Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,470 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Yeah good problem to have. Ringrose is only 30 and will be 33 at the world cup. So he's probably good to go. Without injuries I'd imagine Osborne and Gavin will have to share time at 12 rather than 13 and I'd imagine Osborne will get most of that time.

I hope they move on from Aki but I presume they'll start him against NZ next month and take it from there. If I had to bet I'd say Osborne will start ahead of Aki in the 6N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭FtD v2

It's not aimed specifically at you exclusively, and while you may not have, there have been plenty of posts over the past few days essentially implying Crowley is a better attacker than Prendergast.

My point is - it's not as important, because while Crowley might be a better carrier than Prendergast, I think Prendergast steers an attack better. On balance - the overall attack is more potent IMO with Prendergast at 10 than with Crowley, and I'd wager that is a view that is shared by the Irish coaching ticket too.

Yet by your above logic, we should be crediting Crowley because Ireland had a better try-scoring rate in his time on the pitch than Prendergast.

This is particularly trite - this was in response to a specific comment that Crowley "turned the game on its head" against England, when there was actually nothing to support that.

The stats I'm providing are over the course of an entire season. It's a much deeper sample set for comparison purposes.

I actually think longer term I'd reverse those two - don't think Osborne has the out and out pace for thirteen or the breaking ability and his offloading ability and kicking ability can be better utilised at 12, whereas I think Gavin's opportunity at Connacht will come at 13 and he should have all the traits to be a good option at 13, he has plenty of pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,532 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Yes definitely with ball in hand. Osborne is not great defensively in the outside channel.

Himself and Henshaw dovetailed well for Leinster at times. I think that ship should have sailed Internationally for Hewnshaw.

Ringrose is the first name I'd have down in the Irish three-quarter line for Autumn. Hopefully!

Gavin may be primarily used at 13 this season in Connacht. It's very exciting to see how he goes with Lancaster coaching him.

Yes lovely to have the options.

Must admit I am primarily looking towards the WC and who will be the back-up to Ringrose. Gavin may be the best fit. IF it goes well for him this season at 13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,342 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

If it's not aimed at me, that's fine (to be fair it was at the end of a paragraph that start with "@aloooof"), but all I ask is that you don't get ad-hominem. I'm not being any more dishonest than you are in this discussion.

Prendergast might well steer an attack better, but I think 1) on the evidence of this season it's something Crowley is improving at, and 2) it's also worth pointing out that we've completely changed how we attack; he's more suited to the type of attack we're now trying to implement. (And for me, unless Prendergast significantly improves his defence it won't matter; the upsides won't outweigh the downsides).

And fwiw, a bigger sample size doesn't automatically mean the 10 is more directly involved in the tries scored. Add in the disparity in the quality of the teams involved, and I don't think it tells us anything particularly meaningful whatsoever tbh. If, for example, you put Prendergast into the Zebre team, do you suddenly expect them to have the same try-scoring rate as Leinster? Of course not.

A better comparison might be the strike rates of Ireland in the 2024 6 Nations with Crowley vs Ireland in the 2025 6 Nations with Prendergast, with broadly the same team around them. It's a comparatively small sample size but imo tells us more than comparing strike rates of Munster vs Leinster, for the reason I've spelled out above. (I might actually look into that if I get the chance).

Only Qs I have about Gavin is his defence at 13 (As in I dont know enough about him there). I'm not sure if he'll be a natural defender/reader of the opp attack like Ringrose is, and Osborne isnt (that may be too harsh - its just what I've seen so far from Osborne).

I'd like to add something; I will throw my toys out of cot if this NZ player comes in after the Autumn and plays a minute of rugby at the expense of Osborne, Ringrose or TOB.

And TOB to start v NZ.

Couple of open questions with Keenan out and, from there, what to do with Osborne. The straightforward selection could be to put Osborne at 15. But I wonder is there a small chance Hansen could go to 15, putting TOB on the wing, and this then opens you up to put Osborne at 12.

It'd be a lot of changes and shuffling, but that has the look of an exciting backline tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭50HX

Can Faz sticking with Aki/Henshaw/Ringrose for Autumn.

The big question is at 15, Keenan is out so does Hansen go to 15 or shove Osbourne there.

I say this with the caveat that TOB starts...which is a must.

He has to be rewarded for being the best Irish back since the urc quarter finals onwards & the best player on the summer tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,297 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Can Faz sticking with Aki/Henshaw/Ringrose for Autumn.

Agree. Like, Gavin, Forde and Cooney are all great prospects but that's all they are right now. I think moving beyond McCloskey as first replacement and giving one of these lads a go against Japan is a good first step.

