If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Hi lads… there is a guy on Facebook making some serious accusations about Jim Gavin.. and he says he has more to come...

Pretty low in my opinion to be making these allegations as if they are true he has broken no law so not sure what individual hopes to achieve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,183 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I don’t know what they are. But I seem to remember there were a number of rumours about Dessie Farrell’s private life a few years ago. Which were wholly untrue.

The fact that any allegations against Gavin come out now, leads me to theories on the motivations, or origins.

But I suppose it will be interesting to see if Gavin gets much vote simply because of his GAA profile. Personally, I don’t like the idea of the “celebrity candidate”.

Although it does amuse me that theoretically Ger Brennan could ring the Áras for any tactical football advice if he wanted to!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭dobman88

I was gonna ask if this was Kieran Kelly before seeing the link to twitter above.

He's a known right wing headbanger who is best ignored by anyone with half a brain. Let him scream and shout into the void on social media where he gets interactions from a vocal minority.

He's a yank pro Trump lunatic claiming to be irish and talks about this country like he lives here, he doesn't.

Jim is going to get a lot of heat now he's in the presidential campaign and this is just one of probably many things that will get thrown at him online.

Aul Kieran and morons like him are best ignored.

And for whatever it might be worth, even as a Kerry man and him breaking my heart several times, I'll be voting for Jim Gavin as I said before (half jokingly) that I think he'd make a great president and now he's actually going for it. Wish him well and hope he gets it.

I think the more important thing would be to change the name of O'Connell Street to "Kevin Heffernan" Street or something like that. Because back when I was in school my Kerry English teacher used to get great joy saying to a classroom full of Dubs "And yer main street is named after a Kerryman". 🤐

I suppose a statue of Gavin instead of O'Connell wouldn't be a bad idea either!

Sunday looks like the day to go to the QF as a neutral.

IMG_2369.jpeg

Should be two close games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Met Jim Gavin at the ploughing today... very nice man... gave my 2 kids plenty of time ofctime and attention.. he was with micheal Martin... they had some serious security around with them must have been 10/12 guys with them.. hard to believe Jim was so successful as a manager... now maybe he does have a ruthless streak... but to me he doesn't appear to be as stubborn as say Brian Cody or Jack o connor who have a fine stubborn/ruthless streak in them...

Top quality game betweenNa Fianna v Ballymun today at Parnell. Hopefully Ger Brennan attended. Usual suspects were good for Ballymun.

For Na Fianna O’Hanlon should get a run in goal for Dublin in my view. Just for being capable of two pointers and frees alone. Got one 2ptr and one 1 point free. Na Fianna 11 down at one stage early second half.

Unfortunately Keelan Sexton who kicked two two pointers wearing 14 for NaF. He is a Clareman!

Grand day in Parnell Park, 2nd game was fantastic as mentioned above. 1st game was a poor quality, defensive affair. I was very surprised at Boden but they can only play what's in front of them and it was obvious CK had come to try and just defend. So even as a neutral I'm glad that "style" of football didn't win. No excuse for it really with the new rules.

2nd game was brilliant entertainment. A real physical battle where the ref just let everything go but somehow didn't lose control of it. I think Ballymun got away with a square ball for their goal but haven't seen a video of it yet to see how close it was. They'll also be kicking themselves for not scoring 1 of 2 glorious chances with time up and also for letting an 11 point lead slip in 20mins.

Great days entertainment for a tenner. Sure where would ya get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Big Jim down in his home from home county canvassing all weekend in west Clare , he is very popular with years down here and will get a big vote

On the opposite, keelan sexton I hear didn't start for na fianna but made a huge impact in there win over Ballyboden , surprised by that given their first round defeat hammering to see them reach a semi final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,216 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

They beat Ballymun. I wasn't at the game myself but I heard it was the best match of the weekend. I'd fancy Cuala to win it outright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Fatnacho

What’s going on with Northside football? Only 1 semi-finalist. Both Castleknock and Clontarf were very poor in the QFs and both Northside teams relegated in the playoffs. Turning into a Southside championship.

The Boden v Castlenock match was an odd one. Castleknock not scoring for the first 10 minutes in the first half. That Castleknock goal then came out of nowhere Followed by a quick point. Which meant that Castleknock were ahead for much of the game. But I always got the feeling that Boden would pull ahead more attacking options than Castleknock.

It did occur to me that if Kilkenny played for Na Fianna they would be lethal altogether, with all that pace around him. Castleknock are a very static team with not much pace in the side, good at defending though.

