Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,336 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

In Galway west their candidate is polling at half the parties vote in the GE.

You need to go back to the Celtic Tiger the last time they had 2 TDs from Galway West.

You also appear to think Big Jim wants the job

I would say with some certainty that Populous Jimmy wants the Big Job.

Speaking of polls though.

Posting this morning, The Irish People Party leader referenced the need for a 'Sanity Check' and described the figures as "gay fake news"

Silent majority at it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭_Puma_

Your trying disprove a fact that they are polling at half their vote of the last General election with another statistic that is not relevant in a.... wait for it.... Bye election. Their core voting base has been halved. Again this probably has escaped your reasoning.

Like my football manager used to say. It's all to play for on the day but its not looking good for them is it.

A Perfect example of whataboutery we are used to here. We even got the token bait too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Marcos

I don't know whether this should go in the byelections thread, but Nick Delahanty has discovered links between Daniel Ennis, Soc Dem candidate for Dublin Central, and the company that runs the East Wall IPAS centre. Gateway Integration Ulc. Incidentally Gary Gannon's brother Alan was Gateway's "community engagement officer."

No wonder Daniel described East Wall protestors as "the few" in the community!

https://x.com/i/status/2055191665329979886

It's a big club and we ain't in it.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Just the asylum economic ecosystem, that long-departed posters on here denied ever existed.

Gombeenomics at its finest.

It's fun to be paying for this stuff, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Irish Times letters today:

Sir, – As the Dublin-born son of an Irish mother and a Ghanaian father, I found Bertie Ahern’s remarks about “the Africans” both depressing and revealing…

Sir, – Bertie Ahern’s recent remarks were racist, wrong and harmful…

Sir, – Bertie Ahern’s recent remarks on immigration … were disappointing to hear…

Sir, – While not condoning in any way his comments on immigration…

In fairness, the bottom two letters go on to say that Ahern isn’t racist. But establishment Ireland is making it very clear it disapproves of Ahern’s comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Marcos

This kind of stuff shows why Benefacts is needed and makes it's defunding look all the more suspicious!

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

I think it's more than suspicious. The NGO Industrial Complex had a role in that shuttering, definitely.

Nick Delahanty has discovered links

No idea who is, but the tweet claims to have discovered links.

Does he publish these links?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Tralee: A homeless Latvian national, Kristian Pablaks (33), described as danger by a judge, assaulted another homeless Romanian man repeatedly with an imitation handgun.His reasoning: He felt threatened by drug dealers and he felt he was entitled to use force as they are a threat to society. He a has a total of 30 previous convictions in Ireland, some for previous possession of knifes. Currently serving a 10 month sentence relating to drug charges, possessing a shank while out on bail (two eight-month suspended sentences) and was handed a two-year sentence to run consecutive to the 10 month sentence.

There is no reason for either of these people to be in the country. Especially Pablaks

"….they will make a fire with your beautiful oak door."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

This should utterly terrify people. In the week where a former Taoiseach made relatively moderate comments on a topic of conversation happening at every dinner table in the country, a state funded agency has inserted itself in the conversation to tell the public that their opinions and feelings are wrong.

The same state funded agency that is keeping the same 6-8 publications alongside a state broadcaster in business, so long as they keep dancing the right tune. Oddly enough the media outlets not in receipt of this funding are continually lambasted and discredited.

More and more this is an administration (and opposition) largely at odds with the people. We often refer back to propaganda in WWII Germany and modern day North Korea, yet refuse to acknowledge many western nations (of which I believe Ireland is one of the worst) are the strongest propagators.

To the people on this thread who will be along shortly to dismiss this act by the state; this is all fine whilst they're doing things you support and believe in, but perhaps consider it happening when it's at odds with your beliefs/opinions? When you hold moderate opinions on a topic and the state who you surrender 52% of your income to, uses that to gaslight you to kingdom come.

This should utterly terrify people.

It is a podcast that has been running for nearly 2 years, that interviews people and discusses things like disabilities, homeless, gender based violence, ADHD, minorities, etc.

If that utterly terrifies people, it completely justified it's existence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Don't really see a problem with reducing asylum acceptance considering most of european countries are doing it anyway. Why the controversy?

It's kind of amusing that this week the council of Europe, of which Ireland is a founding member, have issued a statement to the ECHR that is basically saying exactly what Bertie and Jim said.

As I said the usual suspects are howling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

I see Dr. Ebun Joseph is suggesting Bertie go to anti-racism classes to deal with his racism and hate, classes she just happens to provide for a fee - what are the chances? They’re not cheap, last time I saw them advertised they were available at €299 - which the poster advertising them claimed was 87% off the standard €2,300 price.

Maybe Bertie could get a dig out to pay for it if he can’t afford it?

