Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Army Rangers Dog tags

• 04-05-2007 7:20am
    Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I'm going to buy dog tags and get information embossed on it but every army has a different format. I want to get mine with all the information that an Irish Army Ranger would have, same layout etc etc

The problem is, I dont know the layout and information that would be on one. I can get the information and layout of the US and UK but nothing on Irish Defense Forces.

Can anyone help me out? Any help would be appreciated

• Registered Users Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Maybe you could try the military forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Love2love wrote:
    Maybe you could try the military forum

Story of afterhours life ^^.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Dempsey wrote:

I'm going to buy dog tags and get information embossed on it but every army has a different format. I want to get mine with all the information that an Irish Army Ranger would have, same layout etc etc

The problem is, I dont know the layout and information that would be on one. I can get the information and layout of the US and UK but nothing on Irish Defense Forces.

Can anyone help me out? Any help would be appreciated

What are you?Some kind of walter Mitty character?If you havnt served in the Ranger Wing,you've no right to wear their dog tags..make up some other story to impress the sheilas.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,141 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

The first rule of the Irish Army Rangers is never talk about the Irish Army Rangers....

• Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Degsy wrote:
    What are you?Some kind of walter Mitty character?If you havnt served in the Ranger Wing,you've no right to wear their dog tags..make up some other story to impress the sheilas.

Who died and left you in charge?

Well if Im going to get something embossed it would be in the style of the irish army not any other army. The typical one is the US Army but I dont want that

And

I doubt a sheila wouldnt know any different between the different layouts of a dog tag or care. Anyways I would have far more impressive things to show them :D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I Would Imagine That copying Irish Army Material Such as the uniform or dogtags would be illegal...

It wont be an exact replica, the dimensions and look of the dog tag wont be that of the Irish Army and I'll leave the service number blank

e.g.

UK Forces have the "Big 6" embossed on a circular tag, the Big 6 being:

* Surname
    * Initials
    * Service Number
    * Date of birth
    * Blood Group
    * Religion

Canadian Forces' dog tags are designed to be broken in two. Each section contains the following information:

* Service Number
    * Initials and surname
    * Religion and blood group
    * The legend "CDN FORCES CDN"

US Armed Forces typically carry two identical oval tags containing:

USAF Format 1:

* Surname, first name, middle initial
    * Social Security Number, followed by "AF" indicating branch of service.
    * Blood Group
    * "blank"
    * Religion

USAF Format 2:

* Surname
    * First name and middle initial
    * Social Security Number, followed by "AF" indicating branch of service.
    * Blood Group
    * Religion

USMC:

* Surname
    * First name, middle initial (sometimes just first and last initial), blood group
    * Social Security Number with no dashes, but spaced
    * Branch gas mask size
    * Religion or medical allergy if red medical tag.

US Navy:

* Surname, first name, middle initial
    * "blank"
    * Social Security Number with no dashes or spaces followed immediately by branch blood group
    * "blank"
    * Religion

US Army:

* Surname
    * First name, middle initial
    * Social Security Number
    * Blood group
    * Religion

I just want to get the layout confirmed for the IDF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

[Edit] Why would you wear dog tags? They look shite and serve no purpose in Ireland outside of Moyross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

unless your going for some sort of camp army look i wouldnt wear dogtags;) a mate of mine went on about getting these while in america so he could pretend to be in military while in states which is just plain sad. as for info on IDF dogtags i dont know off hand layout for the Israeli Defence Forces (IDF)

Well, I dont plan to pretend to be in the military, it is sad alright.

Irish Defense Forces is what I meant, you knew that, you just wanted to be nerdy:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 mogsy

these lads here might be able to give you some advice on where you can pick up a pair

www.portlandmercury.com/.../AmericanGayArmy.jpg

:D:D

Is there a tatooist specialising in bogus regimental insignia as well?Nothing looks stupider than somebody pretending to have been in the military,it can get you a beating too.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

jesus, i dont think hes actually gonna pretend hes in the highly prestigious Irish Defence forces! He jsut wants dog tags. and sure he may aswell get them engraved wit stuff too. but what format is he gonna choose for the engraving? the chinese army logo? no! the jamaican army logo? dont think so. well, he is irish.....hmmmm.....maybe he should get that one since its his countries army. but sure, how is he gonna find that logo? google search perhaps? done. uh oh, but it doesnt reveal the format. maybe he should ask someone!! oh wait, he did, and get called an imposter! cabbages!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

if you want a dog tag of the irish defence forces why dont you get off your backside and join them????? i find it offensive and disrespectable to all the people who have gone out to war zones to try and make a difference, some even dying for it and there you are sitting in front of a computer in your nice little safe world wanting to look like some big man. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

irishbird wrote:
    if you want a dog tag of the irish defence forces why dont you get off your backside and join them????? i find it offensive and disrespectable to all the people who have gone out to war zones to try and make a difference, some even dying for it and there you are sitting in front of a computer in your nice little safe world wanting to look like some big man. :mad:
    Christ, it's a bit of metal, he's not sh1tting on the flag!

The_B_Man wrote:
    jesus, i dont think hes actually gonna pretend hes in the highly prestigious Irish Defence forces! He jsut wants dog tags. and sure he may aswell get them engraved wit stuff too. but what format is he gonna choose for the engraving? the chinese army logo? no! the jamaican army logo? dont think so. well, he is irish.....hmmmm.....maybe he should get that one since its his countries army. but sure, how is he gonna find that logo? google search perhaps? done. uh oh, but it doesnt reveal the format. maybe he should ask someone!! oh wait, he did, and get called an imposter! cabbages!!

