If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Friendship Ending After a Decade; Would Like Feedback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭friendship_issue

No, I'm just really hurt. Really, really hurt.

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

I've met people like this when I was in my early 20's. They flit around people and then drop them when their number was up…but to come back as a changed person! Rinse and repeat. I was naive. Not any more.

You've been taken for a ride here. You'll fall for it again and lose your partner. Honestly, a lot of it is your own fault. Feck closures. No contact.

It sounds to me you fancy this fella and you'll get burned again.

They'll get back in contact when they need something and you'll jump.

On your head be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭JoChervil

The whole story feels more and more fake for me….

------------------------------------

Warned: Breach of Charter

Post edited by Big Bag of Chips on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 292 ✭✭Baseball72

to repeat what other posters have already said:

You need to cut all communication with this person.

You need some sessions with a counsellor to discuss this “friendship issue”.

You have no boundaries at all, no respect for yourself, or your partner. This is about you, not him, or the money you gave him.

seek out help - posting here is not the solution- especially as you are not listening.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,113 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

You don't have to answer here but think about this. If your partner had a "friend" like this guy, if he did for him everything you've done, if he was still chasing him even after everything that happened, if he felt about him like you feel about this guy, honestly - be honest with yourself, how would that make you feel?

You need to concentrate on your relationship with your partner, not on this guy. We could all tell, without ever meeting you, without knowing a thing about you, just from a few lines of text that you had unreciprocated feelings for this fella. Your partner knows you intimately. He will know there's more to this than just a friend. He will sense your feelings, and he is probably quite hurt. If you see any sort of future for yourself with your partner please please drop it now.

There's nowhere so lonely as a relationship where you're second best.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

It's OK to be hurt. People will hurt you. But it's how you manage it is the key. Other people cannot manage it for you. There are friendships that you stick with because it started out great and all you want is that greatness back. But it started out great, similar to any other relationship because everyone's on their best behaviour. Some times it happens where the longer the friendship lasts the more people show their true colours and thats the truth of it, not the beginning period when it was fab and great craic. They're the friendships we all know in our guts we should walk away sooner and we end up kicking ourselves that we didn't. They don't bring out the best in us, in fact they probably bring out the worst. You are never going to be able to manage the hurt by emailing him, or by any response he could possibly give you. This is one of those instances where you have to manage it yourself and get passed it yourself. And you will. But don't contact him again. Do what people advised from the beginning, delete his contact details and move on in your own way. Don't let your ability to move on be dictated by him or his reactions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭mykrodot

so basically we are all wasting our time here giving you advice. And you are getting something out of reading all the replies and doing the opposite. I'm out. Good luck.

well get help for it, this is life! We all get hurt all the time, always by other people. You are not unique but you seem to like it and want more of it.

Posters have tried here and you keep sticking your hand back in the fire. I've no sympathy at this stage, in fact I'm beginning to feel sorry for the guy from the Faroe Islands.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,113 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

@mykrodot dial it back a bit there please. You are posting in Personal Issues. Posters come here when they are feeling low and need some advice and some support. Real life isn't a soap opera where issues get resolved overnight.

All posters are asked to read the forum charter and bear it in mind when posting in this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

It is very convenient for the Faroe man that he is cutting all ties with you when he still owes you over two grand. He is a user, pure and simple. People like him do not have any real friends, they have meal tickets. It is not a nice feeling being taken for a ride by somebody you considered to be a friend, I have been there myself. Take it as a life lesson OP and try to move past it.

It's a fair question because when I consider it, I can't imagine him doing that at all (i.e. what I have done). In fact, I would consider it a bit weird if he went to those lengths for someone he doesn't spend that much time with (either online or offline).

As it turns out, I didn't receive any reply to my emails to date nor is it looking likely. As much as I don't like it being the case, I think I should do as others have recommended to be here and just try to forget him / the situation, as soon as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Sigma101

What you're doing at this stage is textbook harassment.

You are persistently making unwanted communications to him despite his making it clear that he wants to cut off all contact with you. You are contacting people close to him. You are looking for repayment of money you gave him 10 years ago and that he has absolutely no legal obligation to repay you. You chose to spend money on him and, in my view, you are using your financial superiority to exploit his current predicament. You are doing this while knowing about his mental health difficulties and at the same time dismissing his illness. However abhorrent his behaviour might have been in Dublin he doesn't deserve this.

Stop contacting him. You are no longer the victim here. Any sympathy for you on this forum is completely misplaced.

