Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

PSNI Recruitment - Stage 5 - I'm in!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭PapaYankeeGirl

All the best to everyone starting Garnerville tomorrow, especially the lads from the night out:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭MrsGeneHunt

All the best to everyone starting Garnerville tomorrow, especially the lads from the night out:D

^^^ what she said!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭given1

bit belated but all the best to the boys from thurs nyt who are starting garnerville, hope yous have a good time, enjoy yourselfs and hear back from yous soon enough!! same to anyone else who started on sunday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭MAKEPEACE

Hi everyone,
    Was just wondering how long after the call people got packs. I got call on Thurs and hope our postman hasn't sent it to someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 SFMCC

MAKEPEACE wrote: »
    Hi everyone,
    Was just wondering how long after the call people got packs. I got call on Thurs and hope our postman hasn't sent it to someone else.
    Hi Makepeace
    I got the call on a Monday and the pack arrived the thursday.
    SFMCC

Thanks for the info. With the weekend and all I should probably expect it in the next day or two. :) I wonder how everyone is getting on at the minute at the hotel. I have really stepped up the training. I was playing the wii recently and my arm was aching for a couple of days so I thought right less running more strengthening!

I'm still trying to run 3 miles without collapsing:confused: Haven't done any running in a long time but at least I have another 4 weeks.:)
    SFMCC
    Thanks for the info. With the weekend and all I should probably expect it in the next day or two. :) I wonder how everyone is getting on at the minute at the hotel. I have really stepped up the training. I was playing the wii recently and my arm was aching for a couple of days so I thought right less running more strengthening!

I'm not too bad at long distance but sprinting is tough. I think I overdid it at the weekend :eek: because I feel like I have a stitch when I walk. Hot bath, hot water bottle and hot basin for the feet! Although the wii fit said I had perfect bmi and the fitness of my exact age so I was chuffed (my fella who is 29 had the fitness of a 48 year old so no more bacon butties for him).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭soozb82

Well folks, looks like I'm in in Sept! Have kept my mouth shut about it as it really was the shock of my life and caught me off guard! I am slightly more nervous than excited now, just can't win!!

Also I didn't get a phone call, just got my pack in the post which was a bit strange! Didn't have any missed calls or anything!

Well done! That is great news. It will be a big change so don't feel worried about being a little nervous. Keep in mind why you went for it and remember that you have just made a major achievement! Chuffed for you :D:D:D:D.

soozb82 wrote: »
    Well folks, looks like I'm in in Sept! Have kept my mouth shut about it as it really was the shock of my life and caught me off guard! I am slightly more nervous than excited now, just can't win!!

Also I didn't get a phone call, just got my pack in the post which was a bit strange! Didn't have any missed calls or anything!

Congratulations and best of luck!

Be prepared for hard slog, the august lads have been texting- they finished last night at ten oclock....it aint no picnic!!!

Congratulations and best of luck!

Be prepared for hard slog, the august lads have been texting- they finished last night at ten oclock....it aint no picnic!!!

Thanks a lot! I am fine with long hours, I'd rather be busy than bored! But my big concern is the PE! I have improved my fitness a lot, but think for this next month I am going to get a programme in the gym to really focus on the right areas...so can anyone point me in the right direction for a post covering this?? Or even if anyone could tell me what they think the main areas I should focus on are? Obviously running (ugh) is a major part, but aside from that......

Thanks for all the posts everybody, I've kept pretty quiet but have been sneakily reading away this whole time ha ha!!

soozb82 wrote: »
    Thanks a lot! I am fine with long hours, I'd rather be busy than bored! But my big concern is the PE! I have improved my fitness a lot, but think for this next month I am going to get a programme in the gym to really focus on the right areas...so can anyone point me in the right direction for a post covering this?? Or even if anyone could tell me what they think the main areas I should focus on are? Obviously running (ugh) is a major part, but aside from that......

Thanks for all the posts everybody, I've kept pretty quiet but have been sneakily reading away this whole time ha ha!!

Fitness wise, head onto the girld thread and search for posts by JVB, he knows his stuff and he is fit as a butchers dog, we've met him and I can only say, Oh.My.God.

I bet I'll be getting that reaction this time next month too - not!! Thanks a lot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Fiacmar

Got the pack, I'm in!!! Been a helluva wait... Didn't post in ages but have been watching from the wings, so thanks to all fellow boardsies, and espicially PSNI for encouragment and info!
    Best of luck to those of you still waiting, from both campaigns, its a swine of a long process but worth it when you get the letter, so keep the head up! :)

Well done Fiacmar, see you in september
    SFMCC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭alanbelfast

On the fitness side

If any of you boardsies are of small stature or not very strong in the upper body, then I would suggest to get pumping the iron.
    People ARE failing in Hotel G'ville for not being able to complete the PCA (push pull) in particular. You only get 2 chances to do it peeps so get cracking.

Alan

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭New Recruit

On the fitness side

If any of you boardsies are of small stature or not very strong in the upper body, then I would suggest to get pumping the iron.
    People ARE failing in Hotel G'ville for not being able to complete the PCA (push pull) in particular. You only get 2 chances to do it peeps so get cracking.

Alan

What was the PE sessions like Alan? What is the time frame/make-up of a PE session?

Just want to make sure I am doing the right sort of training!

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭Wanalaugh

Hi new recruit....
    The PE wasnt bad at all. They got Alan to lay down in the middle of the gym and we all ran around him, he was like a mini roundabout.....
    Only kiddin guys.

