If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCU Fm - Feedback

yellowcurl wrote: »
    1 question: So if people aren't happy with the style of music being played on the station why didn't they go and propose shows themselves???

If it's a matter of "we didn't know when/where to ask" then it really doesn't look like you're too determined to change it yourselves.

Armchair complainers are always the worst.
    There was a quite good line-up of varied shows but they seem to have disappeared since semester 1 :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭yellowcurl

There was a quite good line-up of varied shows but they seem to have disappeared since semester 1 :confused:

Yeah i do get what you mean, i quite liked the nothing but 90's in semester 1, but i think some students had to drop it as it's final year for them and whatnot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Cid-Highwind

It should be a collective run by the students. Having a manager is just DCU being DCU. He doesnt need to be there. Is he present to pull the plug incase someone goes preaching profanity?

The station is ran entirely by students, Chris included.
    It shouldnt cost a cent to run, besides whatever fees are obligitory for broadcasting stations in this country. I'd happily present a show along the lines of chillout music or something, and for nothing, it would just be for the fun of it. But im not in that status quo, so I know my place.

No one involved in DCU FM gets paid. The only money that has been spent this year is on licensing and equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 birthdayboy

or some of the more accessible dupstep (why not be hip, its the new thing these days) or something of the like.

The fact that you don't even know that its called dubstep and you know absolutly f*** all about how the station is run shows what a special little troll you are. Have a nice day

OMG!!!!!111
    A spelling mistake, what the hell has the world come to? In all fairness, leif has nearly 600 posts and is airing his views...you have 1 post and you are giving out over a spelling mistake...really, who is the troll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Usually I dont respond to retards who pick up on typos, but I have to laugh at you actually correcting me on such an abvious mistake.

And how the station is run? Its obvious to everybody that its just a small nucleas of communications school people running it. I have enough of an idea to see that its run poorly. C'mon - DCUFM announced in some cutting edge english accent. Are we supposed to be sipping a martini canalside in camden town listening to this? Tell me how its run, tell me how its not a little clique. Tell me of the levels of encouragement throughout the college aimed towards including more students. I see no adverts. I've never seen anybody asking for suggestions for things such as what music should be played etc.

Face it, its widely accepted its just for a small few who feel it will look 'amazing' on their CVs in a few years time. Its not a college radio. Some of the presenters need to realise that they arent gods gift to the airwaves, but a mere assault on the ears.

Any typing errors in there? I didnt run over to double check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭legendal

Em, I got plenty of emails in my inbox looking for people to get involved. And I've heard an appeal for people to take part during one of the shows, so it doesn't seem like they're trying to form a little clique where all their friends get jobs, which is what some people seem to be suggesting here.

I'd imagine if you emailed them expressing interest they'd get back to you, and give you a hand along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

riemann wrote: »
    So to sum up:

Radio is dead.

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭*shadow*

The station is always looking for more people, and the news team are constantly sending emails out, the problem is other people don't seem interested that or they just can't be bothered.

EVERYONE who works in the station dedicates a huge amount of their time to it. There is No "Clique" just a group of people trying to establish a radio station this college can be proud off. So you can keep slagging it off
    OR
    you could do the 'unspeakable' by actually daring to give up some of your precious time by getting involved and supporting it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Slurmsy

*shadow* wrote: »
    you could do the 'unspeakable' by actually daring to give up some of your precious time by getting involved and supporting it!

Nonsense, it's much more fun to just sit around and bitch and moan!

I can see where you're coming from though. I work with the College View and the amount of effort it takes to get people involved is ridiculous. I've plenty of my own issues with the paper but at least I'm trying to do something about it. When I hear people complain about it, I just roll my eyes because I'm sick of telling them if they've got something a problem why don't they get onboard and do something about it.

As for DCUFM, personally can't stand it. Might as well be just a speaker hanging out of a window.

(Oh and yes, I do get the irony contained within this post :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Hauk

Awful awful stuff.

Trying to get your third year project done and you have this rubbish blasting through the glass of the Computing building.

And it wasn't even good music. It was a collective selection of those crappy new bands that begin with "The" and have a random word after it. Then Beyonce and all that utter garbage.

Because we were subjected to it; I didn't hear any jazz, blues, metal(even light metal like Metallica) playing at all. No classical music either(which would have been nice).

The was no mix of music, it was pop "music" garbage.

And the complete crap they were talking about when they were having their "discussions".

