Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

how bad is bad for larkfield??

• 29-08-2005 3:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14 irish-kisses

i am just after paying for on-campus accommodation (well dad has) and with all the posts here saying negative things about larkfield, i'm just wondering is it really that bad?? it doesnt sound so bad, but just trying to get people's view who have had previous experience :)

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭Redegg

it ok provided you get on with the other person your livng with.. be prepared to have no sitting room so youll have to eat on your bed.. Security is way too strict. When having partys, I suggest placing matresses against the main door to drown out the noise as they are alway trying to fine people. ALWAYS. its cosy and does the job. Im sure its a different story for girls. Kitchens very compact. No microwave... and you WILL have a kitchen fire at some stage so make sure ya know how to use a fire extinguisher etc........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 irish-kisses

matresses, ok got that!! no microwave, what the hell, i mean i dont cook!! damn it, and the whole having people past 12 is very strict too eh?? i mean never know when you want to bring some1 back!!

ye youll get no one in after 12.. maybe around 5 am. he he.. they really are too strict about that.. Im glad im moving out of campus!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Microwaves are only 50 quid for a simple one that'll do the job.

Its not so bad, and perfect for first year.

Enjoy.

role on college, after two years of waiting, no people let in after 12, well there goes my love life :) haha, and will also have to invest in a microwave, too lazy to cook!! other than theses minor rules, college life on campus is good.......... yes?? coz il be spending loadsa time up there coz i live in kerry

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Yeah, its great craic. There is always parties and nights out and pool and random sleep overs and crap. Its fantastic.

People arent allowed in after 12, but you dont *have* to follow the rules :)

oh sweet, so hopefully legend times ahead! sleepovers sound interesting, guess il find out when i head up there!! cheers for all yer help!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭p~b

just wondering could you not just bring people in before 12 and they can stay the nite

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭ gizmo

Course you can, as long as you don't make too much noise.

The major complaint is trying to do it after a nite out on the town. :)

but thats actually when you find some one HAHA

*coughs*

That being the whole point of the argument! :D

well then, hopefully the other person lives off campus!! where there's a will there's a way lol :)

oh one more important tip.. on the very first night meet as much people as possible. everyone will be sh**tfaced so it should not be that hard. These are the people you'll be friends with for the rest of your college years... so choose carefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Nedrac

Just to let you know was on campus last year stuck in larkfield
    security as in EDDIE hamilton in practicular are B*ds however re sneaking people in you can get them under the gate that goes out onto the "pitch" area between larkfield and the newer ones the name of which ican't remember. also I think its larkfield door number two. Its the corner that closest to the library and there is a circular window at the bottom of the stairs which hinges down the middle and you can easily get people in that window did it lots of times with mate.
    Word of advice don't use the fire extinguishers unless there is a fire? the security locked the comon rooms. and don't write in board marker on the windows beside the doors to larkfield i got fined 80 euro for that.

And one Last thing... Pray you don't get a roommate from thurles who likes to aww never mind.

ck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Nedrac

It was board marker and all i wrote was HAHA cause i locked someone out of the block.

Watch those damn security cameras? thats how they caught me that and my very distinctive hairstyle

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Ah here now, if there's a will there's a way. First 2 weeks of 2nd year we had a party every single night in the apartment right beside the old res office. We weren't fined but we did have the gestapo (DCU security, not the res one) arrive on our doorstep with "reports of a party going on" when there were 3 of us sitting in the living room watchin TV :D We also had 3+ people stay over in the one night.

Just don't rub them up the wrong way tbh. If you piss them off by being smart or whatever they'll come down on you like a sack of bricks, but if you're half considerate of the neighbours they'll usually be okay.

P.S. no matter what ANYONE trys to tell you. The flower beds in front of the old res office are not the place to plant potatoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Lord Panic

well then, hopefully the other person lives off campus!! where there's a will there's a way lol :)

Correct me if i'm wrong, but wouldn't all your problems be solved if the other person ilved on campus? :confused:

hey again!! i've another question or 2!! What are the common rooms like? As in facilities and are they spacious, how many units to a common room? Also is there is chance in hell being able to watch a tv show you actually like?

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭lizanne83

The common TV rooms are good craic.
    At the start of the year, almost everyone congregates in there just to socialise and have come craic and everyone just agree's on what to watch, whatever's the best thing on at the time!
    As the weeks go by, less people are in there at the same time due to diff lecture times and doing things in evenings, and people wanting to watch particular programs on certain days n stuff. After the first few weeks, there's mainly only regulars that are always in there but it shouldn't be a big deal to switch the tv onto what u wanna watch, if others not already engrossed in something else!
    God i'm so bored in work right now.
    I was only a partial common room go-er when I was in larkfield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭cotillion

It's handy to get people back (or so it was last year) as long as you don't be stupid about it. One way that worked last year for me was I got locked out of room (this was actually accidental but worked out good) so I went down to security and asked for a new card, your man said pay the €20 tomorrow, I'd say I did, full deposit back thank you. You now have two cards, only one will work for your flat but the other will work at the very very front door of the whole campus building, those of you who know res will know what I'm on about. Anyway when your going back at night the security guard only checks that your card works in this one particular door, doesn't ask your name or anything, just checks that the card works. You can also just walk through and pass your card to someone else through the gates.

However I heard this year that they're putting your picture on the card which would rule that out, I dunno if that's true or not (hopefully for your sake it's not). The fence ain't that high, a guy could hop it grand, and if you're taking him back to your flat I doubt he's gonna have a problem doing that if he's going back for sex.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,454 ✭✭✭✭28064212

cotillion wrote:
    However I heard this year that they're putting your picture on the card which would rule that out, I dunno if that's true or not (hopefully for your sake it's not). The fence ain't that high, a guy could hop it grand, and if you're taking him back to your flat I doubt he's gonna have a problem doing that if he's going back for sex.
    From what I heard going around, it's just going to be your student card, which will at least eliminate the complaints about swipe cards being lost all the time. Will definitely make it harder to sneak people in though

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, and dark mode). Now available through the extension stores

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭cotillion

28064212 wrote:
    From what I heard going around, it's just going to be your student card, which will at least eliminate the complaints about swipe cards being lost all the time. Will definitely make it harder to sneak people in though
    I doubt it'll be your student card since, campus res and dcu are two different companies. I would guess that it'll be the same as last year with just a swipe card with no photo but who knows.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Well I didn't live on res last year but someone gave me spare card and that got me through fine, only stopped once

Getting a spare card has become a rariety now though thats another problem.