Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

My first "blowjob"

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭RobertM

Only once, last year in April/May, on the R127 going to Swords. Obvisously zero reading :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭barryfitz

Never in 9 years of driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

It seems to have dropped off the radar. Its a few years since I've been breathalysed and its 4 in total....twice in Dublin, once in Sligo and once in Roscrea.

As with anything in this country its enforced when it comes out and then stops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,473 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

congo_90 wrote: »
    why bring years into it? They don't discriminate.

Err because the longer you have been driving the more chance you have of being stopped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,758 ✭✭✭✭Victor

For the people who are tested several people in one night. I was talking to a garda superintendent yesterday and this is the procedure. Everybody* through the checkpoint gets tested.

They can't legally test pedestrians or cyclists and tend not to test bus drivers.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,786 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Been driving 14 years and on average 40k per year and never been tested, i'm a non drinker 99% of the year and would have no problem taking a test.

On a sidenote, I have to agree with what others have said about not acting the maggot with Gardaí. I've been let away with speeding, amber gambling and bus lane usage as when stopped I would apologise emphatically and be let on my way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

delly wrote: »
    On a sidenote, I have to agree with what others have said about not acting the maggot with Gardaí. I've been let away with speeding, amber gambling and bus lane usage as when stopped I would apologise emphatically and be let on my way.

Yup, an apology and good attitude go a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭kuro2k

1 test about 2 months ago .... First in 20 years of driving. On the slip road Leaving Douglas, Cork heading west

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

unkel wrote: »
    Cheers for quick reply :)

So 600 members times 220 working days times 75 tests per day equals roughly 10 million breath tests are carried out every year in this country. Really?

Sorry about the late reply now:P

Well you have to factor in leave, sickness, days where were are jsut too busy, getting called away etc.

I'd say somewhere in the region of 5-6 million. The figures I gave were average nothing interupting us day.....doesnt happen often!!
    KamiKazi wrote: »
    Nope, got stopped yesterday with my tax out (over two months as well, so they could have seized the bike). As long as you treat them with the respect you'd like they're usually great to deal it. Just told me to produce tax and insurance within 10 days, no points or fine :)

Funnyly enough we are human....sometimes!!
    Victor wrote: »
    For the people who are tested several people in one night. I was talking to a garda superintendent yesterday and this is the procedure. Everybody* through the checkpoint gets tested.

They can't legally test pedestrians or cyclists and tend not to test bus drivers.

Give that supt a ring back and tell him he is mistaken. Although I cannot go into internal directives I can say that the act is silent in regards who is tested. However it is generally taken that you can either test everyone, test ever 5 or 6 etc car or you can randomly pick and choose.

We do not have to breath test everyone......shows how long officers are off the street for. Ask him did he ever do one of the checkpoints:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

What a naughty title:eek::D

T-totaller and never been tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

A friend mentioned to me not too long ago how his uncle had a somewhat similar experience. He had reason to travel back and forth the same road 3 or 4 times within a short period. The third time being tested he mentioned to the Guard in a polite sort of way something along the lines of "you surely remember me at this stage this its your third time testing me in a short space of time". The Guard replied something along the lines of "Oh yes I do but we just need to carry out a certain number of tests and once we have reached that number our job is done for the night". It would have seemed irrelevant that they were testing somebody who passed a few minutes earlier.

Now the Guard may well have being following the rule book when doing his job in this instance (he may not have being either for what I know) but to me it suggests a lack of common sense and logic and even lazyiness on the part of the Guardai or that particular Guard as the case may be.

That sounds like a waste of breath tests to me. If he had breath tested that guy 3 times, that means that he could have tested 2 more people and maybe, he could have found someone over the limit (chances low I know).

To answer the original question, I have been driving over 12 years and have never been breathalysed yet.

Epic thread title BTW :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Victor wrote: »

I've been tested while cars ahead of me and behind me were waved through on each occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Twice in the space of a month, once on the Finglas road coming onto m50(stopping 1 in every 4 cars IIRC) and once on St Margarets road(stopping every single car), They should be out every night doing them all over Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Twice in the space of a month, once on the Finglas road coming onto m50 and once on St Margarets road, They should be out every night doing them all over Dublin
    Thats odd, i drive that way 5 times a week between 6-9 pm and have never been checked or seen gardai there!

The only place I was ever stopped was on a slip road off the N7 near Kill. They were checkingNCT/Tax/Insurance and licence but no breath test (it was 11 am on a weekday though)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,676 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Im driving 10 years and Ive never been breath tested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Never in 16 years....Not here, and not in London where I'm from! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

Driving 18 years and never been breathalised. I do about 12k miles per annum, Dublin and Kildare areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,234 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Been breathalised four of five times in the past few years. I dont drink so Ive nothing to worry about.

Quite frankly Id be happy to be stopped every night if it meant stopping those who do drink drive from getting behind the wheel of a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,013 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

I can see your point but It appeared you were pointing out that there was an irony. My mistake! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 jagallagher

I was stopped last bank holiday weekend. I admitted that I had had 3 bottles of beer much earlier in the evening (before 9:30 - it was now 12:45). The Garda asked me if I'd pass a breath test to which I replied that I was sure I would. The Gardai didn't have a Breathalyzer at the checkpoint, so I was arrested and put in the back of a paddywagon and driven 45 minutes to the nearest station where they could check me.
    Sat there watching the cops have the craic for twenty minutes, then I was put under observation for twenty minutes (why the period of observation couldn't have taken place straight away, I have no idea). Kept being asked "you had how much to drink?", and then being told "You might be alright". When I was asked what I had been done since I had been drinking and I told them I had gone to Asda (my wife drove us), He asked "And you were going to buy drink in Asda, were you?". Seriously - what's the relevance of what we were going to buy in Asda? The Garda who eventually took me away to blow into the machine even said to me "you seem alright to me".
    I ended up blowing zero. To cap it all off, I was told that by right I should just be released from the station and have to make my own way home - they made out that they were doing me a favour by letting me sit in the cage in the back of the van for another 45 minutes until they collected my keys from my local station and dropped me back at my car.
    Does anyone else find it strange that they would set up a checkpoint on the Saturday night of a bank holiday weekend and not have a breathalyzer on scene? I can't help but think that the whole thing was maybe just a way for the two cops who took me to the station to have an easy night to themselves - go for a drive, chat to the boys in the station, go for a drive again, shift's almost over at that stage.
    </rant>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Twice in the same day in Lucan village. I pass one check point, pass a roundabout and then get stopped again at the next checkpoint.
    It was around 1am on a weekend.

And I don't drink so it was zero.