Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭thamus doku

Is the rugby World Cup the only show in town and the four years between just filler.

I don’t think we can say that for all teams.
    Not for the 6 nations countries where the tournament actually means something, not for Argentina who are fighting to build themselves into a dominant force. Certainly not for Australia who are chasing a return to their good days.

I think it is fair to say O’Sullivan kidney Schmidt and Farrell have all made mistakes at World Cup time. But they also achieved a lot great things and Ireland have been very successful over the last 25 years.

Irish rugby improved even to a new level in the last 5 years but we still have required some imports like Aki, Hansen and park to make the leap and that’s the rub. Rugby Is more popular then it ever was but still it is far behind other sports in popularity with GAA no 1 by a distance in many parts of the country. For Irish rugby to build the depth required to consistently challenge for World Cups the game has to grow more deeply into rural Ireland and that is the challenge the IRFU face, if it goes after the GAA heartlands the GAA will have no problem punching back regards access to Croke park and other facilities.

All in all, when you look at the health of the four provinces and the international team and factor in the low overall playing numbers , the population of the island and the very tight budget required to run rugby teams especially top level academy programmes, we are punching well above our weight.

Ireland’s consistency at the top table was remarkable when you think about it.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,303 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

So your ONLY two suggestions for starting at 12 for Ireland against Australia are Charlie Tector (no need to progress that madness any further) or Cathal forde, a guy who has switched between 12 and 13 for connacht, and who's most recent appearance in front of the Irish coaches was benching for Ireland A against Spain.

Fair to say that your learnings have a long way to go.

And to repeat for emphasis, we hockied Australia. Record points scored and record winning margin.

"Tried and tested" didn't do too bad did they.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Fun fact. France have never won the RWC and have not won a knockout match since the 2011 final.

Is the current French team and coach considered more of a success because a load of retired players and a coach widely regarded as a disaster won two matches, 14 years ago?

You can take RWCs into consideration but dismissing Farrell's many achievements because we lost to NZ by a single score in one match is absolutely bananas.

Actually that "we learned nothing" quote is really sticking in my craw.

Who learned nothing??? Us fan.....

Who has been learning over the last two years?? The Irish coaches.

by having over 80 different players (I haven't counted to be exact, could be more) between the senior squad, the A squad and the emerging squad.

"Us fans" think we are somehow deserving of seeming our fav player or our provisional player start every game, and not just the tier 2's. "Us fans" think we deserve to get to shout for the dropping of a player we don't like, or a player we think isn't doing what they are supposed to do, or somehow god forbid makes a mistake.

At the end of the day whether "us fans" learn nothing or not is completely inconsequential to the running and selection of the Irish test team. Giving out about a team selection because "we learned nothing" shows nothing but a complete lack of comprehension as to the relationship in sports between the fans and the teams.

If a coach decides that player A just doesn't have it at test level, they are under zero obligation to start that player in a test game just to show the fans that the player isn't at that level. But that's what some fans here think should happen. Safe in the complete lack of knowledge as to why the coach doesn't think the player is good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭50HX

Are you happy so to go to RWC 27 with Henshaw,Aki,Stu & Ringrose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Fun fact. The OP didn’t dismiss Farrell’s achievements. In fact, he said he was “very happy with Farrell”.

But at the end of his tenure, Farrell’s RWC record will be a significant part of determining his success or otherwise.

It’s not the be all and end all. But it is important in the context of judging any Irish head coach 1) because of our record there, and 2) because of our comparative success outside of it.

I'm willing to lay good money that those four will not be our first choice four centers for rwc 2027.

Do YOU think they will be?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

You bring up a fair few points here thomas. i dont think world cup is only show in town for pretty much everyone. 6 nations will be core to IRFU plans as its rightfully/wrongly so key to rugbys financial future in Ireland. Hansen isnt same as Aki/Gibson Park. I dont think you can put the 3 in same category. Rugby will never get near GAA in playing numbers/overall reach of active membership but can in casual/tv support etc. Rugby has grown extensively in rural ireland and will do more over next few years as clubs keep expanding and new clubs/schools taking up the sport. GAA wont punch back about access to Croke Park as they dont see a need to stop Leinster from playing occasional game there as Ireland wont be moving games there any time soon and even then Leinster wont play in Croker again when RDS is done up. Same with Munster and PuC. Its a commercial decision and they see benefits of getting rent etc in to grounds otherwise not in use. The overall numbers playing rugby/involved in the sport(coaching/reffing etc) arent that low

I think all four will go...would I be happy about it...not really.

Who are the 4 so to displace them as first choice?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

We went from winning one 6N title in 40 years to winning 3 out of 6 that Joe coached us for. There is no asterisk whatsoever against his name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,541 ✭✭✭✭phog

I think it's brilliant that Ireland can be the No1 rugby team in the world. That's no mean achievement., however, the one time we get to play the rest of world in competitive rugby we fail to get passed the QF Stage and that's heartbreaking, probably more so because we've been rated the No1 team in the world.

No need to displace ringrose from the squad. He'll only be 32 at rwc27.

