The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Ironically, the main reason that Galway are overrated is because they regularly beat Mayo, and many believe, falsely, that Mayo are a decent team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

What an utterly bitter and twisted post. Get over yourself, Meath don’t like being the curtain raiser to a Dublin game, pity about you. Only one emery yo solve that. Dublin arrogant, not in the slightest, yours is a bitter opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,320 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I dunno Galway were in an AI final last year gave a great account of themselves, this year they were unfortunate that their two main forwards - Comer went off injured, and Walsh had probably his worst game in the Maroon geansai. It would be the equivalent of Kerry having S.Shea off injured and David Clifford having a terrible match.

I think a lot of that Mayo panel would walk into the Dublin team, if they wore a Dublin jersey the mindset and psychology of them would be completely different. It is a lack of 'cultural confidence' that Mayo players have IMO.

I can't exactly remember the fellas name but I think it was an Offaly fella won a Sam with them, switched to Mayo played inter-county with them 1980's or so. And was shocked at the high standard of players Mayo had, who said if they had Offaly jersey's on they would win AI's

--

Last Sunday Mayo had Dublin but folded. In Dessie Farrell's interview he was asked what he said to the Dublin players at HT. I was thinking it wasn't anything Dessie said to Gee them up! Dessie wouldn't be the most motivational fella.

And he said in the interview 'I did not say much to be honest'. 'It was the lads themselves that did it'. That to me shows the mindset of the players that is mental strength under severe pressure. Mayo went the other other way mental weakness under severe pressure.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I was thinking as well the Dublin hurlers are curtain raisers to plenty of Dublin football matches, you don't hear them whinging. Is it is an ego mindset thing?

Meath like the former bubbly big busted blonde, with everything going south and can't take it? Is it embarrassment? Proper Meath fans would not think like that IMO.

It is up to Meath to improve.win the Talteann cup, get to div1, regularly beat the weaker teams in Leinster - Westmeath, Longford, Louth, Carlow, Kildare etc. Have a run to the AI series.

If Meath had any confidence in themselves they should look on this as an opportunity to play in front of a big crowd and show fans what they are about. But for some reason Meath fans are worried about Dublin fans. Sure loads live in Meath anyway! A good chance of a lift back on the day.

--

I think it is the rare overly self conscious Meath fans such as @RoyalCelt , who don't like the optics.

Surely most Meath fans are delighted for the chance to play in CP and win silverware. Plus get to see two matches as well.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Why isn't there a multiple "Thanks" button on this site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,696 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Dublin are a poor team, a shadow of their former selves. The management are a bit clueless. Not much hope for them against Monaghan. Very lucky to get promoted this year, and will struggle in Division 1.

(I'm channeling my inner Gormdubh).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80,750 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Those two sets of supporters cause trouble where ever they go, football or social events. The worst of both counties. (and I'm from Monaghan)

Time the GAA banned them from games altogether. Zero tolerance.

😀

Well Dessie proved me wrong yesterday made brave switches in the changes he made - good to have Jack in reserve, stuck with Basquel who was on form. Kept Paddy Small and Kilkenny in reserve as well. Put Mannion in who I was unsure about - had done little all year. But he did well.

I think Kilkenny slows things down a bit too much, if a team wants intense play he is not the fella to start, good at the link man control stuff. Which he was great to have when killing a game later on. Kilkenny has been fairly muted this year IMO.

I did not expect Mayo to implode so spectacularly, they went from causing havoc in the Dublin back line simple high ball in - chasing harrying - Ryan O'Donoghue, O'Shea winning ball etc. Then bang second half Dublin out flying and Mayo folded - conceded a silly second goal, heads dropped, missed an easy goal chance heads dropped further. That is six points difference straight away.

In that first 10 minutes of the second half some Mayo man needed to go down with an 'injury' early kill momentum, make it bitty,

I said it on the Dublin thread Dublin are in bonus territory as far as I am concerned now. If you offered me an AI SF match at the start of the year I would have bitten your hand off.

