Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭jayo44

wait till ye see mctominay goal there now 🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭kerplun k

that’s unreal from ScottyT

Just so happy for the guy. We were in naples few weeks ago for a few days and the amount of pictures and life size cut outs and scarfs of him over there is crazy. Great to see he deserves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Manc-Red_

McTominay with a contender for goal of the year v Denmark tonight for Scotland.

Honestly an overhead of pure perfection

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,293 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

He hasn't been great for the youths anytime I've watched him. The spin is that they're developing his overall all round play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,918 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

i'd hope it isn't spin. that exactly what they need to be doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,701 ✭✭✭✭JRant

I get the feeling Mainoo may have seen more minutes this season if him and his agent hadn't thrown their toys out of the pram a day before deadline day.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,254 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,156 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Hojlund scored a penalty too.

McT has acquired a flowing Italian style hairdo. I assume he spends his downtime sitting in the piazza sipping espresso before heading to training on a Lambretta.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭waywill1966

with the recent speculation on Semenyo, it will be really interesting to see if we make a push for anything in january. Talk he is available for 65m in January, maybe 50m in the summer. Talk we are also looking at Gomes at Wolves.

If we are in with a shout of CL football come January, I have to think Amorim will be pushing for us to be very ambitious. He will only have 12 months on his deal at the end of the season, so imo the reality is that he has to prove himself over the next 7 months or there will be some very difficult quesitons for the club to ask and answer at the end of the season.

If we would look to sign Semenyo on the summer, spending the extra 15million in january (if we can convince him to join) could very plausibly be the nudge we need for CL football and everything tht comes with that - and earn Amorim a new contract.

Gomes I would be less sure on, as I don't know if he is good enough to be first choice going forward and while i could argue for 3 CM signings being needed before next season I would be surprised if we did sign 3 CMs, especially not two better (and a lot more expensive) than Gomes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Is Semenyo worth 65m? His numbers don't look great in terms of goals and assists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

14 goals I think in the calendar year for a wide player for Bournemouth is pretty good going in fairness. As a LWB though I don't know.

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,337 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

You know there is this position we have neglected for over 2 decades called Centre Midfield.

Be nice get few players who can play there. Just saying.

Blown money on everything else.

EVENFLOW

I 100% think we want to and will get in two midfielders before the start of next season. I don't think buying Semenyo should or will impact that plan. Because we also need a LWB/more attacking threats and Semenyo offers all of that.

I don't think we can get any of Anderson, Wharton or Baleba in January (but I do think we should bid for them). The speculation is ideally we want two of that three but I can't imagine that so I do think if we assume one of those as the first choice signing and the other signing we make in CM is a cheaper, better, squad player/rotation then I think we should be looking to buy that player in January. Gomes, for example, linked. I think he would be a better player for us to bring on or bring in than Ugarte, even if he isn't the guy we want to be first choice beside Bruno next season instead of Casemiro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭Caustic

Ya I know nothing about gones tbf but any signing we make that raises the floor of the team is good during a rebuild especially if done for a reasonable price and reasonable wages.

If you look at arsenals rebuild under artetas years there was certainly a mix of players like this in Jesus and zincenhok and probably more used to just elevate the first team but were quickly relegated to squad players after a few years.

I think they blended that level of youth coming through and stepping up (biggest luck factor) lower level signings to raise the floor and big signings to move the team up a level very well. The only thing they don't do well is sell players.

But potentially gomes in January anderson in the summer could in theory be good work especially with casamerio probably moving on in the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Cotts72

I think Semenyo is one of those rare market opportunities that we shouldn't pass up. We do lack wide players since selling moving on 3 wingers in the summer. Not only can he play the WB role on either side but could also be deployed in the 2 no10 spots. He's clearly a player Amorim rates having met him during the summer.

I'm fully in the camp of needing a CM but do believe if there is money there in January United could look at Gomes as the cheaper CM target who would add athleticism to our midfield or someone like Gallagher would be available on loan.

By summer time Bruno and Casemeiro could be on the way out so arguably 3 CMs would be required at that stage which wouldn't rule out going for 2 of baleba/Anderson/Stiller/Wharton. If we make Europe there's plenty of room for rotation with increased fixtures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,269 ✭✭✭paulbok

When do the club need to trigger the +1 year on expiring contracts? Before January?

