Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,963 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

So who is behind this big push?

Fair play to Bertie for not backing down. He may regain some honour yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

heard that section of the last word yesterday.it was astonishing stuff and the Patrick Duffy whoever he is was ott in his condemnation of the Irish people questioning the road we’re on.

Irish media be it rte/pravda or the “independent “ media sector are all in lockstep to call the people here racist and far right at every turn

Never thought I’d give Bertie praise but on this he’s 100% on the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

Bertie will be forced to apologise at some stage but the issue is, he is 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Matt Cooper earns €400k a year from his job, so it's easy for him to say all this when he is "alright, Jack".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,898 ✭✭✭enricoh

The unemployment rate for people from the congo in Ireland is 63%. The average unemployment rate is 5%.

Now if one of them wins a rose of trailer or is a fast runner our media will be all over it. But one thing is for certain they'll never mention the 63% unemployed. Keep building paddy, someday you'll get to the bottom of the housing crisis.

MOD EDIT: AI generated content is not permitted in CA

Post edited by circadian on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

We don't have to imagine.

The Irish influence ran through every level of the Church there. In the mid 1900s, 1 of Nigeria’s 3 archbishops was Irish and the other two had Irish secretaries.

The Nigerian Episcopal See of Owerri was held by Limerick-born Bishop Joseph Whelan. The Diocese of Iabadan was led by Bishop Richard Finn, from Mayo. Dioceses llorin, Ogoga, Ogo, Olo Kaduna, Benin and Calabar were all led by bishops from Ireland. 500 of Nigeria’s 800 priests were Irish. Irish religious ran 2,419 primary schools catering for 561,318 Nigerian pupils and 47 hospitals serving 714,441 Nigerian patients.

As a result, Nigeria is now home to 29 million Catholics

We belted the right brand of Jesus into them.

Also fun fact.

Saint Patrick is the patron saint of Nigeria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

so a lot of Irish priests tried to improve lifes for Nigerians we should take in anyone from the huge continent of Africa? Is there nowhere else near the Congo that people can find refuge other than a small island on the far side of Europe that can’t house their own people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,549 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

When stating statistics like this you have to be careful.to reference what specifically you are talking about .

I can put a similar question into Google with Congolese employment in recent years for example and it comes back that the situation is broadly now on the same level as Irish unemployment .

The Google snapshot you reference talks about numbers up to 2016 10 years ago , when IPAS were in Direct Provision and were not allowed work in Ireland for 9 months . That situation has changed in the last few years . It is now 6 months

https://www.irishimmigration.ie/my-situation-has-changed-since-i-arrived-in-ireland/labour-market-access-permission/

Also language obviously affects how employable people are in our country .

Education …many have third level 54% but their qualifications may not be recognised for certification here which consigns many qualified asylum seekers to jobs at the lower end of the market until they can get recognition for their qualifications here.

Globs of Google AI text without references are meaningless and can be misleading .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭aero2k

Did you mean to totally ignore the second part of the sentence in the post you quoted, which was the important part of the point the poster was making? I'll post it here again for you:

I actually lived in Nigeria for 2 1/2 years, though I somehow managed to miss the St. Patrick thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I'm quite happy Bertie came out fighting to clear his name and hasn't just bowed down to his knees begging for forgivness to the right on.

It's a pity we're not in a world where Bertie can sign up and conduct this course for trolling purposes and expose what a grift it is.

"I've seen the light. If only I had conducted this course years ago I would have realised what a thundering racist I was. Thanks Dr."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,898 ✭✭✭enricoh

That figure, 63% comes up when you Google congo unemployed Ireland. That doesn't include those on disability so God knows what percentage pay their own rent here.

Perhaps you can update Google on the percentage unemployed, in the meantime I'll go with their figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

I think this proves Google is racist.

Note: sarcasm

Yes my salary is enormous but it doesn’t affect my soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭herbalplants

And another man drives car into pedestrians in Italy, injuring eight.

Something tells us some people will never integrate, no matter what.

