If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Meanwhile on the Roads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Paddigol

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/meath/news/meath-woman-48-who-caused-death-of-motorcyclist-on-m50-has-driving-ban-halved-due-to-lawyer-error/a1416978474.html#:~:text=A%20woman%20who%20avoided%20jail,four%2Dyear%20disqualification%20was%20mandatory.

Misleading headline really. She has her driving ban halved due to her eagerness to get back driving and her own wish to challenge her punishment as being too harsh. This a woman who already had four previous RTA convictions. Can only hope I never encounter her on the road. Maybe she was the woman in the Volvo SUV yesterday who kept undertaking traffic by hopping into the bus lane on the N11?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,110 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Project zero 2030 definitely on track anyway. There'll be no-one at all left on the roads by then at the rates we're colliding with (killing) each other… :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,870 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Judge Martin Nolan…………………

Two things jump out - one being that Nolan doesn't even know the sentencing laws and blindly followed the barristers without bothering to check for himself.

Secondly - his initial thinking was a one-year ban………….. FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,565 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭nicksnikita

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

The appeal judge - 'a momentary lapse' 'could have happened to anyone'

The woman who killed the man in full, unclouded possession of her faculties 'I don't remember' driving into the hard margin and killing someone. And then cried when her glib denial was exposed as a lie by video footage which somehow allows her leniency for killing someone, because she was sober, not speeding and admitted looking him relatively quickly.

Fcuck off. Fcuk the whole way off. If you kill someone with something you should never be let in possession of that thing again. No matter how contrite, if you kill someone in full consciousness you should go to prison and never ever be let drive again.

She has 4 previous convictions for driving offences, she should never be let behind the wheel of a car again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭LeoD

You know many people will argue this will be as painful for her as it will be for the family of the deceased as she'll have to live with this pain for the rest of her life… I've heard this argument and without using foul language have basically said the same as you - fcuk off, fcuk the whole way off…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Well said @eeeee

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/drink-and-drug-driving-a-key-concern-amid-a-spike-in-road-fatalities-this-year/a926015489.html

Some stark facts in that piece. A copy of it should be printed off and rammed down the throat of the next populist idiot of a local councillor who suggests everyone should be forced to wear builders vests.

A very factual, but dry response from Eamon Ryan. It bugs me - it's precisely the reason why I started this thread; to highlight the myopic way we view road use and road safety. It show's what we're up against - 'careful now, don't start an argument on this or they may start a campaign to force us wear builders vests, just state the facts'.

Whereas in reality O'Snodaigh should have been absolutely lambasted - pilloried for having the neck to try and raise an issue without actually appreciating the very simple law on that very issue. It just perpetuates the whole concept of 'sure why wouldn't you do anything that might protect you', 'sure drivers can't be expected to see everything', 'sure it's hard enough for drivers as it is', 'sure they were just trying to get to work' and on and on AND ON.

What that kind of response does is maintains the dynamic of looking at road safety from a 'what can we do for drivers' perspective instead of a 'what should we demand and expect of drivers'.

So O'Snodaigh will simply forget that he was ever put back in his box, see the lack of legislation making builders vests mandatory as simply an abberation and beat his drum again from a different angle at some opportune moment in the future. He doesn't give two f**ks about road safety, just about political point scoring. And unfortunately he's probably representative of a majority of TDs. How else can you explain the lack of meaningful action or reform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

image.png

Although it's just some absolute loser making these comments, this kind of attitude isn't uncommon, I'd say there are loads of people out there in Ireland that are actually happy with cyclists are killed. Hope this guy pulls through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭Damien360

Clearly that was said to trigger someone and they succeeded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

mocking someone who may die from a horrible accident would trigger a lot of people to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,110 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

it's not worth reading the comments under any news story. It's knuckle-draggers all the way down, the IT were right to get rid of their comments section, though the morons have just migrated to their FB comments.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

Did it happen at exit?

The N25/N40 in Cork is similar; at exits you have to come out of hard shoulder and cross exit and onto ghost traffic Island. Same on re entry point for traffic on far side of junction.

It's safer to just exit and come back down but don't think I ever did.

If it goes wrong it's going to be a high speed collision.

Hopefully cyclist is ok

Looks like it alright. I actually passed it last evening on the bus coming home. Only saw the road closure before it, thankfully I missed the scene itself.

That would be my standard work commute - the exit looks to be the northbound offramp to the Southern Cross, Greystones. It would be a nightmare for any cyclist unfamiliar with the road or not entirely confident. The hard shoulder would basically start to divert you to the off ramp before you realise it, meaning that to go straight ahead you'd have to pull out of the hard shoulder and across the left turning lane, back onto the main road. I just drift onto the main lane in advance to avoid that scenario, but you'll still come across asshats who'll overtake you just to then pull hard across you to race down the exit.

