Velib like bicycle rental kiosks are being constructed in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 kemase

I had a go this morning. I don't have a card yet, so had to go with the 3 day ticket.

Some thoughts:

1. The nearest station to me isn't credit card enabled, so I needed to go to a different one. Only 14 of the 40 are credit card enabled. It won't affect card holders obviously, but it will be an inconvenience for casual users.

2. The screen's not touch screen. Very strange. Perhaps it's a anti-vandalism measure, though I've seen touch screens on another scheme (Vienna).

3. The credit card authorisation is ponderously slow. At least a few minutes. If even a few people decide to go to a credit card enabled station at lunchtime, there'll be a long queue very quickly.

And on to the bike.

Lovely to ride, nice upright position. Perfect for a spin in town. Brakes are a bit soft, though as someone else mentioned, probably intentional to stop 'over the handlebars' incidents.

I wish everyone involved the best of luck with it. And the first little skanger caught trashing one should made an example of.

DFD.

I tried this out earlier with a Annual card. First time through you have validate some disclaimers, but on second trip it's a bit quicker.

Brakes are a loft 'softer' than my regular bike so need a little mental adjustment but other than that they're what you would expect.

Also found this app for the iPhone that tells you where the stations are and how many bikes are there.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

Definitely built for durability rather than speed, but comfortable enough on the cobbles of Smithfield. The interface takes a bit of getting used to, and annoyingly was different on the two terminals I used (Smithfield and Jervis St.). It took me a while to get past that first-time T&C screen -- I think it makes you scroll through manually.

But I will definitely be using this for short hops around town -- faster than walking or taking my own bike out of the underground car park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,515 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

What are the gears like?

I assume the geometry isn't ideal for out of the saddle efforts, but are big hills do-able? Like, er, Three Rock for example?

Lumen wrote: »
    What are the gears like?

I assume the geometry isn't ideal for out of the saddle efforts, but are big hills do-able? Like, er, Three Rock for example?

Eh, I did St. Stephen's Green so biggest hill was ramp onto pavement ;).

Three gears, smooth change, geared for ease rather than pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭jimogr

Do you need your card to take a bike - or can you just enter your sub number and pin?

I've just signed up and wondering to I have to wait until I get the card in the post?

jimogr wrote: »
    Do you need your card to take a bike - or can you just enter your sub number and pin?

I've just signed up and wondering to I have to wait until I get the card in the post?

Don't know the answer to that but it only took 2 days for my card to arrive last week.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

kemase wrote: »
    Three gears, smooth change, geared for ease rather than pace.
    I found them counter-intuitive, though, 'cos the grip shifters on my old bike worked the opposite way round.
    jimogr wrote: »
    You have to hold your card up to the card reader to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,243 ✭✭✭lucernarian

The press release from DCC and the RTE news article mentions bike kiosks from "the Mater hospital to Grand Canal Street". Funnily enough, I have looked around said street and there's no sign of any JCDecaux-installed equipment except for a nice big fat advertising billboard nearby on Macken St.

In fact, there doesn't seem to be a kiosk anywhere near Grand Canal St! Rather stupid of dublinbikes and pretty dissapointing too, as I'm too far away from any kiosks to make it worthwhile despite living within the canal cordon.

I'd contact dublinbikes to find out what the story is, but you have to be an existing customer to use their "contact us" form.:rolleyes:

Rant over.

It does seem like a good idea, with definite long term success but I still wonder if JCDecaux got too good a bargain, especially with their ludicrously dangerous prominent advertisments, and in a city that's not the most bike friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,430 ✭✭✭markpb

in a city that's not the most bike friendly.

If the scheme is popular and it introduces lots more cyclists into the city centre, drivers will learn to be more aware of cyclists thereby making it safer. The center of Amsterdam has no cycling facilities to speak of, just lots of cyclists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Question - maybe this has been coverd already.

