PSNI Recruitment (Archived)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭jim2008

Cheers Jim - hopefully it will be you next ay? :D
    I wish! From belfast but living in the south so vetting had to go the GS and at the rate they work at i will be lucky to make the aug 2020 intake:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Dave2008

Hi All,

I'm new to this site. Just wondering if someone can give me a clue on what kinda math questions i can expect, have my IST on May21st. I'm probably one of the older applicants, and its a while since i was in a class room. Need to brush up!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭mickey2186

Dave,

It's not really hard maths, it's more to do with assimilating information and cross referencing info from different tables, just like the examples on the Consensia website.

However in the IST there are more tables; therefore more info to take in!

Questions start fairly easy, but get progressively more complex to put you under pressure.

Hope this helps.

Mickey2186.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭uncleneilly

JONESVILLE
    mine have been away from mid nov.when i phoned last monday it was still ongoing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Mandy Moo

Congratulations all you Campaign 13'ers who got the call! All the best to you all!

Good luck also to all the Campaign 14'ers for the IST next week, I am trying my best to prepare for mine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭manaka

fencingj thanks for number, found the letter after a good look! It was among my garda stuff! :confused: Ive applied to both, keeping all options open. Any of you guys know if applying to another force will have an effect on my application for PSNI? How extensive is background check for PSNI? for guards id to get all my aunts and uncles names, addresses, DOBs, occupations, and also my partners!
    Got my IST April 28. Im getting on top of the tables quicker than a lap dancer! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Dave2008

Thanks Mickey, It all helps at this stage. Bought some selection test books, so il keep plugging away with them. Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭redsurfer

hi all well done on getting this in ,, very jealous here . can some please give me the number to call in regard to vetting i was talking to friends in gardai that said my one was do so i want to call psni now and see what going on, very nevous as i not get the call yet. i got 60 in a/c . i from the south and r/c so should i relax a little than and think i be getting the call soon or what:confused::confused::confused::confused: going a wee bit:eek::eek: nervous here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Monkeymagic824

redsurfer wrote: »
    hi all well done on getting this in ,, very jealous here . can some please give me the number to call in regard to vetting i was talking to friends in gardai that said my one was do so i want to call psni now and see what going on, very nevous as i not get the call yet. i got 60 in a/c . i from the south and r/c so should i relax a little than and think i be getting the call soon or what:confused::confused::confused::confused: going a wee bit:eek::eek: nervous here

Phone this number and ask for the vetting department 028 90 650222

thanks lee then i get a moment i step out of the office;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭soozb82

Congrats everybody! Jealousy is a terrible thing but I'm feeling it! Daren't let my phone out of my sight, although it seems like the May ship has sailed! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 721 ✭✭✭goodcopbadcop

Im sure they dont ring everyone on the same day. Be patient there is still time to get in for May.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭JVB

Well done all that are on the May intake. I bet you're all well chuffed. For those of us still waiting on vetting, chins up.

JVB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭pedro552

hey guys, a bit of news that might interest ye...
    I rang up vetting today and as im from south im only waiting on vetting,
    the guy was v nice and told me that a "few" vetting had come back from the guards today but not mine..
    so its good news for some people from the south..
    hope this helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭GEMMAT1984

soozb82 wrote: »
    Congrats everybody! Jealousy is a terrible thing but I'm feeling it! Daren't let my phone out of my sight, although it seems like the May ship has sailed! :(

Soozb82

Dont give up yet i found out a week and half after everyone else on this that i was starting on the 20th, and i didnt get a phone call i just got my appointments pack through the post.:)

Congrats to everyone that has got the call up see you's all in there it will be here before you know it!! Its flys in:D

Thanks fencingj for the info on the driving thing, see you Sunday:D

Thanks Gemma, trying to distract myself (clearly not working since I am on here!) Had a call from a withheld number earlier and nearly had heart failure!!

Good luck for your start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Jenosul

Congrats to everyone else who got called for the may intake by the way!! And thaks for being so helpful and answering my questions!!;) Is there anyone else sitting the exam on the 21st of may...im from the south aswel so I take it the process takes much longer for applicants from the Republic of Ireland due to garda vettings an other stuff? Does the recruitment process take a few months?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭MrsGeneHunt

How long do the ISTs go on for - does anyone know? Mine is next week and I'm assuming from reading other posts that this seems to be the start of them and that they are looking like finishing towards the end of May.

Which would mean AC starting early June???

Can anyone from C13 shed some light on a time frame?

