Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭scuba8

Party of fiscal responsibility me arse.

IMG_1023.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,912 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I've said it before and I'll keep f**king saying it.

He is a racist scumbag.

1000043445.jpg

F**k him and his racist enabling mouth-breathers.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth 8-bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,026 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

The irony being that he's the most vile and crooked by a large measure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,632 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

Chatted to a work colleague today who happily informed me that he thinks Trump gets very unfairly blamed for stuff, that he's genuinely trying to fix the United States that that the previous election "seemed very dodgy indeed to me". Needless to say, I smiled and nodded and will not be interacting with this person again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,554 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Trumpland loyalist saying it like it is there, Hegseth in speech this month: “Europe needs the Strait of Hormuz more than we do. Let them board a ship. This is their war, not ours.

I got to wondering how much the economies of the Gulf nations must be hurting from the U.S and Iran war blockade on the Strait in it's sixth week now and whether it might effect their response to Trump's demand that they join his Abraham Accords deal with Israel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

So much brexit vibes from it all. Entirely self inflicted, no forward planning, Europe needs it more than us, no deal is better than a bad deal etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,630 ✭✭✭✭looksee

If you have 50 minutes to spare, this is fascinating. A high speed, very detailed outline of how the American education system was formed and progressed, the outcomes, how it relates to, and how the rest of the world feels about, the current US government. Well worth a listen, and ultimately very Trump related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭midlander12

I hope his work performance is better than his grasp on reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,632 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

I mentioned that all Trump has done in office since last year is enrich himself and his family through dodgy and likely illegal deals and market manipulation and his answer was "sure so what? He's not harming anyone". I just stopped at that stage. Nothing to be said to that sort of stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,136 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Pathetic stuff.

Happily, data doesn't care about this stuff, the economy is suffering under Trump and will continue to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,319 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Bonnie Blue would find that level of blow and slurp unacceptable.

Theres no such thing as dignity anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,640 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Entertainers for the big 250th celebration in D.C. announced. No Kid Rock, but Milli Vanilli seem appropriate.

https://thehill.com/blogs/in-the-know/5896900-national-mall-america-250-dc-great-american-state-fair/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,051 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I think it won't come, because those people will be convinced by the AI that their pre-existing world view is actually the greatest idea of all time and they just need to keep the faith.

The people who are most likely to vote trump (the RWA personality type (right wing authoritarians) are incredibly credulous when it comes to their in group. AI is being developed to pander to the user because that drives engagement, in exactly the same way as social media does, except even worse. AI chatbots will convince even the biggest losers on the planet that they're actually the only ones who know the truth. People who couldn't get 2 likes for a post on twitter because their ideas are so unhinged or uninteresting, will have some LLM available 24 hours a day to tirelessly agree with them and egg them on.

These people will lose everything, their jobs, their homes, their families, their health, their minds, but they'll still have some AI that will tell them that they're doing the right thing and everyone else is wrong

Ban billionaires

VANILLA ICE!!!!! You can probably book him for gender reveal parties with a gift card.

Nigel Farage is the epitome of the weakness in representative democracy
    This is a man who lost election after election, lost to a man dressed up as a bin, but kept getting backed by wealthy interests, kept coming back for more, broke loads of laws in the brexit referendum but got a pass because the media owners supported him
    He can lose a dozen elections, but only has to win one, and when he does, he'll use that power to dismantle all of the protections that preserve the demos part of democracy. He might lose the re-election, but he's fulfilled his job. Dismantling protections take years to undo, means that its easier for the next demagogue to get in, maybe farage himself again, and this time he'll have fewer checks and balances.

Democracy requires vigilence, and it requires restrictions on 'free speech'. Carefully crafted restrictions, but fascists use free speech provisions to foment lies disinformation and propaganda until they get into power, and then immediately go about dismantling the ability for their opponents to speak freely.

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,754 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

The gall of them, when they started this war (and show no signs of being able to extricate themselves now)!

It's interesting as well in that it is almost framing harm that the war does to Europe as a nice little side benefit for the USA - yet another indicator of what "MAGA" think of us. They don't wish us good health, that is for sure.

I think it's Asian countries that don't have much oil themselves, especially poorer Asian countries who can't pay a premium to get oil/gas they need, that suffer the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,308 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I honestly cannot comprehend the levels of irony and layered comedy that having a fake band who fell apart in ignominy and shame…
    Being booked by Trumpers to appear at the USA A-OK birthday bash is evoking within me.
    There is 100% a German word for this, but I don't know it.

The only this could get more tragically comic?
    Would be if the nukes land, or the comet impacts just as the lads harmonise on "Girl you know it's true"

This is comic genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭amacca

Deeply worrying...I hope they don't get to pull off the next magic trick which results in Trump not fcuking vanishing

One for the gobshite list...

It would probably be a bad decision but I'd feel ike opening with ..."Oh really, I'd love to hear your thoughts on why that might be the case?"

And then propose evidence backed counterpoints to all the utter bolox the fool would probably come up with

In the nicest possible way......

If I couldn't make headway I'd have to end on "thank you for your input" and then move to social defcon 2 ....as close to utterly ignoring the person as is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Is there anything he won't try and blame on Biden

Ah.…ignore and pity is the best policy...

That poor person hasn't the reasoning ability of a goldfish....I apologise to any goldfish that may be reading this thread.

The ultra wealthy engage in rent extraction, they are farming the rest of the world for income for themselves.
    We need to push back and point out that they are taking huge amounts of wealth out of our pockets.

Gabriel Zucman, a French economist has been studying the wealth inequality gap and he noted that over thirty years, French workers' productivity rose by roughly 40% but their wages by half that. The missing value didn't vanish it accumulated at the top, which is why 500 families now hold wealth equal to 42% of GDP. The median worker is roughly €5,000 per year worse off than they would be if wages had tracked the value they create. Multiply that over a 40-year working life and that's €200,000 per worker transferred upward.

That's the argument. Every worker is paying 200k in economic rent to the richest 0.001% over their working lives, and this number goes higher and higher, unless we use taxation and regulations to prevent them from using that wealth and power against the rest of us.

For context, a typical worker will pay about 100k in income taxes over the course of their entire working lives. So we pay to the richest oligarchs, double the amount we ourselves pay to support all of the infrastructure, social services, pensions, welfare, education, foreign aid etc etc

And from that tax we pay, we're also paying to service the national debt, that debt is very often paid directly to those same billionaires

Ban billionaires

Schadenfreude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,379 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Two faced and a key board warrior, keep up the good work.

Warning issued. Remember folks; no personal jabs against other posters.

-Mod

Post edited by Rawr on

If what was said by Trumps Dept Secretaries could be weaponized the wheels would [have] fell off his wagon ending his road. Marco Rubio yesterday:"The straits have to be open. Whats happening there is illegal. it's unsustainable for the world. It's unacceptable."

Look who is back.

You ran off fairly quick the last time, some questions you didn't want to answer. Keep up the good work.

They interacted with a moron decided to smile and nod and then resolved to try not to interact with them again based on the content of the conversation...what's really all that two faced about that? They haven't identified them or said they told this individual they were dead right...chat with doesn't have to mean they were effusive in their praise or it went much beyond banal everyday nice weather out there...for all we know the moron brought up Trump first out of the blue

I'd say its sensible strategy...they'd be unlikely to change their mind and you know the relatively well known saying about arguing with fools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,379 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Im not obsessed with Trump and this forum. It pointless answering questions in here no room for discussion its either hate anything and everything that has to do with Trump or you be called a moron maga nut .