Liverpool FC - Talk /Gossip/Rumours 25/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭WealthyB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,018 ✭✭✭McFly85

This article misses the point and absolutely reads like an advertisement for her upcoming Mo Salah book.

I think you’d struggle to find any Liverpool fan who hates Mo Salah. He’s a club legend, one of the best forwards we or any other club has ever seen. And while I might agree with some of the things he’s said before, it doesn’t make him immune from criticism. And for me, publicly airing frustrations with the manager, game time and playing style, is the wrong way to go about things and deserves criticism. And I don’t agree at all when she says that he’s criticised for not speaking enough. It’s fine that he doesn’t speak tbh, he’s not the manager or captain.

Reddy says that it’s not a problem as he’s airing the same frustrations that any fan does. But he’s not a fan. He’s a representative of the club, and one of the biggest voices in the dressing room, if not the biggest. And as such, must look to include himself in the failures of this season. Calling him a fan helps distance himself from everything that’s gone wrong and point the finger elsewhere.

So she can bring out all the old quotes she wants about how great of a guy he is and a model professional. None of that is in question. But none of that means the way he’s acted this season in public is in any way correct.

Post edited by McFly85 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,524 ✭✭✭brevity

I’m tempted by Inzaghi

I mean Slot seemed more accomplished that Iraola.

IMO it absolutely has to be an experienced, trophy winning manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭aloaloalo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Inzaghi is another back-three, possession-control type who likes to build patiently from deep. I’m not convinced that approach works for the top Premier League sides, and aesthetically it’s pretty grim viewing too.

I know it’s important that the football is entertaining but being entertaining and losing is no fun at all. It might even be worse that boring and losing

Iraola has roughly a 40% win ratio. I don’t think he is the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,552 ✭✭✭giveitholly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭TerrieBootson

If you want to go down that road, Allegri will be available. Terrorball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭JPup

If we were going to change manager, we'd have gone with Alonso. His profile was perfect. Ex player. Young, but with top level experience. Already won the league in Germany with two of his key players since signed by Liverpool etc.

So if FSG have told Alonso no, I think we can take it as given that Slot is in for next season.

Main speculation now is on how many players we sign. I expect not that many. Probably 2 to 3 but they'll be high quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,406 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

While I agree, Fabrizio Romano keeps on going on about an 'end of season review' at Liverpool, which is supposedly involving the players, manager, and senior management, and is adamant that nothing will be decided until after that. Seems silly, but you never know.

Pretty sure FSG didn't wait for an end of season review to fire the Boston Red Sox manager. Maybe more likely they were waiting to see if CL achieved or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,056 ✭✭✭✭noodler

She wrote an otherwise reasonable "time for Slot to go" article 2 weeks ago that essentially said mo was 100% blameless.

She's lost alot of credibility in my eyes (whatever little thats Worth!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ratracer

At the start of this season I thought we’d had our best transfer window in ages in terms of quality signings, but it sure hasn’t worked out that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,406 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I think we would have been in a better place if we didn't decimate our squad at the same time. Letting Nunez go was one thing, not improving Diaz terms another, and then clearing out Kelliher, Quansah and Elliot another still.

Even if we had kept the latter three, we would have been more robust and able to rotate, but Slot has shown he doesn't really believe in rotation, or using a squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ratracer

Agree with that alright. I don’t think Quansah or Elliot wanted to leave, though Kelleher did after Mamardashvilli was signed because it was evident he was only ever gonna be second fiddle, so can’t argue with him leaving. Though I would much prefer to have him as our #1, even with the green tinted glasses taken off!

It could be a similar gutting of the squad again in the summer, it’ll be interesting to see who comes in. I hate WC year summer transfers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,056 ✭✭✭✭noodler

City not winning the league for two consecutive seasons is a recent EPL record!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭John arse

Could that Boston Red Sox fella come in and manage Liverpool I wonder?😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Xofpod

With CL more or less secured. I think we need to be resigned to the fact that Slot will be manager at the start of next season, whether this mooted review is an actual thing or not. The fact that there is no contract extension means (I reckon) he's got till the end of September to make his case with FSG. Come out of the traps roaring - with significant signings required - and FSG will take the line, look lads, we told you everything was under control - and extend his contract. Anything less than sterling results, gonzo'd. There might actually be an advantage in having a little bit of distance from a post-WC managerial roundabout market, but maybe that's wishful thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Xofpod

Probably fair to say at this juncture that Alonso was almost certainly never in FSG's mind this time around, whatever fan preferences may have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Libertine07

I think that's true but it raises massive red flags about their judgement.

