Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,238 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I would argue TOB is the non French best winger in the 6Ns countries. A fact which will be glaringly obvious if he stays healthy and finally gets a run of games in blue and green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,342 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

The point I've made is that just looking at the number of new caps doesn't tell us very much without looking into their subsequent minutes and caps beyond that. You suggested that:

Data again doesn't really support [that Farrell has gotten more conservative as his tenure went on] by comparison to other teams.

because the number of of new caps since RWC 2023 was broadly similar. I've looked into it furthe , and here is a comparison between number of new caps, and their total subsequent caps and minutes since RWC 2023. Here's what that data shows, and posting this without comment - yet.

Post-RWC

New Caps

Total Caps

Minutes

Difference

Ireland

SA

NZ

France

Wales

Scotland

England

Australia

Genuinely interested to see what the response to this will be on here….

@realhorrorshow and @Yeah_Right I suspect you might be interested in this also.

Post edited by aloooof on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Think the poster meant if TOB takes the right wing, Hansen or someone else thast would have been a winger otherwise could be tried at fullback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

The massive difference is in the number of Total Caps. Ireland introduce New Caps roughly in line with other nations, but we play our second choices a lot less, seemingly. I wonder if that contributes to supporters' idea of Farrell being Conservative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭FtD v2

The Molecast podcast this week mentions they think you could argue the RWC27 window really from this November onwards, now that the Lions tour distraction is done and dusted.

If you look at the 2023 RWC squad, the guys who definitely won't make the next one are:

• Dave Kilcoyne - retired
    • Peter O'Mahony - retired
    • Conor Murray - retired
    • Jonathan Sexton - retired
    • Keith Earls - retired

Guys who technically could but most likely won't make it would be:

• Rob Herring - 3rd choice now at best, 37 y/o at start of next RWC
    • Bundee Aki - 37 y/o at next RWC
    • Ross Byrne - playing overseas, not highly rated
    • Iain Henderson - 35 y/o at next RWC, out of favour

And then guys who there are question marks over would be:

• Tadhg Beirne - still an elite player, but will be 35 y/o by then
    • Josh van der Flier - 34 y/o at next RWC
    • Jack Conan - 35 y/o at next RWC
    • Finlay Bealham - 35 y/o at next RWC
    • Tadhg Furlong - 34 y/o at next RWC (with a lot of injury history in recent years)
    • Robbie Henshaw - 34 y/o at next RWC, form has been trending downward
    • Stuart McCloskey - 35 y/o at next RWC
    • James Lowe - 35 y/o at next RWC

So there is potentially huge scope for turnover, and a lot of leadership gone out the door (especially Sexton, Murray & O'Mahony) and a lot potentially going to (Beirne, Conan, Furlong, Aki, Herring, Henshaw, Lowe etc).

I think we'll definitely see some evolution in selection over the course of the November series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,238 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Back row is the most concerning area imo. We don't have anyone close to VdF's quality pushing through at the moment. Hopefully Doris can stay healthy, but he's had unfortunate luck in that regard, especially be concerned with concussions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,539 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Doris has a pretty good injury record really. Before his injury in the Northampton game he had played 44 out of the 45 tests for Ireland in between the 2021 and 2025 Lions tours.

Says a lot about how good his availability has been.

I think you thought this was some great gotcha or something, but you seem to have overlooked something fairly fundamental when pulling this data together: Ireland played less games, in some cases materially less games, than almost all of the teams in your table above.

Over that time period - Ireland have only played 18 games. The country with the biggest delta to Ireland in caps and minutes - Australia - played 23 games over the same time period.

Ironically - South Africa, where the delta is only 706 minutes, played 22 games over the period, and New Zealand also played 23 games over that same time period. Scotland and England played 20 games over the same period, and France and Wales played 19 and 18 respectively.

Then, there are some other pretty obvious considerations in the mix here. Wales are an utter rabble who've won 1 game in the past two years - and have chopped and changed coaches. Hardly shocking they're throwing out the caps.

Australia - who were hammered 40-6 by Wales in 2023 and also lost to Fiji in that RWC, have also changed coaches, so not shocking to see some new blood there.

France have gone on tour for two summers consecutively without any of their first choice squad.

Given you can have a swing of 1,200 minutes for one extra game of rugby, I would suggest your data above is essentially meaningless.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,285 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

fair point, and theres truth in that, but remember… South Africa have played 4 more test games than ireland in that period, and both New Zealand and Australia have played 5 more test games.

It only needs those 15 NZ players to play in 3 of those 5 extra games to be on a par with Ireland, which id suggest is quite likely.

It also shows that Rassie is by and far the most conservative coach, but he doesnt care as he has 2 RWCs and 3 RC's in his bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,529 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Wowsers! I really like TOB and all myself. That is extremely high praise. Fair play I love a good strong opinion!