Plus i like watching the Monaghan operate (tactically/system wise) as well. So win or lose I will enjoy the match. Plus I will get to see the Tailteann Cup as well if I get a ticket. Another bonus!

--

Edit Monaghan are probably the best draw Dublin could have got out of the choices available. I never said that Dublin don't have a hope against Monaghan. What I did say (predraw) is that Monaghan have a chance v every team bar Kerry. Given the Monaghan system etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭mikefromcork

With all that being said, your "bleeding yerra" schtick is comically bad.

Meant as reply to gormDaragorm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

I genuinely don't think you are a Dublin fan. Bitten your hand off for an All Ireland semi final. Cop on and stop trolling.

Look back at the Dublin thread so it is all there, comments on league, championship.Even O'Byrne Cup over the years. And that is just my comments on the footballers.

Looking at it logically I had

Kerry no1 (following the Peak Dublin defensive blueprint) letting the magic forwards do the damage upfront while grinding down teams chipping away at the score board not doing anything silly

I had Mayo second great in the league - a vibrant young team, with pace and power

Galway were a solid third in my mind at the start of the championship - if Comer stayed fit and Walsh fired a match for any side

--

Then below that there was Tyrone, Monaghan, Dublin, Derry, Cork, Armagh, Kildare all vying for that fourth spot.

--

Plus Dublin had a very average league in div2 - struggled v Kildare, Clare, Cork, lost to Derry once. Plus the main reason Dublin won div2 v Derry was that Glass went off injured early on in the final and it turned the game. Then struggled again v Kildare in Leinster.

I could go back further on the Dublin decline in the year previous to that, so yes I definitely would have been delighted with a SF spot at the start of this year for Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

So why have this complex beast of a championship format? Gates and TV income?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,406 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

So Derry and Monaghan are competitive, but Armagh is abysmal even though both those teams only beat Armagh on penalties after extra time? Or Galway is abysmal because Armagh and Mayo beat them narrowly? Kerry and Dublin are a bit ahead, but the next half dozen teams are much the same in standard.

The league doesn't matter a jot man. Dublin were 2nd favs nearly favs for the all Ireland all year , same as last. They lost out last year to Kerry by 1 pt with no Con. I get being a fan can make you a bit pessimistic but you just take the piss for me. Anyway apologies shouldn't have called you a troll. I was wrong about that. Different opinions and all that

Both and to override the antiquated provincial system. The way the AI series is set up is the way the provinces should be. Weeds out the poor sides no flukes. Gives all teams a 'cut at it' no excuses. Westmeath were in hard luck in it, the the Rossies had good showings, and Kildare's inconsistencies were shown up by the AI series.

Until there is enough of people who want to get rid of the provincial system, this was the best solution the GAA could come up with

That is a good question, but not the point I am making.

This is the first year of the new format, three of the four group winners winning their quarter-final does not by itself make the one week turnaround the issue.

The league does matter IMO for the last 20 plus years there has been a direct correlation between successful league teams and championship. Go down through the years if you don't believe me. Also it is crucial for Dublin to be in div1 - as they get no proper games in Leinster the majority of the time as most teams there are lower div 2 - div 3 and div 4.

Dublin fans have called me worse than a troll, the year I said Kerry would beat Dublin in the AI SF they called me a Kerryman!! And one poster was kind enough to rejig my grav with flatcap and pipe, which I kept!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,157 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Dunno what Meath fans are worried about anyway. Sher the Dubs fans wont arrive in from the pub until 10 minutes into the Monaghan game :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

So after all the new format with groups and all it will be still Dublin v Kerry just as it would have been without the new format.

Hahahaha that is gas, fair enough man , ya reckon Monaghan will beat them well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭vetinari

"Flukes" are the main excitement part for a neutral. The new format was a load of shite. Endless games just to again have a Dublin Kerry final. They're going to kill off general interest in football with this approach. Group formats only work if there's an actual risk to a contender.

