Israel/Palestine Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Miniegg

You may not like them, but that's irrelevant surely. Why should they be stopped sailing to Gaza, which is engaged in a cease-fire? The USA has a ceasefire with Iran, should a third country intervene and stop people going to America?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,877 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Below…and you know this, as does everyone else pretending that these flotillas are so sincere and genuine in their goals and aims! And plenty know these tales of torure and abuse at the hands of Israel are absolute made up exaggerations, but once the tales paint Israel as badly as possible, goal achieved!

"They went with the intention of getting intercepted, detained and with the aim of confrontation. They had only one objective and that was to paint the Israelis in as bad a light as possible hence the ridiculous tales of sexual assaults, beatings and starvation. These people are nothing but Palestine-obsessed antisemitic fruitcakes.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,961 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It's a very good point - according to the regime and its supporters, there is a ceasefire and no fighting in Gaza. What would be the issue with a flotilla of civilian craft landing there briefly and leaving again a day or two later? What international law would be broken?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

The sexual assault claims have more credibility considering a disgusted Israeli official leaked a video which proved the IDF had sexually assaulted Palestinians. The authorities then went after her and she was forced to resign from her investigative role. They have swept it under the carpet.

President Isaac Herzog is even now admitted 'moral decline' in Israel including violence against Christians and Muslims.

Oh, so there is a ceasefire? When people pointed that out previously, you had the responses that there is no ceasefire really, as people were still dying…..so there is a ceasefire…brilliant, maybe let's let Israel and Gazans work together with OUR encouragement and assistance, IF ASKED FOR. When it was pointed out (FAI ISRAEL thread) weeks and weeks ago that there was a ceasefire in place, you had posters jumping in to disagree. A ceasefire wasn't good enough for them, as it meant they couldn't attack the FAI/Ireland for playing soccer games against Israel

Maybe I missed it, but I didn't ever hear Gazans asking people from Ireland and other Euro countries to start saling to them to save them.

Maybe it's just a bunch of self-righteous one sided do-gooders causing more problems than sorting things? Maybe we are missing a real chance to assist Gazans and Israelis of a more peaceful existence, because instead of trying to be so ridiculously one-sided here, we coud be much more balanced and cooperative.

Ceasefire in place! It is now time to work with both sides to find a peaceful solution, not the antagonizing insincere antics of the flotilla selfies

So there isn't a ceasefire in place?

And you are avoiding answering the question for some reason.

What you think of those people is irrelevant.

The intention of the people in the boat to be intercepted or not doesn't really matter, they certainly aren't, from what I can see, doing anything illeagal. They aren't forcing Israel to break international law and aprehend them for simply sailing on a boat. If Israel knew their ploy was to make them look bad, why not just leave them off?

There are plenty of nariccists and fruitcakes in transit to every other country in the world as we speak, they aren't being intercepted, nobody gives a ****. In fact I'd expect the whole insta selfie tourism culture would collapse if such a thing were in place! Nope, just these nariccists aprehended for some reason.

You want people not to be "one sided" but are unable to articulate why "your side" are breaking international law to stop a boat landing in a place where no genocide took place , is not a warzone as it is now under ceasefire. And no, walshb, you not liking them isn't a reason.

So explain to me - why shouldn't they be allowed to land in Gaza, as people legally traveling all over the world are allowed to land in the places they are going to?

There is a ceasefire in place….so let Isarel and Gazans work together now to try bring about a peace. No need for these selfie flotillas to be sticking their oars in under the guise of we want to help Gazans.

Yes, they should not be allowed sail into a conflict zone between two peoples (ceasefire in place or not). Truth the matter is that Israel intercepting these troublemakers is likely a lot more beneficial to Gazans than to allow them free passage into Gaza (which they really don't want anyway, and nor do the Gazans).

So, that is my tuppence on this conflict/war/hostilities between Israel and Gaza. Lot damage has been done, and now and recently a lot less damage has been done, which has to be seen as a positive. Instead of this incessant ramping up of Israel bad bad bad, maybe let's try work a little more evenly and to promote both sides to bring about a peace! That is where the real sincerity of people can be seen, not the fake type that these flotilla crew are all about!

But again, the personality of the people is irrelevant. No other country in the world bans people for taking selfies, or being insincere, or whatever your problem with these people are.

I know Ukrainians travelling home and back, an actual warzone. They know the risks. Should they be stopped by Israel or Russia or somebody else aswell? Israel was a conflict zone after October 7th, should a third country stop people from going there aswell?

You aren't articulating this at all. Leave the personalities of the people who none of us know out of it and explain why a boat legally travelling to Gaza should be stopped and the people aprehended, illegally, by Israel, in a place that is not a warzone as it is in ceasefire, just like Israel is, where people come and go as they like. Like those Ukrainians, let them take the risk, as all travellers do when they go abroad.

