If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Beef price tracker 2

1273274275276277279»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The words are my analysis the actual figures they give is prime kill is back at present by 72k I think that was in there ballpark figures, cull cows are back by 70k they did not expect that they continue

He added that “a range of factors have impacted decision-making by individual farmers at farm-gate level, including record beef prices, soaring replacement costs, favourable grass production and declining feed costs, all of which have contributed to changes in decision-making at farm level”.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Reading what Board Bia is saying there is 80-100k of this years kill gone missing. From the article in the Indo

"Bord Bia now expects the total kill to fall by 180,000-200,000 head, nearly double its original estimate."

As well

When forecasting the Irish cattle kill, Bord Bia takes into consideration “the number of cattle currently on the ground as per the AIMs database, the impact of the live export trade and past farmer behaviour in terms of when cattle will be presented for slaughter”.

Basically there is the bones of100k cattle not slaughtered this year that they woukd have expected to be slaughtered. They expect there to be 50k more prime cattle in the pipeline next year

From the middle of January to the middle of April this year slaughter numbers varied from slaughter numbers varied from 35-39k.

At some stage they will start appearing back.in the system.in serious numbers.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭nearlybreak

there’s a world wide beef shortage Irish factories are starved of cattle at d mo only killing 3/4 days in places let’s be serious here’ supply isn’t going to meet demand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭kk.man

Bass i really don't think that's going to happen. There hasn't been a proper appraisal of what was exported especially over the last two years in prime cattle alone.

I said it before in 1981 almost 320k cattle were exported almost simulor to last year it's took to 1989 for beef prices to collapse. This won't be a quick turnaround. The factories took their eye off the ball and they know it plus beef was more plentiful in the UK in the 80s.

Post edited by kk.man at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭green daries

If you get slightly higher numbers next year its just going to be dairy cows and heifers mostly..... this is going to have an even bigger downward pressure on supplies long term as there will be less beef coming from dairy cows 🐄 power of lads retiring nice and quietly. 30,40, 60,70 cows even a lad of two with 200. .........

Bord Bia according to their recent statement stated said it was the AIM they were doing the calculation off. It's a live system every animal slaughtered, died on a farm, going accross the border to be slaughtered in NI plants or being put on a ferry or ship to be exported is recorded. When I get my herd test done the vet arrives with a list if there is an error, it's usually down to animals that I slaughtered after they did the list, an animal that went to a knackery and that did not do it's AIM update or an incorrect farm to farm transfer. The animals do not dissappear. The government have a better idea where everyone bovine livestock in the country is compared to ehere every citizen is. It took Tusla 4-5 years to assertain that two children were missing, the department will send you a please explain letter if an animal.is missing off your herd test. Lad can game the system by tagging a calf with a dead animals tag or you can declare it missing/stolen but the animal.is recored to you if it was registered first day. As well from what I am hearing exports of plainer calves have virtually ceased since July as these calves are too expensive.

Bord Bia says from the AIM there is 50k more projected and that 70k cows were not slaughtered this year that were expected to be. Are these suckler or dairy cows. If suckler are they retained for breeding along with extra heifers. If dairy cows are they being fed further later than hung as canners or parlour cows.

What caught the processors this year was entering into incorrectly structured contracts this time last year. This lost them control of the market, for an entity that for decades seldom let's this happen what was more surprising was they failed to correct the issue as the year progressed.

However 2024 born cattle will now enter the market from now on. For the last six months we remained aligned or exceeded tge UK base price. That is unusual as the UK is the highest price beef market. We export about 60-70% to the UK at present but the rest goes to lower priced markets therefore we tend to normally be behind it.

TThe Killmis above 30k now, when we had control it was below it and substantially below at times.

Let lads tell me there projected kill rage for the next few months. Personally I think in general we have seen the virtual end of the sub 30k kill. I think kill numbers will climb into the early 30's at least. What effect that will have on the price of beef I do not know

Slava Ukrainii

no one can be confident about the price of beef but one thing is for sure there simply isn’t enough cattle here or anywhere and it ain’t going to change for a very long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭green daries

Fascinating…not .... you were definitely a college lecturer (in some life) a **** one I'd wager but definitely a lecturer. My head hurts trying to read that you may well be right but never trust anything to do with a state body and figures that they have repeatedly gotten wrong already

So what will the kill average for tge next 6.months sub 30k or over 30k

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,280 ✭✭✭✭893bet

I would say average 31-32k till end of January (excluding short Xmas weeks).

Last year the average this time period was prob 39.

Where are all the cattle.