I think I speak for myself and my project partner, and everyone else in DCU that actually has relevant college work to do, THANK GOD you won't be allowed blare it around DCU all the time.

Right, I'm done.

There's your feedback.

Hauk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭andrew163

I have to wonder, how in the name of [insert deity here] can DCU FM get away with giving €500 + a truckload of smaller prizes away to random listeners, and still even consider charging societies for ad space on the grounds that "we don't have enough money to buy mics for the poor starving presenters"?

I would like to see their funding...

andrew163 wrote:
    I have to wonder, how in the name of [insert deity here] can DCU FM get away with giving €500 + a truckload of smaller prizes away to random listeners...

Maybe they’ve a sponsor or something. I haven’t heard them mention anyone though so I’m not sure. If it’s not coming from an outside source but from funding given to them by the University, then I’d think that would be a serious misuse of funds. Whether it’s breaking some kind of rule, I don’t know.
    andrew163 wrote:
    consider charging societies for ad space on the grounds that "we don't have enough money to buy mics for the poor starving presenters"?

I don’t see anything wrong with them charging DCU societies for airtime. Discount rate sure, but it’s a valuable commodity all the same. The more money they can make from sources outside DCU, the better off they’ll be.
    I would like to see their funding...

Personally I'd like to see all societies having to publish an annually audit, not just a random few, open to all students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭lil_cain

Slurmsy wrote: »
    Maybe they’ve a sponsor or something. I haven’t heard them mention anyone though so I’m not sure. If it’s not coming from an outside source but from funding given to them by the University, then I’d think that would be a serious misuse of funds. Whether it’s breaking some kind of rule, I don’t know.
    Offhand I don't know where it's coming from but it's not from the SPC. We specifically refuse to fund any kind of prizes.

I don’t see anything wrong with them charging DCU societies for airtime. Discount rate sure, but it’s a valuable commodity all the same. The more money they can make from sources outside DCU, the better off they’ll be.
    Money from societies isn't really money from outside DCU. Plus,I think it's a dangerous precedent. Most societies are quite happy to do things for other societies, on the basis that at some point, they'll need help from that society, or from another one. RB don't charge societies to host websites, music soc have never charged societies to use their gear, and any other society that's been asked to help with anything has always been willing to do it for free, at least in my experience. I think if people got into a culture of charging for these things, you wouldn't see the same amount of stuff being done helping other societies.
    Personally I'd like to see all societies having to publish an annually audit, not just a random few, open to all students.
    All societies have to submit accounts at the end of each semester (clubs too, I believe), and their members are entitled to ask them for these. We don't have the manpower to go through a full audit of every societies accounts every semester though, so the current system of only checking receipts of a random minority has to suffice, I'm afraid.

lil_cain wrote:
    Offhand I don't know where it's coming from but it's not from the SPC. We specifically refuse to fund any kind of prizes.

Cool, thanks. Wasn't sure how it worked.
    =lil_cain wrote:
    Money from societies isn't really money from outside DCU. Plus,I think it's a dangerous precedent. Most societies are quite happy to do things for other societies, on the basis that at some point, they'll need help from that society, or from another one. RB don't charge societies to host websites, music soc have never charged societies to use their gear, and any other society that's been asked to help with anything has always been willing to do it for free, at least in my experience. I think if people got into a culture of charging for these things, you wouldn't see the same amount of stuff being done helping other societies.

I was speaking more along the lines of advertisers from outside DCU. AIB, Oxygen, MCD, and so on. Sorry wasn't clear.

I do to an extent agree with not charging other DCU societies, hence discount rates, but if DCUFM are lacking in funds then they need to do what they can to increase their revenue.
    lil_cain wrote:
    All societies have to submit accounts at the end of each semester (clubs too, I believe), and their members are entitled to ask them for these.

What about those who aren't members, are they too entitled to view them?
    lil_cain wrote:
    We don't have the manpower to go through a full audit of every societies accounts every semester though, so the current system of only checking receipts of a random minority has to suffice, I'm afraid.

That's a shame. I would have thought that a full audit would be a necessary evil with all the money that goes into the various societies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭lil_cain

Cool, thanks. Wasn't sure how it worked.

I was speaking more along the lines of advertisers from outside DCU. AIB, Oxygen, MCD, and so on. Sorry wasn't clear.

I do to an extent agree with not charging other DCU societies, hence discount rates, but if DCUFM are lacking in funds then they need to do what they can to increase their revenue.

