If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

It was gay then but now it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

It used to be ghey to be gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

Doc wrote: »
    First off let me just say this tread doesn’t have anything to do with actually being homosexual but merely what was once seen as something that a straight man just wouldn’t do but now is socially acceptable for them.

The idea of the metro sexual man is still relatively new and I can remember a time when certain things would be viewed as for women only or “gay”. For example a man admitting to waxing any part of his body now is fine but in the not too distant past would have been viewed totally differently.

It's a bit like if I say "fag", what I really mean is that you are an annoying biker!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Michaelrsh wrote: »
    It's a bit like if I say "fag", what I really mean is that you are an annoying biker!!!

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

(unaccompanied) "Men" pushing baby-strollers around. Not in my day! That's womens work. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

what?

im just really responding to general asked overall.

He is commenting on that they actually do both have two heads....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

bonerm wrote: »
    (unaccompanied) "Men" pushing baby-strollers around. Not in my day! That's womens work. :mad:

Its hilariously ironic how you could have been considered gay when the evidence of your sexuality is the subject of the doubt :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

phasers wrote: »
    Well a guy shagging another guy is still gay, besides that it's pretty open

Unless the guy looks like a woman. Thats different.

And the gay is on the girly man.

It is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

male hair straightening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I suppose 'unmanly' would be a better term to use.

In that sense I think using moisturisers and the like are still a bit unmanly. I'd be of the opinion that those things are completely unnecessary.

If you really suffer from dry skin at least be manly about your unmanly bitching! Spit on your hands, wipe in skin, eat steak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

I've done seven out of those eleven things, some regularly, and I'm not gay.

I do lots of things that might be considered gay. Someone mentioned putting an 'x' at the end of a text to your male friends - yes, but obviously in a jokey way.
    If I kiss a mate on the cheek, it's obviously a joke. These are light hearted, trivial things just like getting an ear pierced or putting on moisturiser (I have dry skin when I drink a lot of beer). I also like camp music...it's fun, who cares?

I can still watch sports or play soccer on weekends or burp the alphabet. But there are so many important things about being a man - honesty, trustworthyness, confidence, thoughtfulness and personal conviction being notable amongst them. Basically all of the best qualities you see in someone like your Dad.

If you are relying on the pretty superficial fact that you dont use moisturiser, or that you dont let your girlfriend make you wear silly clothes, or that you dont like Jedward - as a means to back up your masculinity, then you probably arent all that much of a man on a realistic level to begin with. You may not be much fun either.

Dry skin and clothes your Mum bought you dont make you a man.

Very Ghay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,342 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Damn right SS.

You know only too well how I hate those Spelling Police feckers.

No too fond of GrammarNazis either mind you.

How well do you get on with the Syntax Czars or the Semantic Scrutinisers ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Davidius wrote: »
    In that sense I think using moisturisers and the like are still a bit unmanly. I'd be of the opinion that those things are completely unnecessary.

If you really suffer from dry skin at least be manly about your unmanly bitching! Spit on your hands, wipe in skin, eat steak.
    I'd rather some randomer on the internet considered me unmanly than walk around with a head like a big scaldy lizard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Basically doing anythiing like the following people makes you gay :rolleyes:

The complete Top 10:

1. Cristiano Ronaldo

2. Kylie Minogue

3. Judy Garland

4. Elton John

5. Liza Minnelli

6. The Village People

7. David Beckham

8. George Michael

9. John Barrowman

10. Paul O’Grady

source = http://www.nowmagazine.co.uk/celebrity-news/270456/cristiano-ronaldo-named-ultimate-gay-icon/1/

/Awaits wimmin boardsies to flock in and scream "well if I found a gay fella that looked like christiano ronaldo I'd take him home and fúck him til I turned him straight"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I live in the American Gardens Building on W. 81st Street on the 11th floor. My name is Patrick Bateman. I'm 27 years old. I believe in taking care of myself and a balanced diet and rigorous exercise routine. In the morning if my face is a little puffy I'll put on an ice pack while doing stomach crunches. I can do 1000 now. After I remove the ice pack I use a deep pore cleanser lotion. In the shower I use a water activated gel cleanser, then a honey almond body scrub, and on the face an exfoliating gel scrub. Then I apply an herb-mint facial mask which I leave on for 10 minutes while I prepare the rest of my routine. I always use an after shave lotion with little or no alcohol, because alcohol dries your face out and makes you look older. Then moisturizer, then an anti-aging eye balm followed by a final moisturizing protective lotion.
    gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

bonerm wrote: »
    gay.

ubber gay

Lads wearing maybelline makeup (or however its spelled)

http://www.businesspundit.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/maybelline.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Wearing a man bag and using lip balm is cool now, right?

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    I use a lip balm on holidays during summer so my lips don't get burned and blister and crack and bleed (Thinking about it makes me feel sick!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

Wait, when did lip balm become gay?

Mine has a picture of a man on the packet... so can't be gay.

Plus he's hot.

Wait, when did lip balm become gay?

Ages ago. Were you not included on the Gayogram?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭itsonlywords

K-9 wrote: »
    Homosexuality used to be punishable by death in England, then by prison sentence, then by flogging, then they made it legal. I'm getting out before they make it compulsory.
    That was good. Made me laugh.

Absolutely.

...if you're teh ghey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Bonito wrote: »
    Lads wearing maybelline makeup (or however its spelled)

Maybe.

Wait, I have confirmation.

http://www.doobybrain.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/diet-vanilla-pepsi-lip-balm.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

ubber gay

Ubber Gay?

Is that a fat gay guy, like blubber gay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭itsonlywords

Doc wrote: »
    First off let me just say this tread doesn’t have anything to do with actually being homosexual but merely what was once seen as something that a straight man just wouldn’t do but now is socially acceptable for them.

The idea of the metro sexual man is still relatively new and I can remember a time when certain things would be viewed as for women only or “gay”. For example a man admitting to waxing any part of his body now is fine but in the not too distant past would have been viewed totally differently.

It seams to me that the two sexes are getting closer and that there are less and less things outside of the physical differences between the two that are limited to one sex.

So what do people think? Is this a good thing? Are there still taboos for men or women when it comes to something only the other sex should do? Or is society now totally open to men behaving in ways previously reserved for women and visa versa?
    My bro was always suspect as a gay but then we thought bi-sexual, then tri-sexual where he would try anything. When he "came out" he was nothing anymore as we all stopped talking to him. Now he can fcuk himself lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

This thread is gayer than the time I had sex with a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

Nodin wrote: »
    Ages ago. Were you not included on the Gayogram?
    omg morto

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Ubber Gay?

Is that a fat gay guy, like blubber gay?

I think its a fat gay guy after lipo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Nodin wrote: »
    Absolutely.

...if you're teh ghey.

Well you've been the only negative nancy to my question!