I would prefer to see Hansen get a go at FB and try Osborne in the centre. I think getting Hansen and TOB on the pitch at the same gives us the most attacking options, even if Mack might not be the safest pair of hands at the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,539 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

^

I wouldn't be surprised if Hugh Cooney started getting more calls ups to training camps at least. He's already been in one camp and has impressed with Leinster recently as well.

JOB at FB is more straightforward selection to me. (Thats where he's playing)

I can see the logic with Hansen at FB, wanted it at Connacht, to develop an option behind Keenan.

I think it was only at the end of last season Hansen started to play there for Connacht.

Osborne at FB is also something Farrell wants. I can see the logic (left foot, height 'etc') Im not a fan of it at all. The logic falls down when you have your provincial teamate playing the same position. You have to be playing that position regularly for your province to be a long term solution.

Im very intersted to see where Osborne is selected v Sharks. It may well be that Farrell will want him at FB for Leinster/Ireland in the absence of Keenan.

They just better stop picking him in various different positions.

The short-medium-long term gain for Osborne is 12. Primarily because its not Bundee or Henshaw and he'll always be behind his provincial teammates at 13 and 15.

This kind of perfectly encapsulates though the Prendergast-Crowley debate - people seem happy to continue to simply push forward their opinions and perceptions, even when the data says otherwise.

Leinster's attack is considerably more potent with Prendergast at the helm than with any of Leinster's other out halves. The notion you could just plug anyone into that attack (in the most pivotal position) and expect the same or similar level of output to me doesn't stand up to scrutiny.

If, for example, you put Prendergast into the Zebre team, do you suddenly expect them to have the same try-scoring rate as Leinster? Of course not.

I would not expect Zebre to have the same try scoring record as Leinster, but I would expect them to have a better try scoring record than they do with Giacomo da Re at 10 (or than I would with Jack Crowley at 10).

A better comparison might be the strike rates of Ireland in the 2024 6 Nations with Crowley vs Ireland in the 2025 6 Nations with Prendergast, with broadly the same team around them.

It doesn't tell a whole lot - we scored 19 tries in 2024, 17 tries in 2025 (11 tries with Prendergast on the field). Idiosyncratic factors in some games - i.e. in 2024 we scored 4 tries at home to Wales, in 2025 we scored 2 tries away (but had Garry Ringrose red carded after 32 mins etc, in 2024 France got a red card after 30 mins (and had had a yellow prior), in 2025 Ireland got 2 yellows v France.

It does not, IMO, tell you as much as analysing their attacks over the course of an entire domestic season (where they substantially play against the same teams).

Jimmy o brien is only ever a stop gap solution at this stage imo.

He's grand but I'd take either of Osbourne or Hansen over him at full back.

He'll be 29 at the end of the AI's, just into double figures in test caps ( appreciate injuries). At his age he hasn't really stated a viable claim to warrant test starts & only comes into the conversation when injuries arise

He's not in the TOB bracket for me where you'd say if we could only get him fit he'd be a great asset.

I'd be very surprised if we don't see Osborne picked more often at 15 for Leinster till Keenan comes back, not least because there are a slight shortage of wingers IMO. Easier to shuffle JOB to the wing and put Osborne at 15 than pick Andrew Osborne to start on the wing in games.

Similar to you - I don't really like Osborne at 15, I'd love to see him get a sustained run at 12.

Would equally like to see Mack Hansen get some gametime for Connacht at 15, but with Sam Gilbert inbound there (and the potential place kicker), it looks like Mack will stay in the 14 shirt for Connacht longer term.

Tommy O'Brien could shift across to the 11 shirt IMO for Ireland.

EDIT: intended to reply to @Yeah_Right

I think this is a flaw with @FtD v2's analysis tbh; I'd love to see the breakdown of mins vs Tier 1/2 Nations. And also there's no deeper dive into the minutes beyond the initial debut cap, or, say, the reason for any changes e.g. injury vs retirement vs actual rotation.

For example, Rassie played 47 different players in the Rugby Championship. Farrell played 31 in the 6 Nations. Now, the point about playing pool comparison are absolutely valid. But that can be the case AND people can think Farrell is still on the conservative side.

Stats I've posted on here before; in the 19 Tier 1 Tests prior to the 2023 RWC, we had gave ~40 minutes to back-row players outside the 4 incumbent players. Doris played every minute of all 4 AI's last season. VdF started every game. Craig Casey got 22 mins vs Tier 1 opposition.

Age profile is also a consideration; this is a graph I previously posted with regards breakdown of minutes by Age bracket for Ire vs NZ from - I think - last season. The essential difference is that we were putting minutes into guys 34+ that NZ were putting into 24-27.

image.png

I'd love to see a complete deep-dive on it tbh, but the time and effort it'd take (and the audience it'd appeal to) means it's unlikely imo.