If you want people on your side you should explain what your side is.

Now I think your're deliberately not undersatnding….yes, a ceasefire, but far from actaul peace. Still lot lot tensions and hate and anger etc between people who have been killing each other for years and year; so don't be all "there's a ceasefire, all is hunky dory."

And you're advocating that Israel and Gazanas just allow foreign peoples waltz in on boats with their few packets a biscuits and cartons milk, pretending they want to help everyone? You don't see that in a conflict zone (with a ceasefire in place) that this may not be a good idea? I really thin you do believe that this is not a good idea, but cannot actually say it, because oh my god, wouldn't that be seen as being on Israel's side here, when it really should not be seen like this. It should be seen as bloody good common sense from a person who is more concerned with wanting both sides to progress their peace……

And it is THEIR peace at stake, not the peace of Europeans on selfie crusade that are 100 percent only interested in painting one side (Israel) in the baddest light they can

And, the difference between me and you, and plenty others is that I don't want anyone on ANY side…..it should be about bringing sides together.

I'm not deliberately misunderstanding anything. You aren't explaining it at all, just going on about the insincerity of people travelling on a boat to a country which is in a ceasefire, and are telling us about their personalities as a reason to stop them. I could give less of a sh*t about their personalities, just as I and you could give less of a sh*t about insincere people travelling anywhere else in the world.

I'm advocating people legally travelling to countries to be allowed to land in those countries, as they are everywhere else in the world. If the consignment in their boats is legal, let them land. How can you be against this?

How is a boat of people, legally traveling to Gaza, bringing legal items with them, threatening peace? If I bring biscuits to Ukraine is that threatening peace? Should Russia stop people going to Ukraine, an active warzone? Never saw you calling for this.

I feel like you are leaving alot out here, or thinking I will fill in some pie in the sky blanks. Explain it in simple English why legally travelling to Gaza is so unique Vs anywhere else, conflict zone or not, in the world.

So you think during a ceasefire in a conflict zone where 1000s have already died, and where fragility is clearly there, that a free for all flotilla crusade should be able to sail in unchallenged to go about their business? No consideration that the security of both Israel and Gaza could be compromised. Israel are 100 percent right to intercept. And flotillas knew they’d be intercepted. Nothing to do with simple English. Israel are spot on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,321 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

The flotilla is the same as our friend Enoch. They've been warned if they do it they'll be detained - so therefore dont do it if you don't want to be detained.

Then they try to sail there anyway and are then amazed when they are arrested. I mean who coulda known that would happen.

Just attention seeking eejits looking to get arrested and happily setting sail to their arrest. Yet they are "victims"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,730 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Whatever you feel about the motivations or whether you come down on the side of Israel or Palestine in this war, no navy has any business stopping a ship in international waters and arresting the crew with zero justification. Israel are far from being "spot on" with their actions here

Boats travel all over the world and their consignments are documented, and subject to customs checks etc. They aren't aprehended for no reason. It isn't like Israel searched the boats and let them move on as the consignment was safe. They aprehended the people , treated them like criminals despite them breaking no laws, as an actual convicted terrorist (whom you don't feel the need to criticize) took videos lording over them like the big man.

And yes, I think if people are travelling legally and bringing legal goods they should be allowed to land in their destination as they are anywhere else in the world, and interact with the people there as people do everywhere else.

No consideration that the security of both Israel and Gaza could be compromised.

You said yourself the flotilla were bringing biscuits etc - I fail to see how that would compromise security? Should Russia aprehend people going to Ukraine with biscuits?

Post edited by Miniegg on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭BettyS

The Choctaw Nation were a Native American tribe that are still commemorated in Middleton. They raised $170 and sent it to the Irish people, to aid with their famine-relief. On the grand scheme of the horrific humanitarian crisis, what is €5,000-6,000, in today’s money. It hardly saved many starving people. Yet to this day, it means the world to Irish people. It is about solidarity and showing the suffering individuals that we do care. The flotilla may not undo the awful humanitarian crisis unfolding in Gaza. But at least their people can see that people in the West do care. And that is a worthy gesture. Also, there is the added benefit of the political spotlight shining on the poor treatment of the activists by BG and others

Walshb, you are the kind of person who watches Titanic and denounces Kate for throwing away the Heart of the Ocean, missing the point completely. Symbolic gestures do manner and they go far beyond the act itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,883 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

In addition, no nation should be treating the people they kidnap in international waters like this either…

Untitled-1.jpg

None of this is "spot on" in any way.

it’s for their safety and the safety of Israelis. What if they were to kick off and attack? You want to see them shot? Remember, these people didn’t sail there as friends or peacemakers. They sailed there as hostile to Israel and Israelis. They know that and Israel knew that. So absolutely spot on that first they were detained, and secondly restrained. Because only an absolute fool would not restrain people who did not come as your friend.

