Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

ive had a horrible year

• 18-11-2022 5:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭

Last year I interviewed for a teaching job in an etb centre that according to the description, I was fully qualified and experienced for, this was my dream job btw, the job i've been aiming for since I left college 10 years ago! Ive worked voluntarily in similar roles and worked for very little money in similar roles to gain experience and good references. I had a level 8 undergrad directly related to the job, a level 8 higher diploma specialising in another area related to the job and was half way through a masters degree directly related to a large component of the work so all my qualifications and experience are directly related to this role. The person previously in the role had retired, I know this person and know they have no qualifications but they would have started the job 15 or 20 years ago when no qualifications were required.

When I applied and interviewed for the job, the manager really liked me and decided they wanted me for the job but someone in HR who unfortunatly, the book falls with in terms of employing people, who has never met me & never spoke to me and has no clue about what my job would entail, decided that he did not want to employ me because I don't have a very specific masters qualification that isnt even needed for this role. (I dont want to give details on the job as I dont want to potentially risk identification) but this person in HR decided at this point that I wasnt qualified enough for the job. Because of this, I was under the impression I didnt get the job and I moved on with my life.

a few months later I was contacted by the manager, she was basically telling me that herself and the other manager who interviewed me had been fighting for me to get the job and they had good news, I was being offered the position. My initial thought was I cant take it, I was doing a very full on masters and thought I couldnt take on any more work as my current job was giving me flexibility and was only down the road from me. This new job was in Dublin and id have to travel over an hour by bus to get there and back. But my current job had no future and I was given the impression the new job would offer more money, the job was part time so would allow me to fit college around it, I had the promise of a future there, I would be doing what ive always wanted to do and I what ive been working towards, and although it would be more work and time in terms of travelling and earlier mornings/later home times, it would be worth it in the end as once id finished my masters I would be under way less pressure, I naively thought that hard work paid off 😂🤣

The more I thought about, the more I felt that I had to take it, I accepted and signed the contracts.

And the issues started to arise.

1. My job requires its own room or space to plan, prep, for storage and to take client groups, I was told previously that this space was available. When I started the job the first issue arose in that this space was not available, they told me there was something wrong with it and they were waiting for it to be fixed but was assured it would be fixed very soon, so I adapted myself to suit their situation trying to do my job the best I could without the basics of the requirements needed to do the job.
    2. The job was paid monthly, the first month came and I didnt get paid. I contacted payroll who told me they hadnt been sent my details. I contacted HR who told me they had sent my details so I was going back and forth trying to figure out what the issue was. At this point I had money saved up for the two years of my masters just to cover the fees. Id already paid most of my first year fees by this stage so had just enough left to pay for second year. I had no other income so used my savings to get by while I was waiting to be paid in my job, thinking I will just replenish the savings when I get paid the following month, i had about 3500 in savings. The following pay day came and I still hadnt been paid. I again contacted payroll and HR but was fobbed off and told they didnt know why I wasnt paid. Month 3 I wasnt paid again and by now had gone through all my savings. I desperatly contacted payroll several times begging for my wages or even just some of my wages as I was struggling financially and getting into debt.
    3. Eventually I was told the reason I was not being paid was because I wasnt garda vetted (I was) then they said they lost my garda vetting then said they needed me to do a new one, id already done this, they were waiting to receive it but withholding my wages from me until then.
    4. Eventually they paid me after 3 months but I was put on emergency tax and was not given the full wages, they paid me in dribs and drabs over the next few months, some months I got as little as 800 euro so I couldnt save, pay off the debts id owed or replenish the savings id lost. Only for I was consistently assured I would be getting what was owed to me, I would have left the job but felt I was in too deep at this point as my savings were gone and I wouldnt get another job at short notice like that.
    5. At the end of august I was sent an email stating that I was not considered qualified for the job and I would not recieve the full amount of pay and I would not get any holiday pay or any entitlments or rights and I would not be able to renew my contract for the following year. I was still being emergency taxed and could not get this sorted through revenue, as they kept sending the wrong forms to payroll or sending forms with missing or wrong information.
    6. The managers fought for me, had a meeting with the CEO who signed off on my contract and assured me that I will be offered future contracts at the correct rate of pay. After this I received another letter saying that I was still deemed unqualified, on lower rate of pay and again, would not be entitled to future contracts. I then got a phone call from the manager telling me he was so sorry but the man in HR wont approve my contract because he thinks I should have another masters qualification that I actually dont even need for this job as its totally irrelevent to the position. Ive also had written confirmation from the jobs council that my qualifications are more than sufficient but this man has decided to dig his heels in and refused point blank to sign off my contract. So I stayed in this job through all the mess because I was told from the beginning it would work out as a life long secure job for me if I wanted it. As all of this was going on, the stress and financial difficulties were causing me issues with college, the lecturers are not compassionate or understanding whatsoever so instead of offering any support they forced me out and told me to come back next year to finish the course when I dont have so much going on. So I had to take a year out.
    7. Ive still not had a proper wage as im still being emergency taxed 8 months after I started the job, ive been back and forth to revenue trying to have this sorted out. I think its finally been fixed but I dont get paid until the end of the month. If it has been fixed and im no longer being emergency taxed, this will be my first real proper wage since I started the job 8 months ago. Ive also finally been given my own room to plan and prep and work in. So things are starting to look up but cant help feeling this job derailed my whole life!!

