Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Important News!!

• Boards.ie Employee, Boards Employee 2, Boards Employee 3, API Token user Posts: 188 ✭✭✭✭✭Boards.ie: Odhran
    Boards.ie Employee

No - but as with last message I think you will agree it would not be reasonable to discuss any details in a public form.

Data… it depends on the type of and if an exit. I wont get into too much detail right now as for the moment its not a consideration. That fair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

I don't know have we all the facts.

We're relying on your word regarding the details.

A lot of people have a grá for the site, got to know other posters and so on. But that shouldn't be conflated with the owners and managers of the site, we no little about them, or their intentions. Pledging 50 euro blindly might be naieve, we might be better off sending it to aid Gaza and the Ukraine. I don't trust any faceless owners or site managers as far as I could throw them.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,935 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I’m not “banned” but I reckon my next “warning” will be a few weeks or a month- not sure which and at this stage I frankly don’t care -with this ridiculous new graduated penalty regime in place in CA-I’d happily post my bans here to give users a laugh on just how pathetic they were.

Outside of CA though, life is good on the site overall, in terms of the forums I post in- hard working posters in general giving their advice and opinions on specialist topics - very little need for mod intervention.

I’ve already said I won’t be funding boards unless the stupid archaic and frankly childish penalty system in CA is done away with. There are plenty others who are regular posters, who agree. If they don’t want us- fine. If they don’t want our money- fine too. But I’d like to give back- but I won’t with the current ban system in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,835 ✭✭✭con747

Check post #277 he's a long standing member who isn't full of waffle.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

Save Boards.ie from closing down. Buy a subscription to help keep it running here https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Boards.ie Employee, Boards Employee 2, Boards Employee 3, API Token user Posts: 188 ✭✭✭✭✭Boards.ie: Odhran
    Boards.ie Employee

Agree. We went against plan and started customising the site to make it as close to Boards of old. That came with tax and a lot of pain. We are hoping to resolve the jumping around etc in a matter of weeks. Sorry its taken so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭antimatterx

Boards.ie Employee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

In fairness, if you had not done so then the site would have died in weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,845 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,778 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

All here under new accounts anyway. You wouldn't know anything about that kinda stuff though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Notmything

What are you going to do with all the free time if boards does go under and you don't have to keep making accounts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,117 ✭✭✭Inviere

In fairness, you were introduced to us as the new CEO of Boards.ie, the chief executive officer. The top man of the company. If said company is to now seek funding from the community, it should come from the top, not a community manager/employee. It reflects better on the company leadership, shows a bit of a hands on approach, and shows a bit of dedication.

If the leadership structure has changed, and indeed Mike solely runs Boards, I either missed that or it wasn't mentioned. If it was the former, then my bad, apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Unbanning sounds a bit makeyuppy, pardons is where its at now, a la Donald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭AyeGer

I first started on boards back in 2008 under an older long lost name. I was a prolific user for about 10 years. My visits have slowed in recent years but I still read and post from time to time. I would genuinely like to see this site go from strength to strength.

I must say though modding can be inconsistent and in the event of people paying for membership it would require more objective modding. A few months ago I posted on the CA forum and received a 2 day ban. I thought it was very unfair and a bit targeted as looking back over that thread there were numerous posts of a similar nature. I haven’t really posted much since. Over the years I have received the odd warning and felt yeah fair enough I may have crossed the line there. But not the last time on CA.

Having said that I would be willing to pay a membership subscription to help the site stay active.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,853 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Something to keep in mind in relation to the site closing if it does go that way - the sales sub forums.

Off the top of my head there's Airsoft, Arcade & Retro, Shooting and Cycling.

Might be worth locking those sub forums (and even completely hiding/ removing them) well in advance of a closure so people aren't accidentally cut off mid deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,801 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

in a matter of weeks.

😳😳😳

You might blame Google AI results for the drastic downturn in use but that only came in at the end of March, use was already down 30% between December and March, I'd say mostly due to the page bouncing / endless scrolling and getting nowhere.

Did ye not realize it was so bad, or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,666 ✭✭✭archfi

At last a post that sets it out at root level from the owner.

I can understand why the road to profit is the blocker for an owner - this place will 99.99% probability never make profit for you or any other owner IMO.

The goal now, if that is understood should be how to cover costs of hosting/traffic - that is if the above is accepted and there is a want and desire to keep boards.ie as an Irish resource generated by user input.

Can the users of this site rally round to pay for those ongoing costs using their own community resources (subs/donations/merch/technical expertise) which will probably also include paying off debt? Can that debt be restructured or reduced?