I'll get ye back Alan. 2 - 0 so far, but we have another 20 weeks + lol

Good crack all the same matey.

Oh, back to the PE. As Alan has said, they are failing people here guys for the PCA and the push pull. If there are any lightly made up peeps out there, get the wheatabix in ya and pump the iron lol

"Start of level 1 Beep!!!!!!!!!" :eek:
    The dreaded beep test.

wanalaugh

What is the best thing to do for push-pull? Rowing machine? Weights? Is there anywhere to find a push-pull machine to know what to expect and train for it? I'm not panicking about pe at all by the way :eek:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭alanbelfast

What is the best thing to do for push-pull? Rowing machine? Weights? Is there anywhere to find a push-pull machine to know what to expect and train for it? I'm not panicking about pe at all by the way :eek:.

Hi

I would suggest doing bench presses, bicep curls, lateral lifts etc. Rowing is always an excellent form of working every part of the body(and also an exercise i detest lol).
    If your in the gym, try find machines that work the upper body a lot. I am not saying to forget about the legs. They form an integral part of the push pull as there is a rocking motion involved which uses the legs.

In short.........Get as fit and as strong as you can. Take it seriously people. I honestly was not worried about the strength aspect of it but trust me, It is a big thing.

Thaks alanbelfast. I have always been so skint I haven't joined the gym and instead put my trainers on and run and run. My BMI and general fitness are good, balance very good but I will work on the strength in my arms now to make sure this push pull thing doesn't hold me back. I've been doing (economical) wall press ups are they rubbish? Find normal ones hard as my back will not stay straight.

Fiacmar wrote: »
    Got the pack, I'm in!!! Been a helluva wait... Didn't post in ages but have been watching from the wings, so thanks to all fellow boardsies, and espicially PSNI for encouragment and info!
    Best of luck to those of you still waiting, from both campaigns, its a swine of a long process but worth it when you get the letter, so keep the head up! :)

Well done mate and best of luck!

Wanalaugh wrote: »
    Hi new recruit....
    The PE wasnt bad at all. They got Alan to lay down in the middle of the gym and we all ran around him, he was like a mini roundabout.....
    Only kiddin guys.

I'll get ye back Alan. 2 - 0 so far, but we have another 20 weeks + lol

Good crack all the same matey.

Oh, back to the PE. As Alan has said, they are failing people here guys for the PCA and the push pull. If there are any lightly made up peeps out there, get the wheatabix in ya and pump the iron lol

"Start of level 1 Beep!!!!!!!!!" :eek:
    The dreaded beep test.

wanalaugh

Strength shouldn't be a problem for me..It's more the fitness..

I did a bleep test with the football team a couple of months back and scored 99, How would that fare?

New recruit.....
    The bleep test we did was levels 1 to 20. Most of us got between 7 and 10. They want you to get to level 4 or 6. Anyone below that are deemed as being below standard. The main thing is that you pass the PCA and the push pull. Ive done a load of talking to different people ref the fitness levels required. The most common message that came back was, not to over do the fitness and maybe cause yourself an injury. Im gona wait until I do the PCA next week and see if i pass or not. If i pass, then i'll maintain my level and not go mad etc etc.

wanalaugh

Well guys, as Alan has said we are back from the first week...and what a first week its been.
    The beginning of the week started with;
    "Oh my goodness what the hell have i done"
    and the end of the week ended with
    "And who do you give your resignation to!"
    LOL only kiddin. The beginning of the week was tough. Its hard to adjust from your life of freedom to a life of being told what to do and being stuck behind a big high green fence. But trust me guys, its worth it. The first week has been hard and long, but its been a good experience. The course has chnaged and looks harder than its ever been before and as you guys will hear.....they will have no hesitation in escorting you to the gates should you fail a resit or fail the fitness. If the effort is put in, you will pass, as we have been told.
    Im just glad to have had the first week completed.

For all those waiting to start.....go for it and give it your best shot. And dont give up, the Sunday is a pain in the butt, however its well worth it. All the trainers are good and know their stuff and have a bit of crack on the way through. Give them the respect their due and do exactly what they tell you, and you'll be fine.

wanalaugh

99 is level 11-12 on the Bleep test, so I should be grand. Some guys on our football team where doing level 20:eek:.. I'll keep working over the next 4 weeks anyway...Level 4 is fairly easy, most people should be able to do that fairly easily..

Why do they set the standard so low?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 regtgunner

Level 20! :eek: :eek:

That must be one hell of a football team, thought it was only the likes of the profesionals who reached that level.
    Wonder if JVB will back me up on this, during my time in the infantry I never saw anyone reach level 20. The best i've got is level 16. JVB, you ever seen a PTI get level 20??
    The fitness level seems pretty low, would have thought running would be a useful part of the job.
    For a male in the forces level 9.10 is the minimum, so levels 4-6 is just a gentle jog!
    I can relax and fill myself full of pies mmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

The guy just kept running!! He is a fitness fanatic though and I think his final score was 172...He was sprinting at the end, I don't know how he did it, I was busted at 99 which is level 11..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 brando08

Everyone should try to be as fit as possible going in its one less thing to worry about. I would not worry to much about weight training as long as you can do around 60 push ups 10 to 15 pull ups and 15+ dips you will fly the test. As for running a good target would be 6 mile in 40 to 50 mins, and some sprint work once a week. Most people should be around them targets so you all will be fine.