I really needed to get that out, ive never actually wrote it all down before or gone through everything step by step so if you have read it, thank you! I suppose my question is more looking for advice really, where do I go from here? After all that and after all that sacrifice and hard work and getting my hopes up, its all lead to nothing!

Post edited by Hannibal_Smith on

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,927 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Mod Note

OP, I've moved your thread to the Work and Jobs forum, which is probably a better place for it. Local charter now applies.

All the best

HS

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭Nighttime22

You seem like a nice reasonable person willing to give people the benefit of the doubt, when it comes to companies like that and HR and trust me HR are a breed onto there own you need to be alot more aggressive and in general in there face about things dont be reasonable at all with them or you will be put on a merry go round of being fobbed off while they sit there drinking there lattes.

When you encounter issues like that at a company its better to get out early than stay there so long that you have to fight to get the money and deal with the stress and bullshit that comes with it. Again demand clarification of whether you have the job leave no doubt and demand your paid on time or your out dont wear there ****. Remember in all likely hood these people dont give a **** about you and you should treat them in the same regard.

In short alot of these types of people are dickheads and should be dealt with accordingly assume they are until proven otherwise and escalate as need, dont ever be afraid to tell a job to go **** themselves plenty of work out there and anything is better than being a doormat.

Cut your loses and move on, get what you can out of it but more importantly you've just being given the best education on what these companies are like and you know in future what to ask and what to do and how to deal with these people.

These things happen in life, chin up and drive on!

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Teapot30

Thanks so much for this reply, I was having a moment of feeling sorry for myself but you put it into perspective and in a really compassionate way which I really appreciate! These things do happen in life, youre right! I think the only reason I stayed as long as I did is because these type of jobs are like hens teeth lately with ETB's cutting back on certain types of jobs and teaching jobs becoming more and more shrouded in red tape and bureaucracy gone mad. I was so over the moon when I got this job, I felt like my life was finally falling together and took them all at their word when they said the job was mine. Lesson learned though & you are correct, I will never put myself through anything like this again.

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭FoxForce5

Future rule of thumb, OP. If you are not paid on payday, you don't work the days after payday until you are paid.

Thanks FoxForce, I think the thing is with schools, if you dont work its not HR or payroll that suffers, its the other staff that have to cover for you, the principal that has to find someone else, the kids that miss out on a class ect, HR arent effected whatsoever, they wont even know if youre not there.