Mainoo's main contract is up in the summer isn't it? Hasn't been much talk on a new contract lately, not surprising with his initial off the wall wage demands and subsequent lack of playing time.

I would be reluctant to offer Casemiro a new contract, even on vastly reduced wages, despite his great form so far. Normally is missing for large parts of a season and the cynic in me is looking as his current form/availability and the upcoming World Cup and can't help linking the two.

I had believed Bruno was going to leave next summer, but if the club are making top 4/5 and continue showing definite progress, he may want to stay. The allure of eventually lifting a trophy as captain for United may be too strong to resist for him. I do believe the club should cash in in him though if the right offer comes in, but not sure they will.

I can't see Ugarte leaving unless he kicks up a stink about playing time.

The January window is a pickle alright, they need to see if any of Anderson/Baleba/Wharton can be prized away. Unlikely, but declaring an interest early will only help for the summer. If they are looking at Gomes as a third signing (assuming they are looking at 2 from those 3 above) he may be gettable in Jan, but no guarantee either.

Semenyo may well be the 'gettable' Jan signing, despite that position not being the more important.

I wonder if the club may look at a loan signing for midfield in Jan, especially if Mainoo pushes for a loan out? Don't think Gallagher is worth it, too much of a no. 10, of which we are already overstocked.

It can be triggered at any point up to the contract expiring.
    Mainoo's current deal runs to 27, with a +1 so we can extend it to '28.

I certainly wouldn't trigger the extention on Casemiro's deal, but if Mainoo is getting sold and if we do/try to sell Ugarte - i would not be against Casemiro staying on vastly reduced terms - even if we signed Baleba and Wharton for eg, that would still mean we only have those two and Bruno/Casemiro if he stays - plus maybe Kone as a limited minutes player?

Would agree on Gallagher, he's not what we need, even if the loan terms were favourable.

See licha posting training pictures. Hopefully he squad fit now after the break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Hopefully some concrete movement on things sooner rather than later.

reckon the lack of deal with the freight company is a big hold up. Was talk they were looking for 400m+ with United valuing the land at a tenth of that. but a couple of weeks ago there was talk that it was felt a deal was now not too far off on it. Possibly the spectre of the government doing a compulsary purchase softened their stance - along with talk we were looking at alternative stadium designs without the canopy structure, so that the freight land wouldnt be needed for the stadium itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Manc-Red_

Jan-Feb games in the Premier League changed for TV

IMG_4122.jpeg

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

He'll have a tough job in replacing Shaw who to be fair has been quietly playing very well so far this season. Cant rely on Shaw though to stay fit for a season but he deserves his name on the starting 11 as of now.

If i was Heaven I would be looking for a loan being 3rd choice in that position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,248 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

from paul hirst. correct call imo not renewing cas.

still dont think we'll get anderson.

JUST IN: Casemiro is now likely to leave #MUFC.
    Utd see Elliot Anderson as a potential long-term replacement and are closely monitoring his development ahead of a possible summer move.
    The club is not expected to trigger Casemiro’s one-year extension,

#MUFC [
    @hirstclass
    ]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Unequivocally the correct decision. Hopefully he continues his good run of form, we finish in the CL places and have a decent FA Cup run and he can leave with his head held high for the world cup.

Shaw has been very good this year surprised he didn't get a call up to the england squad at any stage to even be looked at, think tunchel has a little hate for united, hasn't looked at Harry either and started the whole shite with mainoo too, also mount could have been looked at possibly but they are fairly stacked where he would play

Delighted tbh. Unfortunate for the players of course but the fewer that get called up for international duty the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,248 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

i had that same thought re tuchel a few days ago. i played rugby in school many years ago and we were told if it was a coin flip, the 6th year player would be given precedence over 4/5th year player.

any 50:50 calls i reckon tuchel looks at the club.

also told delap not to go to utd. but yet calls up players not playing in europe.

Ya I remember when he said about mainoo as well there were a few not getting much minutes either, tunchel seems like a bit of a boards warning