Ta ever so! ;)

Probably will be assessment centres starting in June. last year the IST started around the middle of August and the assesment centres were happening around the beginning of october onwards.

If you pass the test next week, my feeling is you will have the assessment centre at the start of June.

This is from the consensia website, I think it is updated for this campaign, so looks like assessments in June.

img1_35.gif

Have also noticed how consensia have updated some documents and information on their website

"Candidates who successfully complete the Assessment Centre may be contacted directly by the Police Service of Northern Ireland and may be required to complete, and return to them, a vetting questionnaire."

Looks like the changes people were talking about have definitely been put in place now.

soozb82 wrote: »
    Thanks Gemma, trying to distract myself (clearly not working since I am on here!) Had a call from a withheld number earlier and nearly had heart failure!!

Good luck for your start!
    ha ha me too,phoned vetting first thing this morning to be told the usual i was still ongoing,then when i arrived home there was a missed called from withheld number on house phone and just for a brief second i nearly got my hopes up that it`s come through last minute,though when i phoned answer machine there was no message left:(looks like im in it for the long haul now(or maybe it was them and my pack will just arrive monday ha ha)

hi all

i called vetting to day and told my app was on going, waiting for the gardai to send it back so i called the garda vetting unit in thurles about it and they wouldnt say a word abot it only that i can do nothing to hurry it up only the psni can do that so it a long shot but hopefuly the psni will ask to have it pushed throught so they get 50/50

it a long shot and i not really banking on it
    guess i have to wait to august:mad:

It's torture, but today I have sort of come to the conclusion I might actually prefer August! Means I can relax and enjoy the summer, my current job is so flexible I should make the most of it! As my mum rightly said, I'll be working long enough!

At least we know that having got this far, it is only a matter of time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 chatterbox08

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to the board. I have my IST for the current campaign next week. I failed to pass it last time round so I'm pretty determined to give it my all next week. I have been doing a lot of practice tests etc...so hopefully I'll do better this time...atleast now I know what to expect when I go in there/

Anyone else sitting their IST soon?

I was also wondering if anyone from the last campaign could tell us what to exepect as the AC? (not to get ahead of myself or anything) Just curious...

Thanks!

soozb82 i hope your right about being a matter of time,if i knew i had a start date any time in the future i would be over the moon but it`s the not knowing that gets to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Maura2145

Hey chatterbox08 - Heres a bit of info on the AC that PSNI posted a wile bak if it helps..

You are given a booklet to read about who you are for the day, for example, a manager of a large shopping centre.

The role actors that will be coming to you will either be customers, shop owners within the centre you manage, colleagues on the management team with you, and so on. This is just an example of a scenario.

You have 3 roleplays, exactly 5 minutes in each role play, which starts the second you walk into the room. The role actor starts the digital countdown timer as soon as they see your first footstep through the door. You have 5 minutes to bring each situation to a satisfactory conclusion, or put another way, to shut the role actor up.
    The role plays are designed to test your competency in 7 areas, namely Respect for Diversity, Teamworking, Community & Customer Focus, Effective Communication, Problem Solving, Personal Responsibility and Resilience.

The situational interview lasts about 5-10 minutes but it could be longer depending on your answers to the interviewers.

The written test is about 30 minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭pathway

I have read that the A/C lasts 4.5 hours.

If this is correct, how is that time made up? (In terms of type of assessment, roleplays, interviews, written exercises etc)

My IST date is 1st week in May.... tick, tock goes the clock

from what i remember you have written exercise first,this is 4 questions lasting half hour,then 3 role plays i think you get 5 mins to make notes then each role play lasts 5 mins,the situational interview with 4 questions,if i remember correct you are in the room with 2 people and when you get asked question you get 30 secs to think then you give an answer

Well I think (from what I have read on here) that they are only vetting and giving medicals to those who are going to be offered a place, so that tells me that we will get in........eventually!

Here's hoping anyway!:rolleyes:

pathway wrote: »
    I have read that the A/C lasts 4.5 hours.

If this is correct, how is that time made up? (In terms of type of assessment, roleplays, interviews, written exercises etc)

My IST date is 1st week in May.... tick, tock goes the clock

You spend alot of time in between each role play waiting. You can talk to the other people there or look out the window or have some water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭MustBeCrazy

Are the written exercise (the four questions) and interview at the a/c all based on the role you've been given that day? Are there any personal questions at all, i.e. examples of when you have achieved something by using teamwork etc etc? That is one of the examples given in the book I bought on how to pass the police selection tests - but I'm not sure if that bit refers to England rather than the PSNI? Thanks :o