But yes, I completely see where youre coming from and I really learned my lesson.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,027 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Is it possible to check your record on revenue website to see that this "emergency tax" is actually being paid?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,517 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Sounds like you're caught in a power struggle a turf war between HR dept who think they run the place and the business unit.

Once you get paid up, I would look for something else. You'll never have any peace in a place like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,807 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

If they can’t get the basics right, the most important basic of employment…. Payment…. There will be multiple other issues by the sound of it.

when that cash hits your account, middle of a work day or otherwise, just walk out…

they leave you high and dry, let them experience the same.

Thanks everyone, just to add, this isnt a business, I work in the education sector and it just seems to be the general treatment of staff on the ground by HR throughout! Walking out the day I get paid has no effect whats so ever on HR or anyone associated with my employment & who has caused me problems. These people are faceless and untouchable but I feel this will be my final year working in education, its worn me out so much, id rather be on the dole! Id probably be better off if I was.

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭sudocremegg

Sounds like you need to contact a solicitor to be honest. You're being taken for a ride.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,078 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

I dont think burning bridges is the way to go.

If your getting paid , start hunting for a job and give them a month notice once you have a gig . Treat it as a learning experience .

I think myself you were far to soft on them ,after 2 months of not being paid I would have made a decesion to leave and give them 2 weeks notice. How you went 8 months is crazy, you must be very patient .

• Registered Users Posts: 24,807 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Burning bridges is no issue when you don’t need to cross it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭RetroEncabulator

That's an abysmal way to to be treated. It's no wonder the teaching profession can't seem to recruit or retain staff !

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 9,988 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

The OP was deemed not to have the necessary qualifications.... where exactly would you draw the line at recruiting teachers - do they need any qualifications or is their own say so enough?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭RetroEncabulator

I’ve seen this before. You don’t recruit someone, have them work for months and don’t pay them and then decide after months that you don’t think they’re qualified.

I’d be raising questions about the competence of the management and whether they are fit to even run the organisation.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,242 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

They have a level 8 degree in the area. Since when and why is a Masters now considered essential to be able to teach??

What's next, all new recruits to have PhDs? Gone ridiculous.

On related issue, heard Aodhan O'Riordain sticking his head up over the parapet at weekend and suggesting that college entry for teaching courses shouldn't require higher level Irish? Very sensible and practical advice but boy, he's brave to be taking on the untouchable Irish language lobby!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 9,988 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

It does not really matter why, it's a requirement and if the OP does not meet the requirement that is were this ends. You can argue it any way you want it will not change the situation and does not help the OP in any way.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,242 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

The requirements will not change unless people raise objections to them. We live in an increasingly over regulated and over qualified society and despite some of the benefits accruing from this, there is also a loss of practical common sense that is detrimental to society.

• Registered Users Posts: 59,551 ✭✭✭✭namenotavailablE

[QUOTE]it's a requirement and if the OP does not meet the requirement that is were this ends.[/QUOTE]

It doesn't appear to be as clear as that. It's a requirement from the point of view of HR but seemingly not from the perspective of the line manager. We don't really know who's right other than the fact is that the HR line is being followed (and HR seems to have the ultimate say). Per the OP, the HR individual has had no contact with the OP but seems to know that s/he isn't qualified to perform the role which s/he performed for multiple months.

The OP probably got the college out of a tricky situation by being present and available for the multiple months s/he was working there. Apart from being given the runaround while there, s/he has now been treated very poorly. It suited the college to have him/her for a period of time and then s/he was summarily dropped- that's what's particularly unfair about the whole situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭PeaSea

As others have said, if the moneys not coming in, then get out. Let them find their masters candidate if they can and move on.

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭PeaSea

Its a market. If the firm think they can get someone with a masters then that's up to them. If they try and fail and then have to change their requirements then that's the market correcting itself. That's how it is, waving your fist at a cloud won't change anything I'm afraid.

