Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Perfidious Cretin

No pearl clutching. I don't care what goes on in other countries. Nothing to do with me. You well know the point I was making. And in regards to refugees, I'll make it very clear what I think..

No refugees

No asylum seekers

Mass deportations of anyone who shouldn't be here or is here illegally. I don't care about their race, colour, creed or religion. All gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Mass deportations of anyone who shouldn't be here or is here illegally.

So not refugees then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Marcos

The only person that seems to be posting official Department of Justice reports on the number of Non Ukrainian arrivals in the state from January to April of this year is the nwl account on Twitter/X (@nwl88444048).*

4139 arrivals the largest of which 22% are Somalian, Pakistan and Afghanistan are 19% and Nigeria 14%, Georgia 6.4% and Other 39.1%. The other is not broken down in the report.

The state takes 2 - 4 years to process each at the typical cost of €122,000. So they will cost us approximately €504,958,000.

The Department of Justice most recent estimate is that 87 - 90% of arrivals come via the North.

Remember the pearl clutching in the media about the €505 million package to stop further haulage protests and how this was giving in to the protestors? How many articles will we see about this in the media? I think we all know the answer to that.

*This account looks at a wide range of subjects from statistics released by official Ireland on things like housing starts, to prison overcrowding and court notifications on upcoming cases that may go under the radar. They are also the one that seems to have broken the Daniel Ennis story about him being the company secretary and warehouse manager of a company that was raided and fined for selling cigarettes and tobacco without tax stamps.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,194 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Official figures (!!) say 5460 people https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41844078.html

of those leading were Brazil 1080, Georgia 930, Algeria 535, Nigeria 395

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭moycullen14

Great read. Extremely well written. She lays the blame 100% at the door of this and previous governments> They (FFFG) really do take us for mugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,642 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

The scariest part in the essay, and there are some pretty scary things there, is the EU deal that may allow boodles of Indian nationals into Ireland. It's up to the government to control that - why do I have bad expectations?

The second worst thing was what is being inflicted on the Ukrainians now. Kinda shows the essential cruelty of the Irish.

How is it the Dutch (and others) seem to get this right, and Ireland with its infinite revenues does so badly? No consequences as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Of course he's right. Part of it was trying to keep the person he was talking to onside of course, given that he was canvassing for a FF candidate, but he raised perfectly valid points and concerns that are being echoed in most parts of the country at this stage.

Micheal Martin of course is out in the paper (Independent) distancing himself and FF from the remarks, and proclaiming that we have to respect all the different ethnicities in Ireland - but of course no remark is made of those who don't respect us, or our laws, culture or society.

As usual, there seems to be more concern about offending others than representing the concerns and issues being experienced by the natives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,753 ✭✭✭creedp

I agree with you that the Dutch have a better model which requires UKR to contribute to the cost of their benefits. Imagine the outcry if the Govt had sought the equivalent from all the working ULR here?

Instead we’ve continued with the usual pathetic approach of providing all for nothing and a ball of cash on top for good measure. All good things must come to an end despite the whinging and wailing from the usual set

https://www.rijksoverheid.nl/onderwerpen/opvang-vluchtelingen-uit-oekraine/eigen-bijdrage-vluchtelingen-oekraine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,898 ✭✭✭enricoh

But, but, but refugees don't take up ordinary houses, it's just old hotels n offices the refugee industry cheerleaders told us. Young working couples getting outbid by the government on housing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭scottser

That's not preferential treatment, that's common sense. Non-violent crime shouldn't be punishable with jail time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭moycullen14

The Indian/EU deal will be very telling. The Indians that come here will be well educated, competing for the well-paid, high-end jobs AND buying the famous €650K houses! They will be affecting the middle-class directly.

There are a huge number of them and they will want to go to an EU country that speaks English. Wonder where that could be?

There is a world-wide contraction in IT jobs, mostly being 'blamed' on AI. As ever, it's a much a cost thing as anything else. Sinead makes the excellent point that a compliant work-dorce, willing to work harder for less will become very attractive to the FDI tech companies. Will the government do anything to regulate this? You wouldn't be confident, would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

There’s a running joke that “AI” now stands for “Another Indian” instead of Artificial Intelligence.

But jokes aside, the numbers do show a clear trend. As of early 2026, Indian nationals have been the largest recipients of Irish employment permits every year since 2023. Official figures from the Department of Enterprise show 11,893 permits issued to Indian nationals in 2023 and 13,147 in 2024, making India the top nationality in both years. Preliminary 2025 data indicates around 31,044 employment permits were issued overall, with Indian nationals again the largest recipient group, although the detailed nationality breakdown hasn’t yet been fully summarised publicly.

Indian workers are particularly prominent in high-skill areas such as IT, engineering and healthcare, including roles under the Critical Skills Employment Permit scheme. On paper, this reflects Ireland’s ability to attract skilled workers who contribute to the economy and tax base. However, it also feeds into wider concerns about increased competition for roles in certain sectors and the ongoing pressure on housing supply.

At the same time, outsourcing has picked up again in recent years. Several major Irish companies, including Musgrave Group, Workhuman, Primark/Penneys, Kerry Group and Irish Life, have all reportedly shifted parts of their IT operations overseas to India, echoing the earlier outsourcing trend seen with Bank of Ireland, AIB and Eircom back in the 2010s.

