Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭thamus doku

fair enough, I like rugby but don’t enough about it to make any statements like I do.
    My feeling is for a good years excluding Leinster the provinces are not producing enough talent to keep the international team going at the high level.

This is not me trying to cause a row and I accept that’s not Leinsters fault and have no idea really who is to blame , I assume the provinces themselves.

But if it’s a case that Leinster are producing all the talent and it’s being shipped to the other provinces I think that will cause serious problems in the long term for Irish rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

I get tha,t, just never heard the asterisk metaphor used that way before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭OldRio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,622 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Perhaps the fact he's barely featured might be a factor in his underperforming? One game of poor performance (according to you), and he's to be written off? Yet we have week after week of Henshaw turning in subpar performances, and that's grand yea? Fact is Tector was playing really well last season, and is playing well once again, in direct competition with Aki on the day. He showed more in that match than Henshaw has shown in about 2 years, in terms of attacking threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭letsbefair

At the game last night and Tector was very good. He is a developing young player. Don't be too quick to write him off. Very intelligent running for the intercept try. He can also place kick and play out half. Some people write off young players too soon for making the odd mistake, that is part of the learning curve, it's how you improve.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,303 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Absolutely no one is writing Tector off FFS.

what people are challenging is the argument that he should have been starting 12 against Australia last November

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭FtD v2

TBF I don’t think Syd was writing him off, just saying he’s done nothing yet to warrant starting matches at 12 for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭ersatz

strawman. Literally no one is ‘dismissing Farrell’s achievements”. Exaggeration as a form of argument is rampant in these kinds of discussions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I can’t believe that even you are arguing that we should have picked Charlie Tector to start for Ireland. I simply don’t believe that you believe this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,622 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

If the choice was between one of the young lads I mentioned ( not just Tector, who you've focused on) vs Aki or Henshaw, then yes I would have preferred to see them given a chance. The original post referenced the Japan game, which absolutely should've been used for development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭longjohn200

Was Tom Farrell having his first start at 13 in that Japan game? Would it be wise starting a youngster at 12? Think that Japan game was a must win from a seedings point of view too.

Personally, I don't think we were in any danger of losing that match, nor should we be too worried about seeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,232 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

what do people think the primary centre partnership will be in three years time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭mogwai81

12 Jamie Osborne 13 Hugh Gavin. Although I feel Gavin might be more suited to 12. Connacht are stacked with 12's at the moment. Would love to see a real pacey 13 who is also willing to involve the winger outside him come through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,975 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Gavin was being looked at as a 12 but he's been exceptional at 13 and I don't see him ever moving back permanently. He's a bit like a young version of Henshaw except he's going to play 13 as his primary position.

Osbourne is being treated like many talented players who came before him, being thrown in everywhere. I don't think he's ever going to have a permanent position in the Irish set up. He's going to end up covering injuries, it's not right and it happens too often to talented players.

As you say, Connacht is stacked with 12s. Cathal Forde is at present the most talented but John Devine will challenge him for the starting spot soon I think. Devine might end up contending for the 12 jersey for Ireland if he continues to improve. He's 22 now, he's Matthews brother.

Matthew is a very talented scrum-half. Needs to improve his passing a bit but he has all those special moves that you rarely see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

The difference in numbers hasn’t changed and we are a well organized national outfit but I think there’s a growing gap in individual quality out wide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

In my defence, you said that Farrell's tenure could not 'gloss over' the RWC result. "Glossing over" means something superficial is masking something much more important and substantial.

I personally don't think back-to-back 6N championships, 18 successive test wins, a prolonged and deserved reign as #1 in the world, a first ever win in NZ and a series win in NZ, a drawn series in South Africa, beating SA at the RWC and a victorious Lions series are gloss at all, I think it's a phenomenal set of achievements that any coach would be immensely proud of.

A better run in the RWC would have been the icing on top of a very successful cake in my opinion, and losing to NZ by a single score in one match is only a part of the overall consideration of whether he's been a success or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭conquestscarer

Devine has shown absolutely to be crowned that. From what Ive seen of him personally aswell, I'd be amazed if he ended up anything more then a decent pro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭big-al

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,232 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

It was by a distance our best ever performance in the World Cup, also. We beat the eventual winner, and lost by an absolute whisker to the runner up.

It was our level of performance in the lead in that made it seem like a bit of a disappointment - I remember once in the 1990s when we beat England on St Patricks Day, there was absolute shock that England could lose to Ireland, the English couldnt believe it. We finished last or second last in the 5 nations for 12 consecutive years from 1988 to 1999. The performance of the national team in the past 25 years should be seen for what it is - a golden era.

