Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Would you accept a knighthood?

• 03-01-2007 07:49PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭

Uh-oh, this is likely to get hostile! :D This is inspired by the fact that Bono is being knighted.

If Queen Elizabeth II called you up one fine day and left you a message on your phone, saying, "alroyt! here, I wanna give ye a knoyh-hood -- if yer interested give us a bell back" -- what would be your response?

Yay
    Nay
    Couldn't say
    Ataray Jagyay

Would you accept a knighthood? 195 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    43% 84 votes
    Don't know
    48% 95 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    8% 16 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Only if I get a suit of armour, a sword and a big horse to go with it. No point in being a knight otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I voted "Don't Know". If it came with a hefty lump sum, or a hefty lump sum could be obtained by having "knighthood", then maybe. If not, probably no as I don't really see the point in it and I'm Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

probably not, as I am called Sir by most people anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I would accept it just so I could do the glove slap and challenge some to a duel and of course the might steed, etc. I get called Sir quite often, "sir, you are making a scene!" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Oh come on what normal boy (or am I a man now?) doesn't want to be a knight!

If it was a junkie on the street handing them out or Queen Elizabeth, i'd accept it either way!

Like, a knighthood has nothing to do with nobility, it's to do with honour, it means someone thinks you are an honourable man. It would be a bit dishonourable to just throw that back in their face, wouldn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Remember "Once a King, always a King but once a Knight is enough."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭impr0v

If the fabled knighting sword is still in use, I'd wrestle it from her and make headlines. Otherwise I'd just join the line of other z-lists, get my papers upgraded and collect my book of 'Welcome to Knighthood' tokens offering, among many other fabulous things, a 5% discount off luxury bathroom mats in Harrods (offer not valid in conjunction with any other offers or price reductions).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Lads I'm pretty sure ye have a romantic image of what a knight is :D

Observe:

Old knight
    Modern knight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

For honour...no way

For money...yes

Nightwish wrote:
    For honour...no way

For money...yes

What money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Hell yea

Sir Weathercheck..

Can you imagine..................:eek: :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I prefer 'your majesty'. 'Your excellence' is good too.
    paul is a great third...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I wouldn't accept a knighthood. Its a relic of an older time where Britian ruled/believed it ruled the world and handed out awards to people who defended the "empire" :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

InFront wrote:
    What money?

If it were offered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kwekubo

I voted don't know. Depends on the conditions of said knighthood & why Liz wants to give it to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭FranchisePlayer

Seeing as I was born in england I suppose I would

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,767 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Maybe. He sounds mysterious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Only if I get a suit of armour, a sword and a big horse to go with it. No point in being a knight otherwise.

Damn you, damn you to hell i say. The only reason I opened this thread was to say that.

rb_ie wrote:
    I voted "Don't Know". If it came with a hefty lump sum, or a hefty lump sum could be obtained by having "knighthood", then maybe. If not, probably no as I don't really see the point in it and I'm Irish.

Theres probably a chance you'd have a fair whack of cash in the first place if you were getting knighted.

I'd take it, sure why the hell not? I want one off the Dutch too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

no i would not. i could not go against our constitution and accept an award from a foreign monarch

admiralgar wrote:
    no i would not. i could not go against our constitution and accept an award from a foreign monarch

So (as someone else pointed out) would you accept a Nobel Prize from King Carl Gustaf, or not?

And the constitutional article you are probably referring to, just asks that one receives permission from the Irish head of state(/ taoiseach?) before using the title. If any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I voted yes and I'd build a moat around my house and raise the flag at sunrise and lower it at it's setting like the clerk in Great Expectations.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

If Queen Elizabeth II called you up one fine day and left you a message on your phone, saying, "alroyt! here, I wanna give ye a knoyh-hood -- if yer interested give us a bell back" -- what would be your response?
    My response would be "o rly?"... then I'd lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Said Dont Know, but i probably would now that i think about about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Arise Sir Gandalf.....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Kojak wrote:
    I wouldn't accept a knighthood. Its a relic of an older time where Britian ruled/believed it ruled the world and handed out awards to people who defended the "empire" :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    No it's not. It's a relic from well before any of that "empire" business existed and those evil Brits were getting colonised by the French.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

If there was money in it I'd accept, but if I'm being offered then chances are I'm already rich. So bollox. Make a scene :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭csk

I would have to say no, make a scene and p!ss off all the foaming at the mouth types back in Ireland.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

csk wrote:
    I would have to say no, make a scene and p!ss off all the foaming at the mouth types back in Ireland.
    Don't you mean "yes" then if your looking to p!ss of the boardsies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭exCrumlinBoyo

I certainty would not. I would politely decline.

Correct me if I am wrong, but did in David Bowie or someone like that decline due to it being a bunch of Bollix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭Flex

Probably not. Definitely wouldnt accept one from Britain or their monarch. Id just politely decline