[TA-Events] Op. Phoenix Rising II: The Crossroads (Bookings & info ONLY)

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,176 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Reminder for all: Roughly three weeks 'till kick-off, so start finalising your kit. Any postal orders are going to be cutting it fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

See longterm forcast.

UK Outlook for Wednesday 12 Nov 2008 to Friday 21 Nov 2008:

The period is expected to be mainly unsettled and very changeable. There will be some clear or sunny intervals, but overall the middle of November will feature occasional blustery showers or longer spells of rain, some of these heavy. Snow is likely over northern hills, especially early on in the period. It will be generally windy too, with gales or severe gales, more especially in the west and northwest. There will be a few quieter, drier interludes with lighter winds towards the southeast, but these rather short-lived. This may lead to a few mist or fog patches here. The likelihood of night frosts increases generally, particularly between weather systems. Temperatures near normal, but rather cold at first in the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

More or less as expected. Also it's up in the mountains, so dress accordingly. Those who don't treat mountains with respect can get bitten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭NakedHedgehog

http://www.metcheck.com/V40/UK/FREE/14days.asp?zipcode=LD3%208SL

For the exact area.
    Gotta say- it's gotten better than a few days ago. There were a few showers on Sat evening. Now it's just intermittent rain.

Not as cold as expected either. In fact, fairly warm!!

Full Moon as well, so if the clouds part, it wont be all too dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭ASI Casper

For those that aren't already aware, the ORBAT ( or the 1st draft of it anyway ) is now up: http://www.ta-events.co.uk/forum/index.php?showtopic=297

Maps are here: http://www.ta-events.co.uk/forum/index.php?showtopic=296

Can anyone confirm if Jinko is actually going? He missed the ASI group booking due to not reconfirming that he was ok with the new location / venue and was thus cut from the booking because he didn't get in touch with me, but he's showing as paid and on the orbat. Just wondering if he's paid himself in directly to TA Events or if it's perhaps a mistake?

OzCam / Gerrowadat / Fayer / TheDOC / Kdouglas: Do one of you want to be section commander? If so, drop Ian an email or PM and let him know.

Car reg numbers will need to be sent to Ian asap.
    Can be done via this page, which is now working ( wasn't working yesterday )
    http://www.ta-events.co.uk/events/phoenixrising/pr2/carreg.aspx

And btw, Accuweather Mountain forecast is THE DADDY of all forecasts. Brecon Beacons & Black Mountains are the ones to watch. Only gives a couple of days ahead, but is usually very accurate. Although, as with any mountainous area, things can change rapidly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

The Captcha on their website appears to be broken so I can't register. Can womeone repost the maps here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭ASI Casper

2 of the 3 maps are exactly the same as the ones posted further up in this thread by Fayer.

The other one is ( hopefully ) attached to this post.

Here you go.

Last time we arrived from the top left (around 309, 827) - the "Admin" building is the church.

I've been asked (by Casper) to suggest that everyone print out a copy of the game deposit acceptance letter that was sent out as a contingency measure in case the formal VCRA letter arrives after people start departing for the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Everyone packed and ready to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

dont have email confirming my attendance
    dont have booking number
    dont have insurance waiver
    dont have wetgear
    dont have battery charged
    dont have decent sleeping bag
    dont have any type of cutlery
    do have loads of money
    do have a horrible cold

DO have a whopper urge to just shoot the living **** outa something:)

Lets rock n rolla

dont have email confirming my attendance
    dont have booking number
    dont have insurance waiver
    dont have wetgear
    dont have battery charged
    dont have decent sleeping bag
    dont have any type of cutlery
    do have loads of money
    do have a horrible cold

DO have a whopper urge to just shoot the living **** outa something:)

Lets rock n rolla

I have your booking number, blank waivers, email and some 8.4s charged. Pain in me ****in tits from breastfeeding yis.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

HAHA!

guuwan teh dave! i got a horrible image in me head there....

one word....epic

My head is thumping from the amount of ciggerettes and red bull i did at this trip.

Fayer was mentioning bouncing emails between us to create a war report, to which we all contribute and then post here, which i think would be well worth it.

Our section was one of the main instruments in the game and we created absolute havoc. ( not me, i fired 90 rounds through the whole weekend..absolute waster so i am)

But I think we gained alot of respect from players there and I think the lads did the irish community proud with some serious good play and good work.

There was also two other Southern irish players in attendance at russian side ( traitors) and id love to hear their experience.

Thank god for my bed..warmth and a bloody proper toilet..

Jammy bastid. I'm still in Scotland and oh so envious! I'll be looking forward to the report!

And pictures if there are any!

Didn't get the chance to whip out the camera too often during action, but what I have is here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/gerrowadat/sets/72157609234991475/

Should've used the helmet cam.

Photo gallery

Taken from this thread on TA-events. Looks like the prints are professional and you'll need to pay for the proper prints. But there's quite a few photos of folks from both boards.ie & ASI there.

Absolutely f*cking brilliant weekend.

Great game play and sportsmanship from all players involved.
    Great site.
    Great atmosphere.
    Great bucket loads of pyro :)

Weather was foggy and misty with low visibility, but this just added to the atmosphere even more tbh.

Good shot of Doc here:

http://phoenix2.carlsilver.com/content/_MG_3162_large.html

_MG_3162.jpg

This is one of my favourites too:
    3035508421_9b6d15e53e.jpg

Turns out there were about 5 Southern Irish on the Russian side.

Well done on the assault on building 12 lads.
    Fast movement and good use of pyros.

That last tripple bang though- it really sounded like a dud! :(
    When I walked out of there my right ear was ringing and I could barely see anything :)

Where did ye go after that building?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

That looked like a great weekend. Can't wait to hear the war stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

kdouglas wrote: »
    Good shot of Doc here:

_MG_3162.jpg

3035508421_9b6d15e53e.jpg

He's a scary lookin' mofo.

I take it back Doc.....if thats what 3 days without access to World of Warcraft does to you, you can install it on one of the shop PCs :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭iceage

Lads I have to say that just looked the boll*ks!! just curious though..whos the guys wearing the green berets?....and theres some guy with knee pads built in to his BDU's??

Doc your one scary mother......

thats a face of total ****ing amazement tbh, cause a sniper just pinged my helmet from over 150 metres away...i nthat mist, with that rain and wind.

I found out who it was later and just shook his hand, and jokingly said " why the hell did you sohuld me outa 5 guys"

And he replied " you were not carrying a gun so you looked important"

Well chuffed :)

Lads, this is the Bookings & Info thread. We should be telling the stories on the other one.

Agreed. Mods, can we get this thread locked & unstickied now please since it serves no purpose?

Lemming wrote: »
    Agreed. Mods, can we get this thread locked & unstickied now please since it serves no purpose?

Well, no immediate purpose. We'll need it again, when we want to look up the info for next time. It might be a good idea to get the post-op posts moved if possible.

Thanks also to Hedge for putting waypoints into his Google Map, they'll definitely be useful to the next drivers. That's a keeper.