If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

The two lads here were going as soon as they could walk and still involved every day, but seen too many farmers killing there own family with work and hardship for very little reward, one neighbour couldn’t work hard enough and maybe two or three Sundays in the year he would bringing the lads to the town for ice cream, they never went on holidays, one son always said as soon as he was old enough he was gone and he wouldn’t look back. The farm leased out now and none of the lads live in Ireland now. Any farmer that doesn’t take the family on holidays is a fool life’s too short and for enjoying and lads grow up so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭yewdairy

Exactly right

It's the balance, farms are brilliant places to grow up and learn a work ethic. Kids get great independent from learning to complete tasks themselves. It's great having the kids out with you in the farmyard.

It's when farmers sicken kids with work as they grow up that they will learn to resent the farm.

Lads are only rooting if they can't take a couple of weeks every year to go on holidays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭ginger22

arguing, fighting and sulking. Did it once, never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 128 ✭✭Farney Farmer

Driving themselves at 6 years old? Could they reach the pedals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

driving at 6 or 7 is a bit much IMO. I know plenty do it but 12 is time enough IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 128 ✭✭Farney Farmer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,160 ✭✭✭roosterman71

My lad at 6 can drive the big tractor. Doesn't need pedals once it's started. Wouldn't dream of letting him off on his own to do anything but I'd let him drive in and out the lane or around the fields when they are empty. Trying to get him off that tractor and to learn on the leyland isn't going well. I think young lads should be put up to learn on old tractors where ya actually have to drive instead of the newer ones where yer just steering for the most part.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭WoozieWu

whats this about moorepark being locked up with tb at the time of the open day

were people who attended it aware of this little nugget of information

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭jaymla627

They had signs up on the way in, jesus christ the optics of it are crazy, from a bio-security point of view should of been held at a different location

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭dmakc

I'd agree. Starting on less shiny stuff instills an appreciation for the better stuff. Goes with all aspects of farming I think.

One of the reasons I'm into it now is knowing what is was like before. Even having to draw water to the cows twice a day instead of piped water troughs that are there now. A young lad coming in to everything set up might not take to it as much.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Young lads on tractors are tricky.

I had the 13-year-old on the tractor with me topping the other day. I let him steer on the long runs. He was sitting in the seat and I stood beside him. Next thing there was a clattering from the topper. I stopped the tractor and put the PTO in neutral. The frame holding up the gearbox was rusty and a side of it came loose. That started rattling the gearbox which then rattled the PTO shaft and broke it.

Back to the local lad who fixed it a few weeks ago and not a huge deal on the grand scale of things.

But I'm wondering if I was on the tractor just myself, would I have reacted quicker, knocked the PTO off immediately, and limited the damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,160 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Yeah ya would for sure. And all young lads will succumb to such issues. Only time and experience will speed up reactions. It's not the driving that's hard, it's knowing what to do in a split second when something goes wrong that's the real skill here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭older by the day

BE CAREFUL

jayus did anyone of ye do the farmers safety course and here about the accidents and deaths of young children around farm yards.

One second of distraction and something can do wrong. We can all boast about our children's abilities, but one accident could change the whole family.

The fella that gave the farm safety to me for tams, gave me a good wake up call. Telling of accidents to real people

Don't be treating children as adults as we are prone to make stupid mistakes not to mind 7yr olds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭alps

The faux outrage at teagasc all the time is nauseating. It was explained to everyone before the set a foot on the first disinfection mat as to the status of TB on the farm. No animal was present, and no animal set foot on, nor any slurry spread on any part of the farm where the open day took place. So unless the badgers pissed into the cars in the car park, the risk of spreading TB from the event was zero..

It was a super event....I can sense the blood pressure rising

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,974 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

nothing short of a disgrace that open day went ahead and nothing announced in meaningful way that place is under restriction …..it just goes to show the incompetence of the advisory body and dept that this was allowed ….not as of herd just recently restricted …locked since janurary

Disagree alps …I knew nothing about it ….was told nothing about it on way in …makes no odds no ainmals were around …it’s still a restricted farm ….double standards at its finest ….this ain’t anti Tegasc ….tb is a huge problem here and a national open day on its scale simply shouldn’t of been allowed go ahead on this farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,762 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Another way of looking at it is there's a segment of farmers being led by the nose to accepting that everything Teagasc does is correct at all costs. Including now hosting an open day on their pastures of an unlimited amount of livestock farmers from the four corners of Ireland.

I am near a local farm was supposed to host a regenerative event for twenty farmers that was cancelled as the farm had been LOCKED UP the days prior.

And now we have farmers who would consider this best practice now defending Moorepark opening their gates when they are also LOCKED UP and having thousands of farmers walking around.

When are ye going to consider it best practice that every time Teagasc fuk up willfully, intentionally or otherwise that the tar barrel is brought out and some teagasc sacrificial lamb responsible be tarred and feathered and wear that shame. The defence of Teagasc always is nauseating. There's good people there but that doesn't mean overall good decisions are made and when they aren't every farmer in the country should call them out.