------------------------------------------

Warned: breach of forum charter

Just to clarify a few things:

• I sent two follow-up emails over the course of a week. Nothing more than that. I have no intention of sending any more.
    • I talked with his ex-fiancé as she is a friend of mine and my partners. We get on great, and have both been burned by similar selfish behaviour from him. In fact, we spent more time discussing her break-up and she appreciated the conversation.
    • I'm not demanding he pay me back. I'm saying it's disappointing that he twice chose to receive money from me and then block me out of all his life. In neither email did I demand payment. In both cases, he told me he would pay me back.
    • I did not exploit his mental health situation. He came to me saying he was depressed and sad and so on, yet he came here without an ounce of depression. When I got angry, I stupidly brought up his condition (which I shouldn't have done). He was staying on his brother's sofa and I offered to help him out as I have a spare room. That's not exploitation. That's called generosity and being a friend.

delete

apologies there BBOC, its just hard to see someone walking right back to the source of their hurt. We've all been there and sometimes its a trigger to read posts so I will unfollow this particular thread. If only we could save people from wasted months and sometimes wasted years yearning for someone who is completely unavailable! Apologies again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭Tork

OP, I’m not buying your reasoning or your excuses. Everybody on this thread has identified that your feelings and behaviour towards Faroe man are unhealthy. Your responses to some good points made here have demonstrated that you just don’t get it.

I sent two follow-up emails over the course of a week. Nothing more than that. I have no intention of sending any more.
    I have a bridge in Brooklyn to sell you if you’re interested. Even Stevie Wonder can see that if he replies to one of your emails, you will reply. You no more believe this than anybody else who has been following this thread.

I talked with his ex-fiancé as she is a friend of mine and my partners. We get on great, and have both been burned by similar selfish behaviour from him. In fact, we spent more time discussing her break-up and she appreciated the conversation.
    Of course you enjoyed talking to her. It was a way to discuss your very favourite thing – Faroe Man. You’re living vicariously through her

I'm not demanding he pay me back. I'm saying it's disappointing that he twice chose to receive money from me and then block me out of all his life. In neither email did I demand payment. In both cases, he told me he would pay me back.
    It’s only disappointing if your head is in the clouds and you refuse to see this man for what he is. I don’t see it as disappointing. I see it as realistic.

I did not exploit his mental health situation. He came to me saying he was depressed and sad and so on, yet he came here without an ounce of depression. When I got angry, I stupidly brought up his condition (which I shouldn't have done). He was staying on his brother's sofa and I offered to help him out as I have a spare room. That's not exploitation. That's called generosity and being a friend.
    You’re infatuated with him and when the opportunity to play Florence Nightingale came along, you seized upon it.

The one thing you haven’t said you’ll do is seek help for this. When this man finally leaves your life and your headspace, it will will leave a void for the next bad actor. You have a track record of being burned by people you think are your friend, and you keep putting your hand back on the stove. Your reaction seems to be "You're right in theory but I just can't help it" This has to stop and we can’t help you here. It also might save your relationship because I wonder how long your partner will put up with this.

Talk to your GP about recommendations for a therapist ASAP. Or if your employer offers an employee assistance program, pick up the phone and make contact with them. You need help that's beyond the reach of people here.

I've said all I wanted to say in those emails. Last night all I did was apologize for going way over the top with my reaction even though what I was reacting against was a legitimate issue. So I tried to say that perhaps we can forgive and forget and move on from there. If he replied, I would only continue on the basis that I wouldn't provide any more money - ever - and that the loan from 10-years ago is paid back, as per what we agreed. As it turns out, he hasn't replied - meaning I've lost that money, and I have no longer need to contact him. I had nothing to lose by trying, and now I know where I stand.

As for his ex-fiancé, it has been almost a week since we spoke. We haven't spoken since about him or any matter.

I disagree with your characterization that I wanted to "play Florence Nightingale". That trivializes the matter. I had genuine concern for his circumstances and he suggested that he come here. I made the mistake of offering to purchase the flights when I had no need to. I admit that was a gigantic error of judgement on my part.

As for the seeking a therapist, I really don't think I need to. I'm very cynical when it comes to therapists and things like that. I will simply learn from this mistake and ensure it doesn't repeat itself in the future. Yes, it has happened several times in the past but I'm confident this time that it will not repeat in the future again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

Sounds like there is zero value to you in pursuing it.

If the guy was decent in any way, when he broke communication with you, he would have at least repaid the €1000 you lent him for the dentist. He sounds like a real pos.