If you get a puncture while you have the bike are you liable? Will operators deduct a charge from you to cover the cost of the repair - or any other repair, for example if you crash?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Grand Canal Street". Funnily enough, I have looked around said street and there's no sign of any JCDecaux-installed equipment except for a nice big fat advertising billboard nearby on Macken St.

The nearest kiosk I saw on the canal at Baggot Street bridge but I haven't walked around the Grand Canal dock area in a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Jawgap wrote: »

If you get a puncture while you have the bike are you liable? Will operators deduct a charge from you to cover the cost of the repair - or any other repair, for example if you crash?

I'd presume so - if you returned a hire car with a puncture/empty fuel tank/damaged bumper, you'd be invoiced healthily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Jip wrote: »
    The nearest kiosk I saw on the canal at Baggot Street bridge but I haven't walked around the Grand Canal dock area in a bit.

From the map, Merrion Square is the closest. 5 min walk max.

Jawgap wrote: »

Looking at the T&C's that come with a card, you're responsible for the bike while you rent it.
    There's a maximum limit on the penalty for damage or loss of bike of 150 euro. Or 20 euro if the lock is damaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

-Chris- wrote: »
    I'd presume so - if you returned a hire car with a puncture/empty fuel tank/damaged bumper, you'd be invoiced healthily.
    This is from Dublin City Council so I presume it's accurate:
    What should I do if I get a puncture en route?

Don’t worry - punctures happen from general wear and tear and you won’t be charged if your bike gets a puncture. Just drop the bike back to the nearest station. A number of service vehicles will travel to and from each station regularly with staff carrying out general repairs on the bikes.

http://dublincitycycling.ie/public-bike-scheme/how-it-works

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

got my card there today/tried one of them out...

as expected they are rather heavy, and most cyclists here are not going to use anything but its lowest gear. But @ over 100rpm its still enough that i overtook every commuter i came across in commuter racing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Beasty wrote: »

The council have denied that report and said it's untrue.
    Having said that I went by the ones on Parnell Square this morning and the van was there along with a motorcycle garda. They were either just having a chat about the bikes or discussing some vandalism as they were checking something out anyway.

could just be a curious garda, i've talked to a few people on my one trip using the velib already....

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Lumen wrote: »

Are you thinking what I'm thinking? An uphill Boards TT on Velibs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

el tonto wrote: »
    Are you thinking what I'm thinking? An uphill Boards TT on Velibs?

It's on!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Raam wrote: »
    It's on!

Anyone want to nominate a hill?

We'll need pics. Lots of pics.

And everyone has to wear mad lycra for the full effect.

they are quite heavy....but the high gear seems quite high...haven't been up 3-rock but howth would be no problem on them anyway.... can pedal out of the saddle too without too much hassle(at least on the flat.....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭cable842

there a rip off. what if someone comes along and damages all the bikes at the kiosk.

do we all have to pay for each bike.

cable842 wrote: »
    there a rip off. what if someone comes along and damages all the bikes at the kiosk.

do we all have to pay for each bike.

what? that makes no sense. We don't pay for any of the bikes JC Decaux does...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Tawfee

Still waiting on my card so haven't used the bikes yet, but i was wondering if you can use one for 30 mins, drop it off at a station & pick up another one, use that for 30 mins, etc, & basically use them all day for free?

yes you can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭cable842

but if guy damages the bike your cycling there a big debit on your credit card.

the bikes should be free just like the are in copenhagen. simple as that

typical irish always having to pay.

when the rest of europe is laughing at us paying for them.

I was in copenhagen and the bikes were amazin to use. they werent the crappy bikes they are giving us.

the were slim line fast really cool bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,988 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Tawfee wrote: »
    Still waiting on my card so haven't used the bikes yet, but i was wondering if you can use one for 30 mins, drop it off at a station & pick up another one, use that for 30 mins, etc, & basically use them all day for free?
    I think there's a small delay before you can take out another bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,156 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Tawfee wrote: »

afaik you can do this, but you have to wait a few minutes between dropping one back and picking the next one up.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/