Remember the shills only get paid when you react to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,549 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

No

It proves people can use it incorrectly and post out of date drivel and it is still lapped up here .

Poster posting data from 2016 !

Sorry data from 2016 is racist. Everything is racist.
    Note: also sarcasm.

From memory 2016 data is census related. If there’s never data available please share it.

I quoted the more recent census data. That was a report that enricoh's post was based on from census data at the time. I looked it up . There was no reference to recent employment data in his post .

Note not sarcasm . Some of us take misinformation seriously .

Apologies, I’m not fully up to speed on who said what as I’m not following this thread meticulously.

I think you’ve missed the point of my post though. Anyway, going to bed, goodnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Letter in the Sunday Independent:

“Can I suggest that a suitable gesture from [Bertie Ahern], given his high profile, would be to publicly support the upcoming Africa Day celebrations, and that he also consider visiting a mosque to show solidarity with Muslims?

That would soften the cough of those far-right agitators who thrive on ignorance, suspicion, and misinformation — and the gaffes that politicians make in the heat of electioneering.”

These people are beyond parody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,849 ✭✭✭AllForIt

There used to be a charity ad on TV's yonks ago that used the slogan 'help them to help themselves'. Today it's help them to help themselves to our country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

I'd say Bertie would be wary of going to any mosque after seeing the reception the Australian PM received at one in Sydney recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

The brilliant Roderic O'Gorman was out a few months ago showing just how brilliant he was and that it was the pesky "Rightwingers" (AKA normal people) distorting his infamous tweets and that he was all just misunderstood and everything.

https://archive.is/6aVK9

Let's take a little look at Claire Scott's article but before I do, it seems this comment by Claire…

The false claims against O’Gorman resurfaced and generated more abuse and threats directed at him.

…means that her credibility is shot - I'd have said 'allegedly false claims' there Claire

“The department simply communicated reforms in languages used by people already in the international protection system,” he said. “That has since been twisted by right-wing agitators into the claim that I invited refugees to Ireland. Anyone can still read the tweets. That never happened.”

Rod seems to be saying that the tweets were for the domestic market and only for the AS already in Ireland. 'Tweets' generally float about on the world wide web - The clue is in the 'world wide' bit Rod - Al Jazeera had it on their site the same day you hit the 'post button' on the 26th Feb 2021

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/2/26/ireland-to-end-much-criticised-system-for-asylum-seekers-by-2024

They kindly mention this bit too (Claire Scott forgets to):

"Under the new proposal, applicants will be housed in state-run reception centres for four months before those still waiting for a decision to be made will be moved to own-door or own-room accommodation such as houses or apartments."

Those bloody rightwingers twisting your tweets Rod eh? Bastards!

It [the white paper/tweets] had political consensus when it began but has since been abandoned.

The reason it had "political consensus" is that Roderic and the GP told FFG (in the long negotiations for the last Govt) that if there was no white paper/tweets they were taking the ball home and that FFG could feck off to SF to negociate - FFG didn't fancy that prospect at all

“I’ve done my best to try to be as clear about what I did put up online, but it has been entirely distorted — and done so in a very deliberate and very targeted way.”

You lying twat - You were never asked about it, due in no small way to the Govt control of the Irish media - You got nothing but soft interviews and anytime there was a soft in-studio debate we got "We invited minister O'Gorman to join the discussion, but he wasn't available" - Every single time! - The wimp hadn't guts to attend once

“The department simply communicated reforms in languages used by people already in the international protection system,”

When Rodders says "The department" what he really means is himself. What a nerve blaming the dept, because the same publication that Claire is writing for here, had a brilliant article on what the department really thought - Remember that one

No one knows what Roderic O’Gorman, the integration minister, was thinking when he began tweeting about his plans to reform the immigration system in early 2021 but staff at the International Protection Office (IPO) were aghast.

They were concerned about O’Gorman’s decision to translate his plans into multiple languages including the Georgian language, offering to provide asylum seekers with their “own-door” accommodation and “wrap-around supports, healthcare and education” on social media without having the infrastructure or finance to support it.