I'm from a county that had farmer representatives that went to jail for their principles and others that filled lobby's with sheep.

Now this generation consider those that are outraged as wrong and those that sit and accept as the correct way.

Only for the farmers that went to jail every one of us now would be paying a land tax.

We're supposed to be improving farming as the same as any industry. All I see lately is the erosion of farmers rights and the treatment of farmers as second class citizens who must be told what to do and what to think.

If a farm is LOCKED UP it's LOCKED UP.

You don't throw the gates open and accept thousands of livestock farmers from everywhere that you are trying to control a bacterium from spreading out of.

There's no ifs nor buts nor leeway given. It's not worth it for those thousands of farmers attending. Farmers that if told prior would likely not have travelled there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭straight

Looks like it's yourself that would want to watch the blood pressure. 🤣😂😂

Nothing Wrong with a different opinion you know.

Every word from your last 3 posts are 100% true. Farming is being dictated to by a bunch of beauracrats that wouldn't know a cow from a pig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭green daries

I am not a fan of teagasc (im gettingold im no longer a fan of anyone 😀). But was it not yourself that was complaining of low milk yield from your cows or them having lost the willingness to milk 🤔...... that issue has a direct line back to teagasc and the research coupled with advice they give

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

You hit the nail on the head - would an open day go ahead on any other farm if they were locked up with TB?

Even if you think it's OK for the Moorepark open day to go ahead, the optics of it are brutal. Teagasc are supposed to pass on advice and influence actions at farm level, but having an open day on a restricted farm further erodes what trust farmers have in them - which makes their own job even harder.

And why did they brazen it out and just go ahead anyway? Why not use being locked up and having to transfer the open day someplace else or postpone it as a way to highlight the TB problem to the Dept? If a Government farm is locked, then it must be serious, etc.

That would have done farmers a service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭jaymla627

You r eally believe that, the paddocks where the events where held had no animals in them for a couple of months?

Minimum time-frame is 2 months to 6 months max before tb bacteria in dung/slurry is gone from the environment, its a strange hill to die on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭yewdairy

Surely any decision to go ahead would have to be given the green light by local DVO. So they clearly saw nothing wrong.

Tb is mainly spread through the air and infected droplets moving between cows. The chances of bringing tb out of a farm like that must be nearly zero.

Or could all the outraged people explain the pathway or how tb could be brought from Moore Park to their farm when boots are been dipped on the way out and in?

Don't know why anybody would want to go there anyway. Havent been there with about 10 years. Was there on one occasion only because a friend wanted to go and needed company. I remember me being me asked a few questions at the first few stalls. One of them was about clover and the wonders of its magic. Now I was on the foliar urea at that stage and was made to look a right eejit by the one on the stand. It was an idiotic concept she made out. Needless to say I kept my mouth shut for the rest of the day.

amazing how moorepark or Tegasc can be defended on this with tb at such high levels around country …total double standards

Like lots of others here I’m in/out of tb ….im contract rearing heifers to comply with nitrates and good cow nos ….its akin to me bringing back my heifers from rearers who were locked up and telling the dvo these wont be near my own stock ..be on different holding and expect to be not restricted ….there was a local farmer here in spring who was to host an early spring grassland walk for all our area …he went down with tb on small few ainmals on a Monday …walk was meant to be Wednesday …event pulled Tuesday morning and proper order …..its a small wonder we can’t eradicate or control tb with such lax attitudes as was evident with moorepark last week

Interesting quote on Agriland

"Deputy Whitmore added: “In the 1980s, there were 500 pristine river bodies in this country. We are now down to 20, so we can see the scale of the problem."

Hard to see how that can be farmers fault with all the measures that farmers have undertaken in the meantime.

Must be some other source for the deteration, could it be domestic or urban waste.

So we now change the regulations just because Moorepark went against department guidelines and wangled the local dvo to have the event?

When I was locked up the department official went through everything including maybe testing ourselves for TB. All fences were to be done and no infiltration of animals on or off. We were advised against visiting other farms. All to stop any spread. Later another official behind a desk asked where it came from. She asked had I a closed herd. Replied I had but had a bull. Oh she said it came from the bull. Bull has always tested clear and in the best of health and we're clear now. But to her the put down was I bought a bull.

Now we went through Foot and mouth disease. We closed the country down because we didn't want it in. It travels through dirt or contact the same as TB. TB goes through dung pats on ground it's how it spreads from cow to badger looking for grubs in the pat. That then spreads back to cow via dung or urine on grass. It takes about three weeks for tb to die out in preserved silage. So it does survive on grass for some time.

I won't be changed in my position that it is a disgrace and just shows how little those running the event thought of those livestock farmers coming onto their farm.

There are other sources for pollution and destruction of water wildlife other than N and P. I'll sound like a broken record and ye'll all hate me for it. But all sprays used in agriculture build up over time. Then there's all the new stuff used by people in domestic situations that make their way to waterways from hair removers to oral contraception to antibiotics to washing products to car washing. It's all ends up in waterways in Ireland.