Ideally, yes.

From his closing email to me, it seems that the "psychological toll" that I allegedly inflicted upon him "outweighs" any financial contribution I made toward him or his circumstances i.e. that it's effectively compensation for anything I did to cause him stress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

You should seek therapy for why you behave this way with people. It really will do you the world of good.

People like him don't have any issue taking advantage of people like you. But you really should stay away from people like that. Weigh it up, and he's just not a decent person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭Tork

As for the seeking a therapist, I really don't think I need to. I'm very cynical when it comes to therapists and things like that. I will simply learn from this mistake and ensure it doesn't repeat itself in the future. Yes, it has happened several times in the past but I'm confident this time that it will not repeat in the future again.

Seriously? From reading your replies to this, my reading is the very opposite. You have learned absolutely nothing from this experience. Good luck. You're going to need it.

Everyone could do with talking to a counsellor at some period in their life. It's not an admission of failure. None of us breeze through life unscathed. Sometimes working through situations with someone objective gives is great clarity.

You should consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

This is the thing that people are all telling you, but it doesn't seem to register / you don't want it to register. If he replies perhaps we can forgive and forget and move on… and If he replied you would continue on the basis that you wouldn't provide any more money… You aren't seeing things clearly. Move on with what / continue with what exactly?? It is a one way "friendship" but it's not even that to be honest... You are constantly doing the reaching out, you are offering him visits to you, its all YOU. You are trying too hard and way too invested in this, it's almost an obsession / infatuation it seems at times. What also stands out in previous posts is your comments about you'd pay for his flights here, and were going to offer him 50% in a business idea just like that, as a means of "buying / securing" the friendship or his attention… I'm not attacking you personally, certainly not my intention to kick you when you're down but take a step back from it all, maybe re read all this thread again, and think a bit more about it all and try see the wood from the trees. Its sometimes not easy to read criticisms and we become defensive and explain ourselves more, perhaps you need justifications for each action or there is an insecurity (which is fine if there is, most people have insecurities) hence all the comments and responses here to every point made, but everything seems to be a justification or reasoning, for example everyone here said don't email him again yet you did with a "justification / validation" that it was regarding something. You mentioned that you really don't think you need to see a therapist, and say that you will learn from this mistake and ensure it doesn't repeat itself, then in the next line suggest it has happened a few times in the past… I am sure you have said that after each previous instance too... It's possibly your personality trait, wanting friends, and wanting people to be friends with you and doing what it takes to make friends. I wish you all the best.

Pur yourself in your partner's shoes. How do you think all this looks to him? If he was the one doing all the things you have done and said, how would that make you feel about yourself and your value in your relationship?

I hope you step back. It's ok to be annoyed. It's ok to be upset. Acknowledge the feelings and then resolve to not allowing those feelings take over. I'm sure you'd prefer to be happy, and relaxed and in love! Concentrate on those feelings and soon the other ones will fade away.

Actually op, this is a great post. Especially the last sentence.

How does your partner feel? I've been and seen this before. End of a relationship.

Do you constantly talk about this guy? It'd be a gigantic red flag to me now.

Focus on what you have, if you really want it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,223 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Haven’t read thread other than the OP but the biggest mistake you made was when he actually did offer to pay, you said no rush.

Can’t be doing that.

My partner did feel that I was going too far buying flights, but he also knows I'm too generous by nature.

I have had a tendency to do too much for friends, who probably knew that I was going too far.

There is no direction toward the end of our relationship. He knows how I feel about friends and how I do sometimes go too far.

I would never sacrifice my relationship for any friend.

I think you need to stop referring to him as your friend.

There's also a very real chance you're not the only person he "borrowed" money from. People like that tend to have more than one mark.

Concentrate on what you have in your life, not what you don't have.

That's fair enough. I'm glad you're both close and able to talk.

But in saying that, and its just my opinion, no way would I be okay with what you're doing. I do find it disrespectful.

You don't fancy the scrounging git, but you keep chasing them. And you are chasing them.

I really disagree with this idea that he wasn't my friend.

Did he sometimes make errors of judgement? Yes. But haven't we all had friends who have done that? No friend is perfect.

There is too much evidence that he was a friend of mine whilst at the same time, he made bad decisions.

This idea that friends cannot make bad decisions in their own self-interest makes them a non-existent friend to begin with, I just don't accept.

I know I have been less than a perfect friend to other people in the past. Isn't it just a fact of life? That things are sometimes complicated.