In the last week or so it has felt increasingly untenable for Slot. It looks like he has lost a significant portion of the dressing room. If the first indication of that for FSG was a Mo Salah post, then they've been asleep at the wheel. Or if they've known that for a while, why haven't they acted?

For some time it has been obvious to anyone with eyes and ears that Slot has to go, but they've dug their heels in and let the toxicity fester until we're in a crisis.

The best available option to replace him was clearly Alonso, but they decided to be stubborn and let a rival have a free run at him instead. Absolutely insane decision and one I think will backfire massively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,528 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I don't think it's as simple as to just say "the best option to replace him was clearly Alonso"… like, as outsiders that feels true — but we simply don't know what information they're working with. I think we have to accept the likely reality that these people are not incompetant, and so perhaps accept that they know more than we do when it comes to all the information around a managerial change.

Like, I don't know how many of us would have had Slot in the position of 'clearly best option to replace Klopp", but he obviously was — they nailed that choice and it yielded an immediate league title. Now, since then the makeup of the team has changed, and it would appear Slot is perhaps no longer the man to manage what's there currently, but I'm comfortable enough leaving that decision to the people who got it so right just 24 months ago (and, in Hughes case, who also got it so right with Iraola at Bournemouth). There's a track record of good decision making there on this particular subject.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Libertine07

They got it somewhat right in that Slot won a league title, but he has been shown up this season.

It's all very well basing decisions on data, but for a Liverpool manager I think you do also need to factor in how they fit with the club culture. We revere our managers here, a corporate type who makes no attempts to connect with the fanbase is never going to work long term.

The kind of names we're being linked with now are a downgrade on Alonso IMO.

I don't think there is any world in which hiring a manager who keeps all the teams momentum going, adds some more, and wins only our second ever premier league title is anything other than amazing judgment.

That is just set in stone.

Whether that guy is the best to deal with changing circumstances is a secondary issue, but when hired for the job in front of him, it was an amazing call. There's just no taking that away from them, and Hughes in particular who was by all accounts the lead on that decision — just as he was the lead on hiring Iraola at Bournemouth.

In your last sentence, the 'IMO' is carrying a lot of weight… Like, I agree with you, i'd have loved Alonso in — but I also have to accept that as a dude on the internet, what is 'in my opinion' is perhaps not as valuable as what is 'in Hughes opinion'. Ultimately, while I'll obviously have my own thoughts, I have to bow to a track record and experience level like that.

(I'm also not just talking about data, as in analytics, i'm talking about information, which includes mentality, ambition, ethos, personality etc etc. They'll obviously have better insight on all of that than we will.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭SodiumCooled

The conclusion I have come to is they don't rate Alonso or certainly not as a fit at Liverpool. Lots will disagree but at the end of the day they are the ones who have all the information and the ones with all the experience.

While I very much liked Alonso as a player I am not as gutted as some we don't have him, I think there are very big questions over him still and I think there was a lot of heart and less head in the desire to get him coupled with the "anything is better than slot" mantra which I personally disagree with as going down that road has not served multiple clubs very well in recent years. I am not saying there is not a decision to make on Slot but I am far from sure Alonso was the answer so with that in mind I am not overly disappointed.

I think FSG took the view that as Alonso didn't bite our hands off previously, feck him, which is not a particularly serious approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

I think this is a reasonable approach honestly. Fit is a two way street, and just like with a player, if they’re not eager to be with a club then they probably won’t perform to the level needed.

FSG perhaps consider Alonso as too similar to Slot in terms of ability/experience, and if you take away his passion/club legacy then they think perhaps the next manager should be someone with a more extensive experience. Enriquez, Ancelloti types (not them specifically of course).

And to be fair to them, that's what we saw last year. They were bang on in that search for continuity, and it paid off big time.

It's also kind of what we saw in the first few weeks of this year, albeit more chaotically. For whatever reasons, everything has gone fúcking nuts since then and we've fallen apart entirely.

Can only hope in their next appointment that they again successfully identify all those same things in the next lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

Well it wouldn’t surprise me if a big part of the search included bringing someone in who would not rock the boat, and they had that with Arne, and initially it was successful. Once he actually had to start doing something it turns he doesn’t have the chops.

For the next manager now we actually need someone to come in and shake things up, so the search is different than what we had before, if they are indeed searching that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,297 ✭✭✭54and56

The fact a contract hasn't been announced doesn't mean one hasn't been agreed.