If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Looptheloop30

ye lucky bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Armagh winning here against Dublin make life a bit easier. They'll be top of the group with a game to spare. Likely could rest a few against Galway. Great fight. 7 or 8 minute spell with all the wides was a killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Bocadilloo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,312 ✭✭✭threeball

No a Dublin win would have been worse as it left an unmotivated Dublin meeting a Derry team who feel they should have secured their place already. That would leave us having to beat an Armagh team that needed to win too which is looking very unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Bad decision there near the end not to take the point and opting to try a 2-pointer in those conditions, we had momentum at that stage , but sure it's a draw... An Gleeson give up the shitealking kicking the ball to yourself you'll be the cause of someone getting a heart attack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭basillarkin

beat armagh and galway progress regardless of result in other game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Stewball

Terrible performance.

Conroy was MIA again today, starting to show his age now. I don't know who the lad wearing 5 is, but it's not Dylan McHugh anyway. Walsh was gassed around 50mins.

The decision making in the last 10mins was atrocious. Kieran Molloy taking on two 2Pters, at least Maher managed to turn one of them into a goal. Tierney refusing a point for a 2Pt attempt and slicing it wide.

Armagh winning, probably gives us a decent chance of finishing ahead of Derry now. I can see a scenario of both us & Derry losing and we get through on points difference - but that's probably as far as we go, unless we get drawn against Meath/Roscommon/Down/Monaghan in the PQFs, but I wouldn't be overly confident of beating any of them either on current form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Stewball

What really pissed me off about that Gleeson kickout was the pass to Sam O'Neill, the Derry lad flew past him and beat him to the ball. He was hooked a few minutes later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cosatron

Joyce needs to decide what type of football want to play. We looked allot better when he hooked conroy and walsh. The new rules don't suit the slow ponderous play that conroy and walsh seem to revert to. There was glimpses of what this team is capable of when the ball is moved fast. Also he needs to put kelly back to 3 and daly to 6

Not sure that could ever of been the case. Hopefully Armagh (as teams have done in previous years) run the bench and on paper at least make our task a little simpler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭obi604

what happened the under 17 hurlers against Clare. Another big loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,897 ✭✭✭Robson99

Looks like that will be that....we look a very tired team mentally and physically. Too many not preforming anywhere near their capabilities. Armagh could beat us by 6 or 8 points

Terrible headless hurling again. Alot of selfish stuff, solo running into blind alleys, pumping ball to no one in particular. The coaching just looks pìss poor. Clare in contrast were constantly looking for the man in the better position. Their first goal went the length of the field with 6 players involved. I dont think we strung 3 passes together all day. Now Clare were no great shakes either but we bet ourselves with the style of play.

Our club hurling is similar and you have the same coaches taking the underage teams. The day of pumping the ball is dead, Galway hurling needs to catch on to that fact and we need to start picking intelligent players who know how to control a game.

The whole team want to slow it down and go into the arcing pattern filtering the ball left to tight before getting bored and deciding to have a go, at which stage the defence is set.

We're playing like it last year but we've forgotten how to defend. It nuts leaving the D area completely undefended. Kelly might be a better option at 3 but I don't fancy Daly at 6.

Armagh are masters at getting runners into that D area behind HB line. I'd expect them to give us a good spanking unless they run the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cosatron

Under the new rules it very hard to defend the d and arc all at once so you have to pick your poison. To be honest I don't think any team look defensively solid. There are big gaps and holes in every team it's matter of exploiting it with speed which galway are very slow to cop on to, that's why I would like to see daly at 6 and his kick passing will speed up the game for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Yeah the slow forward play should've been the first thing to get rid of after the final last year. It cost us the All Ireland. Defences are indeed set and we're going side to side. When we did move it fast yesterday we did well, look at that sideline from Thompson for the first Tierney goal.

Galway aren't playing well, there's something wrong when they've had 3 big must win matches in a row and they've been poor for huge chunks of the matches. Connacht final was won more through Mayo's misses than anything.

Hard to see how players like Silke and McHugh will suddenly spark into life. It feels like 2023, a team will put them out of their misery in the preliminary quarter final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Exactly, we need Dublin to hammer derry and hope that it's a low scoring slog against Armagh. Armagh's B team could easily beat us.

After the misery of last year it should be Armagh sleepwalking and Galway coasting their way through but no...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭mjp

Yeah id be wary of Armagh as they've built a strong panel following on from last year and there's a core squad of 25 odd players there who won't weaken their side too much. Galway can't be thinking that they'll hand us the game cause they already through and they will want to have winning momentum going into qf a fortnight later. Markevics in Sligo is closed so we could be looking at Carrick again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

I've heard rumours of a double header with mayo/Donegal in croke park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭testtech05

I read earlier the GAA have said none of the final round games will be in croker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭obi604

Do any of the team show any potential for later years with seniors etc?

Gus Lohan (nephew of the Lohans from Clare) and Tadhg McCárthaigh impressed me in games this year. But at this age its impossible to gauge where these kids will end up.

First time in 18 years Galway not in an All Ireland semi final.

You would imagine the footballers would have would have a reliable freetaker sorted. It's criminal our carry on from dead balls. Cost us an all ireland last year, cost us against Dublin in Salthill and again yesterday. We must be the only county who don't know WTF we are doing with free's.

I've heard quiet a few people saying that Finnerty going off in the AIF was what cost us the game as he would have scored the frees we missed…absolute waffle. He doesn't want to know about any of them from the arc range.

45 v Dublin and Walsh tries to manufacture a 2 pt score...madness

Same happened again yesterday, going short rather than shooting at the post. Win a simple tap over breach, we bring it out and it goes closer to corner flag. Those are the bread and butter scores the top teams nail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Avon8

It makes complete sense to take a 45 short nowadays. You're about 60% likely to score the 45. Any good team that has possession in the opposing teams half is more than 60% likely to get a score, with the added benefit that you might score a two pointer. Obviously situation dependant but playing it short and working a better scoring situation is something all smart teams are incorporating now. The fact that it didn't work out a couple of times is irrelevant

Same situation with people complaining that Tierney took the two point free option over the tapover. With a wind that's a two point score the vast majority of the time, he just didn't execute. It was 100% the right option and he should go for it again if it happens the next day

You never hear about the times it works out. Multiple times Walsh and Tierney brought tap over frees out for two point scores during the league and no one mentioned it after because they scored

Madness when we had a simple tap over to bring it back to a 1pt game.

Madness when you have a 45 straight in front of posts

Going by that logic we should forget about 1 point scores and keep shooting for 2 pointers

Why isn't Tierney taking more of the free's? Where was Finnerty ?

I thought Shaughnessy the CF was quite good but again prone to taking pot shots. Not really impressed by anyone else. They must have some decent players there because Pres Athenry and Claregalway went a long way in the schools comps this year but they need a manager who's going to implement a proper gameplan and just jettison the lads who show they're only in it to promote themselves.

None of the Galway underage I saw this year looked like teams. Just a group of individuals thrown together and expected to work out just because they're talented. Any team needs the grafters who don't mind letting other lads shine while they toil in the engine room. We don't have them. And you can't carry 15 individuals. 3 or 4 at most.

No, to bring it back for a 2pt yesterday was nuts. They had just scored 1-4 or so without reply. All the momentum and down to 2pts from 9 behind. A simple tap over brings it to 1pt and Derry in crisis. Instead we throw away all the momentum to take a potshot from the edge of the arch using a player taking his first deadball. Terrible game management

Post edited by threeball on

Breffni Park in Cavan for the Armagh/Galway decider. What a joke! 2.5-3hr journey to Armagh's 1-1.5hr trip.