TA Events - 2010 heads up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,176 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

To put it in perspective, the F&O game which FK has referred to ... we drove down from Sheffield in early August in what i can only describe as *glorious* sunny weather teh length and breadth of the UK.

Until we rolled across the cattle-grid (literally) into SenTA. Whereupon it proceeded to p*ss cats & dogs for all of Saturday and some of Sunday morning. Upon leaving again, the rest of the UK was still basking in glorious sunny weather.

Do the math folks ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

its wales come on, plan for every type of weather, you never know you may beed to all in the same weekend :) its worse than the cork/kerry mountains ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

Masada wrote: »
    Wets are handy to have but the temperature at that time of year is more than comfortable so you'll get alway with lightweight gortex gear over your BDU. Carry lightweight and dont carry all the "this looks deadly" kinda sh1t, if you plan on staying out for the majority of the game you'll start to feel the weight of all that stuff.,

Last time around i used a bandolier with 3 mags, dropleg mag pouch with 3 more and my pistol. also had my 3day sack with anything i needed to keep fed and warm and i was pretty mobile and more than comfortable the whole time whereas some of the lads near me were complaining about vests, slings etc after a good few hours using them. :)
    I'm plesantly suprised at your sensible attitude.... I thought you'd be all for the deady rubbish :P Nice to know opinions can be wrong.

As for the temperature... Dont let that fool you, in June it was freezing and stormy, it changes by the hour up there in the mountains.

Yes, last time i was down, I was diving through windows to effect entry, where the molle turtles were struggling to fit through the door neverming a window... "Climb through there? but my gear might get damaged!"

its all about the blackhawk battle bag and some savvy.

I plan on shoving my gortex jacket in my gear for justi n case, and a spare set of bdus and a towel... its just... nah. after the Red dawn weekend playing civies... no more white teeshirts.. *shudders at the memory*

new site looks great ian, was just reading thought the rules they seem to have been twicked a little like frag kills in building i swear the rule was a little different last time i was there
    If you are inside a room when a fragmentation grenade explodes then you are instantly killed in action and should return to regen instantly.

and i like how your know treating stun and frags as different, last time i was there they all counted as frags, nice move in my eyes
    If you are inside a room when a stun grenade explodes then you are incapacitated for 10 seconds. During this time you can not shoot or move by your own free will.

would say everyone new and old going to have a read thought :)

edit: ok a lot more changes and new rules than i thought at first love the new medic rules and more indepth rules for support :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Lads we went over all this the last time, especially here... have you forgotten so quickly?

Celieni Village is 370 metres up in the Brecon Beacons. It can be warm and sunny, even in the Welsh mountains, or it can be cold, wet and windy, even in May. Bring stuff you can layer up and down easily.

Mountains are pretty, but they can bite. Dress accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭Stone.cold

Marines oh yeah :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭fleecymanager

JUST SAW SOME VIDEO OF A TA EVENT ON THERE WEB SITE :eek: OOOOH MY GOD:eek: for sale my left one............are pyros realy that good, if i do get to go i won't get to fire of a round i will spend all me time video'n

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

Yeah Pyro is ok, bit annoying on the reciving end in enclosed spaces but no biggie. You get used to the bangs and explosions eventually.

Throwing end = fun

Reciving end = run away

Pyro and zombiesoft are the only things ive seen that make grown hardmen airsofters run like little girls...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

ya wont wanna be videoing pal., you'll be missing all the best stuff, the action., :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Firekitten wrote: »
    Yeah Pyro is ok, bit annoying on the reciving end in enclosed spaces but no biggie. You get used to the bangs and explosions eventually.

Throwing end = fun

Reciving end = run away

Pyro and zombiesoft are the only things ive seen that make grown hardmen airsofters run like little girls...

Even the receiving end can be fun, I'll never forget that ridiculously long siege of building 24 at PR2 I think it was, must have been a few hundred pyro's going both ways for about half an hour, great craic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭moggser

At the last even there in august
    it was near midnight the moon shone brightly at least 12
    of us where in building 22 between floors all was quite till
    someone heard a snadgie fart in the bushes too our left
    everyone threw what ever frags and flashbangs into
    the bush it was like skyfest
    was great craic
    turned out there was no one in the bushes after all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

kdouglas wrote: »
    Even the receiving end can be fun, I'll never forget that ridiculously long siege of building 24 at PR2 I think it was, must have been a few hundred pyro's going both ways for about half an hour, great craic :)

At least the burgers made it through enemy lines before it kicked off!

