Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,979 ✭✭✭plodder

Front page of the UK Telegraph today. The far-left have got what they wanted.

"We call this a George Floyd moment,” said David Kaliba, a 35-year-old physics student who went to school with Mr Sakila. “I can’t believe it happened in America in 2020 and happened in Ireland in 2026.”

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/world-news/2026/05/21/migrant-dublin-crushed-death-shoplifting-security-guard/

Death of ‘shoplifter’ restrained by security guards ‘Ireland’s George Floyd moment’

It goes without saying that the death should be investigated and anyone culpable held to account, but without the whole racist "George Floyd" circus.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,182 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Resplendent Moose

There's a process for revoking Irish citizenship, and things called search engines. You can find this out easily yourself without needing to bait other people into an answer you could then squabble over. Go do it, it's easy.

And I see the number of crimes is up to 500 now. Don't think that went unnoticed. You might want to correct it.

A personal invitation to dance, as Nero plays for the last time
    Tonight you will mix with the prophets without honour...

We call this a George Floyd moment

Who does? Who is "we"?

It must be tiring having your livelihood or existence based on manufacturing division and seeking attention.

35 year old student

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

We've only recently started doing enforced deportations and then in such low numbers as to be more for show than effectiveness.

This should be very simple really..

• Come here under false pretences? Economic migrant posing as a refugee? Back where you came from!
    • Can't identify/prove who you are? Lost or destroyed your documents en route? Back where you came from!
    • Arrive in the back of a container, via NI, or otherwise tried to circumvent immigration checks? Back where you came from!
    • No job lined up? No needed skills to offer? No means to support yourself? Back where you came from!
    • Committed serious crimes in the past? Back where you came from!
    • Commit repeated or serious crimes while in our country? Back where you came from!
    • Cause other disruptions in the community because of cultural or religious demands that are incompatible with those of a modern, liberal Western society, and refuse to integrate with that society in a positive manner supportive of our values and norms? Back where you came from!
    • Application denied? ONE appeal rejected? Back where you came from!

In each case, biometric and other identifying data recorded and added to a deny list that immediately marks them as ineligible indefinitely should they turn up again!

Then there's the whole question of citizenship and how we basically give it away or sell it for peanuts. It should be very difficult to gain this status (most should never need it to still be able to work and live here legally), and only after a demonstrated proven track record of social and cultural integration, employment and economic contributions, and a significantly longer time frame of doing this than the few years we currently require.

But... Gain this citizenship and then violate the privileges given you through actions as described above? Citizenship stripped, back where you came from!

All very easy to do and enforce really if we had the political will - but until we start collectively respecting our country, society and people more than we do now, how can we expect anyone else to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,979 ✭✭✭plodder

I wouldn't go as far as revoking naturalised citizenship except in really extreme cases, but that kind of behaviour should be a reason for denying it in the first place. Naturalised citizens should be of good character and adding to the country instead of detracting from it.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

This would require planning, policies, joined up organisations and coordination. We do none of this. I don't know why and I don't know what needs to happen to change it. The Irish state is barely functional in all aspects of collective administration outside of revenue collection. Everything is disjointed. Departments are only focused on growing and spending budgets. Not outcomes of that spending. Maybe a new constitution and a new Republic is needed. The French are on their fifth. Maybe we should learn from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,791 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I see Paul Murphy out protesting against hate and division.

The man is literally the person stirring up hate and division.

People like him want to turn Ireland into a mess like in America.

What a dangerous person he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

You're not wrong. Collectively we are very immature and amateur at State level. No coordination, no long term planning or vision, reactive rather than proactive, and plagued with inefficiency, waste, nepotism, unaccountability and other issues.

Essentially the country runs on what I've repeatedly referred to as the "ah shure it'll be grand!" approach, which of course is no way to live a life never mind run a country!

We're only at this Governance/independence thing a little over 100 years though (and we keep trying to give it away again at every opportunity - to the Church, then the EU) so not really that surprising that we screw it up repeatedly.

The problem is that we seem incapable of learning from our mistakes, or just refuse to. Worse, we can't learn from the mistakes of others either - instead we not only copy them, we somehow find a way to make the problems actually worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,899 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Yup…these types people-narratives are worse than any far-right…..it's the sly, devious and sneaky type nastiness that makes them so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,444 ✭✭✭ebbsy

There also needs to be a complete change in the way repeat shoplifters are dealt with by the courts, it is unacceptable that shop staff have to deal with these scumbags.

Saudi has the right idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,448 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

This is what I don’t understand at all . Perpetual shoplifters are allowed continue to shoplift and the shops and their staff are the ones who have to deal with this crime . Petty criminals allowed roam around doing as they please while the security guards try to control the wave .
    The majority of us carry on trying our best to live a peaceful life and teach our kids to be kind and caring

We have stand by and watch criminals time and time again get away with theft and violence while we pay taxes and support charities etc

Its soul destroying to sit by watching criminals and chancers getting treated well while we struggle to keep the heat on when we are cold .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,058 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

When it gets to this stage, 50+ convictions and prison sentences and/or fines aren't a deterrent. You need to stop treating them like criminals and instead treat them like patients.