It’s a fairly complex issue, attracting skilled migrants, domestic job competition, housing constraints and corporate outsourcing are all part of the same broader economic picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Photobox

Yep I'm losing my job of nearly 30 years to Indian outsourcing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,960 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

The entire system is broken.

I'd love to hear Bertie elaborate on why he thinks there will be problems with the next generation of Muslims. Is he looking at trends in France where the next generation of Muslims are more loyal to Islam then the country they reside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭mykrodot

clearly, anyone with half a brain can see this. We excel at enabling it here, no longer allowed to sing carols at the kids Christmas concerts, the Christmas lights being replaced by the Winter lights in Dublin in case we offend. Above all we have to "welcome" our new friends and give them access to a better standard of living than the ordinary Irish person. Rather than being proud of our own heritage and culture,we are dumbing down everything and homogenizing everything so we all blend and live in happy clappy land together.

The trouble with Ireland is that being such a small country and population, the change in demographics is alarming and much quicker than any other country. No wonder Irish people are worried, afraid, angry and asking questions. What on earth did our Government expect……particularly Micheal Martin? His gaslighting and disgust at Irish people's reactions has really ramped up lately. It's like he cannot tolerate any disagareement because he is protected in his bubble. Yet every ordinary person is asking questions, is seeing the change, is increasingly alarmed, if not for ourselves then for our kids and grandkids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭engineerws

I guess the jury is still out as to whether it will be positive / negative in the long run for irish citizens but the rate of change is astonishing.

The fact that no policy is being communicated is really concerning as per Sinéad article.

https://open.substack.com/pub/butthistimeitsdifferent/p/i-is-for-immigration

We excel at enabling it here, no longer allowed to sing carols at the kids Christmas concerts,

Who told you can no longer do this?

the Christmas lights being replaced by the Winter lights in Dublin in case we offend.

No they aren't. The Winter Lights is a separate festival in operation since 2017.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,549 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

No notifications at all came up for all these comments to me for some reason , so just replying now in as much as I will.

My point stands as before .

A discredited , and proven corrupt, past-it ex politician , who wrecked this country , and slunk off on a big pension, while others had to pay for his grievous misdoings with their livelihoods ( some with their lives ) and left others to take the blame , and pick up the pieces, yes , one of them the present taoiseach , does not deserve the time of day nor the effort it takes to reply to all your strawmanning posts , desperately trying to justify your sycophantic agreement with an odious person like him .

If that is all you have to back up your opinions folks , it's pretty pathetic . And more than a bit embarrassing that ye would admit it .

It's simple really . I don't necessarily agree with MM or how the government are handling this situation currently or in the past and gave said do repeatedly here , and all the hand waving saying that I must do or that I am pro "open borders " is just a tired imported trope which means nothing in this country with just that , an open border !

And no, I will not dignify his comments with any further discussion of them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

TL;DR

I dont have any substantive or logical argument, or anything that cannot be demonstrably proven false to say, so I will not engage in discussing the matter.

/fin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

A discredited , and proven corrupt, past-it ex politician , who wrecked this country , and slunk off on a big pension, while others had to pay for his grievous misdoings with their livelihoods ( some with their lives ) and left others to take the blame , and pick up the pieces, yes , one of them the present taoiseach , does not deserve the time of day nor the effort it takes to reply to all your strawmanning posts , desperately trying to justify your sycophantic agreement with an odious person like him .

Like a broken clock is right twice a day, even the most awful person in the world can say something thats true. I would say a poll of Irish people would show a lot of people agree with Bertie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,898 ✭✭✭enricoh

Jaysus , the outrage-ometer has been cranked up to 11 on bertie. The refugee industry doesn't like anyone sticking their head above the parapet, it's an existential threat to them.

You'd think fianna fail would read the tea leaves with their polling and what has happened starmer in the uk n throw Micheal Martin out but they seem incapable of it. Best of luck to them, they're gonna need it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Incredible the energy she puts into it. Could you ever imagine her doing the same with a migration advocate? They show their bias in what they do and don’t get indignant about.

These people have all done bias training. They will swear to your face that they are not biased and then go and give an interview like that.

Post edited by iffandonlyif on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Marcos

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

I don't think she is agitated at all. More bored at another white ould coot mansplaining racism to her.

But his first sentence in that clip is just bare faced lies.

"If we start cancelling and looking for apologies based on a 10 second clip taken out of context"?

The video posted is over 6 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Photobox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Those that speak fact are called racist whats new . Why Ukranians were brought here given all benefits and now are to be returned to the so called war zone , daft . I wonder what his answer to that would have been .

Dr Ebun Joeseph has said Bertie needs to do an anti racism course comedy gold .

Post edited by rgossip30 on

so called war zone

https://www.reuters.com/world/europe/ukrainian-capital-kyiv-under-massive-russian-attack-mayor-says-2026-05-14/

Russia ​carried out its largest aerial attack over a two-day period since the start of its war in Ukraine, pounding the capital Kyiv ‌and other cities with hundreds of drones, Ukrainian officials said on Thursday.

"So called" apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,549 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Maybe they would . But I'd bet a lot would disassociate themselves with him while doing so .