Thanks everyone, its just relentless, I finally got my pay sorted out, there was an issue with revenue not sending over my tax credits and no communication from payroll or revenue to explain to me that this is why they couldnt take me off emergency tax. So I finally figure this out and sorted it. Delighted with myself, I paid off half my debts and had money to buy presents for Christmas!

Over the last month, the principal in my school was desperately stuck for a sub to cover a class, so I came in on one of my days that I dont work and subbed. So because I was subbing for a class teacher, this means id be paid by the department of education and skills and not the etb. So I had to contact revenue to split my taxes as id now be down on their system as having 2 separate jobs and would be emergency taxed 40%, keep in mind im on less than 25k a year so cant afford to be taxed 40%, so it was very important to me that I had this sorted out before getting paid.

I got paid yesterday 1000 euro thats to get me through the next 6 weeks because revenue didn't split the taxes or send on the tax credits to payroll like I asked! My payslip says my gross pay is 2300 so 1300 euro was taken off me in tax! I know I can get this back but I need it now, not in a months time.

Its the last straw for me, Ive decided that 2023 will be my final year in the teaching profession, as much as I love it it's time to move on to something else.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭kaymin

What a shitshow the ETBs run. They should hang their heads in shame. And the country crying out for teachers!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭lulublue22

It’s quite difficult to follow your post given the references to etb , HR , managers , school and principal but it seems as if you are in the FE sector ???? and not the primary/secondary sector - this seems to be borne out by the fact that when you subbed in the school ie covered for the class teacher you were paid by the dept and not the etb causing you extra difficulties re tax. They are two different systems - teaching primary / secondary requires a teaching qualification any qualification above that is nice to have but not necessary. The FE system is different with different pay and conditions and does not require a teaching qualification. However there were talks about standardising the qualifications necessary to teach at FE level. I’m not sure if this has gone ahead but it may a/c for why the previous person employed had “less qualifications” than you had. The other option is that you are teaching a niche subject outside of the curriculum that is not sanctioned or recognised by the dep but offered as an extra by the ETB and therefore are employed by the ETB directly. Either way I think the issue here is with the managers who hired you as opposed to the HR. It’s great that the managers wanted you but it has created untold stress on you as you do not have the qualifications the ETB has deemed necessary to fill the role. That’s squarely on the recruiting managers and not the HR. There is very little flexibility in the ETB sector it is very rules governed and it could really be a case of the HR hands being tied. You are also not the first I’ve heard in the ETB’s who has had problems being put up on the system to be paid. Once up though it does seem to run smoothly. At this stage I would cut my losses and move on. You are obviously highly qualified and hopefully will find a job that appreciates your skillset with none of the messing around.

• Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭ethical

ETBS are a shower of C.U.N.Tuesdays for the most part.There are some wonderful people there and then there are the total sh1tbags who are arse lickers and box tickers and who are so full of nepotism they make RTE look good. If you look at many threads in the Teaching Forums you will see a long list of the sh1t that goes on there but if you are a member of the Golden Circle its totally different,you get a job,get paid on time etc....you retire on a Friday after 35 years service on a full pension but you are back in harness on the Monday morning as a FECKIN CONSULTANT doing sweet F.A. ....and you are paid your expenses immediately....so unfair but does anybody give a FCUK....NO!!!!....and yes they have made a total mess of the teaching profession.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭lulublue22

A level 8 degree in the area is not sufficient to teach. Any one who enters teaching via the postgrad route , which is how secondary teachers are trained ( primary teachers can either do an undergrad teaching degree @ level 8 or a postgrad degree level 9 ) completes a professional masters of Ed which is a level 9 and involves a research project. it may surprise you but many teachers both at primary and secondary level are actually highly qualified particularly those who enter as postgrads.

Post edited by lulublue22 on

• Registered Users Posts: 28,372 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Where are these retirees coming back as consultants? What schools or ETBs are involved please?