Imo, Cork knocking out Kerry in 2020 and then getting knocked out by Tipp was the kind of excitement that's been missing from football for years. No sense of danger for any big team until the quarter finals. And even there the really big teams will avoid each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,251 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

The timekeeping complaint was just ridiculous.

Monaghan were driving forward in middle and were dragged down with around 20 seconds left. Of course there was time to move the ball forward.

Then a player went down injured - what did McGeeney expect the ref to do, just blow the full time whistle ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Ya. Agree completely with your last line. It was like as if at half time, Dublin players were revved up to go out and destroy Mayo in 10 minutes. But the Mayo mindset was a nervous hope that they wouldn't get blitzed. I think the Mayo team were more focused on that negative factor, rather than focusing on remaining determined to bring the game to Dublin. If I recall correctly, McCarthy jumped about 20 feet in the second half throw-in to punch the ball towards the Mayo goal side, and Dublin got a point from it. And it was curtains then from Mayo - like as if they were afraid to take up the challenge. The majority of the Mayo players went missing. I was watching to see the off the ball running, and there was none. Many of the players did not want to demand the ball to produce anything useful. At 8 points down, they were still content to be kicking the ball back and forth across their own '45. Didn't have that drive to try to penetrate through the Dublin defense. Of course, that is easier said than done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

I think it worked out perfectly for the GAA. The big "Elephant in the Room" is potentially the Group Stages. If these matches were played at training pace with a lot of shadow boxing simply because most teams know they would get in the top three then they would likely phase out pretty quick due to lack of interest. What happened to Galway and subsequently Mayo I think whether it has any actual relevance will see a lot more teams "all out" gunning for top spot next year.

Also which I really don't understand the cribbing of the turnaround or consecutive matches in a row is finishing top in any competition should mean something and benefit the teams that do it. Dublin, Kerry, Derry and Armagh deserved that reward. It should be more difficult for those that finished 2nd and 3rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

"Weeds out the poor sides no flukes."

Which looked at another way is just a mechanism to ensure that none of the 'big counties' get knocked out by a bad day at the office.

No real surprises possible or very unlikely. It's set up to maximise games, revenue and to ensure the cream rise to the top, one way or another.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

The irony of a Mayo man saying any team is overrated...

Curse lifted this year and neither McStay or "Aidan O'Shea and his magic left boot" could get into the semi-finals.

😂

Most competitions are organised so that the best team wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭rodmn2377

Thats all sport competitions.... you want the best teams getting to the final stages as they will usually give the the best games cause there fairly evenly matched.... ya we get the odd shock with the underdog but ya can count on your hand id say the amount of them we have had in the last 10yrs... that yr that Tipp beat cork they then got hockeyed out of it by Mayo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Disappointing weekend of action whereby the scheduling played a big part in making two of the Quarter finals total mis-matches in the 2nd halves and I believe Cork would have received the same trimming had they played Kerry or Dublin instead of Derry as they were totally gassed for the majority of the 2nd half.

The one competitive Quarter final between Armagh and Monaghan will hardly live long in the memory unless from Monaghan. I know some Monaghan supporters don't like this said about them but they are one county punching above their weight. 2nd semi final now in 5 years and nine consecutive years in Div 1.

The semi final v Dublin will be bridge too far for them but hopefully they give a decent account of themselves.

The way Derry set up should make it difficult for Kerry but won't have the scoring power to topple Kerry

Bookies don't ride around on bicycles from the start of the championship they had Kerry and Dublin 1 and 2 in the betting and that's how this championship will likely finish.

Those Tipp and Cavan wins to the SF's were real outliers though. it was the covid year and teams had AFL lads staying in Ireland. One of them played for Cork knocked Kerry out for example. plus there was another few AFL lads crucial to the other counties.