Post edited by aloooof on

I see where your coming from, And looking ahead to the Autumn and 6N Im happy enough with TOB at FB as the 'stop gap' because he has continuity* in that position

*Presently!

IF Hansen is going to be moved to FB, I agree thats definitely the better option. I just feel it has to also happen at provincial level. It's asking allot, even for a natural footballer like Hansen, to drop a player in at FB for Ireland and play him in a different position(s) for his province.

Totally agree about TOB. He's a cut above anything else in the country. Searing pace, aggression, fearlessness, nous and tackling ability. Everything this Irsh side has been crying out for. Has to start at 14.

And Ireland cant afford to drop Hansen.

So its settled! Hansen to FB!!

Oh. Totally Forgot about Gilbert. Is he definitely going to be FB?

JOB is underrated at FB. I think its his best position, hence why I also dont want to see Osborne at FB.

But you are probably right, FB is unfortunately where Leinster will put Osborne (and 13, and 11, and 14, and if were lucky 12)

TOB could definitely play 11 for Ireland. Just wouldn't drop Lowe* (*33). Like Hansen, they are both vital to Ireland.

You're still completely missing my point.

Plug Ross Byrne into 10 at Leinster and they are still likely to have a better try-scoring record than Crowley with Munster. It doesn't by de facto mean Ross Byrne is a better attacking 10 than Crowley; he's not.

I would not expect Zebre to have the same try scoring record as Leinster, but I would expect them to have a better try scoring record than they do with Giacomo da Re at 10 (or than I would with Jack Crowley at 10).

Moving the goalposts here. Would you expect Prendergast with Zebre to have a better try-scoring record than Crowley with Munster? That's the same comparison you're actually making here.

You're conflating the performance of the team with the performance of the individual and that is - obviously - massively flawed.

The do indeed play substantially the same teams over the course of the season. They also play with entirely different teams. That - obviously - matters to a huge degree.

You can overlook that if you like and claim "the data says otherwise". But it's not in meaningful data when you're using a completely different teams' performance to compare 2 individuals performances.

I don't have the breakdown of minutes v Tier 1 / 2 nations etc, and the "reason" piece would be relatively subjective.

Of the 49 new caps awarded by Farrell since Jan 2020, 24 (48%) of those players went on to earn 5 caps or higher subsequently, 14 (29%) players earned 10 caps or higher since and 10 players (20%) have earned over 20 caps since.

Only 9 players (18%) earned 1 cap only (3 of those were capped v Portugal, another v Georgia, and some further back).

On a similar analysis of South Africa's new caps over the same time period:

20 players (54%) earned 5 caps or more, 13 (35%) earned 10 caps or more and 6 (15%) earned 20 caps or more. 9 players (24%) of the South Africans earned a solitary cap (2 of them this summer, rest all further back).

To me, this doesn't support a view that Farrell is awarded a glut of token caps with nothing beyond it, and shows a relatively good level of turnover in the squad.

The "over the same period" is problematic in the analysis too tho; generally, coaches will make more changes earlier in their tenure. Rassie, for example, gave 13 new caps in his first test, none of which will be baked into your stats.

To me, it seems like Farrell has gotten increasingly conservative as his tenure has went on. I defended him with regards age profile of the squad in 2023, but I think he's broadly been slow to freshen it up since then, particularly against Tier 1 teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭Mr Tickle

The lions tour came at a bad time on that front. After the World cup disappointment, and with sexton going, we had a new 10 coming in and needed to get some positivity into that squad again. There was good reason not to totally overhaul the squad immediately. I know some people will disagree but I can see the reasoning and apparently so did Farrell. Then there was a tough SA tour so that was never going to be very experimental.

That November was probably an opportunity to experiment. He put a few new faces in against Fiji (and stockdale came back for the first time in a while) and Prendergast got a start (his first?) against Australia. Maybe more could have been done during that time.

But since then Farrell has been away. Realistically the 6N probably wouldn't have been wildly experimental, but it would have been very bold of an interim coach to totally change things up. A summer with more meaningful tests could have been useful though. Even another game against the likes of Fiji or something would have given the coaches something to rate performances against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,297 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

South Africa should not be a good comparator for us at all; they have an endless supply of players that we could only dream of, spread across a huge number of teams. The fact that we're remotely in the same conversation is a good indicator that either Farrell changes things more than his detractors give him credit for, or Rassie is far more conservative and loyal than his supporters think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,239 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

think that's very harsh on JOB, he's a quality player. Watched the QF again recently, being in a mood to hurt myself, and he made an immediate impact when he came on. He's been playing very well at 15 lately, brings a bit more pace and explosiveness there than Osborne.

