If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭ginger22

If the vaccine isn't effective why are ye vaccinating badgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭older by the day

Important to to get them measured the first day, as if there is a lump in the bottom, a few millimeters of a difference when testing could be the difference between pass and fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭degetme

Went down with tb here lately. First time in over 30yrs on this farm. What length of time is the usual for getting department compensation for reactors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

You need to declare that you have power washed before they will pay the compensation part. Send in your TB factory docket and proof of disinfectant purchase and power washing declaration form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭degetme

Is there a deadline that you have to claim compensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Because they're following the sales pitch from the vaccine suppliers.

High up vets in dafm will freely admit unofficially that vaccinating badgers doesn't achieve a whole lot...

Keeping badgers and deer under control is the best solution and could be further improved by paying special attention to forests due to be clearfelled

The thing that ye aren't understanding is that tb CAN live in the lungs of a vaccinated animal. That's the issue. It will eventually be everywhere in the case of vaccination but no testing

Actually read up on how TB interacts with the hosts immune system. It's next to impossible for a vaccine to give perfect protection. What the bcg did do was greatly reduce the occurrence of severe TB in people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,762 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Do exactly like the BCG, and replacement and breeding stock be vaccinated at birth.

We've a situation now where cattle are passing the skin test and going down in the factory. And going down in the skin test and going clear in the factory. And bloods being demanded of cow owners that is told to owners that if they go down in this it's no guarrantee that they have it. But it'll be treated as a positive result for you and your neighbours. And then you need another two clear skin tests after to be clear. And now they are looking for three clear tests before you are clear. And then you'll have your name broadcast all over the country for the next ten years that there was tb in your herd.

New Zealand they are just about clear as they tackled the wildlife issue. There's no stomach for doing so in Ireland or the UK. Vaccination is the only answer for farmers here. We vaccinate the people already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,762 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Don't think so . But you won't be declared clear till those certs go in and inspection is carried out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭alps

Its not effective in badgers. Vaccination of badgers started in 2018. When did TB in cattle start to explode?......No prize for guessing.

Humans stopped eating grass covered in badger piss..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭green daries

Absolutely i totally agree it's a sham to keep the Green genuises happy....

In real life, we got our performance report today...sad reading

5 star ebi, 5 star 366 day Calving interval

Got 6kg meal and maize through the spring and 3 stars for f+P, like 55%...slightly above average..

Cows in top order, health top class..conception rates excellent....but weve lost milk...or the will to milk..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

Load of me boll1x alps. Only one figure matters for your farm to be viable. Measurements create jobs for the boys in the pointy dealer boots and fancy shoffles with the crest of some company or organisation on them. I read them and then take what I want from it and discard it. Did the same when I was in sucklers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭older by the day

It's the money in the bank, not the litres in the tank. I judge by my current account, how the year is going. I have all my buildings and stuff paid for long go. So to keep me interested I have six separate saving accounts being fed from my current account. Each for a child.

I don't worry too much about stars or medals. Look after the animals and keep the costs low. The weather and milk and cattle prices are outside of my control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Not milking here but similar with a tb breakdown. Blooded some during the week and had word of a few more down. The disinfecting can be postponed with one half of the form that comes in the pack. You will still get paid the compo

Could be worthwhile doing that until you get some blood tests done on some high risk stock and then only powerhose and disinfectant once. Approx 4 week gap here from the first few down to the result of a blood test on the non reactors to the skin test.

Feel free to pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

Much more eloquently put than my effort above you

All of the vaccinated animals can ultimately catch TB and spread it. So what do you actually achieve by vaccination?

Cattle aren't culled to reduce symptoms of tb. They're culled to reduce the presence of tb...

You are going on all the time about what will not work. Any suggestions on what will work.

Keeping on top of badger and deer numbers as well as herd testing the whole time is as good as it's going to get. It's still never going to be eradicated

What is the saying. "keeping doing the same think and expecting a different result".

Getting on top of badgers and deer would take us back to where TB was more under control. I don't think there's any reason to believe TB can be eradicated from Ireland. We're setup perfectly for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,211 ✭✭✭straight

That's a disgrace after feeding maize and 6kg meal. Looks like a waste of money/effort.

I am disappointed with my 4 stars F&P but I just had mediocre silage and 5kg meal tops. I mean the average is pretty low.

I was a my discussion/dictator group yesterday. 5 teagasc staff and 6 farmers. Got a lecture about cost control, 😴 taking time off, work life balance BS. Anyway the host farmers report was about 410 for F&P. No comment on that of course. I don't look much further that the top line because that's the main one. The dictators were pointing out all his stars for cents per litre, 6 week calving rate, maintenance, etc. I'd swear alot of lads don't understand basic maths.

One brave soul had the audacity to question the effectiveness of the EBI but was quickly told to shut his mouth and follow the science.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

While we are often on opposite sides of many debates I do think you re right about this.there is a decision to be made here and its straight foward get the tb problem under control in wild life first and then control the National herd.if you continue to just run your controls on the national herd then the situation will continue to explode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭yewdairy

You must be in a really weak discussion group.

Any decent group is driven by the members and advisor will talk very little and has just an organizing role. If you thought host farmer has poor production, the group members should have told him straight to his face.

The whole point of discussion groups is to learn off the other farmers in the group not to come to a lecture from teagasc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,211 ✭✭✭straight

Ya, it's gone to sh1t. We had a discussion group but this other "facilitator" came in and just preaches the teagasc gospel and you just sit, listen and nod. Waste of time really and farmers are not attending like they used to. No discussion allowed. He teases out answers then like a teacher but if you don't give the right answer, you are just wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭yewdairy

I was talking to an older advisor about discussion groups years ago and he said the goal was for group members to do 95% of talking and advisor to do 5% of the talking at a meeting.

They are a waste of time if it just turns into a lecture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,974 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

3 stars for fat/protein% ….or kgms .im up on litres sold ,and slightly on fat and protein%…..overall kgms compared to same period last year to end may is up near 40kgms to 260…..just shows how **** a year last year was …I fed same but addition of diet feeder has allowed me make far better use of forages I have in stock (grasss silage,red clover silage and maize)……no point on lads loosing there shite on what advisors are telling them to do or comparing to others in group…I’m a decent grassland manager ….there’s others in my group better than me….lads that are far more on top of costs and comparing to others through profit monitors etc…I am in control of my costs but have no interest in others as differing systems …..one area I think I stand out is on breeding and feeding cows wouldn’t use or place much emphasis on ebi and when it comes to feeding ….stuff the calves and grow frame young …no rush to let them out and cows keep good quality grass into them but also realise grass on its own isn’t good enough so small buffer all year and keep the nuts into them ….result 5 stars on milk sold per cow and kgms sold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,438 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Something is seriously wrong with the icbf, just glanced at a bull that's perfect for the likes of alps to put some milk back into his herd while maintaining solids bomza episode and apparently he's bottom 1% for tb resistance, but the English pli system have him top of the class as a improver what's going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,974 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I’ve used good bit of him last 2 years …that point re tb resistance was flagged to me too