Strongly agreed - he's struggled to break into Terenure's AIL side this year, never mind coming anywhere close in the medium term to the Irish 12 jersey.

He's turned 22 and hasn't gotten a minute so far for Connacht - the only other starter from that U20s RWC Final side who hasn't yet made his senior debut for his province is James Nicholson.

Some of the others have Ireland caps (Paddy McCarthy - 4, Gus McCarthy - 7, Sam Prendergast - 13 and Hugh Gavin - 1), and lots of players have substantial minutes at a provincial level (Diarmuid Mangan - 24 games, 1,160 mins, James McNabney - 20 games, 1,325 mins, Ruadhan Quinn - 23 games, 618 mins, Fintan Gunne - 24 games, 621 mins, Andrew Osborne - 17 games, 916 mins and Brian Gleeson - 25 games, 635 mins). There's a strong argument McNabney and Gleeson might well have been internationally capped too but for injuries.

There's a strong argument John Devine's development has been one of the most disappointing of that good U20s team in reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,975 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I disagree about John Devine. The problem in Connacht over the last few years has been a reluctance to give our academy players an opportunity. That's already changed under Lancaster. Devine will get his shot soon and I think he'll at least put himself in position as a contender for the starting 12 jersey.

I am familiar with Farrell's results, as I think every poster here is. The WC hodoo is a real thing in Irish rugby and as some reminded us above breaking through the 1/4 is a high level must have in the IRFU plans, not one to be 'glossed over'. Joe, Farrell and everyone else has failed to achieve it. Lots of posters don't think it's important, fair enough. But I guarantee you that Farrell and his employers think it's important.

Post edited by ersatz on

I hope so - I thought he looked a good player at U20s level, but it's hard to say he's pushed on much since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

He probably emerged at the worst time and worst position of any Connacht player ever, in another era he would have debuted straight out of school. It's a tough one - on the one hand he's too talented for a team of our resources to not utilise, on the other he's not better now than about 4 players ahead of him and perhaps not a bigger long term prospect than Seán Walsh.

Like a lot of talented footballers who lack a bit of athleticism at the top level (Lucas Berti, Ethan McIlroy, Mike Lowry, Rob Lyttle, Chris Cosgrave are a few others off the top of my head), imo he should have been moved to 9 early enough to learn the position.

Someone recently made the point that the savings made on scrapping the 7s program look penny wise and pound foolish when looking at the emergence of Kenny at Leinster. Add him to Keenan, JOB, Beirne, Balocoune, Timmony and Zach Ward and I tend to agree. I don't know how significant Beirne's time in 7s was to his development as a world class player but it probably helped. These are just current players in or around the Irish team and/or making very significant contributions to the provinces. When talking about player paths and how to expand the pool of players, 7s looks like another academy if this list is anything to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭TRC10

I feel like with Lowry. If you’re going to be 5’7 and <80kg and make it at international level in any position other than scrum half, you need to be Shane Williams/Cheslin Kolbe levels of outstanding. And while he’s a very good player, he just isn’t that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭JeanRasczak

Humphreys killed the 7s because it was Nucifora baby

It was another academy, when you look at England, France, SA and the number of academies they have available compared to Ireland, with only 4 its very limited and the 7s gave another option. Its a very short sighted decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

The question arises as to whether all or any of the players you mention would be playing rugby at any pro level if the 7s programme hadn't existed, or whether those players, and their coaches, would have found their way into 15s anyway.

Does playing 7s promote certain skills which are considered premium in the 15s game ?. It has been argued that some 7s players don't transition well to 15s. Would those 7s skills / competencies now wither because we won't support an IRFU 7s programme ?. The IRFU's aim is clear ; the national 15s side generates the cash to pay for everything else. It's unavoidable that the Union must support the national Womens game so that too will grow & can help pay for provincial & club rugby.

The 7s programme is the loser in this scenario. Whether that proves to be more costly than maintaining it is yet to be determined.

It's very hard to say, particularly from the ditch. But wheels and basic skills go a long way in 7s, not necessarily enough in 15s. That said, core skills, versatility and playing for space are crucial in 7s and are highly valuable in 15s. No surprise that those mentioned above have great engines and skills. One thing that a 7s program does is really enhances some of those basics that can be very transferable, and gives guys a high pressure intense tournament schedule thats great for building mental skills.