Child accidentally knocked down by Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,137 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Cantab. wrote: »
    supposedly responsible garda who's received driver training
    How do you know if the Garda driving the vehicle had received driver training?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Cantab.

How do you know if the Garda driving the vehicle had received driver training?

Oh so it's OK to knock down a 7 year-old if he didn't have any training then?

You'd think a garda driving a squad car belonging to the force would have received some kind of instruction on how to drive a car, wouldn't you?

In fact, if the garda has some sort of advanced driving qualification, it will only make matters worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

In fact, if the garda has some sort of advanced driving qualification, it will only make matters worse.
    Take note of how much ground you cover in 3 seconds, driving at 120KM/H next time you go that fast.

I ask, as it only takes someone 3 seconds to run from the tree line across the hard shoulder, and onto the main part of a road, on a dual-carriageway.

Again, why was the kid on the dual-carriageway?

Anyone know exactly where the accident took place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

If the garda was completely fairy white (for some unimaginable reason), I'm sure there'd be a prompt press-release from the garda press office: they'd explain the situation for fear of letting the issue linger in the media and put a stop to rumour and speculation. They haven't done this, so we can only tend towards the conclusion that the garda was indeed, driving irresponsibly.

Do the GPO release press statements on every case that is in it's early stages?

''Well,we THINK he was drivin' like a madman,but ara sure,we might as well presume he was.Now,hah,all ye media lads can end yer speculation and rumours!'':p:rolleyes:

eroo wrote: »
    Do the GPO release press statements on every case that is in it's early stages?

''Well,we THINK he was drivin' like a madman,but ara sure,we might as well presume he was.Now,hah,all ye media lads can end yer speculation and rumours!'':p:rolleyes:

Either way, his career is screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I think it happened at the crossing just to the left as you come out of clearwater - there's flowers and teddies on two of the lamp posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

connundrum wrote: »
    Problem: Gardai drive too fast in residential areas
    Solution: Stop Gardai from driving fast in residential areas

Catch 22 Situation: Then the Gardai won't catch the crims. What to do?

Not really. Who are supervising the kids? I've never seen a cop car moving at more of a pace than other cars without lights and sirens going, and that includes the unmarked ones.
    The only excuse I can think of for the professional garda in question was that he was chasing some sort of armed psychopath and had to endanger the lives of others so as to have a chance of apprehending the psycho, thereby lessening the overall risk to the public.

As for a little story, on Saturday night in Limerick i was in a car driving out towards Moyross from Corbally. It was raining pretty bad so my mate who was driving was doing a nice sane pace. As we approached a crossing with the lights green THREE kids all decided to pelt across the road rather than be rained on. Collective ages of 7 to 12 i would say.

The got it COMPLETELY wrong and if not for my mate all three of them were ****ed.

So headline hits the news, 3 kids killed.

Would you wait and find out more of just assume the driver was in the wrong?

the_syco wrote: »
    Take note of how much ground you cover in 3 seconds, driving at 120KM/H next time you go that fast.

I ask, as it only takes someone 3 seconds to run from the tree line across the hard shoulder, and onto the main part of a road, on a dual-carriageway.

Again, why was the kid on the dual-carriageway?

As far as I recall, Clearwater shopping centre in Finglas is a 50 kph zone. Makes perfect sense cos there's a shopping centre there and there are residential areas all over the place.

People go on as if the N2 running through Finglas is some sort of motorway cum dual carriage way. It's not. It's like Lower Leeson Street is also the N11.

What was a garda doing driving 120 kph in a 50 kph zone?

As far as I recall, Clearwater shopping centre in Finglas is a 50 kph zone. Makes perfect sense cos there's a shopping centre there and there are residential areas all over the place.

People go on as if the N2 running through Finglas is some sort of motorway cum dual carriage way. It's not. It's like Lower Leeson Street is also the N11.

How is his career screwed?If he's free of any wrongdoing,then the only obstacle he will encounter will be personal ones..