Months later O’Gorman’s colleague, Helen McEntee, announced an amnesty that allowed illegal migrants to gain residency if they came forward. How this was going to work was also unclear but there were concerns that it too would attract a new wave of migrants who might travel here and apply for asylum.

Where could it have all gone wrong I wonder?

It seems Claire Scott is blissfully unaware of this article as she fell for O'Gorman's BS -

https://archive.is/EfdEL - You may need to switch off dark mode if using

It does go to show what a slippery little worm Rodders actually is. You f'd it up Rod, simple as that - own it. It has cost the country billions, it will undoubtedly change the country for ever and you've made two star hoteliers richer than the Kinahan OCG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,618 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

"The new model will focus on integration from day one" doesn't seem to be aimed at existing asylum seekers

Listening in to Brendan O’Connor’s discussion about Ahern. Gary Murphy talks for 2 mins 30 seconds, then the child of a Nigerian called Emer O’Neill talks for a full seven minutes.

“Look at the systems that are in place. If you look at our education system - if you look at the curriculum, the topics that are covered - the Global South is fairly non-existent.” Etc, etc.

Mary Hanafin then talks for 2 mins 30 seconds, before O’Neill comes back in for another ninety seconds.

As I’ve described here twice before, it is the same every time. There will be a controversy involving immigration and they will get on a first or second-generation immigrant who is given the majority of the time and structures the conversation for the rest of the guests. O’Connor encouraged her to “explore your hurt”. How can you possibly have a hard and honest conversation in the presence of someone emoting their hurt? There needs to be a “safe space” where the native Irish can discuss a policy that has increased the foreign-born population from 5% to 25% in thirty years.

That said, I don’t imagine we were going to hear much dissent from Murphy and Hanafin anyway. Hanafin’s contribution was to laud the diversity she sees in politics and in the law profession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 965 ✭✭✭JPCN1

The IT is a rag these days. No longer the paper of record but the paper of sanctimony. As balanced as a one legged man on a ships deck in a storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭prunudo

For all his flaws, Bertie is still a better politician than Martin, he knows the mood of the country. Was delighted to see him refuse to make a grovelling statement. We are in the mess we are due to weak leaders like Martin and Harris, we need political leaders with a back bone amd who aren't afraid to put Ireland and its citizens first.

The op didn't take my point about the outdated information and made a smart crack back about Google which you joined in on. So I replied as I don't find this stuff funny at all .

I have learned not to expect a serious reply from certain pissters when questioned about where they got their (mis) information . There is a completely inaccurate version of that ..eh ...can't call it data , because it's just made up nonsense from a social media post that has been circulated post Bertie's utterings .

For Congolese it should read African but these people don't care who they tar as long as it suits their purpose .

It is also a mangled version of the information in the 2016 Census . The more recent data from the 2022 census shows that Africans ( not specifically Congolese as the data does not support that sort of detail ) have an unemployment rate of 15% when it was measured , and the rate is directly related to their command of English .

You were not to know this as the poster you replied to was happy to infer he was right and I was wrong without even taking the time to refer to the true data . But you need to know that laughing with posters who post here at other posters who are trying to counter a false narrative will just show you and your grasp of the facts up also .

I accept your apology however .

Just for the purposes of clarity, I again think you missed the point of my post(s) even with the “note: sarcasm” disclaimers.

I don’t approve of misinformation but I do think you’ve missed the point of my posts. And that’s ok, we needn’t fall out over it. You have however made a false assumption at what and who I was laughing at.

For the purposes of clarity my partner is neither white nor Irish. She is, to put it mildly, “baffled” by the attitudes of both the left AND the right to migration in this country. She finds both extremes to be, well, extreme. Though we don’t agree on everything, I would agree with her on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

I think Bertie’s comments have helped him regain some support among voters who are pissed off with the current government, particularly those who feel that the current shower of political leaders don't listen to the  concerns of the ordinary people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭bfa1509

Great post but the anger should be directed towards FF/FG scumbags who put this kamikaze pilot in the cockpit…