If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,202 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

As bad as it is any fella that kicks 3 two pointers or more in a club match will be under serious consideration, regardless of the level senior 1, senior 2, or intermediate.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Unless whoever it is has unofficially been given the job and just hasn't been made public. If anyone spots Ger Brennan at club matches let us all know😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭mobby

Is this because What Connolly said “doesn’t know if it true Ger 100%” Hopefully Connolly is just stirring and having the craic with the media.
    Seems just Connolly talking - on the one hand we get Connolly backs Brennan

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/15509287/diarmuid-connolly-ger-brennan-dublin-gaa-manager/#:~:text=DIARMUID%20CONNOLLY%20is%20backing%20Ger,as%20Louth%20boss%20last%20week.

On the other Brennan is not nailed on Dublin could go “left field” for the next man.

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1082682043810340&vanity=SportsJOEdotie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭MFPM

Great victory for Dublin 'ladies' very late point to take it to ET, then scored 2 goals. Galway got two very late goals but Dublin prevail. Meath surprisingly beat Kerry in the other semi....Dublin v Meath in 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,639 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Credit to the ref today in the AI final. Fi ally someone put manners of that lot and started calling them on their persistent fouling. Not all that when they can't foul with impunity.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Gael85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,639 ✭✭✭✭JRant

He done Downey for persistent fouling for his first yellow and there were a few others that were lucky not to get one as well but overall he was excellent

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Gael85

Ger Brennan unlikely to take Dublin role due to family commitments. Talk of Declan Darcy as manager with Jayo, Cluxton and Jonny Cooper selectors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭rolling boh

I was thinking if it was Ger that it would have being announced by now ,we don't seem to have many options other than lads who have being a part of the management before so the names mentioned seem about right .

Not much chat about Sunday. Be fantastic if the team could reclaim the AI, a fitting send off for Hannah Tyrell too. I'd make Dublin marginal favourites but I didn't see Meath taking out Kerry so they'll be confident.

From what I remember of the Leinster final. Meath looked like they had it about four up second half. But the Jackies managed to sneak it kept chipping away. I would say Meath were sore about that loss. At least the Meath men losing to Louth on the same day, was a distraction for them! 🤣

I think it should be a good match, both sides well met as you say. Tickets 30euro.

Great start by Dublin 1-2 up, Carla Rowe playing well, Hannah Tyrell doing what she does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,434 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Dublin are rampant so far.

Dublin 2-8 to 2. Dublin all over Meath, they're really struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,502 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Game over ref obviously a Dub too from the Very first attack ignoring Jersey pulls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

o have to agree

I have to agree and I’m a neutral looking for an entertaining match ( now that the Sam McGuire is over in July) . Best team by a long shot won. For Meath every single attack , about 30 odd has resulted in advantage or a free or a wide . Ref was terrible here but had only a minor if no effect on the overall result . Consistent fouling should be punished ,when it’s not reffed properly it means you can’t get in for a goal chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

yeah they usually appoint from participating counties.

Game was over at half time. Great performance by the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Great win and we'll deserved Meath had a lot of possession but we were far more efficient. Meath put in some fairly dirty tackles which the ref did nothing about .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Meath got away with some amount of cynical fouling the 2nd half, as well as some dangerous attempts to tackle. Obviously ref took pity on their performance giving soft frees to try and get them back in game. Great performance by Dublin, the far superior team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭dobman88

Is this one doing the presentation after a few sherries? Sounds píssed and I slurring her words.

Demolition job by Dublin.

That was more late on frustration in fairness. Overall I think a healthy dose of cynical play in the ladies game is no harm. Felt Meath were way too open and naive first half.

Still as a Dub supporter never a bad day when a Meath team is well beat, by more than double scores.
    Glad Nolan got player of the match. There was a great run she made first half. But hit it wide, early on. But about a minute later she was back again. This time over the bar. I thought “fair play to ya” that showed character.

Edit / I hope Hanna Tyrell moves into coaching the Dubs very intelligent movement on the pitch. Plus “never say die attitude”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,502 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Agreed, Pathetic from the referee, see that too often in these games… Ref was very obviously letting a lot slide for Meath, seems to have just been….” They are getting hammered, ahh now be better off letting some things slide, make a game of it. News for ya fella…..That’s not how ‘competitive sport’ works, try telling GAA refs 🙄 frustration more then malicious but refs need to be better.

Great day for Dublin, better team, those goals knocked Meath for 6. Dubs work rate, drive, focus, discipline, skill standards, just a level above, after so many titles the likes of Rowe, Goldrick, Caffrey, Owens all still pure fit, hungry, talented and that desire, the will to win for their teammates fans and county…🏆 and all the new young guns coming into the side compliment them big time. Superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭munster87

Well done Dublin.

The damage was done early.

You could see the effect Tyrrell has on the whole team when they were applauding her off the field.

The turnover on both sides was massive since 2021. I think they said on the radio preview Saturday that there is about 6 starters from that final in 2021, and about 4 for Meath. That seems very unusual in just four years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

I saw a video of them of getting off the bus in Croker and Owens has the legs of an Olympic athlete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,502 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Yep, the focus on both fitness and skill these days is savage …think Dublin teams stole a march on the rest about ten years ago on that front….I sorta know / knew Nicole for a bit, the funny thing, yes she is incredibly fit, but as you’ll have I’m sure noticed too she’s absolutely tiny, one article I’m seeing quotes her as being 5ft tall, 😅. so her speed, skill, finishing and fitness is her weapon… she’s done so well….they all have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Are you sure she's tiny or are you talking about someone else?

Nicole Owens is quite tall. Not sure exactly though but definitely over 5'5"

Dublin have real strength in depth and could go on now and win a few more AIs - they seem a good bit better than the other teams, although there are good experienced players who will probably follow Tyrell out the door. As an aside the ACL injury for female GAA players is unreal - I don't know enough about physio/biology to know why it's so prevalent.