Farrell just needs to start him now!!

Waboso looks like a special talent and I really like Freeman. As much as i want to smack his face I have to admit that nfl wannabe is talented. Dougie vdM isnt bad either.

And yet, if you normalise it to calculate the minutes per game for new caps, Ireland are still rooted bottom of the table. Average it out over the 18 games that Ireland played and you still get the following:

Post-RWC

Mins

Difference

Ireland

SA

NZ

France

Wales

Scotland

England

Australia

Why? Because whatever way you slice is, Farrell is more conservative than his peers.

ha, yea I'm pretty high on him. He has an excellent all around game. He's fast, has a good step, can kick and field well, and melts dudes in the tackle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭vetinari

How on earth is anyone trying to argue that Farrell is not a conservative coach??
    Barring his obsession with Prendergast, he only changes players if they get injured.

This is the guy who ended up with Aki and Farrell as his center pairing at the end of the third Lions test.
    That should tell you a lot about his desire for experimenting.

South Africa meanwhile start three different outhalves in meaningful games! I couldn't imagine Farrell doing anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

No worries - I don't really have a stake in the wider argument, in that I want to neither fanboy nor sh**e all over Farrell - it was just the biggest discrepancy I could see. And that it's worth remembering conservatism doesn't just mean not giving out caps to brand new players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭vetinari

Leinster reached a European final with Ross Byrne at outhalf. It's a bit bizarre to say Prendergast is an integral part of the Leinster team. I don't think he's been terrible or anything like that but he hasn't been amazing either.

He had ultimately a pretty average season last year if judged as an established player.
    Harry Byrne / Ross Byrne / Ciaran Frawley would get that Leinster team to at least a European semi final and URC semi final.
    Prendergast did badly in the European semi final and well in the URL semi final and final.
    Hard to say they wouldn't have still won the URC without him though.

In terms of picking him for the Autumn Internationals (which I expect Farrell to do), it's entirely based on this "ceiling". It's not based on what he's done up to now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,051 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

When was the last time Ireland had a coach that wasn't accused on here of being conservative?

I think it's worth pointing out I defended Farrell against this charge in 2023 (particularly in comparison to Wales).

I've laid out the data for why my opinion has changed since then. I think that's all pretty reasonable.

But even normalising it for the number of games, Syd, Ireland are still bottom.

My perception was that Farrell became more conservative. I think this reasonably bears that out.

Now, there may reasons, why's and wherefore's for that. But that doesn't mean he isn't conservative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,297 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Maybe, but maybe there are a lot of other factors to consider. One of those things where you can see whatever you want to see, I suppose.

France have way more total caps than us, double in fact. Is that because they're less conservative, or because they went on their last two summer tours (six tests total) without any of their star players because of their agreement with the Top 14? How many of those caps went to genuine prospects and how many went to warm bodies with French passports? They called up 35-year old Rabah Slimani for the tour to NZ like.

Wales have more total caps than us too. Is that because they're less conservative, or because they held on way too long to the previous cohort of aging legends and then left themselves a mammoth rebuilding task since the RWC?

Australia and NZ always have a big turnover post-RWC as their players take off for pastures richer.

yeah, i certainly am not going to argue against the statement that Farrell has become more conservative.

I suppose you could look at the fact that 2025 was basically a write off becuase of the lions, so his selections in 2024, while being 'conservative' returned him a 6 nations championship, so maybe a more pertinent argument is "is being conservative actually a bad thing?" considering SA are also very conservative even given their vast resources, and they have the silverware to back it up.

Ive said very early in this that comparisons to england and france are a complete waste of time becuase we do not have anything near theire resources. We have to plow out own furrow here.

Which is all completely reasonable, syd; I've provided the full data for the sake of completeness.

And fwiw, I've always said I absolutely understand conservative selection during the 6N's. I'm more critical of him during the AI's, and I strongly feel last year was a missed opportunity in that regard.

I guess my point is, don't see how even the most ardent Farrell fan can contend Farrell hasn't gotten more conservative; I expected it to look conservative, but the data even surprised me tbh.

I think we're in real need of seeing some freshness during these upcoming AI's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭daithi7

Ah here, in response to:

A better comparison might be the strike rates of Ireland in the 2024 6 Nations with Crowley vs Ireland in the 2025 6 Nations with Prendergast, with broadly the same team around them.

You wrote:

It doesn't tell a whole lot - we scored 19 tries in 2024, 17 tries in 2025 (11 tries with Prendergast on the field). 

But it does actually tell you we scored 2/19ths less tries with Prendergast as the starting 10, I.e. Ireland scored more than 10% more tries in 2024 with Crowley as the starting 10, with the ~same Irish team.

Now let's go to scores against:

In 2025, with SP as the starting 10, Ireland ended the 6Ns with a points difference of +18.