What about those who aren't members, are they too entitled to view them?
    No. They are entitled to view the SPC's grants, but not how the society spends it's non-grant money.

That's a shame. I would have thought that a full audit would be a necessary evil with all the money that goes into the various societies.
    We require receipts for any money we give the society. Full audits of how they spend sponsorship and the like are unfortunately not really practicable for every society every year. We'd end up spending a significant proportion of the SPC's budget on auditing, and a significant amount of society's time preparing things for audit.

lil_cain wrote: »
    No. They are entitled to view the SPC's grants, but not how the society spends it's non-grant money.

Thanks. That's understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭Grudaire

You are kidding me now. The club which I am involved in has had an increase of 50%, and our budget has stayed the same. In our budget we were allocated money for Gear for 5 people (including the compulsory safety gear), yet we had an increase in active (going to competitions active) members of over ten.

So crack on the Justin Timberlake and cry me a river

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭carlowboy

Cliste wrote: »
    You are kidding me now. The club which I am involved in has had an increase of 50%, and our budget has stayed the same. In our budget we were allocated money for Gear for 5 people (including the compulsory safety gear), yet we had an increase in active (going to competitions active) members of over ten.

This

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 loumac

Daysha wrote: »
    If permanent speakers outside gets the go-ahead, I'd suggest have them programmed to only turn on during the music shows. News and sport is fine, but I'm not sure if many people are going to want to listen to an hour long current affairs show outside Spar.
    You are entitled to your opinion Daysha but your comment is extremely subjective. DCU happens to be THE college in Ireland for Communications, so that means plenty of students interested in current affairs and god forbid the news. What do you think the news team (who by the way work 8 days per week to get 2 hours of news on the air and hourly bulletins to the station) would think of your proposed censorship/gagging idea? Where do you think we are, China???

If the turnout at this year's Hustings is anything to go on, not to mention the current economic climate, more students could do with absorbing more news. On a legal note a radio station cannot get a licence without news.

Cliste wrote: »

Don't bitch to me, bitch to someone who can do something about it :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

loumac wrote: »
    What do you think the news team (who by the way work 8 days per week

8 Days per week?

What are you nuts?

I'd say they spend about 5 mins on the web before each episode and if they spend any longer they need to consider removing themselves from the gene pool - hopefully following your example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Scattery

You are entitled to your opinion Daysha but your comment is extremely subjective. DCU happens to be THE college in Ireland for Communications, so that means plenty of students interested in current affairs and god forbid the news. What do you think the news team (who by the way work 8 days per week to get 2 hours of news on the air and hourly bulletins to the station) would think of your proposed censorship/gagging idea? Where do you think we are, China???

If the turnout at this year's Hustings is anything to go on, not to mention the current economic climate, more students could do with absorbing more news. On a legal note a radio station cannot get a licence without news.

Well, talk about generalising statements. Do you always speak down to prospective listeners like this: telling them that they are wrong and you are right? Because having read this post, I tell you, I wouldn't be going out of my way to listen to any of the news programmes that I take it you have a hand in producing. If I want someone to talk down to me and tell me that I need to absorb more news I'll speak to my grandparents thank you very much, rather than a fellow student.

Personally, I don't think that anyone involved in the DCU radio station - a radio station that should be focused on news that affects students - can tell me I need to take in more news. Having heard about the air-**** that was a half hour DCUfm news feature on Gaza, maybe the people on the news team need to re-evaluate the type of news a university might care about, because I know that if I wanted to hear about Gaza, DCUfm is probably the last place I would go for that sort of information. Don't tell me that a half hour piece on Gaza was anything less than something one of the producers wanted to make for their portfolio, without caring two ****s as to whether anyone would actually want to listen to it. I mean, half an hour? Surely if you are trying to get people to actively tune in, nothing should be more than ten minutes long?

But so as not be accused of merely attacking without offering a thought in return: have you thought that maybe, just maybe, the idea of a Current Affairs show could stretch beyond just covering what was in the Irish Times the week before, and possibly, I don't know, incorporation some culture, maybe a bit of non-political news, that sort of thing...

