Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryan Tubridy joins The Wireless Group - Thread bans in opening post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

There was absolutely nothing hysterical in that post.

You're doing comedy now I see?

That's a very intriguing, delicious, and some would say bonkers take on what happened.

This is one of the most ridiculous posts I've ever seen on boards - and that's saying something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Dose anyone know if the children of the Great Britain been informed of this breaking news!!

Boy are they in for a treat 😀, probably not seen this level of excitement since Blue Peter....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Economics101

I'm glad that Ryan Tubridy has found a new role. I hope all the haters and begrudgers on the other thread don't bring their nonsense to this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Allinall

They already have, predictably enough.

Sad people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭Xander10

I don't think your allowed to call them fags anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,589 ✭✭✭Hoboo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭StevenToast

What about Tubridys "special relationship" with the children of Ireland....

If himself or NK carry on with that shìt in the UK he will be brought down to reality fairly quickly....

That Jimmy Saville/Rolf Harris schtick wont wash over there.....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

I wonder if the Rte scandal is something the UK media might look into and while they might believe RT's "innocence" in the matter there is a chance they could delve into his agents affairs if there is any chance of a couple of good headlines?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

It’s a pity this thread had to be polluted with their bile as well.

There’s definitely an element of schadenfreude on my part, seeing the usual cribbers and whingers throwing a tantrum, stamping their feet, and crying because Ryan Tubridy managed to land himself back on his feet.

”If the RTE salary isn’t good enough why doesn’t he try to find himself a job in the UK then” was their mantra for almost 20 years. Well he did it. He didn’t moan on the internet, he got himself out there and he did it. ‘Nuff said. 😎

-----------------------------------------

Warned for off-topic. Discuss the topic, not other posters.

Post edited by Big Bag of Chips on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,434 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The muckrakers stay away from each others interests, and Virgin is owned by Murdoch. They just all go after the BBC instead

Because of overspill risk they won't touch it, nor is it a big enough story there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭ForestFire

yeah how did that barter account and NK holdings in the UK stack up to UK compliance?

Bile?

Says the person who called me a cancer, a lying scumbag and a doxxer - in the same post. Not to mention the many other things you've said about me.

---------------------------------------

Warned for off topic posting. Take your dispute elsewhere. It's tedious for others to have to scroll through.

The RTE scandal was small time. If Irish “celebs” weren’t involved then it would have been forgotten about after a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,968 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I know it’s part of the sell job but I’m trying to think why Chris Evans is reacting as if the Messiah has just landed in his studio.

Tubs slightly implies that it may be Chris himself that helped him land the gig.

Going by the photo with Kelly it may be another case of “we’re all in the troughs”.

Liar.

Warned for off-topic posting. Take your dispute elsewhere.

So you're denying you said those things about me?

Warned for off-topic posting. Take your dispute elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,974 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Andy Preston does a 5 hour show?? on Q102 https://www.q102.ie/on-air/andy-preston/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

The assumption that he can make a success of this is a little premature dontyathink?

He failed previously in Britain. It's not like he's improved or anything.

The comments on the Virgin X/Twitter page aren't very #kind......did they not share the passwords with NKM yet so all "nasty internet trolls" can be edited and deleted?

I predict there'll be some posters having a late night tonight...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

The opinions of oddballs, losers, malcontents and the hopelessly mentally ill on Twitter can be safely ignored. Lads who have no happiness and purpose in life getting up angry and starting the abuse that will continue until they fall asleep alone. Cesspit of a site.

Reformed character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,099 ✭✭✭amacca

One can be a critic without wishing ill on a person or it being a very bad day if they land a gig

It's surely possible to express an opinion you think he was a shite presenter/entertainer with the charisma of an auld shoe and at the same time not have your nose out of joint if he lands a job?

Best of luck to him I say ....if he makes a success of it he will have proven me wrong and I'm perfectly OK with that.....there are plenty of "entertainment" products out there I find revolting but are quite popular so lots of people must like them...

Still doesn't stop me from thinking they are shite and you must be lacking intelligence/discernment/whatever to like them etc......but that's life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭Expunge

Couple of questions.....

An existing presenter in that slot on Virgin has lost that gig or his contract expired or whatever. Correct?

A presenter on Q102 will lose a gig also, yes? Who would that be?

Also, does the regulator not need to take a look at this arrangement of a daily, scheduled, live networked show coming from a foreign country on Irish local radio?

It's hardly in the best interests of the industry here. No?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,994 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

That’s what happened, amigo. Fionnan Sheahan even went to great “lengths” to point that out on Pat Kenny’s show recently.

Now, I know you’re in a going to be in a foul mood since the man you, personally, hate and have spent years, at this stage, attacking him online, has gotten a massively impressive “gig” over in England but look on the bright side, now you can hate-listen again daily and hound him from afar once more.

The biggest winner from all of this will be Brendan O’Connor. Maybe now he’ll be spared your obsessive focus.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

No sure, let him at it. Going to be tough for Ryan to fill 3 hours a day, 5 days a week. He could waffle away here about what he did yesterday, about kindness and the lovely gifts sent into him for less than an hour. But after a few days, it just got boring. How's he going to keep the balls in the air for 3 hours? He'll have to reinvent himself big time, so let him at it.

Ah once again, those who criticize Turbidy are oddballs, losers, malcontents and hopelessly mentally ill. You left out "men over 40 who live on their own" and "incels" from your usual list of descriptors. Intriguing.

If you think Ryan Tubridy was going to turn a job down because it would mean that someone else would else would lose their own gig then you may actually be the most naive adult I have ever encountered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,994 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

But no wrongdoing was found on the part of Ryan or his agent.

If anything, UK celebs might be looking to sign up with NK Management knowing that will be under the wing of someone who can get the best deals for their clients.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis