
    Altho I just read that part on a thread on here.

Aye I heard of that as well, but aside from that, every night gigantic was on there, there was a tenat complaining to the gardai, was happening for 3-5 months befor the fire marshel was actualy called in.

And if i recall they were quite strict with not letting any glass out in the smoking area

I was drinking my water at the bar so I wouldn't know. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I thought the fire warden issued a fire cert for 60 people in De Burgos.

Hard to break even with that kind of money.

the place has been granted a licence for 150 which would give me a bit of profit if I was to get that many out for a dance each week

as regards leftfield there would defo be a leftfield track or 2 played each night, I always show respect to them every night I play out

my first born was brought into the world to the sound of leftism and i recently got the opportunity to tell Neil Barnes after their recent show in Tripod

look guys if we all got behind this maybe we could put Galway on the clubbing map again and provide a quality night out for ourselves as I for one am completely pissed off with the main clubs in town

more info asap and cheers for all your input so far and by all means keep it coming

G

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭conti

Sorry to waffle off topic here, but as someone who worked there for 3 years until the place was unjustifiably shut down, I feel I should intervene

The complaints came from the top floor of the building, about 6 flights up if my memory serves me correctly. There was never one complaint from the floors between the the pub and that apartment. It was owned by an old couple who didn't live there for years, just their son who never complained once, it was only when they started using it at weekends that they started to give out about noise of people smoking out the back, but it didn't stop there. They would complain about the littlest thing, even 30th birthday parties who had dj's who weren't half as loud as Gigantic, and they still complained after moving the smoking area to the front door instead, ironically causing an even worse fire and general safety hazard.

The fire marshalls and health and safety call to the building with a week of each other, this old couple rang each of them and sent them to De Burgo's in an attempt to have the place shut down.

They then found out about the license held by the place they went to Galway property management and issued a complaint, saying how illegal a lot of the nights were (they were in fairness, but wasn't doing anybody any harm - legally the building could only be used for private parties, so everything that was run in the place had to be disguised as one). They would never once meet the manager or any staff face to face in a meeting despite them causing about 15 people to lose their jobs, they were happy enough to hide behind solicitors.

The real kicker came when we found out that their apartment was for sale the whole time! They just wanted to up the value of it by not having a smoking area downstairs, and they went to great lengths to do so.

As far as I know it's still operating as a private club, I think the guards are more involved with it than they used to be. There was a glimmer of hope of it re-opening to it's full extent but the word had gone around town and the damage was done. I don't even want to hazard a guess at how much money the place lost in those couple of weeks.

Back on topic: I'd defo be interested in heading to a club night on Thursdays, especially one of good taste electronica. Good luck with it anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭dmcg90

I'm deffo up for this

cheers for the info there Coni and thanks for the interest in this, we are in advanced talks with 3 venues in town right now for this new night

more info asap guys and we will rock the discotech real soon :)

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭gandroid

Why the hell did Gigantic (in Kelly's I mean) finish up anyway? It was a great club and very popular. Galway needed it. Kelly's was good too, even if it didn't quite have the unique charm of DeBurgo's.

Anyway, best of luck to this new night...where is it on or have I missed something?