I can't see aki travelling at all. Robbie is young enough to go if his form continues upwards. Same for big stu.

Osbourne should travel. Frawley should also probably travel. Jude can certainly force his way in there. He's been part of Irish squads from the last two years so he's someone that they are see certainly putting time into. I think one of the two connacht lads had a chance, but if it's too be forde he needs to displace aki for the big games asap.

Dan Kelly had already been looked at in camp and it within his hands to grab the jersey. I feel time will catch up on tom Farrell, who is two years older than ringrose.

As to who the actually starting centers will be in 22 months time, I think it's a fools errand to even try to predict.

Stu & ringrose are certs.

Robbie has a lot of hard miles on the clock on comparison to Stu so age isn't the only factor imo.

Osbourne will go but play where...nobody knows & he's not getting a crack at 12 for various reasons.

My concern is we are 17 games out from RWC & historically the Italy game is only real game in 6n's to tinker with, possibly add Wales into that now.

Guesstimate 8 games to play around with at best is not alot of games to bed in a new partnership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

You can't tinker too much against Italy nowadays. Very good side now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,321 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

I'm not debating the wider point about which is the greater achievement, but winning a RWC QF was an explicit, quantifiable measure of success in the report that came out of our failure at the RWC 2019 RWC.

That was a target, that was a parameter set by the IRFU itself. It's not just a wooly fans' notion.

• Administrators Posts: 56,528 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

the Italy game is the second fixture, and our first home fixture.

We play France away before that. Either we get an unlikely win in Paris, and therefore see a championship/slam as a possibility, or more likely we get beat in Paris and need to get back on track.

No matter which outcome, we’ll be fully loaded against Italy. No way will they tinker with the team.

Any changes will be either injury enforced, or because someone played so badly against France that they get dropped.

The Joe era completely redefined what success meant in Irish rugby and Farrell has continued on in the same vein.

That people can look at Farrell’s record and question it is a testament to how successful he has been, he and Joe have totally changed perspectives and expectations for Irish rugby fans.

Absolutely, with the style of play in 22-23 being the pinnacle for me.

The NZ summer tour was a real highlight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,472 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Two questions around the midfield.

Is Osborne better at 12 or 15?

What's Bundee's contract situation?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭big-al

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭longjohn200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭FtD v2

The emergence of Zach Ward and JJ Kenny really shines a light for me on how utterly stupid a decision it was to get rid of the 7s programme.

It smacked to me of Humphreys trying to put his own stamp on things, and doing away with something that was a big pet project of his predecessor.

It’s highly unlikely guys like Kenny, Ward, Izuchukwu, Andrew Smith etc have pro contracts right now if not for the 7s programme, and in Ward and Kenny we’ve found two prototypical guys who have what we ostensibly lack: size, power and speed.

I wasn’t a huge fan of 7s as a product to watch in and of itself, but believe it was a valuable player production pathway.

The rumoured annual savings from scrapping 7s are €500k, which seems a relatively immaterial saving in the context of the scale of the IRFUs finances. The IRFU keep dropping a million plus every time they can get their hands on a house in Havelock Square (and I get why they’re doing this obviously) but don’t have the money apparently for actual valuable rugby activities.

I don't know because he's never gotten an extended run in a position for club or country due to his versatility.

Ironically its this versatility that sees him in many match day 23's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,622 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Yea, what about it? You're **** on Tector and Forde as though they're both not very good players, and ignoring the fact that the incumbents are dinosaurs, playing like drains for the most part.

Farrell should have been aggressive in blooding lads in the centres. It's an area of particular weakness, and one with a lot of talent coming through. We also need to recognize that our attack has been struggling massively with an over reliance on our wings playmaking and creating line breaks, in no large part due to how abject our centres have been.

Again, Tector has been comfortably performing better than the corpse of Henshaw since last season. He wouldn't be my first call for replacing him, but given the injuries to Osborne etc, he's a solid option. Your opinion of Henshaw "playing well" reflecting games where he offered nothing in attack and wasn't an abject disaster in defense in the way Ringrose and Aki have been of late, is a pretty low bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,622 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

That we can agree on. So why are we wasting caps on lads so clearly on the downward slope of their careers, who are clearly playing poorly, when there are any number of young lady who could be getting games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭OldRio

I'm not debating aims and goals in reports. I'm saying the idea of an asterisk on a coaches record because he didn't win one knockout game is absurd. The coaches cannon of work is far more measurable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,321 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

I don't disagree with that in fairness.

I'd always thought the point of an "asterisk" in that sense was when you did actually win something but there was a reason that it was easier than expected, or there were ameliorating factors. The first time I heard it was being applied to Ulster's 99 Heineken trophy, in that the England teams didn't play that year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭OldRio

The poster I was replying to was stating Farrell will always have an asterisk because he didn't get Ireland past a quarter final. Which says more about the poster than Farrell IMHO.

Tector has barely featured this season. In recent weeks he’s been brutal against Ulster, unused sub against Munster and looked good against an awful Connacht team, even if he was totally gassed by the end.

He has on his bollix been outperforming Henshaw.