In 2024, with JC as the starting 10, Ireland ended the 6Ns with a points difference of +85

I don't have the time or patience to look up tries conceded tbh, but if the 2 less tries Ireland scored over the 2025 6ns accounted for say ~13 points say, you can easily deduce Ireland conceded about 54 more points extra over that 6Ns with Prendergast as the starting 10. This probably equates to about 6-7 more tries conceded over the 2025 6Ns. Regardless it's over 10 points extra per game conceded in 2025!!

Ireland also only ended 3rd overall behind both France & England in the 2025 6Ns, when they also had the considerable advantage of facing them at home in Dublin in 2025.

So, in summary, when Sam Prendergast was the starting 10 for Ireland in the 2025 6Ns, Ireland scored 12% less tries overall , and also conceded over an extra 10 points per game on top of this, versus when Jack Crowley was the starting 10 the year previously!!

No bloody wonder Ireland won the championship with JC at outhalf in 2024, & only came 3rd with SP at outhalf in 2025 so, hey!?

Post edited by daithi7 on

In terms of picking him for the Autumn Internationals (which I expect Farrell to do), it's entirely based on this "ceiling". 

When you make statements like this, please feel free to add "in my opinion" to the end of it, because that's all it is after all.

Leinster reached a European final with Ross Byrne at outhalf.

The same Ross Byrne they judged to be not good enough and just let walk out the door?

He had ultimately a pretty average season last year if judged as an established player.

Harry Byrne / Ross Byrne / Ciaran Frawley would get that Leinster team to at least a European semi final and URC semi final.

Sam got them to a European semi and won a URC. Even the European semi we lost - Leinster scored 34 points (5 tries) and lost that game to a couple of stupid systemic defensive collapses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭50HX

Thats what i was saying.

We never before had the option of moving Hansen as we only ever had 2 wingers iykwim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,529 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Not entirely popular, but I was delighted vdF wasnt selected for the Tests in the summer.

What both vdF and Beirne do over 80mins is irreplaceable for Ireland.

I agree nobody comes close to replacing vdF.

Beirne another irreplaceable.

What they both do (consistently) over 80mins (amazingly) cannot be replicated by any Irish player.

Cant see either of them keeping their current levels through to another WC based on their age and mileage.

Nobody even in the provincial pipeline of their calibre.

I think we're in real need of seeing some freshness during these upcoming AI's.

and i think we naturaly will.

POM, Murray and Healy need replacing. Casey obviously replaces murray, and probaly already had, which opens a slot for a new 9 in the training squad (probably Ben Murphy over Doak). That 3rd choice 9 should get game time against japan, and possible New Zealand depending on Caseys return.

POM will be replaced by one of Baird, Ahern or Prendergast (likely Baird). So while not a new face in the squad one of Ahern or Prendergast will get more squad time.

Healy had to play on for so long becaus ethere wa no natural replacement. Now we have Jack Boyle the most likely, who should get signifcant minutes along with Milne geting plenty of minutes as well.

now i know in the above i have not mentioned any "new cap" but plenty of those lads have low single figures. If i was to pick a player who i think might get capped in the Nov internationals its probably someone like Cooney (though Gavin might get those minutes). They might get a look at Postlethwaite at 12, and personally id like to see one of Bolton / Kilgallen / Ward also get onto a field at some stage.

i also think the team that faces SA on 22nd might look quite different from that which face NZ in chicago.

This is basic maths - but you're critiquing Prendergast for tries conceded here when he wasn't even on the field - i.e. two tries after he'd come off against England and 2 tries conceded before he even came on the field against Italy.

The comparison in the periods where they're actually playing:

2024: we conceded 7 tries (60 points) with Crowley on the field.

2025: we conceded 10 tries (88 points) with Prendergast on the field (worth noting Jack Crowley was on the field alongside Sam when we conceded 3 tries - 27 points (late try v Scotland and 2 converted tries and 2 pens v France).

This also, of course, does not take into account that in 2025 we had a relatively poor showing against Wales - where we played with 14 men for 50 mins, and against France where we also had 2 yellow cards and shipped a lot of points.

In 2024 - France got the early red card and we put a big score on them.

That's really the difference in the points difference YoY.

I think the focus on new caps misses the more relevant aspect to this subject. Namely his persistence with players who are on the downward arc of their careers.

Post WC, there were a host of guys who should've been moved on from, that continued to get picked. It's the defining, and inevitable feature of Irish coaches seemingly. I will be pleasantly surprised if Farrell actually moves on from guys like Aki and Henshaw this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭ersatz

The indo lads (granted) made a good point that both SP and Crowley are the weakest player on the team when playing for Ireland, not a situation we've found ourselves in for decades. Neither were deemed good enough to get past Fin Smith for the Lions eventhough Farrell was coach. Ceilings or whatever, neither are winning a World Cup.