Nobody said the Garda was driving at a 120km/h...:rolleyes:

Surely you do? Your making noise about the driver absolutely being in the wrong as if you have them all. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

It transpires that the Garda was driving in the bus lane. Whilst my heart goes out to the family of the child, I have to ask what the hell possessed the mother to allow a lad of that age out on a bike on such a busy main road in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Some news here.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/brother-tried-to-save--boy-7-from-garda-car-1312136.html

Sounds like he ran out into traffic.

Doesn't mention anything about a bike.

andrewh5 wrote: »
    It transpires that the Garda was driving in the bus lane. Whilst my heart goes out to the family of the child, I have to ask what the hell possessed the mother to allow a lad of that age out on a bike on such a busy main road in the first place?

Article said nothing about him being on a bike, only that he and his older brother were crossing the road and as he stepped out his brother tried to stop him walking across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Where did this come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

There was a what doing what where now? Link.
    andrew5h wrote:
    Bus lane? Bike? Link.

It was in the bus lane, but haven't heard anything about a bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

I actually know the first uniform garda who arrived on the scene. It was a tragic accident. The driver will have to live with what happened but the child ran across the road in front of his car.

I'd like to ask the conspiracists - if it was an ordinary joe soap like you or me driving the car would you be so sensationalist? Try reading the news reports before jumping to conclusions.
    The young brothers were crossing the main N2 road, having reached the central embankment, before preparing to cross the city-bound lanes of traffic.
    When Dean went to cross the road, his brother attempted to stop him by grabbing his clothes, but to no avail.

The seven-year-old was hit by an unmarked garda car with three plain-clothes gardai inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Macros42 wrote: »
    I'd like to ask the conspiracists - if it was an ordinary joe soap like you or me driving the car would you be so sensationalist? Try reading the news reports before jumping to conclusions.

Doubt it; we like MrJoeSoap.

Well, "like" is a strong word... 'tolerate'? Unlike reading: we don't tolerate that lark in these here parts! RABBLE! Cop Killed Kid! RABBLE!

Karoma wrote: »
    Doubt it; we like MrJoeSoap.

Well, "like" is a strong word... 'tolerate'?

Aw... shucks. :o

I'm sure the garda will get away with it no matter what happens.

Get away with what?

What happened to your post where you said the Garda is being protected and should in fact be on his knees begging the child's mother for mercy?Or how anyone else would be before the courts and in jail the next day?:rolleyes:

Utter crap mate,they would investigate it just like they are doing with this case..

You seem to have an agenda against the Gardai..just go launch it somewhere else mate

Get a life - the fact that Guards were involved means it will actually be investigated properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

stevec wrote: »
    Get a life - the fact that Guards were involved means it will actually be investigated properly.

Absolutely, and you can be sure that if the Guard is at fault, the full book will be thrown at him.

So, to answer your statement Cantab, no - the guard will not get away with it.

And quit your random anti-garda statements Its really annoying. Go and post some Shinner videos on youtube or something.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,137 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Mutz wrote: »
    So, to answer your statement Cantab, no - the guard will not get away with it
    You also seem to presume that the Garda is guilty and may be proved innocent!

Would it not be more appropriate to assume that he is innocent until proven guilty?

Have to say I didn't read Mutz's post that way.

To be fair, I didnt get that opinion from Mutz's post.

I think this is a case of 'kid runs out in front of car who has no hope of avoiding him yet gets blamed anyway'. Doesn't matter if it was me, you or a guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

stevec wrote: »
    I think this is a case of 'kid runs out in front of car who has no hope of avoiding him yet gets blamed anyway'. Doesn't matter if it was me, you or a guard.
    Agreed.

Any hope we could leave it at that before some neighbour / friend of the older siblings / etc. pops across it?

Might be nice to give the outward impression there was still a modicum of compassion and an ounce of common sense still left in ireland.

Agreed.

Any hope we could leave it at that before some neighbour / friend of the older siblings / etc. pops across it?

Might be nice to give the outward impression there was still a modicum of compassion and an ounce of common sense still left in ireland.

Agreed. Lock her up guys.