I think i'll be venturing over again...

Only question is what camo to bring :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭fleecymanager

so who's playing on which teams?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭delta-boy

I would be extremely interested in this, as the 29th is my 16 birthday :)

But, age wise, would I be able to play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Think TA games might be over 18 only, check their website ta-events.co.uk

Edit;
    Only reference to age I found on their site was this;
    Eye protection is mandatory in the form of goggles or approved glasses, full face protection is advised and is required for player under 18 years of age.

Otherwise, you might need someone to be your "guardian" for the purposes of getting ferries and such.

I tried, but I couldnt find anything age wise except something saying:

"Eye protection is mandatory in the form of goggles or approved glasses, full face protection is advised and is required for player under 18 years of age."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭P.K

delta-boy wrote: »
    I tried, but I couldnt find anything age wise except something saying:

"Eye protection is mandatory in the form of goggles or approved glasses, full face protection is advised and is required for player under 18 years of age."

i was there last year (was 16) dunno if they've changed there rules since then but
    General Rules
    • 18 years old (16 if accompanied by a parent or guardian who is playing).

That was for a charity event so the rules might have tightened up since then. I sent an email off to check so just waiting on a reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

one thing that has to be looked at and its not scare mongering ,the new child protection vetting in the uk any body working or bringing an under 18 to an outing, event, or other will have to vetting ie (perv check) so might be worth while getting a guardian to go with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

P.K wrote: »
    i was there last year (was 16) dunno if they've changed there rules since then but

That was for a charity event so the rules might have tightened up since then. I sent an email off to check so just waiting on a reply.

They were grand with someone acting as guardian though, didn't have to be legal guardian.

God opportunity to get your da to come along, delta-boy :-)

I'll try ask him tonight. As the 29th IS my birthday!

Also, would he have to be playing with me? I mean, I wouldnt be able to persuade him to join me for 48 hours of MilSim in Wales. :(

Gatling wrote: »
    one thing that has to be looked at and its not scare mongering ,the new child protection vetting in the uk any body working or bringing an under 18 to an outing, event, or other will have to vetting ie (perv check) so might be worth while getting a guardian to go with you

also be aware of the implications for the people your travelling with as one will have to be legally responsible and as you 16 that not something to be taken lightly, ozcam is the CPO for the IAA you might want to ask his advice

Right, told my dad. He said he'd be travelling with me. :)

One down, two more to go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭ASI Casper

Ians events are usually always 16+ unless the MOD or his insurers specifically request an 18 only limit for the specific venue.

I've had <18s to a few of his events, including Sennybridge, with myself acting as guardian.

Right, got confirmation from Ian, everything is fine as long as I bring proof of age with me.

Now, what team is everyone playing on?

Right, got confirmation from Ian, everything is fine as long as I bring proof of age with me.

Now, what team is everyone playing on?

there is people from ireland looking to play on all teams as far as im aware

Ahh right, but what team would have the most considerable amount of Irish on it? I dont want to be on a team full of strangers. :D

Also, whats the site and games like. I heard brilliant things about PR3. Will it be much different to what Airsoft is like in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭AlternateID

Ahh right, but what team would have the most considerable amount of Irish on it? I dont want to be on a team full of strangers. :D

Also, whats the site and games like. I heard brilliant things about PR3. Will it be much different to what Airsoft is like in Ireland?

Have you ever played milsim or battlesim? It will not be a skirmish. There will be limited ammo, no high caps and plenty of missions with sub-missions.

This is Sennybridge. 2 and 3 story buildings with basements.
    448067_c905d9bd.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

In short....... Oh he'll yeah. Nothing like it in Ireland. Check out previous Senny threads. Two and Three storey buildings, pyro, intense storyline, pyro, airstrikes, arty strikes, pyro and a whopper of a great time. Oh, did I mention the pyros. You and your dad will love it.

that one of the best bit about thee events, meeting and playign with new people wants the point of traveling all that way and only seeing the same people you play with week in week out :)

anyway sound like your best bet would be the hawks forum http://forum.hawksairsoft.com/viewforum.php?f=36 , they have a section about the event, and would be your best bet

also you have used the forum over at ta events so you know the site, make shore you have read the rules section http://www.ta-events.co.uk/rules/ as there very different to anything you will have used in ireland