Why's that? Your comment doesn't make sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭legendal

Your only hope in my opinion is to play some indie/alternative/chillout music instead of the monotonous drivel you have been feeding the masses over the previous weeks.
    I agree that there's a little too much of your typical mainstream pop stuff on DCUfm, certainly for my liking anyways, but if you're looking for "some" of that kind of music - i.e. implying that none gets played at all - then just listen in because they already do play it. They play it on the Morning Crew, and it's the only thing that gets played on Decked. It probably shows up elsewhere too. Feck it, if you want it badly enough, email them.
    Also I have it on good stead that DCU FM is basically a plaything for you and your "friends" to pander your egos...
    Care to elaborate on this "good stead"? As I've said already, I've gotten plenty of emails inviting people to take part, so I don't see where this 'clique' theory comes from :confused:
    Also (I know that you are part of it, but) the breakfast show has to be the worst show I have ever heard. Why are you all in such good moods so early in the morning?
    That has to rank as one of the worst arguments made on any thread. Do you actually think there's something wrong with being a good mood?! People give out relentlessly about negativity from the media, yet you take exception to this? And give it your top priority in criticisms of the programme?
    the only thing I could hear was the high pitched screams, and relentless self promoting of a female "DJ". Whoever she is, she must be stopped before she does serious psychological damage to herself or worse, one of your two listeners.
    This is total exaggeration and does nothing other than adversely affect the integrity of points you make. There's no high pitched screams whatsoever - if the fact that she has a feminine voice is what bothers you, then you really need to think again about what you expect from a female DJ.

Radio is dead.
    Why are you trying to flog a dead horse?
    To quote Daysha, LOL. Radio's a thriving industry. Nobody's going to force you to listen to or even like DCUfm (and tbh, it's obvious from the points you're making that you don't listen to the station), but again, saying something as obviously wrong as that shows that you're simply arguing for the sake of arguing and have nothing informed to contribute to this particular discussion.

DCUfm has it's flaws. But at least I know that from actually listening to the thing. And from listening I've heard some stuff that I quite like too.
    I'd say they spend about 5 mins on the web before each episode.

*sigh* Another well-made point there :rolleyes: Somehow I think it takes longer than five minutes to produce an hour of radio - y'know, doing a bit of research, arranging interviews, that kind of thing, the kind of thing that could actually take hours and hours.

Or maybe you don't know. And that's why you're able to come out with nonsense like that and present it as though it's some sort of valid argument.

Scattery wrote: »
    Well, talk about generalising statements. Do you always speak down to prospective listeners like this: telling them that they are wrong and you are right? Because having read this post, I tell you, I wouldn't be going out of my way to listen to any of the news programmes that I take it you have a hand in producing. If I want someone to talk down to me and tell me that I need to absorb more news I'll speak to my grandparents thank you very much, rather than a fellow student.

Personally, I don't think that anyone involved in the DCU radio station - a radio station that should be focused on news that affects students - can tell me I need to take in more news. Having heard about the air-**** that was a half hour DCUfm news feature on Gaza, maybe the people on the news team need to re-evaluate the type of news a university might care about, because I know that if I wanted to hear about Gaza, DCUfm is probably the last place I would go for that sort of information. Don't tell me that a half hour piece on Gaza was anything less than something one of the producers wanted to make for their portfolio, without caring two ****s as to whether anyone would actually want to listen to it. I mean, half an hour? Surely if you are trying to get people to actively tune in, nothing should be more than ten minutes long?

But so as not be accused of merely attacking without offering a thought in return: have you thought that maybe, just maybe, the idea of a Current Affairs show could stretch beyond just covering what was in the Irish Times the week before, and possibly, I don't know, incorporation some culture, maybe a bit of non-political news, that sort of thing...
    I was replying to a comment made by someone who suggested that s/he was right re speakers, music etc... I'm entitled to have an opinion, you didn't hear me saying that music should not be played did you? I don't think full-time speakers are a good idea. I agree with that comment left by the business student. It would be distracting to have it there all the time. I might not be your grandparents but why should my observation be disregarded because of my student status? How do you know I am not coming up to the pension anyway? This is University, not primary school.