I think Lowe's days as the automatic starter at 11 are numbered honestly. TOB is head and shoulders the best winger in the country, and Hansen versus Lowe is a pretty tight call.

That's kind of why I chose them - they have a huge amount of pro players globally, and they're the two time reigning world champions. Similar to us, they have not been in a period of transition over the period in question, unlike England or Australia for example.

It must be great to almost never actually bring any analysis to the table but **** on the work that is done consistently.

Is this really a reasonable response, given what I've actually posted on this topic??

Harsh if I was talking about club level but Test matches are good cut above that.

I just feel with TOB (assuming he cuts it...no reason not to) we have an opportunity to introduce better players to the 15 role & that should be looked at as a real possibility.

If it doesn't work out then fine you have a JOB who will slot in & do a job, a bit like Nash will slot in but in all honesty is not a real test level winger & won't displace 3-4 players ahead of him but will be there when called on.

I say all of this as ive a concern re Keenan long term.

Did well on the Lions but has been very stop start since returning from 7's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Endlessly nitpicking high effort posts with actual data, some of which the poster has gathered specifically to address your nitpicking, with "to me, it seems like" is actually hilarious.

The "over the same period" is problematic in the analysis too tho; generally, coaches will make more changes earlier in their tenure.

Until I show data that illustrates the trends have been broadly similar over the past few years and not just the last 5 years.

I think this is a flaw with @FtD v2's analysis tbh; I'd love to see the breakdown of mins vs Tier 1/2 Nations. And also there's no deeper dive into the minutes beyond the initial debut cap, or, say, the reason for any changes e.g. injury vs retirement vs actual rotation.

"Flaw in the analysis" - constantly looking for other perceived ways to cut the data, when as I've said before on other topics, feel free to do so yourself if you want.

As @realhorrorshow says - too often you're presenting something that you perceive to be the case. We all do that. I've attempted to here to actually bring some data to reinforce some of the points I've made, especially to just reinforce constant narratives that Prendergast sits too deep, isn't a running threat, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,356 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Someone mentioned a 46-man squad going into the AI's, I started to name two 23's earlier this week but got distracted.
    So here goes again, below is what I think the selectors have in mind at the moment, I've selected an A team, a B team and then bench 1 and bench 2, and a list of reserves.
    If had to pick our most likely 23 it would comprise the starting 15 of the A team and the bench would be the following from the B team: the front row, Ryan, Conan, half-backs, and Osborne.

A Team:
    Porter, Sheehan, Furlong
    Beirne, J McCarthy,
    Baird, Doris, Van der Flier,
    Gibson-Park, S Prendergast,
    Lowe, Aki, Ringrose, Hansen,
    Keenan.

B Team:
    Boyle, Kelleher, Bealham,
    Ryan, Henderson,
    Izuchuwku, Conan, Timoney,
    Casey, Crowley,
    Stockdale, Henshaw, Osborne, T O'Brien,
    J O'Brien.

Bench 1:
    G McCarthy, Milne, Clarkson, Ahern, Coombes, B Murphy, Frawley, McCloskey.

Bench 2:
    Stewart, P McCarthy, Aungier, D Murray, C Prendergast, Doak, Jack Murphy, Gavin.

Reserves based off Emerging Ireland, 6 Nations and Summer Tours and one or two extra:
    Loosehead Prop: Duggan
    Hooker: Stephen Smyth, D Sheahan
    Tighthead Prop: O'Toole, Wilson, Foxe
    Loosehead Lock: O'Connell
    Tighthead Lock: O’Tighearnaigh, Sheridan
    Blindside Flanker: Deegan, Mangan, Soroka, S Edogbo
    Openside Flanker: Kendellen, Hodnett
    Number Eight: Jansen, Culhane, McNabney
    Scrumhalf: Blade, Gunne, Foley, Coughlan, Devine
    Outhalf: H Byrne
    Left Wing: Bolton, Zac Ward
    Inside Centre: Forde, Postlethwaite, S O'Brien
    Outside Centre: Gavin, Cooney
    Right Wing: Nash, A Osborne
    Fullback: O'Connor

I love Tommy O'Brien as a player, but he's not really a 15. I don't think he's played a top level game of rugby there, and I don't recall him doing so in school either.

He is an elite, blue chip winger prospect IMO. He's the fastest player in the Leinster squad and is a real out and out winger IMO - similar skillset to Calvin Nash, likes taking on players on the outside. He played a good amount of rugby at centre for the Irish U20s, and played a bit at 12 and 13 when he first broke through for Leinster (he's a brilliant tackler), he's been exclusively a winger for the last 4+ seasons really.