Oh, and if shoe on other foot and they were sailing there as friends of Israel, and Hamas terrorists intercepted them, it wouldn’t be as easy as cable ties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,809 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

How many Gazans have Israel forces killed since the ceasefire? Roughly.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

it’s not. It’s just that you don’t want to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭wildgreen

A savage viscious regime

https://greatreporter.com/2026/05/25/itvs-stark-gaza-report-breaks-from-typical-uk-mainstream-coverage-disgraces-israel-over-inhumanity/

“In many cases there are no personal effects found on the body,” Mushumba said. “The body is decomposed to the extent that we cannot do visual identification.”

“The remains are buried as unidentified,” he added, “but ensuring that they have a unique code where the person is buried to ensure traceability.”

The report then shifted to families who know where their relatives are buried but cannot reach them because of destroyed infrastructure and lack of machinery.

Other families know where their dead are,” Younger said. “They just can’t reach them.

Ayad Abu Jared, who leads a civil defense recovery team in Gaza, explained the impossible conditions facing rescuers.

“He says he gets more than ten calls a day from bereaved families begging for his help,” Younger reported. “But the job is impossible.”

The civil defense team doesn’t have a single excavator,” Abu Jared said. “We depend on the Red Cross to give us a few hours with theirs so that we can recover bodies.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Posters on here would be cheering on the Nazis if they targeted Muslims instead of mainly Jewish people.

A lot of you need to check your moral compass and try find some empathy.

If you truly believe that (and I cannot believe that you do), then take a little inspiration from Nietzsche: “Beware that, when fighting monsters, you yourself do not become a monster... for when you gaze long into the abyss. The abyss gazes also into you.”

As for the efficacy of their strategy, this campaign, if anything, encourages further flotillas to make the journey.

The flotilla was a deeply symbolic and successful gesture. Not everything is defined by the final outcome (ie whether they reached Gaza). Fair play to these people for trying

What I see is people from a peaceful flotilla trying to bring much needed aid to a beleaguered people, that were kidnapped by a rogue state in international waters and subjected to torturous conditions, tying their hands and forcing them into deliberately uncomfortable positions, while a member of its government gloated over them like a complete cunt.

You see that as "spot on", though, and will try to make up all sorts of bollocks to justify their ill treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Odhinn

I always am reminded of the following quote when faced with that sort of attitude -

What need you, being come to sense,
    But fumble in a greasy till
    And add the halfpence to the pence
    And prayer to shivering prayer, until
    You have dried the marrow from the bone;
    For men were born to pray and save;
    Romantic Ireland's dead and gone,
    It's with O'Leary in the grave.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/September_1913_%28poem%29

I don't know…so you, like a lot of others don't thnk there is a ceasefire? gotcha!

Myself, and Minieegg do think there is a ceasefire, albeit I do believe that it has to be very fragile, as these people have been killing each other for years now. Hence my point that outside interference from selfie flotillas (whose primary aim is to paint Israel in a bad light), and who do not sail as peacemakers or as impartial, should absolutely not be permitted here. There's far too much at stake for Gazans, the very people these flotillas claim to want to be helping.

And, not at you, but anyone: did Gazans ask for all this flotilla stuff? Who invited these flotillas to sail to Gaza?

Imagine what they would say about 1916. I remember my history teacher saying that people think of Easter Sunday as some big spectacle, in front of the thronging crowds. The reality was it was seven random lads (hero-lads) standing up with a piece of paper outside the GPO (Bunreacht na hEireann). On the face of it, Easter 1916 to the Walshbs of 1916 would have seemed like a self-serving publicity stunt. But the subsequent slaughter of the 7 signatories, our forefathers led to the foundation of the Irish State. How incredibly lucky we are that they made that symbolic gesture on Easter Sunday 1916 and paid their lives for the price of our freedom. A war is not won by a single battle. Nor is a war simply won on the battlefield. The public sentiment turning led for Ireland to fight harder for our independence. Symbolism does matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,046 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭dmcdona

Bit like the IDF sodomising prisoners I guess.

How is a boat sailing to a place with biscuits or other such stuff dangerous for Gazans and Israelis? How are they going to "kick off an attack"? Jammy dodger bombs?

Boats land across the world all the time carrying legal cargo, could they all "kick off an attack" too?

You aren't making a lick of sense to me.

Do you agree international media being banned from Gaza aswell as a matter of interest?

Post edited by Miniegg on