If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Grats

And each of the other counties will probably bring more support than Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

I think you might have unfortunately missed the cutoff. Clubs had 2 weeks to send off applications but I believe they closed yesterday. There's still juvenile tickets going for €8 which is good value for 2 finals in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭MfMan

They were man-marking, but in the last play, Glass slipped inside an exhausted John Maher, drew the covering defender and passed to the then-unmarked Doherty who equalised. Not so easy winning back possession now from a team who has the ball as most sides worth their salt can now hold onto it and go through the phases, plus the risk of having the ball brought closer to a scoring area if you professional foul a team further out the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭obi604

Thanks - Silly q time, just looking on ticket master now and I see tickets are 40 euro for adults for hogan and cusack.

If I wanted a ticket for myself and 10 year old for the lower Cusack for example, can I get an adult ticket for 40 and a juvenile ticket for 8 euro OR do I have to pay 40 euro x 2 for the priveldge of being in the cuasck with a juvenile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

If there was one lesson to be learned from Sunday and that is going for goals is a much better way of tiring out the other team than passing it back and over the arc. In my opinion this is what killed us in the final against Armagh (aside from the general injuries/exhaustion) - they weren't afraid to go for goal, kick a long ball into the square. It put our backs under huge pressure. We didn't return the same pressure.

When you go and select an available seat in the lower Cusack/Davin it'll give you the option to buy it as an Adult, Juvenile or OAP. All you need to do is pick two seats beside each other and have one as a juvenile for €8. The view won't be amazing but should be a bit of craic down that side with the various clubs and schools. I don't think they do Juvenile prices for upper Cusack/Davin (if they do open up) so you'd be as well to stay down that side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

It's all water under the bridge now anyways, ifs and maybes,in the heat of battle decisions are made, it's all eyes on Saturday week now, whatever them lads do they'll give their all and die with their boots on if it comes to that 🇱🇻✊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Butson

35k expected.

KK have the worst supporters in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭obi604

thanks, so seems like only certain areas in the stadium allow you to buy an adult ticket (€40) beside a juvenile ticket (€8)

That's it. They'd make the youngster pay an adult price anywhere else sadly. There won't be a huge crowd so you can probably take some decent seats on halfway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Deleted. Probably more confrontational than I was intending to be...

Post edited by Realt Dearg Sec on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭I says

Looking forward to today’s game, I’d like to see whelan move into ff and have runners off him. He’ll win plenty of ball in there. Lee needs a good showing at six and diaithi in at 3 is the right and only call. A total team effort for 70 plus should get us over the line although kk are never beaten till Christmas.
    anyways hang Sambos are made the young lads are full of excitement and expectations Tis great to see. They’re not scarred like the rest of us yet😂. Gaillimh abu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The only way this Galway team beat this Kilkenny team in Croke Park is if Kilkenny put in their worst performance of the last decade and Galway their best performance of the last decade, very unlikely. Harsh, but it's the reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,312 ✭✭✭threeball

I wouldn't be putting Whelan in on Lawlor, he'll nullify him and we can't afford that. Matching him up with Butler would be better, but I agree he's of more value on the inside line.

I don't expect a win but they need to be competitive. Hard work but above all, good decision making, will be key. We can't afford to be handing possession back to KK too easily. Force them to work for every ball they turn over. And no potshots for 50/50 chances.

We need to be compact in the back 6 with cover from the two midfielders. Allow our HF line to come deeper into midfield and create space inside for the FF line.

I’d say you’re great craic at weddings 😂

For some odd reason I never get invited to weddings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭testtech05

Whelan having a great game so far in his new role but the puck outs are really struggling

Don't know how we're still in this. Massive failings all over. First touch is terrible for this level. We don't take care of possession at all even though we're struggling to gain it. Can't hit accurate 20 or 30m passes and are lumping ball in on top of Hugh Lawlor. Put half of that right and they could be competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,897 ✭✭✭Robson99

Thank **** it's not Kildare we are playing. Absolute shambles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭MattressRick

For the forwards to be outfielded all day for every bloody ball is an attitude thing.

It mightn't suit them but for Kilkenny's backs to be winning ball over their heads all day is just a disgrace.

Frauds the fcuking lot of them. What a shite show

We don't have ball winning forwards. You'd really have to question Donoghue after that. Any fool knows you don't lump puckouts onto KK half back lines and you don't lump ball on top of Hugh lawlor. We did both for 70mins. Either theres no instruction to avoid that or they ignored the instruction.

We also needed to crowd out the middle 3rd but we handed it to KK. Moving lads around positions was deck chairs on the titanic when major malfunctions were happening all over from 4 mins in.

We have too many hurlers simply not up to it. And looking at underage we won't have them for a while. Same useless brand/style right down the grades.

I did try to warn you. There was no evidence this current squad could lay a glove on KK in Croke park. The coach is poor too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,756 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Felt sorry for the young lad who replaced Murphy.

He was taking it bad after the game ended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,355 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

You can blame Donoghue for the organisation etc, but the constant failure to develop proper hurlers at u20 over the last decade and a half is coming home to roost.

Unfortunately, days like today will become more common place imo over the next few years.

The players are there to set up to be at least within 2-3 points of Kilkenny. Nobody was willing to make the excuses of the players being the problem when Shefflin was on the line

Concannon, Cooney not up to it. What in the name of jaysus was whelan at neither here nor there. It was like watching the 15 final again long puck outs in on top of the kk backline food and drink to them brainless hurling. Play for five minutes then shite the togs again. Make no mistake after watching this today I apologize for my optimism earlier we are so far away it’s scary.
    As for underage we are miles behind you’ve a man from tiernascragh who hasn’t a notion. Look at cork neglected underage and 20 yrs trying to get back to the top. I doubt I’ll see Galway win Liam again in my lifetime and I was five in 1980.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,384 ✭✭✭Seadin

It's not as if he lost the game for them. They were close comprehensively beaten before that mistake.

They should have been closer today. KK were muck and we were 10 times worse. A middling display would have put them in the mix. The players played with no heart or brains and Donoghue obviously isn't doing his stuff on the line. The levels they've reached this year are abysmal. Can't control or pass a fcukin Sliothar

There's about 4 or 5 worth keeping and some of those are the wrong side of 30. I'd go root and branch on the rest. They're not up to it. Never will be.