I would donate/sub/buy merch (all three) for a clear plan and goal and a usable stable platform (with a very conservative "no stupid tinkering with the platform" policy)

I think it's at the stage of you deciding, the pipedream of profit or helping save an Irish resource.

Boards is in danger of closing very soon, if it's yer thing, go here
    👇️ 👇️
    Subscribe & Help Out If You Can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 420 ✭✭eadrom

A noisy bunch of posters in this thread claiming over-moderation is what killed the beast. Just in the interest of offering a different point of view: no it isn’t.

I mean mods aren’t perfect, sure, but then you’re still here, aren’t youse? The reason I keep myself to just one forum these days, totally bypassing the front page and rarely bothering to explore, isn’t because of the moderators (or the switch to vanilla) but it is largely due to the same noisy posters who want to treat every community and discussion on here as a winner-takes-all open-forum debate.

That’s what eventually killed it for me (previous account created 2001) – it’s the same reply-bro nonsense you get elsewhere on the web these days unfortunately – and I’m sure that’s true for many others who just aren’t here anymore to say so. It’s mean spirited, unfriendly, and boring.

Kudos to the mods for putting up with it all. The “bUT i’M jUSt AskInG qUesTiOns!!” bullshit is a difficult problem to solve without locking things down, and then you’re into baby/bathwater territory.

I’d still be up for the €50/year, if only for old times sake – but also, I’d genuinely miss that one silly forum I still use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Avatar in the Post

Anyhow, as someone that remembers P45rant.net with fondness…

Shut up and take my money!

How to sign up for the monthly pay option? FS it’s the price of a coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,449 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Comhrá

I'm on Boards for 19 years. Not a prolific poster but a daily lurker and I'd hate to see it go under.

I'd have no problem giving €50 for a year but I'd like to know if that would be for a new more functional platform and not just the present Vanilla. I'd be slow to pay for just a continuation of the present set-up to be honest.

If 2,000 members did subscribe, would we be assured of getting a more appropriate working product…and how soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,866 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I’ve been a member for almost 18 years now and I’d gladly contribute something to keep the site going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

So I had to go back and check. Signed up way back in 09. This site has seen me through college, car crashes (yes plural lol) and more ups and downs than I care to remeber. I will subscribe in a heartbeat. Just make a HUGE banner with simple instructions and take my money now please.

(am in IT so make it easy)

This place became my home, while I don't visit as often as I used to, I still want to be able to in the future. The posters on here have helped and supported me so much over the years and I would miss that.

(am not crying, i just have allergies….honest)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,801 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I don't know, I reckon people would have gotten used to it, every update to the site from the basic vbulletin 15 years ago or whatever, was met with a lot of pushback and users saying they'd never use the site again if it wasn't changed back.

I reckon even the in-house custom designed 'responsive site' that everyone hated would have been grand if they just made the break with the old and moved over wholesale, instead of trying to run the legacy site, responsive, and m.boards aswell for however long that went on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

Original account registered 2002, went off the place for a bit some time in the middle, but visit daily at present. I'd happily contribute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,255 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

We’re now at a crossroads. Without a change to our financial position in the coming weeks, we will be forced to shut Boards.ie down.

Our goal is to reach 2,000 paying members. We know that’s ambitious - but with a mix of member support and ad revenue, we believe we can keep the lights on.

So……If we (those of us who can and will) subscribe but Boards doesn't get 2000 paying members, will Boards be shut down in the coming weeks then? …or did I read ^ Mikes message wrong?

Check out 👉️ Forum of Games 👈️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It is fair, but it doesn't answer anything.

I appreciate why you cannot speak more fully about it though. And in fairness you have been quite open about stuff compared to prior owners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,255 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

I think it's the other way around, vanilla will be less customized and go back to a "basic working product" to keep the site running.

Check out 👉️ Forum of Games 👈️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,182 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Over moderation has certainly played it's part though along with changes to Google search, the transition to vanilla, the end of the Coronavirus pandemic and the broad move away from linear forums.

On moderation, the banning over time of posters that were discussion drivers has led to people disengaging. Add to that the fact that moderation was ultimately a one man show meaning that there was no one else to appeal to also led posters to leave.

It's a strategy from the owners that's baffling. Essentially they placed their investment in the hands of a single unpaid volunteer. It is however only part of the reason things have gone the way they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,917 ✭✭✭893bet

50 quid. Cheap for the access to knowledge in the farming forum and a few others.

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.