Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Bart97

True, I remember the 2022 NZL tour where we went from being finished as a team after losing test 1 to peaking too soon in the space of 2 weeks…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

If we get the Jack Crowley from the recent Munster leinster game, I would have no fear for the next 2 games.

Best part of the Japan game was the return of peak Doris, he was immense. great to see it.

The Ireland A vs Spain game is available to watch free on RugbyPass tv: it's worth a look.

https://rugbypass.tv/video/881696?t=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Posted this yesterday but here’s some of the players from the SA 23 last night and their ages in 2 years time. No doubt they have some super players coming through (more than us) but this is a lot of generational players to replace.

Kriel 33, Marx 33 , Kolbe 34, De Jager 35, DeAllende 35, PSDT 35, Etzebeth 36, Kolisi 36, Reinach 37

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,168 ✭✭✭✭bilston

I was pretty frustrated watching Ireland yesterday but it's interesting seeing the reaction to England's 38 18 win over Fiji compared to our 41 10 win over Japan. Apparently England's bench "powered" them home in a "hard fought win". BBCs words.

Bear in mind that Fiji beat Japan by just 6 points in September.

Maybe we aren't giving Japan enough credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Paddy_Mag

They are still performing. Same cannot be said for some of the Irish players like Henshaw, and Aki and Lowe look to have regressed a bit.

All our currently used centres are over 30 and Osborne is being stuck at full back. Its a waste of resources.

South Africa have lost as many games as we have in 2025. In fact Australia beat them by 16 points in Ellis Park back in August.

There's been question marks over them a couple of times this year, but they've come good in the end. While I think we've clearly taken a step back since 2023 Iet's see where we are in two weeks after we've played Australia (Italy beat them yesterday) and South Africa. We might surprises ourselves yet. It was admittedly sporadic, but there was some very good rugby yesterday (see Crowley's try).

This was always going to be a tough season for Ireland given the comedown from the Lions and then the fact we are away to both England and France. I think we have to accept that we have to play the long game with Ireland. The good news is that having watched the As yesterday and having seen the early season form of particularly Munster and Ulster there are a number of players on the outside that are ready to step up, it's up to Farrell to be prepared to pick them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭johnh6767

Yes maybe it’s just a feature of a squad which will be perpetually in rotation and susceptible to the loss of generational players like JGP & Beirne alongside a 4 year RWC circuit. The 23 U20 team will start to come through now over the coming 2-3 years with Gus McCarthy, Paddy McCarthy, Sam P, Gleeson, Mangan & Quinn already in contention . Cooney, Gunne en route and could force their way through over next couple of club seasons. Henry McErlean also if he can skip injury but great talent . Tommy O’Brien a great example of talent meets resilience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Eddie O'Sullivan, with the greatest of respect to him, needs to go back to bed.

You mention Henry McErlean. Has he played much for Leinster? I know he made his debut maybe last season.

I've wondered in the past whether Ulster would ever try and sign him, I think he is originally from Cushendall or somewhere like that. He was very impressive at 20s level. That said back three is one area where Ulster are probably on a par with Leinster or at least very close to them.

yes real flair but has been susceptible to repeated injuries unsure if linked or not but highly rated and was one of the stars on a team of stars for the 6N 2023 Grand Slam & World final . He may well move but selfishly as a Leinster fan I hope he stays and hits breakthrough soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Narcis

Well, Spain is only one spot behind Japan but four points away. We have not beaten any team currently above us since 2012. We are not used to a certain tempo and level of contact and that was exposed yesterday by guys who, even if they are not in contention for an Irish cap, are used to playing in URC week in, week out, unlike 2/3 of the Spanish squad.

We are fine playing all teams below us in rankings, we have made an effort to offer central contracts to players who remain in Spain and fitness wise there wasn't a huge drop in the second half. But we now need to offer them exposure to a higher level of rugby and this will only happen with these games (fortunately we have England A and Fiji in the coming weeks, plus probably two games against Georgia in February and March) or a Challenge Cup wild card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,552 ✭✭✭leakyboots

No more than declaring Osbourne an international fullback after one (very promising) performance against South Africa, I don't know is it wise to write off Casey just yet. He's only got 9 starts and is averaging half an hour on the pitch. He had a very poor first half yesterday but a tidier second half.

As for Osbourne, I think he can do a job at 15 in a pinch (no more than Crowley could for e.g.) but not sure back 3 is his calling. A good few posters have all their eggs at 12 for him for the future, I'd argue there are other incumbents at the other provinces that have more experience in that position and are looking promising. I think Leinster need to nail him down to a position otherwise he'll end up like Frawley being a master of none and a bench option rather than a starter. He's 24 next weekend so still time.

Outhalf - Crowley did well, Sam did very well off the bench. Was a nice confidence builder for him, he wasn't really challenged defensively and pulled the strings well against a tired Japan. Still don't want him starting against Australia or SA but if I was to pick one I'd go Australia.

Centres - Farrell performed well I thought, our second highest carrier and passer behind the halfbacks. Three offloads too. Now, it's only Japan and I doubt you'd see those numbers against the ABs but he offered something different to Ringrose. Henshaw did okay too but I feel we need to start looking at other options there (Osbourne/Kelly/Ulster/Connacht options).

