Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Gigs for 2025 - post your reviews here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Iguarantee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭dasdog

Support act with the spacey, delay, scratch the pick along the bass strings Miles Davis early 1970's sound were worth the entrance fee alone. Really enjoyed them. Fugazi elements came later. Loved it. Good first gig of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 345 ✭✭Beagslife

Yes indeed. In his usual laid back style. Would be interesting to know how many artists | bands he has toured with over the years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Iguarantee

I believe he’s played on something like 2400 albums.

Mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭jacool

image.png

KNEECAP, City Hall, Cork. Played for one hour. Crowd mental, beer s**t. Balaclavas to beat the band!

We all got 100% in the spelling bee, thanks to huge visual aid :) Overall: 7/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

The Grand Social were hosting In The Pits doom metal festival tonight. For €30 you got five/six bands upstairs. Good few Nordie Bands who are always entertaining but stand out was Uragh, dublin-based 4 piece.

https://open.spotify.com/artist/5SoZf0kot6FCxBxUoNapxU?si=vgEUQmauT6aTxrqybvN1lA

And I think I’ve cracked the problem of not knowing who the support band is. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭rainagain

Frank Turner was in usual energetic form last night in the Limelight, Belfast. Played a good few songs from the latest album. Audience (at the front anyway) were brilliant - no chatting, no going to the bar, just enjoying the show.

Support from Ben Brown and the Meffs, both entertaining and worth seeing. Looking forward to doing it all again tonight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Alien Chicks in Whelan’s were class. Brixton three-piece with some mad energy. Very different, like Ska on acid.

https://open.spotify.com/artist/1V2a5Mkw4VP93kP1vrB4T4?si=sJ956BHnQT-eSFgZyrR7sg

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Another solid performance by Alison Moyet at the Olympia tonight. A 105-minutes set spanning her whole career, including the 4 big Yazoo hits. A couple of the songs were the newer versions as per her latest album of reworked songs. Her voice as strong as ever and she even played the harmonica in one song. Only 2 musicians with her, one on guitar, one on bass, both with their keyboards that took care of everything else.

Support from Scottish singer/songwriter Iona Zajac. Just her with her guitars, pedals and loops. Good voice, but the stripped down material didn't really caught my attention.

Upcoming gigs and events: The Rocky Horror Show, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Foil Arms and Hog, Nova Twins, Tanita Tikaram, David Byrne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,052 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I thought she sounded great tonight. The Yazoo songs are just some of my favourite songs of all time. The only thing that could top that would be if Vince Clarke was there too. And she played her excellent solo singles from the 80s. I also enjoyed a lot of the songs I'd never heard before that she created since then.

We didn't have great seats, near the back + people chatting, scrolling, toilets up n down (what the **** do they go-to concerts for?), but she still shone through all that distraction. I never sit when there is a standing option and I was reminded of why tonight.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Yeah, she seemed to be in great spirits, a few jokes here and there, and that voice! Like you, I didn't remember some of the newer songs, but the setlist was well put together. And finishing the main set with Situation and then an encore of Footsteps, Love Resurrection and Don't Go: just superb!!

I agree that a seated ground floor at the Olympia is not ideal. There is so little space between rows, you have to stand up every time someone wants to pass through - though I guess the same could be said about 3Arena, NCH etc. I was halfway and to the edge of a row, so had to stand up a few times, but thankfully no talking around me, everyone really into the music. It's inconvenient that you can't select seats when booking, but it is what it is.

Upcoming gigs and events: The Rocky Horror Show, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Foil Arms and Hog, Nova Twins, Tanita Tikaram, David Byrne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,052 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

We were in the free seating area upstairs near the bar. People talking and scrolling on phones on full brightness just gets to me. That's the best about standing, you can move near the stage and avoid the distractions.

Anyway, she was great. My jaw dropped when she said Love Resurrection was from 1983. 😱

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭jacool

image.png

the olllam, Cyprus Avenue, Cork. Friday 14Feb2025.

A magical musical love-in for Valentine's night. Didn't rate the support act, but when he played as part of the olllam he was excellent. 6 ridiculously talented musicians in an atmospheric, uplifting experience. 

Overall: 8/10 (and that's in the high 8's)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,876 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Green Lung and Unto Others at The Academy last night.

Unto Others were gothic punk with elements of thrash metal, remind me a bit of Volbeat, not a huge fan but they were a very solid band.

Loved Green Lung, very seventies, Black Sabbath and Deep Purple influences, great fun, lots of energy and the guitar player was brilliant, I'll try to catch them again sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

IMG_20250219_213435057_HDR.jpg

Dave Hause is never not fantastic, even if I do need to listen to everything after kick a lot more.