There was another nasty incident a few years back at that junction, also involving a cyclist.

Can you imagine the furore if cyclists were responsible for even a fracture of the chaos caused by motorists this morning;

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/dublin/dublin-news/dublin-traffic-and-travel-luas-crash-causes-major-disruption-delays-on-m50-and-other-routes/a1272470562.html

It's hard enough to get organised road closures from the Gardai for race events anymore because of the 'inconvenience' they'd cause to motorists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I had assumed the accident was southbound when I heard it. I always go off at Kilpedder and back on at the Grove, but you'd have to be familiar with that option.

It's on the N17, the main Sligo-Galway road, so there's an awful lot of through traffic. Bit much to be trying to blame the parents for it.

The N17 either side Ballinacarrow is so poor that the limit is already reduced to 80kmph and the road has so many turns that most drivers stick close to the 80. For whatever reason though, most drivers then seem to maintain around 70-80 whilst going through the village as well.

If ever a location screamed out for fixed speed cameras at either side of the village, this is it.

I don't see why it's a bit much, given that the times in question here would be school start/ close. For whatever reason (not speaking to this case specifically) any schools I pass on my commute are inundated with parents swinging in/ out to drop off kids… gone are the days of cycling/ walking to school. It's no coincidence that traffic times skyrocket as soon as schools return, and drop off a cliff when they're closed. I'd be confident that most of the drivers I've seen pull ridiculous stunts behind the wheel have/ had kids in school at some point… it doesn't seem to have conditioned their behaviour for the better.

Because you clearly don't know the village, the road, or any of the parents whose children attend the school - but feel that it's fine to blanket blame them for the dangerous driving through Ballinacarrow.

It's a busy National Primary route, there's less than 80 kids in the school. There's hundreds commuting to Sligo town passing through the village every morning.

TII traffic counts at Curry on the N17 (closest point on the N17 they collect data for) show ADT of over 7,000. Yet the parents of those 80 kids are seemingly responsible for at least half of the dangerous driving. 🙄

175 drivers were referenced, not 7,000. The article specifically referenced motorist behaviour 'near the school', not the entire length of the N17. I've plenty of experience of the behaviour of motoring parents in various schools. I don't think I need to know the school or road personally to make a 'bet my bottom dollar' type comment. If you took my post as being directed at specific individuals, then fine, I'll clarify that it wasn't. But I think your missing the point of my comment.

The school is located adjacent to the N17 - it's traffic on the N17 that is the problem there. The school's gates used actually open onto the N17, until they opened a new entrance approx 15 years ago.

You've an issue with schools in general - maybe don't take a specific story about an individual school and project your issues onto it.

I'm perfectly happy to stand by my initial comments. I've no issues "with schools in general"… what a strange take. I've an issue with irresponsible driving by parents driving kids to school and I've enough experience of it on the roads, in cars, buses and on bike. You seem determined to ignore that and berate me for having an opinion (as opposed to stating a fact) so I'll leave the conversation there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,565 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Catherine Connolly spoke in Dáil on 17/04 - how many knew that Ireland had the first road fatality?

image.png

and Paul Murphy made sense

image.png

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,638 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I did, RSA did a really stupid advertising compaign using the story in order to bring awareness of road deaths. How they thought it would connect with people and make them drive leaglly I don't know. Interesting fact, but it was never going to affective.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I had a procedure in the Bon Secours earlier and decided to drive there from Leixlip. Heading around the M50, I was watching this driver behind me who clearly had the foot down despite the clearly marked Roads Policing car beside me. As I approached the Ballymun exit, the driver too was heading that way and before I knew it, the gardai had moved in behind the other driver and were pulling them over.
    Further on my journey, as I was heading inbound along the Ballymun Rd, a taxi driver beside me was clearly impatient to get wherever he was going, even at a set of red lights (near St Pappin Rd). When the lights went green, the taxi driver headed off in haste and heading down the hill just after Albert College Park, a motorcycle garda was standing in the middle of the road directing the driver in to a safe stopping place.
    Maybe things are starting to change on the roads?

Whether it was coincidental or what, as I was heading home I pulled into my local supermarket. Heading into the shop, I stopped and helped an old lady who had a stroller thingy and was trying to put a few bottles into the recycle machine. Anyhow, I helped her and then bought my stuff. Heading on home, I stopped at the lights in Confey on Captains Hill when a load of school kids were crossing the road. As the lights went from red to amber, the lady I had helped started crossing the road. I was in no hurry so happily sat there. Two boys who had crossed turned back and actually helped her cross the road - somehting I haven't seen in years. As I was heading away, I rolled down my passenger window and just said "fair play to youse" - it's great to see kids who have been brought up with manners!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .