If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭older by the day

Don't ever say ever. The Americans can cull or increase numbers very fast, they chase profit. I've seen it before with the milk.

You must examine the factors that has caused these prices. Export of dairy calves, weanlings, blue tongue in Europe, ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭limo_100

if that happens it will finish a lot of people including myself just not worth the hassle. But same as the the rest I do a lot of driving and I don’t see any cattle around the country fields are very empty. Especially continental cattle see a few fields of black cattle more than anything else. And also see a lot of small dairy cross cattle batch in a big field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭High bike

Same as that ,was up around Galway a few weeks ago and couldnt get over how scarse cattle were

I drive from midlands to Dublin daily and round trip to Kildare on top of that and use the m7, m4 and m3 weekly and it’s the same all over. Theres even lots of fields with hay sitting in them from the good weather in June. No pressure on the after grass I’d say. I myself am a little low on stock and have too much grass but don’t want to cut anymore as I have 30% more fodder than I need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Hyland17

I've seen alot of this on my travels aswell. It's a funny time in farming, are people just not bothered with stock and just enough to keep payments going?

Their is alot of people around me just keeping enough to draw down the grants. Alot of sucklers converting to drystock. A man was saying he was going that route too, I said gear up for taking in dairy calves as if all the sucklers go that's all you will be buying. It's the same with sheep. Not many around who want the hardship of calving/lambing down!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Agree what your saying, went up to Kildare yesterday and same thing less cattle and sheep around, young people aren’t going into full time farming due to life changes and can get a good wage to live on simpler than farming. The biggest factor is cattle going out of the country live can’t be replaced by a click of the fingers. Was in France on holidays recently numbers are way back as well and no young people want to enter farming also, friend who had 180 Charolais cows has dropped to 100 and is coming up to retirement and with two daughters in Paris who have no interest, can’t get labour. Same thing as here numbers dropping. Four strip loin steaks 1.6 kg was 56 euros in the super market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

Why would they go into it though. An educated youngster can be on €40-50k straight from college and if they are worth their salt be on €80-100k ten years on. Farming can match that currently but will it last?

I have two friends in the guards that passed out the same day in 2007. Both tell me that with a small bit of overtime they have cleared €100k the last couple of years. Both have had promotions but to expand income farming you must also move things on.

unfortunately this is all true 100k a year now as a salary isn't a Huge salary these days with the costs of living wouldn't but a house in Dublin for it, but at the same time its much easier money than farming I work much harder on the farm than at work and haven't got anything out of it yet and won't this year either will be next year hopefully before I see anything out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I hope youare doing accounts as farm losses are tax deductible

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭yewdairy

Average salary for a full time employees in Ireland in €45-50k

I thinks it about 6% of full time employees earn more than 100k

It is in fact very difficult to earn more than 100k in Ireland and those jobs would be in leadership positions managing people, budgets responsible for targets.

A well run dairy farm in terms of income can match any profession that last few years

yeah I am unfortunately the value of the stock is keeping the farm at a slight profit but there no funds available to remove or as an income but a lot of the money including some of my own has being put in to carry out drainage reseeding, fencing and infastructure so just gonna take time hopefully, My father operated on a policy of sure it will be grand as it is but he now sees the benefits the works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭morphy87

Exactly i was talking to a lady that works in a bank over mortgages and she said there’s very few over €50000, I have no idea if this true but that’s what she said

I'm not disputing any of those facts, but that's why I said educated young person.

A well run dairy farm needs a capable, bright, hard working person at the helm. One with good communication and people skills and needs to manage relationships and meet financial targets. A highly desirable skill set out there in the corporate world also.

It is an easier way of life than trying to make a 100acre farm turn €100k profit, because most of these farms lacking successors are sub 100ac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

The other factor never mentioned is, how farmers may be earning a wage from 16 years of age. A professional may spend 6 years in college, on borrowed money, not earning a salary. Not always the case, but still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

3 to 4% make over 100k, about 70k people out of 2.3 million workers ,it's not common and they tend to be over 50 years.

75% of workers are on less than 50k.

Reading boards and talking in the pub you would think most were on fifty plus z but very far from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭50HX

Are the figures for farming salary being quoted in the last few post not gross figures.

As we all know a gross figure in the agri sector is not comparable to gross in most other sectors

1000019534.jpg

According to the above we are at €1026 per week average for the first quarter of this year. That's €53352 average.

Lads a first cousin of mine is lifting batteries into place in a data centre for the electricians with an electric forklift and getting €30/hr. 39 hr week is €1170. There is money out there.

That doesn't contradict the information I put up which was from Revenue.

There is money out there, right place, right job and work hard but 3/4s still make less than 50k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Beef price may have nearly doubled but average wages have not. I'm hearing about lots of layoffs in those big tech companies so things may not be so rosy. What's worse is a lot of young people can't even get a foot on the ladder at all even after doing 4 years of university, youth unemployment is a real issue for those graduates now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭lmk123

Maybe @older by the day could speak to these young people on good money and tell them the inspirational story about his mechanic and how they’re traitors to the people that went before them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

And that is the average. Dublin and other urban centers are a bit ahead. However there is a lot of earning in a 100k. Generally it's reserved for higher earning individuals at managment, highly technical skilled workers ( example IT) , self employed business people etc.

For every person earning 100k, 4-5 have to earn 40ishK to bring the averages in line. There is also a significant difference between a self employed income of 100k and a PAYE one of 100k. Those two Gardai that you know woukd only average 1200 per week after tax when you deduct there tax, PRSI, USC and ASC. As well they more than likely pay another 5-600 a year of a union contribution out of that. They are nearly 20 years a Garda and as you state both received a promotion. Very hard to gather money in a job such as that and even harder to create wealth. It much easier to get create wealth being self employed or as a farmer. However farmers biggest problem tend to be continually investment in the one asset class

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

Was that when I told ye to stop your whimpering and moaning, when you get a million euro asset, given to you. The animals will eat the grass themselves, all you have to do is grow it.

I'm not forcing anyone to farm. Everyone has a choice,

While I'm here,,,

Have lads got some fantasy now about being in the guards. Road accidents, suicides, drunk feckers, junkies, violent fuuckers, court cases, defendant solicitors, might be all in a week's work. Join up fast. They will take ye up to 55 yrs old

a million euro asset, oh god help you 😂 ya that was the time anyway. I’m actually farming my place and have spent more in the last 12 months that what was spent in the previous 30 years combined to try and get the place some way right so maybe I’m not a complete traitor to my ancestors. Anyway everyone else is wrong and you’re right. Maybe Teasgasc or the Department or whoever else is driving this succession crack because they’re afraid there will be very little farmers in 10-15 years time could use that slogan “All you have to do is grow grass, they’ll eat it”.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Same with any other "good job" - there's an awful lot more to it than just turning up 9-5 and collecting your €80k.

"Hell is other people" as the saying goes. 30 years x 50 weeks x 39 hours is a long time to spend in hell for €80k.

Not every job is like that obviously, but some are. To look only at the salary is to take a very narrow view. I'm talking about myself here now, but you can do those types of jobs easier when you're in your 20s and 30s, but when children arrive and you get into your 40s, you start to look around and think, "Is this it then?"

fair play to you for giving the cows a go, it took some balls. I really hope it works out and you can stay at it, It’s just so bloody expensive to do anything these days. At least you won’t have to wonder “what if”.

"See that, its a chicken, its made out of chicken you can eat it and eggs come out of its arse, minted"..

That great comedy sketch about farming.

it’s class, “you simply cannot loose” 😂

I told you before, for your own good, take a break. No one called you a traitor,

My point was to have gratitude for what you have got.

Ask yourself, who is making me spend all this money and doing all this work.

The place doesn't have to be perfect. I'm farming 30 years on my own and there is a lot left to do.

I would hazard a guess that nobody asks any farmer to spend money or do work on their own farm, farmers will see themselves what is needed both for compliance with the ever changing bulls**t from the Department and also making the workload possible while juggling a job and family. The notion of taking a break doesn’t really work, it’s not like anyone else will pick up the slack, same jobs will need to be done in the future and will probably cost more.

Farming is a bad career for a worrier or a perfectionist.

Sometimes half of it is not necessary. The department and board bia are Sometimes more human, than we give them credit for.