His brothers solo stuff was surprisingly good as well, really enjoyed it.

But ending a gig at 11.15 on a Wednesday? Come on now lads.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Manish Pringle in Drogheda Arts Centre tonight. What a marvellous evening. 70 minutes of Indian slide guitar and accompanying tabla. Within seconds i was transported back a quarter of a century to my trips around India, the light, smells and sights running around my head. Manish explained that the particular raga he was going to open with tonight was very similar to Blues and he wasn't wrong. You could here a similarity to African and Western blues yet it was a distinctly Indian flavour. Plus, when he picked up the pace it sounded like a Velvet Underground wigout and later he played a motif that put me in mind of Spacemen 3's 'Dreamweapon'. A big grin on my face throughout.

All for the princely sum of €11.

I'm a Rock n Roll Amputation

I was looking forward to Peer Pleasure in Whelan’s last night, I’d been listening to the Wexford band for a couple of days and they sounded like my kind of music. Doorman scanned me in, no bother.

Thought it was a bit odd that the support was a solo folk singer but she was grand. It was only when two middle-aged guys appeared for the main act, that I realised I was definitely at the wrong gig.

I’ve never heard of Jake Xerxes Fussell before but he was very good. A bit of folksy/blues on a Thursday evening is still food for the soul. Audience lapped him up. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Peer Pleasure were upstairs! They've an e.p. launch gig in the Thomas House on 4th April with Dumb Posh Hippies and Bad Mothers Union.

I'm a Rock n Roll Amputation

The below screenshot is from the Facebook event they have setup (hope it opens 🙂 ).

It suggests that tickets available on the day, no presale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭mgkelly

Lot to be said for middle aged ravers...🙋‍♂️

Couple of crackers downstairs at Borderline. Second act in Mould and the ones just finished CTL DRP.

https://open.spotify.com/artist/4YKVTOc7KjZfuAfvaCHKqo?si=FfndlDdfTniCBSJHtOLF0w

https://open.spotify.com/artist/0y7VykZdOB8wIsAQfr2S4M?si=eW7KLnk_Q2-tl3fZN0PGgQ

Great turnout, upstairs was packed when I visited, but nice sized crowd of real music fans downstairs.

Bedtime for Bozo, but only after an excellent kebab in Zaytoons.

Roll on tomorrow 👏🏻🙏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Yep, fantastic night in the Workmans for Borderline Festival tonight. Full sets for Theatre, Personal Trainer, Being Dead, Pale Blue Eyes and Opus Kink, bits of a couple of others. It really is amazing value for 20 euro. Enjoyed everyone but Opus Kink the standout. Chaotic brilliance, hard to know how to classify them but absolutely loved them. Super charismatic front man, great sax, trupet, bass, touch of the Nick Cave or Tom Waits at times Being Dead also fantastic. Pale Blue Eyes technically great but just didn't feel it. Too slick or something. Personal Trainer great craic as ever and Theatre, lots of potential. Her voice their biggest weapon, got to maximise it's effect I think. Anyway, brilliant night, kudos to all involved, Jameson but I presume the Arts Council also. They might be **** with digital projects but continue to support our music industry in these challenging times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭CoffeeImpala

IMRO rather than the Arts Council. Musicmaker and Blackstar Amplification also listed as sponsors.

On my way home. Caught bits of everything. The only one I wouldn't see again is Black Fondu. The rest have varying degrees of enthusiasm which I might do a follow up on during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭Fanirish

arts council have nothing to do with it. It’s singular artists who promote it, with Jameson as main sponsor and few other partners on marketing etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭CoffeeImpala

Why did you quote me? I didn't say the Arts Council had anything to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Stillill42

I said the Arts Council, humble apologies to all and sundry. I just figured 30 odd bands, many of them international, a paltry entrance fee, there's no WAY that's all being covered by Jameson but hey, what do I know? Whoever's footing the bill, God bless them, it's a great event.

Good to see a great mix of young and old there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Went to see the Queen Extravaganza at the Waterfront in Belfast last night! The official Queen tribute band, hand picked by Brian May and Roger Taylor they are really good. Caught them when they played the same venue last year and was so impressed that when it was announced that they were coming back I was straight on for tickets. They're at the 3Olympia tonight and there are still some tickets showing on Ticketmaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,873 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

To the guys who went to Borderline yesterday, how do you get from the main room to the cellar?

Do you have to go out and round, like when they're in normal use, or are there stairs inside?

Might affect who I see 🤣