On Gaza, we were asked to conduct that interview (2 visiting academics to DCU) by a DCU lecturer if you must know so i'm sorry to disappoint on the "we nicked if from the Times" suggestion. We then got someone on the Israeli side of the argument to balance things out.
    You seem to have definite ideas about what kind of news that DCU wants. I would urge you and all of the other negative commentators to make some positive suggestions instead of uploading poisonous and acerbic comments. If DCU students are so interested in campus news/matters, I ask the question again? Why was the Hustings turnout so abysmal this year?
    You obviously don't listen to the shows very often because if you did you would know that we have covered a range of non-political topics such as mental health, seachtain na gaeilge, road safety and others.
    In case you hadn't noticed from other posts, this is a student station, we have no budget of note and the (student) team is dedicated to bringing news and topics of interest to the airwaves. Just because we don't bang on about the bar and campus res all the time does not mean we are not concerned with student issues. The SU presidential candidates will be debating on Monday; I doubt the Irish Times ran an article on same last week. (No offence to the candidates but I'm just trying to make a point here) Best of luck to Conor, Alan and Cillian by the way.

On your poorly thought out criticism regarding portfolios, this is another misaimed blow at a bunch of dedicated, motivated students trying to gain some experience beyond the lecture halls. If we thought no one would listen to it, we wouldn't have aired it... For the record, our listenership tripled that hour, so for each of you there are two more that would disagree with you.

On re-reading your comment I have just noticed that you said you heard about the Gaza piece. Does this mean, you didn't actually listen to it? If this is the case, how can you in all seriousness and fairness go on the tirade you just did with such strong use of adjectives? Do you always comment on things on which you have no authority?

We are not an exclusive clique as was suggested by some other naysayer.
    Thanks to shadow (whoever you are) and other few positive commentators for the confidence boost. For anyone out there that is genuinely interested and has some CONSTRUCTIVE criticism, please bring it on. Or indeed if anyone, from ANY faculty is interested in working on the news team, you are most welcome to get in touch. We have big plans for next year and would like to get some business/science (specialised) students involved.
    There is an old saying that is apt for the negative armchair radio experts out there...

"Those who have least to live for will die first"

For anyone involved in news this year, well done to all of you, your efforts are greatly appreciated. Don’t let a few armchair commentators knock your confidence.
    Tune in Monday 3.05pm for the SU presidential election debate. www.dcufm.com
    Anon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭Grudaire

Don't bitch to me, bitch to someone who can do something about it :P

Or start charging the College View for articles about us!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭*shadow*

8 Days per week?

What are you nuts?

I'd say they spend about 5 mins on the web before each episode and if they spend any longer they need to consider removing themselves from the gene pool - hopefully following your example.

People like you just annoy me so much. The news bulletins alone take an hour to put together, and as for those involved in the current affairs show and the news show, they dedicate an unreal amount of time to producing those show. As I've said before I reallly wish people would just stop slagging the radio off. If you don't like it fine, but don't criticise something you know nothing about. Everyone is more than welcome to come along and have a go, maybe then you will show some appreciation to those who dedicate all their spare time to it. I really don't know what is wrong with people. This is YOUR college Radio station, so as instead of B******* about it, get behind it and help make it better..constructive criticism I think they call it. Are you ready yet to spare some of your precious 'socialising' time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Hmm, I was wondering when this was going to be brought back up!

The point I was making is that for a chat showe like that people need to WANT to listen to it. It's unlike music because, lets face, everyone likes music. But you can't say the same for a current affairs chat show.

I totally agree with you when you say there are quite a number of students who would like to listen to the news shows, but you can't force it down the throats of the people who don't.

And then there's the idea of the general atmosphere around campus. If people are outside Spar chatting away and one of their favourite songs is in the background, they'll have a good time. But the fact is the atmosphere will unquestionable suffer when you've got loud speakers airing a debate about the worsening crisis in Gaza for 20 mins in the same area. We've already seen that happen at Rag Week.

My main point is this: the people who listen to news chat shows aren't the people who will purposefully sit outside Spar or the Hub for a full hour to listen in.

Look at it this way. Imagine there's a festival going on in a city centre some weekend. The organisers decide to set up an audio system with some of the most popular tunes at the moment to make the festival as enjoyable as possible. There's thousands of people in said city having a great time.....and then suddenly Pat Kenny's chat show on Radio 1 is forcefully played to the entire audience. Some of the topics includes the recession, road deaths this year and climate change. What do you think the atmosphere will be in the city centre then?

I'm sure there are people who enjoy the news shows. And if people want to hear such debates occurring, they'll purposefully tune in and listen. But no way does music fall under the same limitations.

It's quite obvious going by my originial post that I was not suggesting a censorship of the news programmes, and it would be pretty illogical to suggest that I was. In fact, on second thoughts I'd be in favour of only a few hours of music played through the speakers on campus a day. Perhaps only at times when the area around Spar is at their busiest....say between 12-2?