Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

Too slow to make changes on the line.

Mullen should have been off at half time, wasn't at the races at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Eaxactly. Soft we are. Sorry but Derek has to go and I would hope he admits. That game was for winning and thats not a great tipp team. They wanted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭deadybai

Lyng has to walk after that . Constantly bottling games. Even the ones we win. Out foxed by a brilliant manager in Liam Cahill. That’s what lost us the game .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Senditinlow

Reid should never have hit that ball to Deegan. **** ball to forwards in 2nd half.....unfortunately we're further away this evening than ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭me89

Jesus's that hurts, it was there to be won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

The management deserve criticism but the players lost that. Extra man with 10 mins to go and were a mess. Reid, Deegan, Molloy all made crucial mistakes that cost us scores. That Deegan dummy for the goal. Jesus Christ

True. But woyld that have haven't indee Brian. Not a chance. This mess is manager led.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭kksaints

Very disappointing, we had control of that but we threw it away with some bad errors. Why do GAA teams always play so poorly against 14? We just bombed the ball down into the forwards and quite simply there was too many passes into crowded space. Deegan's error leading up to the goal is shocking, it was never the time for something like that. We really need to work on puckouts, our strategy both defending and taking them is awful. That's regardless of who the manager is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Jizique

Deegan should really have been off on a second yellow at that stage, KK might have been better off if he had received it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭kk.man

Cahill was motm imo. That took balls to let tipp run at kk for goals in the two exposed corners. He had his homework done.

The messing in our clearances was brutal to watch. TJ is a player for the ages.

The big names never stood up when needed. We are miles off an all ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Ballpaddy

We find it hard against 13 . Serious shake up needed in the county board let alone teams and management.

Im going to say something very unpopular. I believe if BC wws manager last year or this year we would have won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

He definitely would have made some changes at halftime or got the team going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭me89

Like he did in the final in 16? Stupid comment to even mention Cody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭jamesbond2022

I would agree love him or hate him he was able to get teams to an emotional level to play beyond there natural ability and work like dogs for 70mins plus

He was an inspirational character whether players liked him or not no one wanted to ever let him down I think it’s that’s the 2-3 % we’ve been missing the last 2 years to get over the line

I would imagine Derek is a completely different type of manager and person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭murtyd17

Very disappointing - feels like one we left behind. Bit of confusion at the end with the scoreboard. Umpires waved wide for Tipp but scoreboard added the point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭kksaints

Like in 2016 where he let the Tipp forwards run wild without any changes. In any case Lyng did make a change at halftime bringing on Blanchfield instead of Murphy (who was roasted today), he just took too long to make them after that and he didn't make all of them, which you really need to do at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Very disappointing. Beaten by an average tipp team. Another all Munster all Ireland final. Time for an overhaul of this team as they consistently come up short, when it matters. Unfortunately the players to replace them are just not there with a serious lack of good hurlers in their early 20s in the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Can't make mistakes like we made today and expect to win big matches. 3 embarrassing errors that led to 3 goals. Very disappointing day. Giving up puck outs against 14 was just baffling.

Fair play to Tipp, showed huge courage and resilience. Savage stuff in them lads in fairness to them. We could learn a bit off that alone.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Village87

Carey, Reid and Deegan is simply not good enough at this level in the half back line. 2 lack pace and 2 lack hurling and all 3 are poor in the air. Simply not good enough. Massive moment was Molloy effort that was short would have put us 3 up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭murtyd17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,179 ✭✭✭BQQ

not sure how we managed to lose that

Felt like we were on top of them for most of the game, but a few bad mistakes were punished severely

Tipp are average and if they play like that in the final, they’ll lose by 10+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭hogans heroes

TTerrible turn overs by paddy and Richie Reid late on.especially paddy's that led to the goal.management were going to sub Adrian and he scored and they changed their mind.played some great stuff but conceding 4 goals you really can't win

IN hindsight blanch should have started for Shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭therealdonster

The only comfort from that is thst Tipp will lose by at least 10 points in the final. We are just like them though, going nowhere. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭Good loser

Cork are 4/9 for the final; surely they will win easily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Laois man here. On the border with Carlow and Kilkenny.

When I grew up in the 1970s and 80s the Kilkenny end game and ability to come back from the dead, never knowing they were beaten, was feared by all other hurling counties.

Since 2016, this seems to be gone, at all levels, bar the 2022 All Ireland U20 win.

2016, 2019, 2022, 2023, 4 final defeats, with the caveat of Limerick being strong. 2018, 2020, 2021, 2024 and 2025 Senior All Ireland semi losses. 2023 and 2024 League Final losses.

The minors this year had good individual players but were less than the sum of their parts and didn't play as a team. Last year's minor loss to 13 men, something very 'un Kilkenny' about that. You want to be breaking 50/50 in winning finals you reach at least, in all grades.

The confidence seems to be leaving Kilkenny hurling. Adrian Mullen, Eoin Cody and others should be in their prime and leading in the forwards, 37 year old TJ still looked the only real leader upfront.

Lyng was destroyed tactically and the damage done in the first half. There's a flatness and lack of Kilkenny killer instinct across the grades. A lot of underage talent hasn't really come through.

Did some sort of complacency set in after the 2006-15 era where teams and management thought in the back of their heads they didn't have to work as hard anymore.

There is something a little wrong with Kilkenny hurling. Today was a game which should have been won, even without the brilliant players of the past. A young Tipp team, many unfamiliar with Croke Park, a second home for Kilkenny.

Lyng needs to go anyway. He's had 3 years and there isn't progression. I can't recall a longer gap for Kilkenny between All Ireland senior wins, 11 year now. 1983-92 was the biggest in my lifetime. Eddie Brennan, Dowling even Henry (Galway have regressed since he left) are probably next in line.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

If that's bringing you comfort instead of trying to solve the obvious issues in ye're setup then ye won't be winning all Irelands for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Kilkenny were favourites today! Limerick were favourites 3 weeks ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Agree with all of that, all of our teams play at a standard less than the sum of their parts as you put it.
    There’s definitely a confidence issue for some reason and we’ve snatched defeat from the jaws of victory in so many big games.

I felt going up today that we had a better team than Tipp and that we should win…. but I also knew that we couldn’t trust them to perform when the pressure came on and ultimately that’s what happened today, they bottled it when the game was in the melting pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,106 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Tipp will score at least 3 goals v Cork .