Repeat offenders should be made ward of the state and I know this sounds really extreme, but in most cases there's pharmaceuticals drugs that can inhibit this behaviour and in very severe cases of recidivism they should be lobotomized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Lofidelity

Its evident from the small crowd at the protest yesterday that the general public are not falling for the hysteria. Hard to have sympathy for a drug user and shoplifter. Despite the Journal calling it a large crowd, it looks about 100-200. Lots of flags so that will be the NGO's.

What people like Ruth Coppinger, Gary Gannon, the media and advocacy groups are doing is creating division. Its dangerous and unhealthy for society. But they get the attention they crave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭batman_oh

The likes of these are every bit as dangerous as the far right they won't shut up about. All they care about is sowing division and turning people against each other to further their own careers/profiles with zero interest in any sort of rational thinking or balanced discussion.

I often wonder whether people like him actually believe that they are helping… or are they aware that they are populist grifters?

NGOs. The people employed by these NGOs Without so called racism or hate they'd be completely unemployable elsewhere.

Basic income from the arts is another scam. It's pretty much dole for all these unemployables with their piercings and body modifications. Pretty much Fine Gael buying votes off these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,444 ✭✭✭ebbsy

But they would need a brain for that procedure ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,960 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Can the lack of public support be accredited to the changing of the algorithms these past 2 years or so. Back in 2020 when George Floyd and George Nchenko were killed social media was a different place. Far right and centre right opinions heavily censored or shadow banned. Far left and centre left viewpoints heavily promoted.

It's no wonder we had scenes like we had in blanch and the riots in the US were a disgrace. These days far left through the middle all the way to far right is acceptable on social media so a balanced viewpoint somewhere in the middle can be Found.

Grifters like Paul Murphy can't regain their old influence without first putting shackles on our online platforms to influence people towards their extreme ideologies which is anti Irish at its core.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Marcos

Paul Murphy is using this as a means of keeping in the public eye. It's also one of the main things that the extreme left do, infiltrate, agitate and foment discord in order to bring about the revolution and class war that they want, so capitalism will be overthrown. It's straight out of the Trotskyist playbook.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭TokTik

I am, lots of people on here have called him Congolese. I’d be happy for anyone to answer it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭rgossip30

The claim was made by Real Irish News on their Facebook page . I did ask if it could be verified or disputed with a link . I made no claim to its autenticity .

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/protesters-call-for-investigation-into-death-of-yves-sakila-on-dublins-henry-street/a/152171775.html

'' Sakila had been living in a supported housing facility at the Granby Centre in Dublin 1. He had numerous interactions with gardaí over the years and had more than 50 criminal convictions. The majority of these were for theft, while he had also been prosecuted for public order offences in the past.''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭riddles

Convictions generally run at 10% of total crimes commited for offenders just as an FYI .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,791 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Of course they are aware what they are doing.

He is not a school dropout doing a minimum wage job, he is not stupid.

They are out protesting about a racist murder when there is nothing pointing to that.

Pissing off the general public and giving oxygen to the far right and making a minority group feel like victims.

This is not america where racism is rife and it is a basket case.

The likes of him are trying to exaggerate the amount of racism in Ireland so he can be seen as some sort of saint defending it.

His whole aim is to create division in the country, while protesting about stopping it.

He is a very dangerous person and is a scumbag like the far right he goes on about.

Why the media give him airtime to push his agenda I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Marcos

I'm not surprised at Coppinger and Gannon. But I was surprised at hearing Eileen Flynn stating publicly that Yves Sakila was murdered by seven men. My surprise is that she has said this outside of the Dáil and Senate where she is protected by parliamentary privelige. As far as I know this doesn't extend to addressing public demonstrations outside the grounds. I'm sure there are many in the legal profession who's ears pricked up hearing that, and I'm sure those who will be representing the security guards will be paying close interest.

I don't know if I can post the video here, but if you look up Kirk loco on Twitter, he has a five minute video where she states that he was murdered at 3.28 on and also says at 4.05 that he died a hero. I think she has a different idea of what a hero is to many others.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Work permits issued to Congoalise in 2019 is zero . I think one reasonably say that most were asylum seekers . Returns to home country zero over 4 years to 2019 .

I doubt much has changed and their seems to be no recent data perhaps some TD might ask for an upidate .

https://ireland.iom.int/sites/g/files/tmzbdl826/files/documents/COMPLETE-MIGRATION-PROFILE-REPUBLIC-OF-CONGO.pdf

She was handpicked and is being used to push an agenda because she looks like she is not the brightest.

She has annoyed the travelling community and the general public.

I feel sorry for her, she is a puppet or is someone mentally unwell.

Dáil/seanad privilege doesn't extend onto the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Coppinger and Murphy must be 2 of the most dangerous hateful people in the country. They do nothing but incite hate and division and yet claim to be the opposite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Photobox

💯 agree with this, I think Coppinger is way more hateful and bitter than Murphy. Another level. Dangerous people is an understatement. Sowing hate and division all the time as another poster says. It's both depressing and worrying.