Wings - both turned over a lot of ball, both made a lot of ground and breaks. It's great that we've got TOB as an option and he's showing up well, I think we need to move on from James Lowe personally. Looking at other teams our lack of pace in the backline is pretty stark.

15 - can we bring in an actual fullback please and not shoe-horn in non-15s. Lowry gets my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,238 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I was impressed by Spain's attack, they worked space well and played with pace and accuracy. They never quit, that last try was really nice.

I think Osborne suffered a dislocation yesterday. He will probably be unavailable next weekend.

Lowry got subbed early in the game, could be 24th man for next week.

Postlethwaite and Kelly were excellent yesterday, admittedly it was Spain, but thyey were class.

Baloucoune and Bolton were a constant menace on their wings, they have serious gas. Again, they are worth alook compared to the incumbents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Would Osborne get back for the 6N if it’s a dislocated shoulder? Terrible timing for him, not that there’s every a good time for a professional sports person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,238 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

There's a few lads I'd have right into the 23 from the A game. Bryne was excellent, as was Murphy. The back 3 were very sharp, with serious pace. Murray and Soroka went in the forwards. Centres were a strong pairing, Postlewaith created some nice line breaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭VayNiice

Depends on whether his labrum (cartilage rim around the socket) was torn when he dislocated. Rotator cuff muscles could be torn either amongst other things. Could easily be looking at surgery and months of rehab.

I’m not sure there’s a lot to learn from such a one sided game v Spain. 9 tries scored and 4 tries conceded. Same v Portugal which from memory was 80/90 points to zero. Easier to look good at individual level. A year back we played England and were well under par at A level, would have been more beneficial to play them again after the Spanish warm up game. But agree, Harry Byrne was absolutely standout.

And Baloucoune too excellent and a real glimpse of what we need to come through

Wish I could find the piece that mentioned this, so I could credit them, but I was wondering with the team selection and substitution’s is Farrell tinkering with moving Caelan Doris to 7 going forward as a means of getting Jack Conan in at 8?

When you watch the game yesterday it makes sense, Doris played very similar to what you expect you’re 7 to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

Genuine question, we can all see the lineout is banjaxed, our attack is well poor to non existent. What is the chances of AF bringing in or replacing coaches after Nov games?

The attack is at least a work in progress, so it’s unlikely Goodman will change. POC on the other hand has to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

I think our attack game might evolve with Sexton there now, but Goodman , I don't see what leinster or Ireland management seen in him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭JeanRasczak

ROG as well, he talked about him and see him as a top coach and thought he would be snapped up quickly by NZ because Robertson really rates him

Even people now in NZ think Robertson will try to sign him once the current season is over

I seem to remember a lot of comments about how useless Catt at the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I think Harry Byrne may challenge Sam for Leinster starting short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 longjohn200

Also worth noting, Tom Stewart started in the back row for the last URC game against the Lions. I initially believed this was maybe a needs must decision.

He ended up in the back row against Spain at no. 7? (Top down decision?)

Post edited by longjohn200 on

He started and played the entire game at 7 against the Lions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,714 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Calling Crowley's try 'a run in from 5 metres'? Is this just on a casual glance at the game? Crowley manufactured that try and was involved from the start and tracked across the field to finish it.

It absolutely was not a 5 metre run in.

And the Porter try also had huge input from Crowley with long accurate passing Cutting out defenders in multiple involvements prior to the try (the kind of long accurate passing that Sam Prendergast is known for)

Casey was not 'poor'

His passing is more accurate than Gibson Park's, JGP made multiple poor passes last week. His Kicking was good, but his passing was ropey.

Caseywas under pressure because the pack as a whole played very poorly in the first half and we were dropping the ball and losing collisions (like this one where Baird gets bounced)

image.png

In the first half it was so frustrating. Jack and Craig were playing well, creating multiple chances and over and over again, handling errors or getting beaten in the air ended up in turnovers.

Jack played to 51 mins, then Sam came on, at that point, Japan were a spent force, their bench quality was a big step down from their starting 15 and they couldn't continue the intensity they showed for the first half.

Ireland's lineout was a complete mess. I think Beirne was calling it, but it misfired on every level, with the team simply not knowing the calls, or not being able to execute them correctly.

Kelleher got pinged for a double movement on the throw at one point, but that was because he got spooked by the fact that nobody was carrying out the movements he thought he was throwing into.

We improved in the 2nd half when Japan stopped competing, and we threw directly to the front in shortened lineouts.

Against better teams, this won't work.

Ireland made Japan look good on Saturday. But Japan are not a competitive team. That is worrying.

It is not the halfbacks that made them look good. We looked poor in the back 3, not winning the contestable high balls, not being able to complete linebreaks, fumbling passes, and losing footing when there were only one or two defenders to beat.

Australia are in a sorry state having lost to Italy this week, so I expect is to beat them next week, but SA will murder us

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

The issue is any criticism of Goodman has an * over it due to the utter failure of the set piece/ruck work.

For me the first person that needs to go is POC for the above failure, if after that we are having the same conversation in regards to attack then Goodman should follow.

good post, but some posters see what they want to see.

I think Harry is going to supplant sam at leinster this season anyway.

COuld be a good shootout between Jack and Harry.