I’d hazard a guess over but that’s not my point the demand is there I’ve heard it off the factories too many times that they had enough of cattle and book in for two/three weeks down the line them days are gone

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I think it's going to be under. Only possibility for it being over is a massive cull of dairy cows. If that happens then there will be less calves born and smaller numbers of finished cattle 2 years down the road. A lot is hinging on two things that are completely out of our control; derogation and the Mercosur deal. Who knows what our European masters are going to decide for us?

Worst case scenario for some of us would be dero gone and S. American beef flooding the market. We'd all be better off setting the place to dairy farmers than squabbling about cattle being too dear. The dogs on the street know why cattle are scarce, processors and supermarkets have been stuffing money in their ar5e pockets for years at our expense. Brussels wants cheap food, but it got to a point where it's so cheap that it's not worth producing anymore. Farmers aren't complete fools altogether.

I don't know where bordbia are going so wrong on their figures. The only thing I can think of is that a lot of beef heifers are gone in calf. Can someone check if heifer slaughter numbers have dropped much this year compared to last year?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,974 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Agree on the second part, just another state body or quango mouthing off, telling us less cattle in the country a month ago, now saying the opposite, similar to teagasc and such promoting topless cubicles but now saying opposite.

Paper never ever refused ink!

If I'd answered a question 2 opposite ways in school I'd have been put standing in the corner. But bord bia can mouth all the shite they want and no repercussions.

Luckily I don't pass remarks on them or any other state body and take the market on a day to day basis with luck and chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭WoozieWu

waffle

only worthwhile comparison is to this time last year

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭WoozieWu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭grass10

The article in Tuesdays paper had an incorrect headline in fact the paper stated a further 50 k drop in kill figures for next year on top of this year's drop so your huge kill for the spring may not happen

Last weeks kill was only approx 31k and factories trying to push lads out till the next week letting on they had plenty, it's now obvious the factories know their is no big numbers coming and they are trying to stretch out supply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭DBK1

I think it was Homer Simpson that once said “you can get statistics to prove anything, 40% of all people know that”.

I know you’re a good man for figures and all Bass but sometimes you have to add a bit of common sense into the equation too. You’re right in what you’re saying about the access Bord Bia have to the AIM system but that can only tell them how many cattle there are and what age they are. After that it’s only guess work based on (I assume) previous years figures.

But this year is an outlier and that’s where the common sense needs to added to the equation. Look around you and at what’s happening on farms around you. Around here every suckler farmer is putting a few more heifers in calf or the cow they were planning on culling they’ve decided to give her one more year and get another calf from her. Bord Bia have no access to that information.

Take the small and medium sized finisher too, that maybe normally kills a load or 2 coming up to Christmas. A lot of them, for tax purposes and other reasons, will be holding onto that load or 2 until January instead. I know in my own circumstances I’ve a shed of 20-22 month old heifers at the minute with the best of them around 550kgs. If I’d put them in a month ago and started feeding them meal they could have been fit to go before Christmas. Instead I left them on grass, they only came in last week and haven’t started getting meal yet so they’ll be killed in the new year instead. Again Bord Bia have no direct line to me to find out when I’ll kill them no more than they have to you or any other farmer. So their info is all only estimates.

I’m on different farms and talking to different farmers every week and there’s plenty of them holding off on stock until the new year on the advice of their accountants. Whether that’s the right or wrong decision is irrelevant but it’s the decision they’ve made and Bord Bia have no access to that info.

Between kill figures and live export figures you’re talking between 2 and 2.5 million cattle a year in Ireland coming from around 100,000 farms. So if every farmer kills one animal less this year than last that’s 100,000 cattle gone from the system this year in the blink of an eye. No organisation, state owned or not, can predict to that type of accuracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

But this year is an outlier and that’s where the common sense needs to added to the equation. Look around you and at what’s happening on farms around you. Around here every suckler farmer is putting a few more heifers in calf or the cow they were planning on culling they’ve decided to give her one more year and get another calf from her. Bord Bia have no access to that information.

Dead right there. I know with my own cows I would normally be culling one or 2 every year if they are empty. Scanned in September and everything is in calf for the first time in a long time. A year with plenty of grass available goes a long way in cow fertility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭50HX

Was talking about friend of mine in Cork today.

Has bullock to go to Kepak...not taking them for at least 2 weeks.

I don't know is that a tactic to flush out more cattle or not...thats always been the game played anyway or maybe they can satisfy contracts in the short term.

Cow price to take a hit nxt week for sure & he suspects a slightly lower pull on store cattle price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,895 ✭✭✭Robson99

Cattle are well back in Marts and falling as well in the Factories. Obivously they have there sheds full and contracts similar. Majority of cattle being killed now are out of sheds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭kk.man

He's probably caught in the 'Bermuda Triangle' of the cartel factories there. A group of farmers should organise lorries to take a couple of hundred cattle out of that corner and then see if he'll have a 3 week wait. Some shower of p#@'*s.