Velib like bicycle rental kiosks are being constructed in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

blorg wrote: »
    Ah yes, the banlieues, where idealistic and socially-minded youths smoke Galouises and pontificate about political philosophy? If you read Elaine's first post you would see that if you get a puncture you just wheel it to the nearest station and check it back in, the scheme will look after it. The quick release seatpost is so the height can be quickly adjusted to people of varying heights; AFAIK you cannot actually take it out all the way.

Well done to Elaine for actually coming back to this thread :)

Dump a bike or wheel it to a station? whats easier? because thats what scangers will do, the easiest solution.

Maybe the seat cannot come out the entire way, thats a good idea, but ill believe it when i see it.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

kona wrote: »
    Dump a bike or wheel it to a station? whats easier? because thats what scangers will do, the easiest solution.

Did you even read Elaine's first post?

el tonto wrote: »
    Did you even read Elaine's first post?

twice.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

twice.

So you would have discovered that if you just dump a bike, your card will be billed for the time it is out until it is recovered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

And you will be charged a deposit(€200?) for not returning it.

So you would have discovered that if you just dump a bike, your card will be billed for the time it is out until it is recovered.

So whats to stop a skanger using say a stolen card? Or what happens if your knocked off and the bike taken(prop not gunna happen).

How strong are the anchors?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I'd say if a skanger wants a bike, he's going to steal a bike - not steal a credit card then use it to get one of these bikes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

DadaKopf wrote: »
    Better still, start lobbying your local councillors to improve cycling conditions and introduce advertising schemes.

Jawgap wrote: »
    I'd say if a skanger wants a bike, he's going to steal a bike - not steal a credit card then use it to get one of these bikes.

true but these are going to be like trophies for them IMO.

I see the locking bit it made of aluminium tube:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

I tried to resist. I failed.
    So whats to stop a skanger using say a stolen card? Or what happens if your knocked off and the bike taken(prop not gunna happen).

How strong are the anchors?

Moving the goalposts? You asked a stupid question that had already been dealt with (punctures). The answer drew attention to the fact that you seem to be a bit, eh, hard of understanding so you tried to reframe the question to something to do with creditcard fraud (chip and pin mean anything to you? Are velibs likely to be the end goal of skimmers? lol). What happens if the bikes I get bike-jacked and then the skanger gets a puncture? huh? huh? :rolleyes::D;)

How do you think you're coming over in this thread? Because I think you'd probably be making more sense if you just mashed your face against the keyboard and hit "Submit Reply".

niceonetom wrote: »

Moving the goalposts? You asked a stupid question that had already been dealt with (punctures). The answer drew attention to the fact that you seem to be a bit, eh, hard of understanding so you tried to reframe the question to something to do with creditcard fraud (chip and pin mean anything to you? Are velibs likely to be the end goal of skimmers? lol). What happens if the bikes I get bike-jacked and then the skanger gets a puncture? huh? huh? :rolleyes::D;)

How do you think you're coming over in this thread? Because I think you'd probably be making more sense if you just mashed your face against the keyboard and hit "Submit Reply".

makes as much sense as pouring nitromors on your bike:rolleyes:

In the realm of stupidity pouring nitromors on a bike is pretty ****ing stupid.

Personally when i read your thread on that I just thought what a idiot.

Why didnt you just respray it or but tape on it? DUH!

so please dont patronise me, your as stupid to me as i am to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,282 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I'm sure the skangers won't just steal the bike even if they don't get a puncture.

This thread reminds me of that paranoid poster from way back who thought the varying toll prices on the Port Tunnel were a conspiracy against Northsiders.

let me break it down:

Skanger robs handbag, skanger has credit cards contained in said handbag, skanger decides he wants to nick say 50 bikes for the craic and throw em in the liffey, skanger goes onto internet, skanger registers the card on the website(i presume there is one), skanger goes down to the rank and takes a bike. skanger throws bike in the liffey and feels great.

Repeat loop.

Nothing about skimmers:rolleyes: no need for chip and pin.

Stark wrote: »
    I'm sure the skangers won't just steal the bike even if they don't get a puncture.

This thread reminds me of that paranoid poster from way back who thought the varying toll prices on the Port Tunnel were a conspiracy against Northsiders.

its is:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

So whats to stop a skanger using say a stolen card?
    What's to stop a skanger using a stolen card and ordering a new bike off the internet? Ban bikes altogether I say. And the internet!

nothing, but Im sure they will get more enjoymet flinging a bike into the liffey.

Look Im just saying whta could happen.

IMO the easiest way to rob them is just chop off the anchor, its only aluminium.

It all seems fool proof but apparantley paris has proved that they can be robbed and vadalised easily.

What's to stop him using a stolen credit card to order 50 bikes off the internet and throwing them in the Liffey. Because doing that would make him "feel great".

nothing. does it happen? people using stolen cards to buy stuff? yup.

again ill point to paris.

It all seems fool proof but apparantley paris has proved that they can be robbed and vadalised easily.

Every public amenity is vandalised at some time or another and vandalism is factored into costs. Just because someone rips up a seat on a bus doesn't mean we should stop providing buses, does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Every public amenity is vandalised at some time or another and vandalism is factored into costs. Just because someone rips up a seat on a bus doesn't mean we should stop providing buses, does it?

Yes it does!!! but only to the northside, have you seen the state of buses once they are put on a Finglas route?

nope but if its consistantley done, the route is removed.

Yes it does!!! but only to the northside, have you seen the state of buses once they are put on a Finglas route?

****ing state on them on the 10 route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Sorry, I just had this image in my head.

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭DePurpereWolf

Do they float?

once they dont have a puncture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Skanger robs handbag, skanger has credit cards contained in said handbag, skanger decides he wants to nick say 50 bikes for the craic and throw em in the liffey, skanger goes onto internet, skanger registers the card on the website(i presume there is one), skanger goes down to the rank and takes a bike. skanger throws bike in the liffey and feels great.
    I've a PhD in skangerology.

The nature of the skanger is that they operate primarily on instinct and testosterone. If they can't get something now, they're not going to bother. The simple act of walking home and logging onto the internet would prove far too much effort for them when they can just use the cash they robbed from the handbag to pay for 50 johnny players and 10 litres of Royal Oak cider. The handbag, including the cards, will be dumped in the nearest bin/bush/river and the skanger will wander off happy with whatever cash he gets out of it.

A mate of mine was mugged one night, he gave the guy his wallet and said, "Ah here, just take the cash will ye, don't take my wallet, it's got all my stuff in it". And the skanger handed him back his wallet and ran off.

seamus wrote: »
    I've a PhD in skangerology.

The nature of the skanger is that they operate primarily on instinct and testosterone. If they can't get something now, they're not going to bother. The simple act of walking home and logging onto the internet would prove far too much effort for them when they can just use the cash they robbed from the handbag to pay for 50 johnny players and 10 litres of Royal Oak cider. The handbag, including the cards, will be dumped in the nearest bin/bush/river and the skanger will wander off happy with whatever cash he gets out of it.

A mate of mine was mugged one night, he gave the guy his wallet and said, "Ah here, just take the cash will ye, don't take my wallet, it's got all my stuff in it". And the skanger handed him back his wallet and ran off.

what about the ones that go that extra mile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

what about the ones that go that extra mile!
    Then they end up in West Tallaght instead of the Square.

seamus wrote: »
    Then they end up in West Tallaght instead of the Square.

feckin southsiders robbing our bikes:p:pac: