Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

what girls wear on a night out - guys opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Dudess wrote: »
    Just because men equate this to an easy lay doesn't mean they'll get laid...

:rolleyes::pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Dudess wrote: »
    Just because men equate this to an easy lay doesn't mean they'll get laid...

This is very true. Out of every one in twenty, I failed. :(
    - but then 25 minutes later in the disco I was a happy chappie again. :D
    I thought of actually buying shares in Durex at one point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

MIN2511 wrote: »
    And yes girls dress for girls and not for lads! :D

I do anyways and most of my female friends would be the same
    I never really get that mentality. Same goes for makeup, some will say they wear it "for themselves", and many "doth protest too much" about not making any effort to impress men, like a "how dare you think I want to look nice to attract a man".

I wonder if men were wiped out by some disease would the makeup industry do so well. You also hear of some moaning about house they have to wear heels or makeup etc, as though its some f**king law! and that men are not subject to the same law.

It is like it is a insult or shameful to want to be attractive to the opposite sex. Imagine a man saying "the only reason I bother to shave/use aftershave is to impress other men, I couldn't give a sh*t what women think of how I look/smell". Reminds me of gangs of fat ones on Oprah high fiving each other, "You go GIRLLL, I don't need no damn man!"

I see low cut tops as being to expose breasts and nothing else, you don't see many men wearing shirts or tops cut low, no real function, yet you will then get women moaning at people leering down tops which serve no other purpose than to facilitate such leering. And high-heels are another puzzler to me, I know some think it makes their legs look better (for the pleasure of other women ONLY!), but I see women in work wearing heels with suit trousers, and many are obviously dangerously uncomfortable in them, some stagger around in them like 3 year olds raiding mammys closet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,801 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

You can tell the tension of a girls morals purely by the length of her skirt?

Is there a scale?

19inch skirt................No
    15inch skirt................Maybe
    12inch skirt................Definitely?
    Isn't that an urban legend made up by some fat ugly girls to make them feel like they actually have a chance when they are out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I'd be more inclined to hit on somebody who looks hot.

(Not always true but) Generally girls wearing mini-skirts look hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Q2002 wrote: »
    Isn't that an urban legend made up by some fat ugly girls to make them feel like they actually have a chance when they are out.

Don't really follow, do you mean that if I was morbidly obese and gargoyle ugly I should wear a 12 inch skirt to 'score'?

Would it not have the opposite effect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭fearandloathing

on a serious note, whats the story with those leggings all the girls are wearing these days, the rubbery yokes like the ones olivia newton john wore in grease? i was out the other night and it was like all the girls we're clones, like there were at least 50 girls wearing an almost identical outfit..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

on a serious note, whats the story with those leggings all the girls are wearing these days, the rubbery yokes like the ones olivia newton john wore in grease? i was out the other night and it was like all the girls we're clones, like there were at least 50 girls wearing an almost identical outfit..
    hahahahha... thats the problem, women are fashion slaves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭fearandloathing

rubadub wrote: »
    I wonder if men were wiped out by some disease would the makeup industry do so well

yeah that would be the major worry in that instance... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Biggins wrote: »
    Speaking as a bloke - I preferred (I'm married now and on the shelf) the lassies

do you mean you're married now and off the shelf? Or do I got that whole 'on the shelf' thing totally arseways?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Prefer the coat factor myself. Check out any town in Ireland at this time of the year and you'll see all the single girls teetering around in their LouBous that they can't walk in with their little Bambi legs, a skirt, a sleeveless top and NO COAT. In December. In Ireland!

Meanwhile, all the single men are snuggled in their nice warm jackets and watching the show.

No I mean that fat ugly women like to call good looking girls easy to make themselves fel better when in reality it isn't true. SHOCK. guys like good looking girls!!! Even more so when we can see as mich of them as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Biggins wrote: »
    Just the ones that allowed all to see under the bonnet and see the inner workings of the female engine with disco lights! :D

I think you are trying to come across as chivalrous or something but it just seems like you are stereotyping women according to clothing, the most superficial means of categorising people of all. It doesn't paint you in a good light tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

mud wrote: »
    do you mean you're married now and off the shelf? Or do I got that whole 'on the shelf' thing totally arseways?
    Nope - your right.

I've now been OFF the shelf so long, I've forgotten how I'm hanging! :(

No I mean that fat ugly women like to call good looking girls easy to make themselves fel better when in reality it isn't true. SHOCK. guys like good looking girls!!! Even more so when we can see as mich of them as possible.

god you're so shallow :p

Just honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Just honest.

Honest that youre shallow? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Firetrap wrote: »
    If any single woman is honest, she goes out in the hope that she'll pull/meet Mr Right.

No way, that is just so sad. Most single girls go out to have fun, I'd be so pised off if every time I went out my single friends made it their mission to find the guy they're going to spend the rest of their life with. We go out to have some fun, if we meet new people and get talking to them that's fine and dandy, if we don't then we still have fun.

I do think people dress for themselves- because no one -really- wants to stand out. The standard dress code for going out in certain clubs seems to be short skirt/low cut top, no one wants to appear under or over-dressed so they dress in the same style as everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

The tarty look is not appealling at all. I'd take a demurely-dressed classy beautiful lady before a sequin-spangled-slapper any day.

And I can't figure out how these people go out on nights like tonight without loosing their nipples to frostbite. Guys in short-sleeved shirts are guilty of this too.

Nerin wrote: »
    Honest that youre shallow? :p
    Honest about most guys think. And I'm probably a bit shallow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

. SHOCK. guys like good looking girls!!! Even more so when we can see as mich of them as possible.

Its not a shock.

Its always been fairly obvious to me that men will always 'target' the most attractive girl in the room, and if they're rejected, no matter how politely, the next thing they do is insult the same girl to their friends.

The less obviously attractive girls will be overlooked by most guys, until other options run out, and believe me, they know it.

Often the less secure a girl is, in my observation, the more skin she'll show, it doesn't make her easy though.

Personally, I dress in a way that I think makes me look good, to myself, and consequently to others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Honest about most guys think. And I'm probably a bit shallow.

Well speak for yourself. I see one of those orange skanky-dressed folk and i think scumbag who'd try steal my wallet at knifepoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭RichCRX

Q2002-Ya sure most lads like the girls who are skimply dressed as they are a tease to the male mentality...would you go out with her though?

Ya might change your opinion if you were with the girl and she was still wearing skimpy dresses out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

We are all shallow in our own way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

if lads mags have thought me anything its that all women have large natural breasts, small waists and like to experiment. i can only assume that these ladies you describe fit nicely into this catagory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Nerin wrote: »
    Well speak for yourself. I see one of those orange skanky-dressed folk and i think scumbag who'd try steal my wallet at knifepoint after sex.

fyp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

wow by the sounds of this thread we cant win, some of ye have all women labeled as 'easy' !:D no matter how theyre attired!

personally il wear the black nice mid length (not too short just above the knee) dress with the nice heels when i know my fellow ladies will also be 'dressed up' otherwise il do the nice jeans, figure hugging but not too tight jeans with a nice top, or the shorts with tights and pumps. but imo none of this matters if you dont look friendly and approachable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Have any of these geniuses actually had a conversation with the girls they see in mini skirts, heels, tights, or whatever???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Its not a shock.

Its always been fairly obvious to me that men will always 'target' the most attractive girl in the room, and if they're rejected, no matter how politely, the next thing they do is insult the same girl to their friends.

The less obviously attractive girls will be overlooked by most guys, until other options run out, and believe me, they know it.

Often the less secure a girl is, in my observation, the more skin she'll show, it doesn't make her easy though.

Personally, I dress in a way that I think makes me look good, to myself, and consequently to others.

I've a load of single mates and I've never seen them 'targetting' the most attractive women in the place. Often these girls get put aside because a brief conversation will reveal that they are airheads who can't hold a conversation and they tend to know they are good looking and are gold diggers. It's not down to the tights or the mini or the heels, it's down to a conversation I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

doesn't matter what ye wear out ya all look intimidating if you're even remotely good looking :(