Thanks The_B_Man, you know what I'm getting at. I wanna get dog tags, I'm not going to leave them blank, im going to get them embossed. I could get US or UK style ones done very easily, but i dont, I want to show the Irish style, because I'm proud of being Irish
    if you want a dog tag of the irish defence forces why dont you get off your backside and join them????? i find it offensive and disrespectable to all the people who have gone out to war zones to try and make a difference, some even dying for it and there you are sitting in front of a computer in your nice little safe world wanting to look like some big man.

A friend of my brothers is in the Army and done a couple of tours, I have full respect for what he and other have done in difficult circumstances. I cant contact him at the moment.

I'm not trying to pass myself off as a Army Ranger, im thinking of getting dog tags embossed and im wondering what info is embossed. I've shown examples of some other armies but I cant get the Irish Defense Forces one on google. It could be the same as the UK or US but I just want to double check it.

Get off yer high horses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

Dempsey wrote:
    A friend of my brothers is in the Army and done a couple of tours, I have full respect for what he and other have done in difficult circumstances. I cant contact him at the moment.

What's your rush? Why don't you just wait until you can contact him? Surely you've your very own personal military advisor there.

dame wrote:
    What's your rush? Why don't you just wait until you can contact him? Surely you've your very own personal military advisor there.

Well, I taught this place would be an easy place to get the information, in hindsight, I'm beginning to regret ever asking anyone here for help. I never asked for an opinion but thats all Im getting:rolleyes:

I'm at the far side of the world and if you taught mobile phone charges were extortionate in Ireland, especially when it comes to international calls, you should come to oz!

Ah but its not the ordinary Irish Army identity discs you want,its the elite Ranger Wing ID..why would you want to wear these if not to decieve people that you've served in that unit?I met a bloke on holiday once with SAS tatooed on his leg,he was showing a couple of people,one of whom turned out to be a former Para who asked him a few basic questions about regimental strength,current weapons etc and yer man hadnt got a clue.He was very luck to avoid a comprehensive ass-whooping.

Degsy wrote:
    Ah but its not the ordinary Irish Army identity discs you want,its the elite Ranger Wing ID..why would you want to wear these if not to decieve people that you've served in that unit?I met a bloke on holiday once with SAS tatooed on his leg,he was showing a couple of people,one of whom turned out to be a former Para who asked him a few basic questions about regimental strength,current weapons etc and yer man hadnt got a clue.He was very luck to avoid a comprehensive ass-whooping.

I'm never going to say that I've served, you are making me out to be some sort of scumbag, im not. The irish rangers have done missions that we will never know about, the fact that they can pull it off without notice is more to their credit.

I'll never say to anyone that i was a ranger, cos I'm not that type of person, and usually they would know me most of my life. I didnt think this thread would get this reaction because I wasnt thinking in a deceitful way.

I was thinking, " is it surname first", or " first and middle name" then DOB then Blood type or some sort of posts like that, not this.

I dunno why yer thinking the worst of me and I'm disappointed alot by the posts that I've been getting

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Dempsey wrote:
    I dunno why yer thinking the worst of me and I'm disappointed alot by the posts that I've been getting

i dont know why you are disappointed? you have got to have realised that people on this site have had friends/family in the Defence Forces and/or rangers and some of them may have been killed or injured in the line of duty, and you come along spouting this rubbish, if you are not going to "pretend" to be in army why put it on your dog tags? why not just put Liverpool FC or some other symbol - why the rangers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Hey im in the RDF, Status: Current. The RDF/PDF do not have "Dog Tags" and i do not think the ARW do either.

I cant imagine why special forces would require Identity tags,especially if they were going on a clandestine mission,the whole idea is to keep your identity secret.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

My ID is simple we have RDF issued ID Cards,that you can only get while in the RDF, same for PDF. You will never get Irish Defence Force Issue Equipment for sale in this Nation in any shop or Militaria shop as to sell it is Illegal.

Hold up there people. JESUS!

Steyr, is that the reason why I cant get info on the dog tags?

No offence but what about the people on tours and in the field, surely they have tags, or how is ID done?

Irishbird, I have friends in the Irish Army, 'im not spouting rubbish', I'm not being disrespectful either. I'm not trying to pass off as Irish Army but that the information on the tag is similar to how a irish army officier tags are but Steyr says we dont have tags which could explain alot

Steyr, do you feel that I've been disrespectful to the irish army or your job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

Steyr wrote:
    Hey im in the RDF, Status: Current. The RDF/PDF do not have "Dog Tags" and i do not think the ARW do either.

Yet again you show your complete and utter lack of knowledge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

Steyr wrote:
    My ID is simple we have RDF issued ID Cards

No you don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

if you want to get dog tags what difference does it make honestly as to what format your info is on them ?

glad to hear your proud to be irish but what makes you feel that you need a badge that says Irish army on it to be proud of being Irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Judt

Dog tags? We use SS style tattoos on our forearms. Have to be stuck on while you're awake and drunk :p You also get your CO's name tattooed onto your arse. His face if you want to be an officer yourself.

Unless I'm mistaken it remains illegal to use any of our uniforms and suchlike in public even if you are in the DF and not on official business. Stop the IRA types commandeering a street or similar.

Anyways, who would want them? Military jewelery, load of crap. And your military uniform is like a school uniform: Can't wait to get out of it when the day is over. Join the army Walter, or grab yourself a Yank dog tag or similar.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Steyr wrote:

Not you again, nothing more dangerous than someone with small bit of information.

OP I dont think you will get info here as details cant be given out on specifics. Suffice to say they are nothing special so any standad tag with standard info would be close to the money