Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,416 ✭✭✭ginger22

A lonk but interesting read. The US dairy bubble could burst. https://www.thebullvine.com/news/the-200k-dairy-margin-trap-what-cheap-feed-wont-tell-you-about-2026/?fbclid=IwY2xjawOipfJleHRuA2FlbQIxMQBzcnRjBmFwcF9pZA80MDk5NjI2MjMwODU2MDkAAR5-CLzkRCXx-7oCB09a2uiK44Uy76eiWqM9apb8e8zO6RejnfGB6s_VsJllmQ_aem_2m9Dm2KOjEQwq9c-GE1iSg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭green daries

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/124050989#Comment_124050989

Jesus 2009😭🌨🌨❄️🥶🧊☃️im getting the shakes thinking about 09 that was a seriously rough year 😳 yes a good weather year would be essential

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,330 ✭✭✭straight

1000013286.jpg

A lad on Facebook bought this cow in monamore. Fine deep bodied cow that could eat alot of grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

the lad your referring to is trevor Lockhart… he bred Ballyelly Chilli bull that is sold by Munster AI.. i think he said he paid 4k for the cow… great value considering what Kellys cows are making

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Fair play to you for having your house in such good shape. I'm a bit baglffled as to at the "opportunities ruthlessly" bit though. What's the plan, more land ? More cows? Look for distress sales?

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Some gibberish he heard at Dairy Day/positive farmers conference more than likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭green daries

Absolutely I've had some of those gibberish speeches from that dairy day spouted back to me word for word as being personal original thoughts 🙄🤮

Nice cow Trevor is a good operator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭ftm2023

It turns out there was a mix up 😂😂

My friend on here that told me it sold for €960,000 — he was reading an article about a farm the same size in the same village (Croagh) that was sold in 2017 😂

Found out since the farm I was actually enquiring about sold for €31,000/acre. Nothing in it except the bare land. A wreck of a hay shed and a bigger wreck of a house 😂

Hard to explain how it made that money. If someone had a pot of money they wanted to invest, they could buy regular houses or apartments and put it in their will that they want the houses to be sold on their death and land bought with the proceeds, that would circumvent any CAT bill for the inheritors. €2.6m would buy 5 good apartments in South Dublin, in total they’d make €200,000/year in rent. You could hire a property management agency to look after them for you.

The farm made about €2.6m apparently, would take another €1.5m to set up a dairy farm, a herd of cattle, machinery, a regular bungalow to live in… and with the way it’s all going with nitrates — how many cows would a person be allowed milk on an 88 acre block in 10 years. It would take over €4m to live like a pauper potentially.

Best of luck to whoever bought it of course. I imagine they’re going to put all the road frontage to some use or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,416 ✭✭✭ginger22

AFAIK that loop hole of buying land with the inheritance cash is coming to an end. Wont be possible to do it after the event anymore. It is lads with loads of cash they want to pass on to the next generation that are driving land prices. The Adare bypass in that area also adding fuel to the fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

she would want to do 700 kgs me to justify her size

That's the kind of talk you hear alright but maintenance costs are miniscule on a largely grass based diet.

zero point in having a bigger cow if she can’t produce more imo

She would want 2 t along with grazed grass. She wouldn’t maintain herself on any less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Some farmers are 15 years in company setups. If they are hoarding significant cash within a company and are reluctant to invest elsewhere land becomes the only option. Transferring wealth add to this. As well as this stage lads puff out there chest and state "well that what it is making".

IIt's much the same as the crack at some of the dairy sales or the the 5k heifer for suckling. How long bit keep going nobody know.

A few commented about @greenfield21 post about taking opportunities, opportunities will come again how many will be ready for any that arise in 5 or 10 years time regrading land. His is probably tge type of operation I posted about last year with low production costs that I got it in the neck over. I bet he is a nice bit sub 30c/L.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

If anyone wants a heifer that roars like a bull then don't be shy.

Got her scanned and not in calf. But normal inside seemingly. But still very bull like in physique. I was told it could be a cyst that is making her that way. She'll be off with her bags packed now.

20251206_095205.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

no one has a cost of production under 30c. Straw is twice the price it was 5 years ago ffs. Can could be got for under 300€/t 5 years ago. It’ll be 500 next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭jaymla627

What opertiunities, the minute you go renting land/labour/upgrading parlours/sheds extra machinery etc, your unicorn farmer under 30 cent a litres business plan dosent transfer over, our maybe hes going to chain the young lads to the milking parlour and milk a couple of 100 through a 40 year six unit...

I was wondering one day if the positive farmers propaganda roadshow was still happening. Didn't hear about it in a long time.

They only get about a ton here anyway. I don't buy that argument at all. It's like the 500kg cow producing bla bla bla. It never happened. My advisor tells me the average fed now is 1.5 ton and some of the milk delivered is disgracefully low imo.

I heard a man one day saying a kg MS is 5 euro per kg. And it cost 50 cent to support a KG live weight. The two are in no way related. That kiwi crowd selling straws came over here talking all that crap years ago and there are still people striving for it..

Now, that might be all wrong but it's personal choice here to have large strong deep bodied cows.

I'd say if you subtracted my net profit from my gross profit it would be under 30 cent. Must pay tax and capital payments after that. Must add 1k per cow for labour and about 300 euro per acre as a land charge. I'd say 45 cent would be more like it. Racing to the bottom is one thing but when it's farmers talking the price down it's hard to understand.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,663 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I was making my own will this time last year, the solicitor talked to me about that loophole. It’s definitely still there, although it is unfair if we are honest about it 😂 as of now I have 2 daughters so I didn’t avail of it. I felt they’d do better with the houses than a farm 😂😂

It occurred to me also about the Adare bypass money. I looked into it though and it seems the payouts for that were given out long enough ago that if the money wasn’t spent by now that they’d have already had to pay 1/3 CGT on the road money. You only get a small timeframe to spend it, my guess is that it isn’t something that revenue really pursue though.

It's the kerry shares surely... all that money is slipping away every day.

Agree with you 100% that a lot of farmers have no interest in investing in anything besides more land. Back in the early or mid 90’s my own father said to a friend of his that he felt Kerry Co-op shares were a decent investment, the friend was a very established farmer, a great farmer too at that.

Long story short he never bought the shares and he’s still talking about it to this day 😂 the man probably had enough financial firepower at the time to have become the biggest shareholder in the co-op if he had actually gone about buying the shares 😂 he got on great without them anyway to be fair

Personally my own guess is the Kerry shares have very little to do with the price of land in Limerick or anywhere outside North East Kerry… Generally one fella gets the farm, at that he’s very well looked after and most farming families are at the pin of their collar then to try and give the other kids a bit of a deposit for a house

we will have fed 1.5 t here this year but they’ll av nearly 590 kgs of milk solids across peak cow numbers. I wouldn’t like that size of a cow here tbh but that’s just my preference

That's great going. I've dried off the last of mine today and I don't think they will have delivered 500 Kg. I seem to be going backwards since 2021 and 22. I think it's weather and the fact that I'm growing numbers. Alot of heifers and older poor performers hanging around too long.

I think I'm still looking for my cow type here. I'm between two stools of high production and high EBI. Dont like a leggy holstein and don't like a small rat. A square 650Kg large bodied cow I think is my ideal at the moment.

Sure of I was in it for the money I'd be shut down long ago.