Irish Dad bods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

It's an example. I could have said "shop for milk". Just back from a walk. Beautiful day. Only dog walkers out walking. Everyone else in the cars 😁 maybe they are driving to the gym. 😁 Anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Yeah there does seem to be a lot more people out jogging and cycling these days. Park runs and gyms are ubiquitous and people are generally drinking less compared to the good auld Celtic tiger era.

You would imagine there would less obesity now but you might have a point about the urban rural divide. I spend most of my time in the town so I tend to see a lot of people out exercising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I’m just curious to know how the OP can look at a tubby bloke in a pair of swim shorts and know what he does for a living

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,857 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I actually read an article from a disgruntled publican saying young people are more interested in gyms and barbers now😀😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Alias G

I manage the weekly shopping for 4 in bike panniers. It really isn't that difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Dynomutt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

OP could you tell us what height and weight you are, and is it safe for you to go outdoors on a windy day with the risk of being blown away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

One thing I do notice among many Irish middle aged men who don’t work out is how skinny their legs are. Poorly fitting jeans certainly don’t help them because the jeans also emphasise their complete lack of an arse. GAA players are usually the complete opposite though, the majority having great muscular legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,465 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Yeah? In one go or several trips? Fair play. I don't. I do one big shop a week. Even trying to calculate how long until the next big shop so the milk wont run out until the next big shop.

The shop comment was to do with time and time to exercise and eat healthily. I don't harshly judge parents who share the role and put on weight during the early years. Its an extra, hard job with reduced sleep. Go easy on the blokes with bellies in Centre Parc. I'd say it's similar for women. Time is the issue for lots of those parents.

Maybe some things free up time like having cleaners or having involved grandparents. As someone with neither of those things, I can attest that time to do healthy behaviours or be vain is a scarce commodity. Because any time you take for yourself is time then other parent has to pick up the slack on their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,182 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The amount of people drinking those 1/2 litre cans of energy drinks can't be good. Can't understand why they need so much energy.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭peter4918

They were all middle-class, middle-aged men with decent jobs and young families apparently. 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I think its more so that they drink them to feel less tired rather than have more energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,115 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Car dependency is a disaster (I love cars, I have three). Certain lifestyles further compound it, driving everywhere and driving the kids everywhere is a recipe for weight issues. Kids should be cycling, walking, skating to school. If the schools to far they should be walking to public transport and they should be walking around to each others houses to socialise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,225 ✭✭✭jackboy

Weight issues are 90% down to bad diet. Exercise is a minor factor. Walking or cycling to school would make minimal difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,115 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

While diet is incredibly important daily active travel adds up too, for children especially, regular walking or cycling builds lifelong habits, supports healthy weight, improves cardiovascular health, strengthens bones, builds muscle and reduces risks of obesity. It's my experience that active people tend to eat more healthily anyway and are certainly in better shape. I find car dependent people more likely to binge in fast food outlets.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,998 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Like nearly everything, the causes of obesity are multifactorial. Yes diet is the main contributor; sedentary lifestyles, perhaps less so, but not insignificant.

Time, or the lack of it, and the pressures of modern life seem, to me, to be huge drivers of all of these other factors too. People are too busy working to cook a home cooked meal; while these skills are being lost, the obesogenic environment can be seen in the supermarkets and the widespread presence of takeout junk foods.

You really have to push against these drivers to eat and live healthily, and that takes awareness and effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

This is total b0llocks.

Energy (calories) spent in exercise is in direct relation to energy consumed. Do more consuming and less exercise = gain weight.

If someone has a healthy diet it takes very little exercise to be a healty weight. If someone has a bad diet it takes vast exercise to be a healthy weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Yes, although if someone starts to do a bit of exercise, does their diet not usually improve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,970 ✭✭✭BrianD3

It takes a fair amount of running to use up the calories from one biscuit - but its an error to infer from that that maintaining a healthy weight is 90% diet. It's much more complex than that. For instance, heavy weight training burns feck all calories but has metabolic and digestive benefits that persist long after the training session has ended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,465 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

As You can see from the last half dozen posts, health advice, given with total certainty, by people with no qualifications, makes decisions about health very difficult for people.

The health advice industry is huge and as a result, clear evidence backed info on health is hard to find unless you really go looking for it.

Everyone is invited to be a health bro, offering advice fresh from the university of 'Trust Me Bro' and it doesn't actually help.

It is 90% down to diet. Not understanding this leads to loads of people failing. Some amount of people do loads of walking and still pile on the pounds due to the 'reward' they deserve after their walk.

What you say about the biscuit is true. Problem is a large proportion of the Irish population will demolish a pack of biscuits and more junk every day.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,998 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Yeah, it does depend on the type of exercise. You will never jog your excess calories off. But you can reduce weight from dietary changes alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,786 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I exercise 4 or 5 days a week, try to eat healthy but its just impossible to get a flat belly.

The fat just wont go from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Odelay

Not sure why women are getting a free pass for "To be clear, this isn’t about women I completely understand the physical realities of pregnancy, hormones, and menopause.".

Women don't work as many hours as men. They have the free time to be going on walks, gym, coffee mornings etc.. Men also have their own version of hormones and menopause. Its easy to be pointing a finger at men, but many have to work fulltime, and then come to a housewife to be expected to "half" the house work. Don't often see the mother doing "half" the earning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Throw up a pic of your magnificence? I need to see were we are starting from

True. That's where the fat receptors are for men. The belly is the last place for fat to leave, but it's the visceral fat around the internal organs is the dangerous one. A bit of fat pad on the belly will do you no harm; it's just aesthetics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭NRH

So many lads (and ladies) controlled their weight through sports. They were eating enough for their outlay.

Middle-age, injuries, and kids arrive around the same time. No longer training as much so now overeating

Looking around the pool lately I can pick these people out immediately. They'll have a paunch or a trunk but still have rippling shoulders or thighs.

That's a real "dad bod". You can easily pick out people whove never seen a gym.

Regardless the rise of GLP1 blocking medication shows that our "understanding" of food is only really unfolding. You see so many people in gyms and pools, on trails, and paths but never lose the weight. They are putting in the effort but their own defective inhibition feedback loops betray them.

The prevailing social attitude, around food, is that people should just "stop". It's becoming more evident that's just like telling depressed people to just "cheer up".

I know loads of people who wouldn't know a dumbbell if hit by one but are perfect BMI and eat all they want. The difference is that they only eat when needed and the inhibition loop stops them when satiated

Post edited by NRH on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭rje66

When I look at old group pictures from the 50s and 60s there are no marginally or near obese people. Is diet and exercise(work) the reason?

You can't out run a bad diet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Diet 100% but its more complicated than you think! Processed foods are literally destroying testosterone levels in men!

Testosterone levels are dropping every decade that's whats really happening we are being culled by our diets and the shite that's allowed to be sold as food!