Yes my salary is enormous but it doesn’t affect my soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Discussion on Matt Cooper now where he described the 2004 referendum as a dark uncharitable moment. Don’t know the other panel member but he described Ireland as a diasporaic country who traveled the world so we should be prepared to give as much as we take from other countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

That argument really annoys me. Bu and large Irish people went abroad and worked. There was no handouts on a mass scale

Also, I dont recall Irish people getting a significant leg up on to property ladder in Australia in the same way some are here with the DCC affordable housing scheme having some percentage assigned to foreign nationals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,737 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Was listening to it, unbelievable stuff altogether.

As bad as things are now with the numbers coming here every week can you imagine what it would be like if we were still giving automatic citizenship to every baby born here to non Irish parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Simon Harris in the Dail yesterday (I invite you to skim read it):

“While respecting the rules of the House in relation to by-elections, let me absolutely deplore, condemn and abhor any racism directed towards any candidate in this Republic and in this democracy. I want to be very clear in relation to the comments of the former Taoiseach. They weren't appropriate.

They were wrong. It's absolutely perfectly legitimate in this country. In fact, that even goes so far as to say it's essential in this country that we debate migration policy.

No one has an issue with that. It's important we debate it. We might have different views, different perspectives.

That's OK. It's important we debate laws and systems on migration. No one has an issue with that.

The policy of the government has been clear. Anyone who comes to Ireland seeking asylum outside the EU or outside the EEA should be treated humanely, should be treated in accordance with international law. Someone has a right to be here.

Their application should be processed quickly. We've been trying to do our best to ensure faster processing time. But of course, and I think to the point you're making, most people who come to Ireland don't come through the international protection system at all.

They come through a whole variety of other ways, legitimately and legally, to play a positive role in our country. I want to take up the opportunity you've afforded me, what we all do at this house, to recognise a very positive contribution that those people make to Irish society and to the Irish economy. People who come here to work, to study, contributes to our country, makes our country and our republic better and more complete.

Of course, as I say, we can have sensible and rational discussions around migration policy. Every country in the world is having that. That's different.

It's never acceptable to single out an entire group of people based on their race, based on their ethnicity or indeed based on their religion. That only serves to demonise or to stigmatise a group of people. And that's not a helpful contribution.

In fact, it's hurtful. I was struck by the comments of the chief imam of the Islamic Centre of Ireland, Sheikh Dr Umar al-Khadri. And he said the remarks were offensive to all immigrants.

He said it's important to discuss the challenges that this country faces openly. And honestly, that is important in a democracy. We should always be willing to do that.

But we should avoid the kind of rhetoric that would seek to scapegoat an entire community.”

And…breathe.

This kind of argument is so wearyingly typical. Anyone who criticises immigration is attacked not for the substance but for the way in which they said it.

“It's absolutely perfectly legitimate ... No one has an issue with that. It's important we debate it. We might have different views, different perspectives. That's OK. It's important we debate laws and systems on migration. No one has an issue with that.”

No one has an issue?! That’s a bare-faced lie. He knows better than anyone that if you say the mildest of things about immigration, in a measured and respectful way, you will be hounded by the left.

Harris goes on to give the tedious but obligatory pledge of allegiance to the progressive cause, in which the speaker says at length how great immigration has been. I have heard it over and over again, and it is just so tiresome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Why do we have to pretend that randoms rocking up looking for free stuff for life from places like Somalia is exactly the same as people coming here and working legitimately? And why do we also have to ignore every bit of evidence that is clearly available that supports that it is a bad idea?

It's not racist to point out the crime statistics/reliance on welfare etc. found in the likes of Denmark, Sweden, Finland, The Netherlands, the UK etc. There are simply observable facts from places that are further along this road.

It's also ridiculous that we are expected to ignore an absolute massive transfer of taxpayers money to a new class of millionaires made from this industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭creedp

Another gravy train to milk the taxpayer with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

Yes my salary is enormous but it doesn’t affect my soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

I've posted pretty often in this thread and I would be of the opinion that we need to have tighter controls on immigration because of the pressure on our resources and the damage done to our tourist industry and small tourist reliant businesses by policies pursued by successive governments.

That being said, I do think Bertie Ahern's comments were wrong. Just like all the shite talk about the Rose Of Tralee contestant.

I don't care what colour or creed immigrants that come to Ireland are once they contribute positively to our society and there are lots of Africans that have done exactly that (as well as lots that haven't) so to say "I worry about the Africans' is tarring them all with the same brush.

Anyway, at least it looks like the EU is finally on the same page as regards implementation of tighter controls and increased deportations of criminals and those that arrived illegally.

The Free Legal Aid Centre isn't happy so it must be a good thing. It's great to finally see that the powers that be are no longer pandering to pro immigration NGOs and have started to realise that asylum laws created immediately after WW2 are no longer fit for purpose and need to be modernised asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Why do we have to wait for EU approval for common sense issues, it's embarrassing.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,597 ✭✭✭Floppybits

It gives the politicians an out, they can point the finger and say Europe made us do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Perfidious Cretin

Imagine a white Irish person heading over to Nigeria and getting paid by the Nigerian tax payer to tell all the Nigerians that they're racist and should take anti-racism classes...