Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Fair dues to Jamie Redknapp on sky yesterday btw, his assessment was honest and called himself out with the criticism of Caemiro etc. Was decent analysis from him especially him being a liverpool man.

Slot to get slaughtered now in the media youd imagine.

He's lost 4 on the bounce in the PL since 80 odd years for the club, retaining champions from the old coach setup tbf.

Spent an absolute fortune with breaking the record twice on 2 players in works, looks tactically clueless in his system.

Szabozli the best player so far.

Lets see how hard the media go. My guess is not at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,453 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

https://www.instagram.com/reel/DQJcAaWlPMN/?igsh=MXQwZ203aTlweG00Yg==

An Instagram reel of a woman whose dad played at the 1958 Cup final and he used his shirt after for painting in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,371 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Brightons scouting department is second to none. The amount of gems they uncover is crazy. Considering that losing all their best players for vast sums has not negatively affected the club or league position is testament to just how well run a club they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 819 ✭✭✭ngunners

Until now.

Great result and performance yesterday. What a difference a few weeks make.

We are going to seriously miss Mbeumo and Amad when they go to AFCON so need a good run of results between now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The frustrating thing is if we had finally sorted our CM out I think we could push for top 4.

Attacking wise its best I have seen us in quite some time.

My love for Mbeumo is growing by the minute

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Seattle

I would be surprised if we didn't push for top 4 with the current team. 1 game/week whilst all our competitors are in Europe is a huge advantage.

Amorim has put a lot of thought into mitigating the midfield weakness tbf. Last night, Shaw moved into midfield when we were out of possession and Cuhna dropped deeper on the left hand side to cover him. Carrick did a piece covering it on MOTD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,616 ✭✭✭xtal191

He's been great this season, one of our most important players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,224 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Feck, forgot about AFCON.

Bruno back to 10 and rely on Maz, Dalot, Dorgu to cover RWB I guess?

Although I'd actually prefer Mount to cover the 10. If we're finally improving Bruno in midfield I wouldn't want to teach him bad habits again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,406 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Maz will be gone too surely?

At least we wont have to deal with missing Onana now too 🙃

Mbeumo & Amad will be such a loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Have to admit looking at the league table is giving me immense pleasure today #AmorIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dave0301

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,874 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Apparently Ancelotti has regiven him the armband for Brazil aswell.

Amazing turnaround.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Ref was crap yesterday I thought. Lots of decisions went again United but the United third goal should have been disallowed, obvious pull of jersey by Shaw which gave him a decent advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭howdydoo83

Nah the way Taylor reffed it yesterday, that was never a foul. Don't mind it if it's consistent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭scottser

Brighton's owner, Tony Bloom was a professional poker player. He got into sports betting after developing a data set with Jamestown Analytics and their modelling is understood to be streets ahead of most other clubs. They use it to assess potential signings and rarely sign bad players, almost always selling for a profit. Brighton cleared around 75m last season, even after paying back loans. Not too shabby at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭howdydoo83

Sancho subbed on and than subbed back off at Villa today. Can see him playing in Korean or maybe the Saudi league once he's finally gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,490 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Another nice day

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,301 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Could get used to this, again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

I rember Villa fans saying he is a great player just man united treated him so bad…. He is a confirmed rotten egg.

Imagine doing your shopping and the eggs you bought were gone off. You'd be fuming.

Now imagine you bought eggs that you knew were pretty shite and probably off but consistently pay that money every week for them.

🐤🥚🍳=Sancho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭waywill1966

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭GolfPar

Interesting stat. United have conceded 19 goals this season. Only 3 of these goals have been conceded when Casemiro is on the pitch (7 appearances).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,899 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I'm not sure they'll go for a LWB. They have already signed Dorgu who is young, as well as Leon.

(to me, picking Dalot at LWB is a strange selection - he offers virtually nothing going forward)

Midfield is where they really need somebody. Even if Casemiro has good recent form, we still need to be looking for his replacement. Though one could argue that Mainoo or Ugarte haven't gotten a decent run in the team yet under Amorim.

For a lad linked with United for 100 million, Baleba looked very ordinary for Brighton at the weekend

I wonder if we'll go for Baleba in January. His patchy form for Brighton might change their calculations. They may not want to risk him having a poor 2nd half of the season and have his value shrink. This is maybe one of the reasons why he's not playing well (even if it's subconscious). He's on a long contract with fairly low wages, so if he keeps playing to his max and refuses to kick up a fuss, then he's strengthening Brighton's position to hold other clubs over a barrel for him. From his pov, this would make it more difficult to leave. And if he did get a move, the buying club would be squeezed to the max for a transfer fee which may have a knock on effect on his wage offering from the buying club (clubs always look at the overall financial package of what a player costs, so upward pressure on the transfer fee will commonly see a downward pressure on the contract offer).

It's not massively surprising that his form has dipped, he's in a complicated situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Was Baleba that good last season? Genuine question, I didn’t see that much of him and when I did he hasn’t looked like a one hundred million plus player at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Have to say, Jay Bothroyd is very good on ref watch. I find myself agreeing with him on every decision. He did say Amad should have had a definite penalty though 😀

He doesn’t let Dermot Gallagher off the hook too easily either.

He has a lot of very desirable attributes for a midfielder. He can cover a lot of ground, good in duels, good ball progression, good carrying etc. His attributes are perfect for the 6 role in Amorim's system because you're far less likely to get overrun with a 2 man midfield with him in it. So yeah he's a bit of a unicorn in that he ticks so many boxes.

Baleba's poor form might make him more affordable and Brighton more likely to want rid, but it's also a concern to have a player whose form goes out the window when his head is turned.

If he comes to us, will he cope with the pressure if he doesn't have a strong mentality? Or if he does do well, will he then fall apart the first time Real come sniffing?

Gallagher is the smarmiest, most unlikeable person involved in footy broadcasting. And I include Richard Keys in that.

A face you'd never tire of slapping too.