Yeah, it never felt like Boden would lose to me. CK had one game plan and that was it. Even at the end when they needed a goal, it was just "let's launch a ball in here and see what happens" with no direction or anything. And yeah I agree their goal was completely against the run of play which contributed to a dour affair and them trying to just hold onto the lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭MFPM

Just the 2 All Star nominations, lowest in 20 years apparently. Frankly I'm surprised there was any. Obviously, nether of them will get them but good boost for Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne, Kilkenny had a decent season. Funny Donegal got more nominations than Kerry, they won't be happy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I don't know what the point of the nominations are. Byrne and Kilkenny haven't a chance at getting an All-Star, along with many of the other token nominations. Wouldn't they be better off just naming the 15 on the night out of everyone, and not narrowing it down beforehand. Also, I don't see how Michael Murphy could be considered in the top 3 players for the year., in the player of the year award. Definitely a sentiment token if ever there was one.

Do you mean the Kerry team or the Kerry people won't be happy. Either way, I can assure you they don't give a shíte.

Meaningless is what they are. There's only 1 prize that matters in football

Exactly the only time I cared about all stars was when the Dubs were struggling to win Sam and even Leinster. Looking for any glimmer of hope. I couldn’t honestly tell you how many all stars the successful Dublin Gavin sides won. But I remember Cossie won an all-star!

I disagree that they are meaningless. Mattie Forde was never going to win an All Ireland with Wexford. But I'm sure he is mighty proud of the All Star he received, and the player of the year award.

The winner of the All-Ireland is still limited to 5 or 6 teams. For a player, from one of the counties that have no chance of winning it out, to receive an All-Star is a big thing for them.

Post edited by FullBack Jam on

Both! And I've no doubt there will be many who'll be annoyed about it. You don't think Pat Spillane doesn't care about his 8 all stars?

I don't think they're meaningless but I pay little heed but for players who are not likely to win major competitions it perhaps mean something.

I completely agree re Murphy I just didn't get the hype all year.

I don't care much for Pat if I'm honest. So wouldn't know or care how he views his.

There's absolutely no annoyance. But I suppose you're welcome to your opinion. Donegal can have all the nominations. Kerry have the big one and that's all Kerry people care about.

Also, I've just realised this is the Dublin thread while posting this so I'll stop there on this one.

Ah there's a multitude of interviews, podcasts, articles that will enlighten you on Spillane, surprised you've missed them all.

I take you at your word there's no annoyance on your behalf....

General question - my brother, herself, and his two kids 7 and 9 “across the water”. He asked me “what would be a good time to come over for a GAA match?” The kids were never at a GAA match before.

It wasn’t as simple a question as it sounded as I knew it would have to be in Dublin. Decent weather, atmosphere too, but handy enough for tickets at the same time,

I landed on the idea of intercounty, suggesting the AI football QF’s end of June definitely in CP. Good choice of games.

Is that the optimal suggestion or are there better suggestions, I should consider?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Id say semi final would be ok for tickets.

Does it have to be a Dublin game or any inter county?

If it has to be a Dublin game, I'd do the QF just in case!!

Maybe try a hurling game too.

Quarter final weekend is generally very good. 4 games over two days, if they are into attending a couple of matches.

Good point Semi Finals mid July. If Mayo/Dublin not in SF tickets could be handy enough 60k at Tyrone v Kerry last year.

It doesn’t have to be a Dublin game, just in Dublin would do. I did think Leinster Hurling Final Croke Park. But I remembered atmosphere in that was flat last year.

Initially thought Leinster football championship. But remembered they are moved to provincial grounds until final now, given how successful last year was.

Parnell Park hurling group games in championship. I considered too. But you have to be quick for those given ground size.

It was actually a much harder question to answer than I thought it would be!

That is what I was thinking great value. As long as the kids are of the old enough age to concentrate for that long.

Well final four in the big ball

IMG_2389.jpeg

I checked the weather 20% chance of rain. That is how much of a fair weather fan I am becoming….

Not sure if the matches will be close. My head immediately said Cuala v Na Fianna final.

Also the Mobhi road gang are going to be the most “battle hardened” of the four great test the last day.

I've just seen that the final is fixed for an 8pm throw in. On a Saturday night. What's that nonsense about?

Maybe they think it will attract the younger crowd? Not sure on that logic. Because I was only thinking today at how mixed in ages people were at the matches of the SF.

Wouldn’t see that in other sports. Families, diehard female supporters of different ages. Auld fellas and auld ones. Young fellas. And young kids. Nice vibe at club games.

From the chat I heard the expectation was that the final would be on the bank holiday. Which made sense to me.

Edit- The more obvious reason must be tv scheduling- live on tv ?